Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 248 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by BRAVO to the Staff & Hotel Our First trip to the area. The staff made some nice recomendations to local hot spots. Our room was spotless. What was truly amazing about our stay was how the Hotel and your staff were able to POWER through a city wide black out. We were amazed they were able to pull off an exceptional Prime Rib dinner for our 150 Hungry Lions Club members in the dark. It was above and beyond service by everyone. Thank goodness for candles. The power was off for 20 hours and we still had a hot coffee and breakfast in the morning. Bravo. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service We visited this hotel for a convention. Spent 3 nights and 4 days with nothing but outstanding service. It is our understanding that this property is under new management. We were concerned after reading some of the former comments, but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the overall friendliness and courtesy of the staff. Saturday night could have been a disaster, as we had a rather bad storm go through. Power was lost and the hotel staff managed a first class banquet in the dark. We ate by candlelight and the food was delicious. Our entire convention went off without a problem. Every one of us had a great time. Kudos to the Muskegon Holiday Inn staff. They went the extra mile to make it happen. Everyone from Mia at check in to Sarah at checkout are top notch, friendly, and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel. April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great whirlpool room I had trouble getting the staff in the breakfast area to give me a coupon even though our entire group of bowlers were assigned rooms by me. They all recieved one. Also the pool and hot tub were closed. Does our room price include the pool and hot tub? April 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience I stay at Holiday Inn's all over the world and this has been the worst experience I have had. I stay with the brand due to consistency, cleanliness and value. For this stay in Muskegon: The water in the restroom had to be on for 5 minutes to turn from brown to clear. The shower spewed brown and grit prior to running clear but the hot never worked. NO HOT WATER! The cover on the controls for the room temp were covered behind a piece of sheet metal. NO CONTROL as it was too hot in the room at 77. Only 1/3 of the TV channels worked that were advertised. I had a bad experience in this hotel a year ago but thought that I would give it another try. LAST time! April 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over all great place. This Holiday Inn has great character. The staff was excellent. The manager that took my extended last minute reservation wrote extensive notes in my reservation which made it extremely easy to check in and there was never an issue when I went to my original booking. The pool was under maintenance but it was made clear at check in. The only issues were the elliptical was broken and the steam room did not work. Neither were labeled out of order. April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Time for an update This hotel is shabby and in desperate need of an update. The furniture that is left in the rooms---most has been removed---is worn or just plan not there. Bathroom was clean but broken tiles and a board falling off the vanity. It looks like new lamps were put in since my last visit, but the desk lamp was already burned out. The pool was out of order, again, and the hot tub had scum floating on it. The saving grace of this property are the staff. The front desk and bar staff are 11's on a 1-10 scale. It's the actual facility that is in dire need of an upgrade. Perhaps if they shut down a floor at a time and did a complete overhaul. My fear is this hotel will go out of business as people are just getting tired of every time you show up the more shabby the rooms are getting. March 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for the fruenthal... I would stay here again as the location is so good for concerts at the fruenthal but....i would not eat in the restaurant or bar. Just on principal. Apparently, the people working there do not help each other. We had to wait a very long time for our drinks because our waiter had to deliver something to a room. No problem, i'll ask one of the other 3 people working there who aren't doing anything because we were the only people there. One woman told us she would get our drinks but we watched as she walked around the restaurant several times after we asked and still several minutes later, our waiter showed up with our drinks. Nope, sorry, can't go back to that! We decided not to order food and left. The room was good although doors are very loud and people. Next door seemed to have to come and go a lot. Hennessey's down the street was good for food. Also, although it was not mentioned on the website, we arrived to large signs all over the counter telling us that the pool was closed until further notice. Not a nice welcome! March 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking great staff. The parking situation Saturday night was like nothing I'd ever seen, and the general manager was helpless. A hockey game and pub crawl seem to have been a big surprise to him. My wife and I returned from diner to find no parking and young people using the ramp as a toilet. That's were I want to park my car, if there had been a spot. Your GM's idea was to go and try and find a city lot, they were full buy the way. If the GM is the captain of the ship, he was absent at the helm. Having been in the resort industry, I hate to see staff led by poo rand uninterested management. It was time to put on big boy pants that night and lead, not look for the exit. March 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Enjoyable Stay I had business in Muskegon, MI in February of this year. On my first stay, I was tired from traveling and I'm sure a little impatient. I was expecting the same old mechanical, couldn't-care-less attitude from the typical hotel front desk workers. Instead, what I got was Samirah (sorry if misspelled) and Kelsie. Both ladies were genuinely kind, funny and helpful. From that moment on, I was very impressed with the customer service and the friendly staff at the Holiday Inn in Muskegon. For that reason, I stayed there again this month (March) on business, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. March 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by DISAPPOINTED After a LONG hard winter, my son, grandson and I were SO looking forward to a relaxing weekend in the pool/hot tub. Having never stayed here before, we only assumed that based on the rates, it would be a top-notch facility...to include the pool/hot tub. Unfortunately, we left early Sunday morning QUITE disappointed that we only had MINIMAL use of the pool/hot tub over the weekend, as more times than not it appeared VERY dirty, with a nasty film floating in a hot tub with only (1) of the (6) jets even working! In fact, it was SO bad, we were greeted at the door Sunday morning with a note on the advising that the pool/hot tub were CLOSED until further notice! As these were (2) of the major reasons we got the room in the first place, we were SO disappointed at that point, we decided to just pack up and head for home! Probably wont stay there again, and most likely would NOT recommend it to our friends! March 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Awful Beds This hotel has the worst beds and pillows. The staff are great, but it is impossible to sleep on the beds. I slept a maximum of 6 hours a night because of how hard and tall the pillows were and the short curtains. How can a person function without being able to sleep?! March 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel, Tough Check-in We've stayed at this hotel three times when visiting our daughter in Muskegon. It is a great hotel and it's location nearby the Culinary Institute of Michigan makes it very convenient for us to walk to the restaurant and bakery shop. The rooms are spacious. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant is delicious! On this, our most recent stay, there were four events in town and the hotel was full. Noise in the halls was minimal, even though we had a room right near the elevator on the sixth floor. Check-in, however, is not easy at this hotel. We booked a room for Labor Day and arrived around 8pm. Confusion abounded as Holiday Inn was doing a computer upgrade and this hotel had no way of tracking rooms that were open, rooms that were occupied, rooms that were clean.... We did not get into a room until 10pm! I thought it was an anomaly. No. On our most recent stay again there was pandemonium about check-in process. Not one room ready for check-in until 4pm? I doubt it. But, there was a large crowd of guests in the bar area who all lined up at 4pm - and just like that, rooms started to be available. I had booked two rooms. The agent checking me in and the agent helping the next customer appeared to be racing to grab rooms for guests from inventory. We had arrived at 1:30pm, and I know that 4pm was check-in. However, that not one room became available for any guest between 1 and 4 is doubtful. Yes, we will stay here again because of convenience and it really is a nice hotel. However, I urge the management to seriously rethink the check-in experience of guests. March 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the romantic date night I'd planned! My husband and I had tickets to cheers & chocolate again this year and chose to stay at this hotel because it was walking distance to our event. I was really planning on having a wonderful evening out and then a romantic relaxing stay. (we don't get too many date nights in with 3 children) Arrived at the hotel with 20 minutes left until check-in, and had to wait until exactly 4pm because there were no wash cloths...apparently there as a Miss Michigan event and this was the host hotel...would have been really nice to know when I had made my reservation! As soon as I entered my room I was disappointed...nothing like the pictures on the website. I addressed the head housekeeper right away about the junk in the bottom of my Jacuzzi, the hair on my toilet, huge cobweb hanging from the window curtain and all the nasty white stuff on the curtain and valance. She apologized and cleaned it while we waited. The room had obviously not been vacuumed either, and the extremely flat pillows were balled up in the cases to look fluffy. Bed was made really sloppy. Heat/air unit was beat up and very dirty. After returning from our event that evening we had decided not to try the pool area because it was so crowded and noisy in the hotel from all the girls everywhere so headed up to our room. I was going to take a shower and then saw a ton of hair smeared on shower wall. Front desk sent someone up right away to clean it while she called and had me list everything that had been wrong with my room. She was very apologetic and reduced my room rate which was greatly appreciated, but due to all of my issues and the room being so run down it still was not worth the rate that I had paid. I couldn't switch rooms because it was a full house. Breakfast skillets were decent in the morning. I would never recommend this hotel nor stay here again unless I knew things had definitely changed. March 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointing Stay Hotel had a "Dancing with the Stars" convention starting when we arrived and was very crowded. There was very limited parking for hotel guests and that was far from the building. I was not greeted as a priority club member and did not get a newspaper or any of the normal priority club perks. I asked for a later check-out and was told I could not have one. However, the food was very good at the restaurant and the beds were comfortable. So not a total bad experience. February 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Non working elevators, poor service, lack of food=Long waits! My husband and I stayed Feb.15-16. One of the two elevators was broken, and we were on the 8th floor. Waited in lines to get on and off the elevator. We actually had to line up, and wait sometimes for the elevator to go up and down the entire 8 floors for several minutes each way. Service in the bar/grill area was slow, food was served without silverware. Drinks arrived after a long wait, and hamburgers came without condiments, again a wait. In the morning the breakfast buffet was empty, except for cereal. Eggs, sausage and potatoes were few and far between, and french toast was empty. We thought the oatmeal was gravy, and waited for biscuits! Found out it was oatmeal... No managers were available, desk clerks stated, elevator had been broken a week or so, and it's only a short wait! Decor is nice, rooms are very nice, but lack of customer service was disappointing. February 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn stay EVER!!!!! Well I was really looking forward to be able to Relax after a long day, but only having 1 elevator working with 8 floors of rooms. I found myself waiting almost 15 minutes to be able to get to my room after check-in. There were many young unsupervised children playing and tying up use of the elevators. I then proceeded to my room which the Heat was turned up to the point of being a Sauna. I reset the temp and then proceeded to take my Fiancee to the bar area and relax over a drink. We were told that she would not be served due to the fact her license was expired. Her license showed her age and picture but apparently that was not good enough? Since when is it a bartenders job to include employment with the Secretary of State?? Which in fact excepted her expired license 2 months prior for insurance purposes! She was and does not plan to drive so why? Does it need to be valid? We provided the proper info to be served but was not allowed. We are both well into our 40ies and found it absolutely ridiculous that this was happening. After notifying the front desk of this they checked with the bar manager she also said she would not be served without a valid license. We returned to our room in which we had trouble with both entering and securing the door neither worked properly. We then decided to go and try and relax in the Hot Tub. After changing and going down to the pool area we then found the Hot tub (i.e. Jacuzzi) which is supposed to have therapeutic relaxing bubbles was also in disrepair. What else could be wrong around this place and added to the days disappointment since we checked in at 8:30 p.m.? I was afraid of what was next? We went back to the room and did not want to press our LUCK anymore with this place. At 11:30p.m. I went to retrieve something from my car and while waiting for the elevator (AGAIN) I was told by the front desk that the issue with being served at the bar was resolved. As I told them it was like 2 hours too late for that, We had somewhere to be early the next morning. After hearing the unsupervised children running back and forth on the 7th floor well past 1a.m. I should have went to the bar and got drunk. During the stay there were 3 different times where guests who were very intoxicated were encountered including one couples whom were laughing at the staff after being kicked out of the bar area for bringing in there own Alcohol and drinking until they could barely stand up on the elevator? As my title states WORST STAY EVER!!!!! I am a GOLD rewards member and have stayed in many Holiday Inns across the country and after this stay I am thinking of changing my preference to other hotels!!!!! February 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by wasn't happy Started out with the wrong kind of room then the one i had reserved. Then in a 8 floor hotel I was on the 8th only 1 of 2 elevators working with a full hotel.The beds are very uncomfortable.Was woke up at 7 am on Saturday morning by a fire alarm in the building. Was told false alarm by the front desk something in the kitchen set it off. It did not shut off for at least 20 minutes. Then Sunday morning there was a BAT outside our room and the room next door was woke up by the loudness of the screams outside my door (that was kind of funny though). other than that the hospitality room we had was great and the resturaunt Bar and Travis the bartender were great. maybe it was just a bad weekend but the wait for the elevator was just to long . February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding experience provided by staff! I booked a room for a friend of mine who is going through chemo so that she could get out of the house & her 13 year old daughter could have a couple of friends use the pool and amenities. The hotel desk manager, Desiree, was awesome and went far above the call of duty to ensure that the stay was top notch and memorable! My friend texted me to tell me that the staff here was treating them like royalty! Thank you so much Desiree for rising to the occasion! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone as it is the best in Muskegon County! Thank you! January 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Staff We were ask very rudely...."what time r u guys leaving" 11:15a......not if we'd like to stay another day....service in restaurant was `very slow` January 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Had an excellent time! Staff was very freindly and helpful. Room was great and we enjoyed the pool and hot tub very much. January 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by New Years Eve Party Our table in the banquet room was all wet, didn't know it until we sat down. The staff quickly fixed it, thank you. The food itself, not impressed, food was cold, selection not that good. The hors d'oeuvre's were good , but the main course not so. Not impressed with the selections at all. The pastry's, I believe by the time I got thru in line, was a donut, really? And no more to put out I was told. The room needs to be up dated. Bed was comfortable. The heat in the room was so warm, that I turned the air on to cool it off, I couldn't cool it off any other way. I think the breakfast was the best meal of all. I was on the 6th floor. Would I stay there again, no January 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip I stayed in the hotel due to weather conditions. I will say that the staff here went out of their way to make me feel welcome. They were very friendly and I would not hesitate to stay at this property again. Only negative is there was no music in the bar area. December 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Restaraunt The waitress staff were especially friendly and attentive. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Cost-effective While this is an older location, it is very well maintained. Food is excellent and staff are helpful and friendly. Spend some time with Travis in the bar and you'll enjoy your stay even more. He's a consummate professional who engages all patrons and makes everyone feel at home. November 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lounge food and staff The staff in the lounge were great to all the hockey parents and their kids. Thanks November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Muskegon First Visit We came to Muskegon to visit our daughter and grandchildren for the first time since they relocated from Illinois in September. We were very happy with our accommodations for the 4 nights. The restaurant was great. Good food but more importantly the service was outstanding. We particularly want to single out Nicki. She took great care of us and our grandchildren when they ate with us. We will return. November 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by heat / air problems Room was clean but air handler would not function correctly at 10 pm maint. tried to repair but was eventually moved to another room. Jacuzzi room smelled stale. Good nights sleep . Comfy pillows November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Corporate travel to Muskegon Excellent Breakfast provided with corporate booking! October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Seeing th we had a cooler, staff brought in a small refrig w/o being asked or charged extra! Nice/very observant...thanks! October 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk The one issue was the front desk personnel could be more friendly and informative when one is checking in. The room was clean and neat. October 10, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>