• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MOBILE
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Only with approved documentation.

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking garage next door to the hotel $7.00 per day with unlimited in and out Privileges. $14.00 per day parking applies to special events.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 7.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:202
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:134
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:13
  • FEMA Property Number:AL0196
Come experience the newly renovated Holiday Inn Mobile Downtown Historic District located in the heart of the Government and Entertainment District.

Situated just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also eight blocks from the Mobile Bay Convention Center.

Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing
View More

Come experience the newly renovated Holiday Inn Mobile Downtown Historic District located in the heart of the Government and Entertainment District.

Situated just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also eight blocks from the Mobile Bay Convention Center.

Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular local attractions. Next door to our hotel you'll find the Mobile Carnival Museum and within a few blocks is the Gulf Coast Exploreum Science Center and IMAX Theater. The USS Alabama is a short drive and other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel include the Mobile Zoo, Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses such as Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail Magnolia Grove Golf Course.

We are located just steps from historic Dauphin Street which features dozens of shops, popular clubs, restaurants, and galleries. Many businesses and facilities are within close proximity including Austal USA, the Brookley Aeuroplex Signal Shipyard, and BAE Systems. Within blocks of the hotel, the GulfQuest National Maritime Museum is set to open in Spring of 2014.

View Less
Features
Located in the the heart of Downtown Mobile. Enjoy the view of the bay from our 17th floor Skyview Lounge.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 59 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel The Candlewood was very clean and quiet. Staff very helpful. This is a very nice hotel. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The price is right Great place to stay. Close to my place of business during my stay. The Staff were very helpful and courteous. You will rest well in this hotel. More affordable than the name implies. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE BED WE WERE VERY HAPPY WITH OUR STAY AND HAVE MET WONDERFUL STAFF AT THIS HOTEL. WE WILL DEFINITELY CONTINUE TO STAY THERE AND LOOK FORWARD TO OUR NEXT VISIT. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Rooms and Comfortable beds. I have only 1 complain about this hotel and its location. That would be the parking. Other than that, it was an excellent place to stay. The staff was very friendly and very helpful on places to visit. The beds and the sofa sleeper were very comfortable. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My total experience was I think that there are parking issures that should be addressed. My overall stay was Great and i will stay at a Candlewood suites if there is one in the area of my Business or Personal visit. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and great stay overall As a whole, this hotel exceed our expectations and I recommend it incredibly highly. The pool area was absolutely wonderful, with gas grills and ample comfortable seating and an incredibly relaxing atmosphere. The pool was also saltwater, which I really enjoyed, and it was very clean. The hours were generous - 8am until 11pm. Our suite was very clean and comfortable, with a full-sized refrigerator and well-stocked kitchenette. The candlewood cupboard was very reasonably priced and also a nice amenity for midnight snacks and poolside drinks, and the fact that the front desk had complimentary DVDs and games to borrow was such a nice touch that we enjoyed utilizing. The staff was also incredibly helpful and friendly, going out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. My only complaint was that the AC turned off when it “sensed” you were no longer in the room, which kept happening at night. It made our sleep less-than-restful because we kept trying to move around to let it know we were in the room, then ultimately had to get up in the middle of the night and find a way to force at least the fan aspect to stay on, which was still less cool than we would have preferred. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by delighted with my stay I stayed at this hotel at the end of May and we had a pleasant experience being here. Guest service was extremely professional and made you feel welcome and at home. The room was spacious and comfortable. I was also surprised by the light evening reception. I definitely recommend this hotel. June 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Gave other guest access to our room This hotel has no bells or whistles but did seem clean and comfortable. It was older than the previous 2 candlewood suites and was not as updated but still nice. I have stayed at 3 candlewood suites and would only recommend 1. The one in Texarkana was really nice but poorly run, the one in Tupelo MS was really nice and we really enjoyed the stay for 1 night. Another pretty major problem at the one in downtown Mobile. I will be very skeptical to ever stay at another. June 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor parking arrangements We were on a vacation trip and asked to park our car outside the hotel on the street on the evening of our check in day and said that it was free for residents as it was a weekend and the hotel parking was full. We displayed the parking tag given to us on our car mirror. Next morning we see a parking violation ticket on our car. We do not visit any hotel to get ticket and ruin our driving records due to being miss directed by hotel employees. I would have paid for parking myself if required but the amenities list mentioned free parking. Never expected at least when we decide on hotels like this. This ruined our trip and we are still not sure if the ticket was taken care by management as promised. Never heard back from them. We tried to call them and they said yes it was taken care but they failed to provide us with any receipts. Till today never heard back from them although they promised to call us back. Looks like we will have to call city police to figure out this ourselves. We will never recommend this hotel to anyone and would refrain ourselves from going there again. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great stay! I'd never stayed at a Candlewood Suites property, so wasn't sure what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised! The room was nice, clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rates are reasonable, and the location was perfect. I really couldn't have asked for anything more! If I had a complaint, it was that the Cupboard room was hotter than blazes--I could barely stay in there long enough to select what I wanted. I'll stay there again when in the area, and will recommend it to anyone I know who is looking to stay in the downtown Mobile area. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SUPERIOR SERVICE I selected the Mobile location in December because my son would be graduating in May from a nearby venue. Once I contacted Jamie she made planning the EVENT for my son a breeze. I live in Louisiana and was planning a destination celebration, she was able to recommend a bakery, as well as restaurants for our departure brunch . Jamie and her staff ( Lorenzo and Devan) extended themselves to make certain my stay as well as the 52 other guests in my party were satisfied. Lorenzo came back on his evening off to make sure Devan was ok and was taking care of our needs. The exceptional customer service at the Downtown Mobile location is second to NONE. I want the ENTIRE staff to know how pleased I was, and the attention to detail extended to me. My son's college graduation was an important event for me and Jamie did not hesitate to make certain all of my needs were met, THANK YOU Candlewood Suites for making my celebration a success. Upon graduation, my son has decided to make Mobile,AL his home so ANYTIME I am in the Mobile area , the Candlewood Suites will be my home away from home. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 awesome place one of the few downtown hotels that doesn't charge for parking!!! Great place to stay!!!! April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay All good things about this hotel. I believe the best was the friendly staff. The parking lot could use a few more spots but it's a great location in downtown Mobile. They have bikes you can take out and free laundry. Love the patio where everyone likes to hangout and grill next to the pool. April 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 3 weeks business stay Requested a room on first floor two weeks in advance and was not able to get it. Parking lot way too small for number of rooms. Had parking issues almost every day. Hotel had nice outdoor area and pool area. But, not one of the several gas heaters were working. Outdoor fireplace did not work. Average night lows were in the 40s. The pantry was regularly out of reg flavor cream for the free coffee. And while most of the staff were polite and cheery, there was one lady (I think she worked day shift) that really had no business at front desk. Regularly rude and unpleasant. For example, she scolded me one evening for using the female restroom in the lobby. The lobby restrooms are a single toilet restroom with a locking door. Really no difference from men's to women's. With a really slow elevator to get to the room, and the men's room locked, I think this lady would rathered me go in my pants in the lobby than use the lady's room, and found it appropriate to call it out to me in front of other guests and coworkers. Actually considered checking out and finding another hotel. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow! Couldn't have been better! The hotel surpassed our expectations! Front desk service was impeccable. The room was spacious and clean! Location for Mardi Gras was perfect. Both Lorenzo and Chad were exceptional! Highly recommend!! March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, helpful staff during Mardi Gras We stayed during the last 2 days of Mardi Gras. Everyone we encountered was very helpful and friendly. We had a parking situation that Lorenzo handled professionally. We enjoyed our stay and will return!! March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by General We had a good stay. Good value for the time of year. Good location and easy accessibility. Recommending adding a few more serving items in the suites. We had a few guests over and had to purchase paper/plastic ware or take turns eating. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay for the Mardi Gras parades The Staff and room were fantastic. I always enjoy staying at this hotel. The only complaint that I had for this trip was the TV reception. We kept losing the reception during the couple of days we stayed. Not typical of past stays though so hopefully this will be fixed. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a GREAT place to stay... My husband and I have stayed here twice in the last 6 months, once for a wedding, and once with our 3 young children for Mardi Gras. Each stay was just immaculate. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and I slept better here than I do at home both visits--and we have a newer, double pillow-top mattress at home! The location of the hotel is perfectly convenient to the local attractions without being too close the to cluttered/chaotic parts of downtown. Although there is a reserved parking lot for the hotel guests, the only suggestion that I would make is for there to be more parking or a parking deck; there didn't appear to be enough parking to accommodate all the guests when we were in town for Mardi Gras. This wasn't an issue for us at all since there were other nearby places to park, but I wanted to give an honest review by mentioning it. The Cupboard is such a great and useful idea, that I immediately think of it when I'm searching for a hotel. It came in handy several times, especially when we brought the kids to stay. The movie rentals are a nice perk, and the staff was unbelievably kind each time we called on them. We really enjoy staying here, and we've been meaning to try some of the big, prestigious, skyscraper hotels in the area when we're in town, but we simply can't resists how pleased we've been with staying at this Candlewood. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere simply cozy and affordable in the area. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I would explicitly like to mention great customer service by Chad during my stay at candlewood suits in mobile, Alabama. He was very helpful in providing information about the city and taking care of specific room requirements. Thanks Chad. February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best kept secret in Mobile. Oh WOW!!!! We loved our stay. The staff went all out. By far the best hotel in the downtown district. February 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Need new management and sales team Request for information from the sales person went unanswered. General Manager was not helpful and has been difficult to deal with and rude. She and has run off all of the people that worked at the Candlewood in Mobile that were helpful and nice to customers. General Manager and Sales Person should be replaced if you expect to keep your customers. I am not going to recommend your hotel any longer and will encourage everyone I know to stay in other hotels, if they continue to operate that hotel. The owner should be made aware of the problems there. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend Get Away place For the GoDaddy Bowl Parade We live in this county, but we decided to get a room downtown and enjoy all of the festivities for the GoDaddy Bowl Parade without having to worry about driving. The room was nice. Staff was courteous and helpful. Our only complaint was we went to bed exhausted and did not stop to think to check the alarm clock. It went off at 4:13 a.m. Also, the alarm clock in the room next door to us went off five minutes later. We realized that to make the 6:00 a.m. flight out of Mobile, you would have to leave that early, but I recommend that Housekeeping Staff check alarm clocks to be turned off for the weekends. Guests checking in on Friday night may not remember either. Thanks! January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Staff made our visit complete; we wanted to stay downtown for the New Years Eve Celebration. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm and safe environment Wonderful and friendly staff. Very clean and well lit location. We were even impressed by the fact that you could not access the elevator without a keycard. Our first impression upon arriving was "warm and safe environment". If ever traveling through Mobile again, we would definitely stay here without hesitation. We had difficulty finding the hotel from the front side of it. We found it by accident from the back side because we were making the block to look for it. But the staff acknowledged that they are aware that GPS and maps don't tell people to drive around to the back.....that it is hard to notice them from the front side. They were very apologetic for this. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A comfortable stay... Overall Good experience at this hotel. Room location not too good next to elevator. The nights I was there, there were some rowdy youngster running around the halls and having loud conversations while riding the elevator.... so my sleep was interrupted both nights I was at hotel. Still I understand this can not always be helped by the staff and certain situations may occur. I did not call the front desk or mention it the following day, but next time I will. I am due to be back at this location in April and will plan at staying at the same hotel due to overall experience, friendliness of staff and convenience to my destination. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved this hotel!! My family and I decided to take a quick family trip for one night to explore the USS Alabama. I chose Candlewood because it seemed to have the best cutomer reviews and I was able to use some of my reward points. I can't say enough good things about this place. Great customer service especially Cat who was working the front desk when we checked in. She was funny, friendly, and helpful especially when our tv cable was fuzzy. Her tip worked and our tv worked fine for the rest of the night. When it was time for dinner, she gave us some suggestions on some restaurants in the downtown area. We chose Moe's and ate some delicious bbq!! The room was spacious and clean. It had a full size fridge and dishwasher. The cabinets were fully stocked with dishes and accessories. Too bad we weren't staying longer. One more thing, we ate a delicious breakfast before we left at the Royal Street Cafe which was right across the street. Great food and service there too!! I highly recommend this hotel!! October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely Fabulous I have nothing but nice things to say about this property. The building and all the rooms appear and even smell to be brand new. Everything is kept immaculate, the lobby is nice, and the seating area outside the lobby around the pool is a wonderful area to unwind. Well worth the money, even if you are only staying one night and not an extended stay. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay during a difficult time Unfortunately, I was in Mobile due to a death in my family. Staying at the Candlewood Suites Downtown was a pleasant surprise! The hotel was immaculate, the staff was kind and the rooms were nice. The staff was amazingly friendly and accommodating. I arrived a day early and they took care of us with no problems. Thanks for making a difficult time a lot easier! August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff The nicest folks I've ever seen at a hotel. Thank you! August 17, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Front Desk Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading