• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: MUNICH
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 1:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 1:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Italian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

From the first night on, you have to pay 10 Euro per night and animal due to increased cleaning requirements.
Pet fee amount  10.00  EUR  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Zoo Hellabrunn
Distance From Hotel:3.0KM
Attraction:
Schloß Nymphenburg and Botanischer Garten
Distance From Hotel:7.0KM
Attraction:
Englischer Garten
Distance From Hotel:8.0KM
Attraction:
BMW Museum
Distance From Hotel:8.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Our hotelgarage has 100 parking spaces (DUPLEX).
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.00  EUR)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members: 5.00 5.0  EUR
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members: 5.00 5.0  EUR

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:320
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:245
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:75
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:320
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Stay at the peaceful Holiday Inn Munich-South hotel for quick and convenient U-Bahn subway links to the city centre.

Artwork of grand Bavarian monuments adorns the stylish Lobby at Holiday Inn Munich-South, where you'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly staff. After a sound sleep in your spacious Guest room, the day starts with sparkling wine and continental specialities from our extensive breakfast buffet. Relax in our serene courtyard, which has a fish pond and
View More

Stay at the peaceful Holiday Inn Munich-South hotel for quick and convenient U-Bahn subway links to the city centre.

Artwork of grand Bavarian monuments adorns the stylish Lobby at Holiday Inn Munich-South, where you'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly staff. After a sound sleep in your spacious Guest room, the day starts with sparkling wine and continental specialities from our extensive breakfast buffet. Relax in our serene courtyard, which has a fish pond and Japanese trees.

Our 11 wireless Internet-connected meeting rooms will suit your conferences for up to 180 delegates. Attend meetings at Tech Data 400m away, Siemens 500 metres away and McDonald's offices, 800 metres away. We're 43km from your flight at Munich Franz Josef Strauss Airport, which is 38 minutes by S-Bahn S8 train to central Marienplatz square.

Machtlfinger Strasse subway station is only 500 metres from us, for a 12-minute U-Bahn ride to Marienplatz's Gothic Rathaus and Frauenkirche church. We'll ease your family's visit as children under-12 eat and stay for free at Holiday Inn Munich-South. Arrive in autumn when Munich's beer tents fill with Weissbier kegs and folk music during Oktoberfest.

In the Lobby bar, our bartender will chat to you as he mixes cocktails and takes your bar snack orders. Detox in the Turkish steam room after your dip in the pool or MiniGym workout at Holiday Inn Munich-South.

View Less
Features
Balcony or terrace in all of our 320 rooms. Only 500m to the next subway station. Wonderful quiet beer garden-terrace during summertime. Big courtyard garden. Free W-LAN for all conference guests. Discounted limousine transfer from airport to hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 380 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very busy hotel I was here for 2 nights, it was very busy at the check in. Took about 20 minutes wait. The room was not ready at check in hence was willing to take the standard room. Room comfort and cleanliness is excellent and staff very helpful. But its just too busy which is good for the hotel but not always good for customers. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Muy buen hotel El hotel esta en una muy buena ubicación, ya que no esta en el bullicio del centro de la ciudad, pero tampoco esta alejado de el, esta a poco pasos de Isar Tor, una de las antiguas puertas de la ciudad y muy cercano a la plaza central y centro de la ciudad, oro punto a su favor es que cuenta con ingreso directo al sistema de transporte publico mediante un tunel del que se ingresa saliendo del lobby, por lo que trasladarse a donde sea esta a las puertas del hotel, incluso al aeropuerto desde el hotel. Instalaciones en general muy limpias y en buen estado, habitaciones comodas, el area del desayuno es amplia pero tambien el hotel es muy grande, asi que hay horas en las que es dificil encontrar una mesa para desayunar. La calidad de los alimentos es buena y la variedad tambien, Buena estancia ahi, en la proxima visita no dudaria en elegir el mismo hotel. November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sehr gutes Preis/Leistungsverhältnis Das Hotel liegt sehr Zentral. Deutsches Museum liegt fast direkt vor der Haustür. Sehr freundliches und zuvorkommendes Personal. Vielen Dank dafür. Einzig ein kleiner Kritikpunkt der den Frühstücksraum betrifft. Geschirr unterhalb der Buffets. Für ältere Gäste nicht unbedingt optimal gelöst. Die Schälchen für die kalten Speisen waren immer warm bis heiß. Am Wochenende kann es schon mal sehr voll und unruhig werden. Das Angebot der Speisen ist aber sehr umfangreich. Vielen Dank an alle Ihre Mitarbeiter für den schönen Aufenthalt. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Tour Stop with great breakfast We were on a bus tour when we stopped at the Holiday Inn in Munich for 2 nights. Although our tour manager handled the check-in process we found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful when required. The breakfast each morning was excellent with lots of choices of both hot and cold options. The rooms were a decent size, with comfortable beds and a well equipped bathroom. We enjoyed the free internet that was available only if you had a IHG Rewards card. There is a small mall with a variety of stores including a fairly large grocery store attached to the hotel. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. November 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Preis Leistung ist OK. Kleine Mängel im Detail. Schönes Stadthotel. Zentral gelegen. Von innen schöner als von außen. Gutes Frühstücksbuffet. Ich persönlich fand den Raum etwas zu klein. Gerade am Wochenende war es sehr voll und laut. Auch dem Personal machte es an diesen Tagen nicht unbedingt Spaß. Ich hatte sehr oft angeschlagenes Porzellan in der Hand und fand die Platzierung in den unteren Regalen gerade für ältere Gäste als eine Zumutung. Das Geschirr für die kalten Artikel war warm bis heißb(wohl zu wenig Geschirr im Vorrat). Wir reden von einem 4 Sterne Hotel. Trotzdem war der Aufenthalt bei Ihnen schön. Personal an der Rezeption + Bar sehr nett, Frühstücksraum im großen und ganzen OK. November 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by zentrale Lage gut zentral angebundenes Hotel, insgesamt o.K: für Münchenbesuche. Aber als Frau: fehlender Schminkspiegel, zu dunkles Zimmer, recycle Toilettenpapier Und am Frühstücksbuffett lange warte Schlangen vor dem Capuchinoautomat. November 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty Kettle & drinking glass The water kettle was caked in dried milk at the bottom and had flakes floating after boiling water. After calling for a clean one to be delivered, the new one also boiled water with sediments swirling around. The drinking glasses were dirty inside. It was sticky on the inside of the glass and seemed like nobody bothered to clean it. November 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Helpful staff I'm only stay one night for business in town. This location is great, supermarket and train station just near door! Staff is really helpful and kind, they give you a prefect direction for shopping or dining ! Hotel have 2 separate floor especially for IHG Club member make you feel more safety and comfortable. Sure will come again! November 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Well located and comfortable This hotel is very busy and has a good feel about the lobby and other public areas. Seems to be popular for exhibitions and conferences too. The room was well laid out with all the mod cons one has come to expect from the IHG if hotels. The only downside was the breakfast buffet. It was poorly organised, had far too many people just wandering around looking for a table. I had to find another after going to get a coffee as it was quickly taken. I didn't feel relaxed at all and ended up leaving before I would normally have done. A disappointing end to my stay. In sum, good location, comfortable standard of room but let down by the breakfast service. 6/10. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and confortable as expected We have been to other hotels and also your other hotels around the world and you have this certain reputation and expectation and we got it at your hotel. You rank among the best. I would recoment you to others and would stay at your hotels again in our travels. Even in tours, we always look at accomodations and your hotel is one that we look for. November 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stopover between MUC & Austrian Alps ! ! ! We flew in from America for a three-day stopover before joining family at a resort in the Austrian Alps. Our grandsons joined us for the last night in Holiday Inn. Many weeks before, we corresponded by email to establish the rooms by points. When we asked about coming in from the MUC airport, the manager told us about the S-Bahn (subway) -- a lot less cost than a taxi!!!! The H I location is marvelous for subway access -- never go outside! Also the location is great for visiting many of the sites Munich has to offer. We enjoyed luxurious accommodations and service for three nights and loved having the grandsons in the connecting room next door. With them we walked to the Deuches Museum. The breakfast served by this Holiday Inn is marvelously European and very delicious!! October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Breakfast We stayed at this Hotel on our way to a business trip to Italy. The room was exceptionally clean and inviting. The service at check-in and at the bar was also very pleasant. The breakfast was really good, this Hotel has everything you can ask for, fresh, variety, and nice presentation. The lady picked up the dirty dishes as soon as you were done and was also very pleasant. We definitely will stay here again and recommend this Hotel to all of our family and friends. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Making use of the swimming pool for relaxation is a must, the ambient temperature is well ajusted for the winter. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Erfahrungsbericht Sauber, tolle Aussicht ab dem 9 Stock, gegen aussen ruhige Zimmer, Superior Zimmer grosszügig und modern eingerichtet. Einziger Wermutstropfen ist, dass die Zimmertür schlecht abgedichtet ist und somit alle Geräusche aus dem Gang gut hörbar sind (v.a. das Zuschlagen der anderen Gästezimmertüren October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Estadia en Munich Todo bien. Ubicacion, servicio. Tal vez muy limitada la carta del restaurat October 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room, Busy reception The hotel in itself is very well placed, the covered link to the S-Bahn is a bonus on these wet days. The room was quiet and comfortable. On the food side, I found that the restaurant was noisy, but there is a quieter area next to the bar that served food, although the menu is limited (but the food was good!) The big negative for this hotel was an overcrowded reception area, and the long queues of people trying to check in. There do not appear to be enough staff or check-in desks - and the 'Rewards Club' queue was effectively blocked. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great service, nice Hotel overall very satisfied with the hotel, would recommend to others for staying. October 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by small room & poor service compared to other location room is very small, tue smell on tue floor was "old ans dusty"! I ordered a glass of wine for the room, it was offered a Chardonnay, my question, what else is available, answer: the Chardonnay is very good! My question: any Option? Answer: the Chardonnay is very good, shall i bring it? Guess any additional comment is useless! October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gutes Hotel für Geschäftsreisende Insgesamt ist das Holiday Inn gut für Geschäftsreisende geeignet. Es ist zentral gelegen und mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln gut zu erreiche. Bei schlechtem Wetter ist es ein echtes Plus, dass die S-Bahn unterirdisch trockenen Fußes zu erreichen ist. Die Zimmer sind groß, sauber und modern. Einziger Wermutstropfen ist oft die Lautstärke auf Gang und in anderen Zimmern, da das Hotel viel von Reisegruppen frequentiert wird. October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great location and proximity to Marienplatz. Buffet Breakfast was great, with lots of variety. Front desk staff very friendly. direct access to airport on S8 train o the S-Bahn. October 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by OK location, *terrible* staff - I will NOT be staying here again, Firstly the hotel is pretty well located for access to the Ostbahnhof and the S-Bahn. It is *not* centrally located for down-town, but is a short (20 minute?) walk to the sights of Munich. Secondly, based on my visit, I would say that the hotel is pretty well maintained, clean and tidy and all the amenities work and the food and drink are "ok" and reasonably well priced , especially for Munch. However my experience of the staff was truly awful. After down-loading my photos one evening I rather foolishly left my camera behind in the lobby area. I went back to get it and it had gone. I asked the reception staff, the bar staff and the housekeeping staff if anyone had handed it it - they had not - and was met with a very unpleasant / border-line hostile reaction from the staff. To be clear: I was not accusing anyone - the lobby / bar area and obviously pretty busy places and absolutely anyone could have taken my camera. But, instead of being sympathetic and / or helpful the staff were rude and obnoxious and, in my opinion, downright unprofessional. While I am sure that there are the standard "Do not leave valuables unattended...." (hotels are never responsible) signs, when a guest does lose / have stolen a valuable item some courtesy would seem to be appropriate. Makes me wonder how often this must happen to engender such a reaction (?). As a result I will NOT be staying at this hotel again and will now think very seriously about ever staying in a Holiday Inn again as well. October 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, *terrible* staff attitude - will NOT stay here again. Firstly this hotel is pretty well located for the Ostbahnhof (with good links to the airport) and the S-Bahn. I think that location is "OK" and - though *not* centrally located - it is only a short walk from down-town and all the sights of Munich. Secondly, based on my visit I would say that the hotel is pretty clean and modern and everything works well and is reasonably priced, especially for Munich. Food and drink were "ok" and all the amenities - especially the pool - are pretty good. However I had a truly terrible experience with the staff. I rather foolishly left my camera behind in the lobby area, after down-loading my pictures one evening and, when I returned to get it, it had gone. I asked the reception staff, the bar staff and the housekeeping staff if anyone had turned it in (they had not) and was met with an extremely rude / border-line hostile response. I was *not* accusing anyone - the lobby / bar area are clearly pretty busy places, so anyone could have taken it - but was asking for help / assistance. The staff reaction was unpleasant, unhelpful and in my opinion unprofessional. Yes, it was careless of me to leave my camera unattended and yes; I am pretty sure there is the standard "do not leave your valuables......." sign. However, sympathy rather than hostility would be a far better response. I will *not* be staying at this hotel again and will think at least twice before staying in Holiday Inn's anywhere any time in the future. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 easy going No fuss reception,parking no problem,room tidy and recently refurbished with excellent ensuite.Beds(mattress) could be better but we are alittle bit fussy about mattresscomfort.Addiotional bedcovers were immediately provided. Breakfast is exceptional for the price. Go for Holiday Inn when looking for good accommodation in MUC. October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sehr empfehlenswert Das Hotel sieht von außen nicht so toll aus, aber der Eindruck wird im Inneren doppelt wett gemacht. Unser Zimmer war von der Größe her ausreichend, ebenso das Bad. Die Betten/Matratzen sind sehr gut. Wir haben lange nicht mehr so gut in einem Hotel geschlafen. Auf dem Zimmer befindet sich ein Wasserkocher mit Kaffee und Tee. Der hoteleigene Pool ist ausreichend. Das Frühstück ist weltklasse und verdient ein besonderes Lob - genauso wie die Freundlichkeit des Personals. Die zentrale Lage des Hotels ist klasse. In wenigen Gehminuten befindet man sich auf dem Marienplatz. Desweiteren befindet sich direkt unter dem Hotel eine U- / S-Bahn-Station. Praktischer geht es fast nicht. Der Stellplatz in der Tiefgarage ist mit 20 € pro Tag allerdings etwas happig. October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bequem, convenient hotel Lage bequem. Flughafen (30 m) Innenstadt 15 m laufen Zu wenig Personal für check in/out October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better leave your room early on departure Good central location, didn't bother with breakfast due to cost v's quality. Be prepared to be hassled to leave your room early on day of departure. Don't complain as it may be seen as a joke!! October 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The worse Holiday Inn ever!! Firstly I might ask if this hotel is really a IHG Member. They do not recognise your status, which I don't consider to be a big problem if they don't welcome you as a xxx member, however, they have a special desk for members, which is blocked to access freely and you have to anyway stay in line to access to any of them, what a joke. Secondly, they "upgrade" system is also a joke, you book any room and as a member they will upgrade your room as it should be, the joke is, they "upgrade" you from a lower level to a higher one, the room is exactly the same, a tiny mini room. Please IHG check this. Thirdly, the front desk employee at our arrive was so unpolluted and did not care about anything, he did not wanted to look for a solution, he was just blaming me as a guest. For sure I am not coming back anymore and I also ask my self, if this is the hotel chain I should continue making business with, specially in Germany. Please be aware of this when reserving at this hotel. October 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No room at the Inn Booked my room 1 month in advance with a late check in due to my flight arrival time. When I arrived I was informed there had been a problem with their system and there was no rooms left. I had to go to another hotel for my first night, only smoking rooms left, which stank. I had to move the next day to recheck in. Not something you need after a long flight and arriving at 23:30.This was the same for two of my business colleagues. October 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean modern room and great location This was my second time staying here and it was a very good experience again. Location, staff, easy parking underground, all good! My only complaint would be that they need more staff working the front desk. It took a long time to check in and to also check out, so be prepared, otherwise a Great hotel! October 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Be prepared to queue I regularly stay at this hotel, it is in a great location. However it is a very popular venue and queuing becomes a big part of the stay. I often get to the hotel around 18:30 and the queues at reception can be 20 mins, so this time I stopped of on the way to the office at 14:00, no room so then I queued to put my bag in the storage area, then queued for 20 mins when I arrived back for my room. The breakfast is great, but the layout means that everybody gets in each others way, and you end up queuing for fruit juice or eggs. There was no shampoo in my room, so I tried ringing housekeeping, waited 10 mins, then tried ringing the front desk who promised someone would bring one up, waited 40 mins, then went down to the front desk and yes..... queued and then waited another 30 mins for the shampoo.... A great location, but understaffed for the number of beds and hard work to stay there.... There is no recognition of IHG as they claim that most guests are IHG members. October 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge View from Hotel Hotel Exterior Frauenkirche München
Select to close.

Quality : Excellence

Hotel Quality: Excellent  


These hotels have received our highest level of guest endorsement, based on scores from our guest satisfaction surveys. Guests evaluate hotels based on the quality of the product, return value and quality of service experienced during their stay.

If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading