• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MEMPHIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Due to the high quality of our room furnishings and bedding, pets are not allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
University of Memphis - on site
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Pink Palace Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Botanic Gardens
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Dixon Gallery and Gardens
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking. ADA spaces available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:82
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:24
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:58
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:TN5021
Enjoy the Holiday Inn University of Memphis All Suite Hotel on your next visit. We are poised to offer you the best facilities and service in the city. If leisure travel brings you our way, our city central location is perfect for your needs. You can enjoy Downtown Memphis which is just 15 minutes away. Take in a Redbirds Baseball game or a Grizzlies NBA game, walk along the Mississippi river, or you can take in exciting Beale Street. If you are in Memphis on business, we are the place to be. Major
View More
Enjoy the Holiday Inn University of Memphis All Suite Hotel on your next visit. We are poised to offer you the best facilities and service in the city. If leisure travel brings you our way, our city central location is perfect for your needs. You can enjoy Downtown Memphis which is just 15 minutes away. Take in a Redbirds Baseball game or a Grizzlies NBA game, walk along the Mississippi river, or you can take in exciting Beale Street. If you are in Memphis on business, we are the place to be. Major business centers and key corporate headquarters are close at hand. You’ll appreciate our meeting and event facilities offering of three amphitheaters and 14 meeting rooms available for any type of meeting. You’ll want to make use of our 1,000 seat ballroom and take advantage of our event coordination and audio visual departments. Swing by our Medallion Restaurant where you can enjoy an incredible burger or a continental cuisine dinner. After your meal, you can work out in our on-site fitness center or make use of the University of Memphis Health Center. The all suite Holiday Inn has anticipated your needs and our staff is ready to show you some first class Southern hospitality.
View Less
Features
This all-suite Holiday Inn® Hotel at the University of Memphis boasts over 14,000-square feet of meeting space. We're adjacent to the University of Memphis' Fogelman Executive Conference Center which is accredited by the International Association of Conference Centers. These quality facilities seamlessly cooperate to offer the best meeting and social environment available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 299 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by recent stay June 21, 2014 If you enjoy non funtioning elevators, thread bare towels and the noisiest rooms in Memphis this is your spot. The street noise on the 11th floor kept my family awake until 2:00 AM, not good for anyone. The creaking, then totaly non-funtioning elevators added to the nights ambiance. Hot rodding valet parking guys, knocked the cooler over in our van. i travel 100 nights per year and made a big mistake when I chose this location for a vacation night with my family. I cannot remember a worse hotel experience. June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Friendly staff and parking attendants. Elevators awful and one morning we had to wait on the 11th floor 45 minutes for a elevator. Some guests used stairs but my husband cannot. After the elevators were back in service they were still very scary stopping on random floors but doors not opening. Upon our arrival pillows cases appeared to have not been changed and were soiled. Called front desk and they were changed immediately. We stayed four nights and only had housekeeping on the last day and had to call for clean towels every day. The room its self seemed clean and spacious and the bathroom very small but nice. Ice maker on 11th floor not working for the whole time of our visit. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and location Comfy room within walking distance to Beale street--blues music and BBQ. Our room was right near pool, which kids loved but was not too loud in our room. June 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the expense Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, even though in the downtown area. I do not believe it was worth the expense. Rooms and Hallway carpets were not clean, hotel had a musky smell to it. There is no self parking only valet parking at $20.00 per night. Room I stayed in was next to elevator cable room and heard the elevator going up and down all hours of the night. TV had poor reception, with several channels snowed or not able to view even though advertised on TV card in room. June 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel elevator The hotel elevators was terrible. They had only two operating at the time of my stay. The middle elevator seem to come only from the ground floor. The other elevator was horribly terrible. I was on the 12th floor and that elevator would go up to the. 15 th floor before going down to the first floor and it stopped at every odd number floor before getting to the lobby. This was disturbing to me. I expect to get a normal operating elevator and not have to wait 5 minutes to get the elevator and another 5 to get to the lobby. Also the water pressure was poor in my room and upon telling housekeeping we had 4 people in our room she still only left wash cloth for two people. June 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed customer Will not stay there again. Until the elevators are upgraded/repaired. The rooms are old and need some attention. The a/c vent chattered all night, I had to stick a wash cloth on the register to stop it from chattering. I informed the front desk but it was never addressed. The hotel is old and I understand the cost to upgrade. June 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, expensive parking Staff were really friendly and lovely. Parking was very expensive and there was a long wait for lifts. I think the high prices were because it was opposite The Peabody Hotel and not justified on its own merits. There was no fridge in the bedroom. June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Easy access to baseball stadium, Beale Street and many fine restaurants with ample opportunity to hear various types of music. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a GREAT time on Beale Street We've been meaning to explore Memphis and finally had the opportunity to do so. It's a great town and a lot of fun (for adults). We'll be back and will likely stay at this hotel when we do. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Service Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location. Rooms very comfortable. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel close to attractions of area, and relatively quiet. Great service is what stands out in my mind- not just from the front desk - you could ask any of the people who work there for recommendations, and they were more than happy to oblige. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Memphis Trip Good and clean. Not a lot of extras for the pretty expensive room cost. Would liked to have had a refrigerator. June 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not quite comfortable Bathroom too small, door opens inward which causes less room. Rate was kinda high, esp during the week when there is not much business around. Elevator didn't work or worked sporadically....stopped on every other floor without being called....maintenance guy on elevator didn't seem too concerned said someone must be on all those floors pressing buttons? okay..... June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Location ! You can't beat the location for convenience to many of the downtown attractions. Right across the street from The Peabody hotel and the best ribs in the south right around the corner at The Rendezvous. Only drawback comes with the location and that was street noise, at least in our room. But the view was also great. Air conditioner was too good and was pretty noisy as it cut on and off during the night. Still a great value for overall quality and excellent staff !! :-) June 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Valet Only = Never Again After staying here last year, I was curious to see what improvements had been made with the remodeling that had been underway during my last stay. Apparently, the improvements weren't focused on the elevators, which are somehow slower and less reliable than ever. They didn't affect the cable TV, which despite nice flat panel TVs in the rooms, is still SD and looks like it's coming over a pair of rabbit ear antennas. The double beds are not especially comfortable, and are too small for two full grown adults to occupy. The "enhancement" that has ensured I will never be back, though, is the requirement that all parking be valet. Last year, I had the option to self park my car. Now, guests are required to have their cars valet parked. This is a huge nuisance and inconvenience for me. I could handle the $20 per day parking fee if I could at least park my own car and not have it held hostage by the valet system. That is no longer an option, therefore, neither is staying at this aging hotel. My company holds an annual meeting here. I will strongly lobby that it be moved. If it isn't, I will choose a different place to stay and walk or take a cab to the meeting. June 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in Memphis Great spot to spend a long weekend. Just a couple blocks away from Beale St., Right across the street from the famous Peabody Duck walk,. Close to great restaurants and the trolleys for easy, cheap transportation. We really enjoyed our stay here and recommend this location to others. June 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service lacking Half the staff seem to like their job, the other half seem to hate life in general. June 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great front desk service The front desk service was great. The customer service was outstanding day in and out from the desk representative. However the rooms cleanliness was not so great. I stepped on pieces of bacon several time and I didn't have bacon in the room. The Valet parking service was horrible. If I have to pay 20 dollars a night to valet park, I do expect my car to be ready when I need to get it. Every time I came to get my car I had to wait for the parking attendant to come back with my keys. This mad me late several times for my meetings. Someone should be in the booth at all time with guess keys.... June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice We were on our way to Little Rock for a wedding and about 15 minutes before leaving we decided to book a hotel in Memphis instead of taking our chances and we're very glad we chose this hotel. It was a very nice experience and the staff could not have been more accomodating and nice. The hotel was very clean, room was very nice and it was easy to get to and close to Beale St. We won't hesitate to stay here again. June 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by First and Last time in Memphis Even though the room was OK the air was so loud we could not sleep with it on. We had to call several times for someone to bring us a clock as some guest before us decided to take it with them. Was going to eat in the cafe attached to the hotel but there was no air and after sitting for almost 45 minutes decided to go downtown for dinner both nights. June 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room some parts of the bedroom were not clean. The coffee maker had the previous used beanbag. Some parts of the bathroom were not clean. During night, people were loud, yelling, fighting, drank in the hallway, but we didn't contact. If some workers patrol, if would be awesome. If we have a flat ope free parking, it would be great. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Downtown Hotel Read reviews on Trip Advisor and agree with the majority that for the value this is a very nice hotel to stay in if visiting downtown Memphis. Easy walk to Beale Street and other sites, amenities. I highly recommend. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, Great location 2 blocks off Beale. great location to lots of cool things to see / do. Nice rooms...overall slightly dated, but you don't go to Memphis to stay in the room. Very safe with valet parking (only valet...no self park and it's 20$ per day on top of your bill). We had some elevator issues...but one was always running at least. And the 11th floor is a pretty nice heighth for the view...as long as the elevators work. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location It was our first trip to Memphis and it will not be our last. Across from the Peabody and couple of blocks from Beale Street made the stay for us. The hotel just finished its complete remodel. Rooms were nice and clean, at least for our standards as flat landers from Illinois. We let the valet take the car and we didn't see it until we left. The walk to all our events were a comfortable distance. We did the Beale St. gig both nights and had a ball. An item that we could see that needs improvements is to make sure the elevator controls are updated to the 2010's. They seem to have their own minds and we didn't know for sure if they would even stop on our floor. We took it UP several times to make sure we were able to get DOWN. May 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location was awesome The location was awesome in reference to Beale Street! The only issue that I had is that we checked in Friday and checked out Sunday and our room was never cleaned. I would like to commend the front desk staff and the restrauant staff for their excellent customer service and courtesy. The issue with the room not be cleaned was given immediate attention. I would definitely stay there again because of the location and the reasonable pricing. Also the valet service was a plus May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Near Beale Street Just two blocks from B. B. Kings' BBQ restaurant on Beale Street, the Holiday Inn hotel offers a comfortable stay and friendly desk staff to greet you. My room was spacious and well appointed. Everything was great except I notice a small leak of water coming from the ceiling in the bathroom when I awoke in the morning. Parking is valet and $20 per night but very convenient. Next time I'm in Memphis, I'll be back. May 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty and outdated. I stay in many IHG properties. This might be my worst experience in one. The day I arrived the hotel went to mandatory valet parking for $20 which in my view didn't match their website details on parking. Which I looked at before booking. The hotel smelled like mildew when walking the halls. The room was very outdated, the toilet had water stains in it. There was some construction work going on so I'm not sure what they were doing but it was loud at times and dirty. Construction materials were left laying in the halls. Front desk associates weren't the friendliest either. May 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dingy and outdated Couldn't really believe this was a Holiday Inn. Not the least bit bright or modern. Terrible elevators. Television straight out of the 1950s. Keys that consistently didn't work. Parking was a nightmare, even at $17 a day. Workout facilities were embarrassing. Not good at all. May 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, elevators in disrepair Comfortable room, pleasant staff. A bit disappointed in the parking as much of the lot was blocked off. After parking in the basement, we discovered that the button for the basement in the service elevator was broken and the elevator had obviously been in disrepair for quite some time. No hand towels were left in the room on day 2 of our stay. Also, the room directory says that coffee is available in the lobby from 6 - 10 AM. When we asked in the lobby, it was not available and the staff was totally unaware. April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice Hotel Great Location Hotel was nice, staff was friendly and helpful. There is work being done on the hotel, but it's not intrusive. It's an older hotel and that's evidenced by the snails pace elevator, but even that's not a problem. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I slept like a baby. I loved that it's in walking distance of Beale St and the forum. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I didn't like the can coke machines or the way the shower door was, but if those are the only complaints, the hotel is doing pretty well. April 13, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading