Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 61 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable without being exceptional Good location. Welcoming and hard working staff. Public areas of the hotel were boiling hot but the room did have air-con. There was a strong smell of cigarettes on the second floor which was unpleasant. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great room and food. the hotel and room are as you would expect from IHG excellent! the food is as good as required, tried bar and room service both excellent. as an IHG club member, i was not greeted as such, nor was the room prepared for the two people who were staying. once i had booked in , however the service was good. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff,room spotless,plenty of tea/coffee in the room first time of useing the holiday inn but would highly recommend it,didnt eat there but everything else was spot on. June 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by quiet and good good rooms and foot the only point I have is the exit gate code pile is a mainland car driver on the wrong side June 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel had a lovely stay but disappointted when charged two different prices for drink order when order the same. but hotel itself was lovely. daughter works at holiday inn taunton so she booked it, but rate was no cheaper. June 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel for work It's a hotel that needs updating but the service, food and general cleanliness was very good June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Newport Gwent Friendly staff - Tentative! Good food Extensive drinks menu Good relaxing atmosphere Nice bedroom Bathroom includes for a bath Close to M4 motorway Only one Negative: Leisure facility only small gym with 2 bikes and 2 rowing machines no weights. Pool is only small but would be alright for youngsters! June 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Great hotel easily accessible from m4 staff very helpful only downside was the negative comments made by the night manager when I went outside for a cigarette "are you going to be doing this every hour?" None of your business and made me feel uncomfortable as a woman on my own, felt like my every move was being watched. May 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent hotel great service through out the hotel,excellent food great rooms May 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Newport Holiday Inn Experience I have spent the greater part of my last 20 years travelling due to work and have stayed in a vast range of hotels in a variety of countries hence I look for the basics in my hotel experience: Clean Bed, Shower, Good Breakfast and friendly staff.....therefore when I check into a specific type / brand of hotel I know what I'd expect - you don't get a concierge service at a Holiday Inn Express etc. So what of my stay in Newport?....given the reviews I read (and the proviso that it is normally complainers who post), I did have reservations about the hotel having stayed here for the majority of the last 8 weeks I can soundly and strongly recommend staying at the hotel. To name any specific staff names would do an injustice to many of the others as unusually in a hotel the level of consistency across the staff is excellent. The Hotel: It is an older and slightly tired building so don't expect a character bound country hotel or a modern clean lined swish building as 'THAT' it will never be....if you expect 5* service with concierge and yes Sir no Sir three bags full Sir then this isn't your hotel...but if you want a professional, friendly and cheery service then it is. . 1) Ease of access is fantastic - just a few hundred yards of J24a on the M4 after the Severn Bridge, but you don't hear the traffic at all. . 2) Check-In - Smiley, friendly (not the same thing), knowledgable and welcoming!.....However, I'm a great believer in 'As you sow, so shall you reap!' and regardless of whether or not they are paid to work in a hotel, if you are abundantly rude to people then you do not deserve the full caboodle in return....some people take pleasure in moaning, others are occasionally rude / grumpy (me included) and should not expect the same experience....a professional one but not necessarily an overly welcoming. If anyone has not been made to feel welcome here then they must have been rude beyond all bounds! . Breakfast: The food is excellent and they will always rectify any issues including bringing fresh food out where required. As per above in their manners and general - but as you get to know the team then you have the pleasure of experiencing a wicked sense of humour and banter that brightens the start to the day....again if you are in a grump in the mornings then my motto is keep yourself to yourself and speak politely.....after an orange juice or any amount of courses from their buffet breakfast bar I'm sure 99.8% of people would be far happier! . 3) The Rooms: Plenty large enough, clean and well serviced every day (unless you leave half a bottle of liquid soap as you may not get a new one in the executive rooms...you've enough left for the next morning!) please take that with humour. Yes the rooms are subject to the nature and age of the hotel but they are working through them to freshen them up and I have no complaints at all about the room size or the service. If you want a turndown service then I suggest you learn how to get into bed on your own or don't drink as much as this service is not available! . 4) The Bar: Again the staff are largely professional, friendly and welcoming people. The hotel is going through a change of brands at present (still awaiting my favourite 1664 to replace the existing) but plenty of choice. As always bar staff cannot service 8 customers who all arrive at the same time as this is normally a complaint from the more unreasonable customer (speaking as a customer who used to be a barman) but wait your turn and you'll be welcomed - attend the bar more than a few nights and the experience is heightened by a bit of banter where acceptable. . Would I say that this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in....Nope! Would I say that they are the best rooms I've ever stayed in..Nope! - I've been very fortunate in certain past hotel experiences so could never say that. . Are the staff the best I've ever met - hmmm I'd never upset those at previous hotels but knowing that getting and KEEPING good hotel staff is a notoriously difficult thing to do in the hotel trade - I would say that the level of staffing on all counts is far better than I would ever expect and I'd like to think that over the 8 weeks I've made a lot of new friends here and can heartily recommend arriving with a smile, being polite and then enjoying a bit of friendly banter mixed in with a professional attitude with the vast majority of staff. . I'd have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone and would say that, whilst there are some very poor reviews, they must be few and VERY far between as I cannot envisage any normal person having anything less than a over average experience for a 3* hotel. . Well done folks!!...and contrary to my pre-stay expectations I shan't be staying anywhere else during my eleven months in Newport! April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service I stay at many different hotels around the country and in general find them a mixed bag but make a point never to revisit anywhere that I am disappointed. With that in mind and the fact I have a free choice of which hotel I stay in, I have stayed in this hotel very regularly over the past 2 years, why? Because its a good hotel in a good location, with spacious well equipped rooms and absolutely the friendliest, most welcoming and helpful staff I have ever encountered. The whole team go way above and beyond to ensure my stay is hassle free and enjoyable, and they make me feel valued and appreciated for my business. I speak of them so often to my wife that I just had to take her to show her the place that has become my second home and meet the people who look after me so well, she was also very impressed. Take it from me (a seasoned traveller), these people care about their guests - and it certainly shows! April 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good all round helpful and friendly staff I have stayed at this hotel over the last nine years I have always had a friendly face to welcome me with a smile and a warm hello If I have ever had any issues they were dealt with quickly and diligently by an understanding staff March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service For the price charged, this hotel is great value. The rooms are comfortable and the staff and service are excellent. Although one of the older Holiday Inns, I quite like the slight wear and tear, it adds character March 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The staff make this hotel stand out from so many As a platinum member I have stayed in numerous HI over the years and it must be said that the staff of the Coldra stand out BY FAR for their friendliness, helpfulness & all round great customer service. Location is excellent, food is well priced and parking is free. Many of the rooms have been refreshed over the last couple of years but even the rooms that are still waiting for their makeover are maintained to a good standard and wifi is now spot on across the hotel. The gym is quite small, but has an adequate range of cardio vascular machines ... the one downside being that the rowing machines are not bolted to the floor ... with my poor rowing technique I can row across the floor of the gym in under 15 minutes(!) Joking aside, I cannot overstate how the staff make the Coldra refreshingly different to so many carbon copy hotel chains March 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shocking I arrived in the evening and went to have a drink in the bar where the tables had not been cleaned and were sticky.I asked for a menu and was told that there wasn't one I went to the restaurant and was presented with the worst food I have ever been served in any hotel of any star rating anywhere in the world. The room was tired and the bathroom needed a lot of attention. I am a priority club member and this is the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in February 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor hotel not worth any star Arriving in the room, window wide open and room not heated (temperature 5-6 degrees celsius). Heating device not working, because batteries remote control empty - requested to repair at reception and they gave me some batteries to repair myself. In the bathroom all joints were black, because of continuous moisture - poor hygiene and in the bath still some hairs of previous guests. February 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dated and poorly trained staff This hotel is definitely a relic of the past. That's OK, old things can be good too! Sometimes when old meets new things go wrong. This couldn't have been more true with the 'new menu' making its début during my stay. The staff were clearly confused with the new tills. For example, I ordered a cheese & tomato pizza, with a salad and coleslaw from the bar. It took the poor guy about 5 minutes to enter it in the system. Over an hour later a pepperoni pizza arrived. It wasn't that busy. I didn't complain, feeling sorry for them (not to mention hungry having waited an hour!) I asked the guy for a beer when he gave me my food. 30 minutes later it still wasn't there and I could see him busily working the till. I decided I'd rather just leave it and went back to my room. Your loss, Holiday Inn, I would have probably sat in there for another hour or so with my book! The hotel had also run out of double rooms, so put me in a twin. The beds were sadly single beds (rather than two smaller doubles). I pushed them together and had an OK sleep. I'd beware anyone travelling here in summer, as there didn't appear to be any air conditioning in the room. If you're like me and cannot sleep at all when it's hot, avoid! In all though, it was an OK experience. The 2 *s is to reflect the lack of training the staff had, the lack of platinum recognition (possibly the first time I got literally nothing) and the dated feel of the hotel. Maybe if I came back another time when they're used to the menu, it'd be OK, but I have to rate it on my experience. January 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's a Holiday Inn! Here's the facts- I have stayed here numerious times over the past 6 years, sometimes I get an upgrade sometimes not! Some rooms have had a recent refresh, but others not, it's luck of the draw. Wifi is available but make sure you ask, otherwise you may be out of range, Restaurant buffet food is good if you get the fresh stuff early or after when it's been busy. Breakfast is good. January 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed my staff My kids love this hotel. They enjoy the spacious lounge/bar and the swimming pool. Food was superb. Highly recommended. January 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel I use IHG throughout the EMEA region and this was a great stay. Clean , comfortable room, shower worked with hot water, good matress, good internet, a modest gym. I eat in the restaurant and the food was good. Overall a great find- will be back December 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Helpful Freindly and Fun When I arrived the reception was cheerful friendly I was greeted as a Priority member and welcomed, shortly after I entered my room, where some chairs had been stacked as there were syndicate rooming taking place, not an issue as it was mid-afternoon, the receptionist person tried to ring me twice then "ran to my room with a key to another room where I wouldn’t be inconvenienced Later I had a problem, mine, with the Wi-Fi same person sorted me out. Nothing was too much trouble she was friendly and Helpful... The lads and lasses in the bar were equally friendly and I felt at home The receptionist was "Mobeen” please reward her with praise if nothing else. If I can and I’m in the area I will stay again November 20, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by newport good having 30 minutes free wi fi in the bar why not at other holiday inn hotels? October 22, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly but unprofessional service spoils the hotel Try to get a drink at the bar in the evening and you'll find no barman! Food is poor in terms of quality and presentation-seems to cater for the coach tours more than business travellers. Overall with professional management this could become a good hotel as facilties are quite good and the location is very convenient for Newport and surrounds October 17, 2012
<<prev 2 3