Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tired Building This hotel needs upgrading. The walls and carpet are tired and old as is most of the furniture. If the hotel can charge the high rates they get for this area, it is time to reinvest some of the capital. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Portland Hotel stay was great Bed was very comfortable, room very clean and hotel staff was great August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great service During our stay it rained. But, due to this great location we were well entertained. The hotel is right across from the Portland Museum of Art. It 's Old Port location allows access to countless restaurants and shops. The staff at the desk were excellent in advising us where to go to get great food. In general, another great vacation at this Holiday Inn. We will return. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Who knew room service food could be that good? We have been frequent visitors to Maine for many years. At 8 pm on a Friday night, we decided we didn't want to walk to town and so ordered room service--a rare occurrence for us because room service food is notoriously bad. My husband ordered the whole lobster, I ordered a lobster roll. They arrived within 30 minutes and were fabulous, even included flowers on the tray. The next night we went to town at the local casual lobster place (forget the name but the Yelp reviews said they had a great view--NOT! But Yelp did say the food was just okay) The lobster and lobster roll from the hotel were far superior and the view of the bay from our room (9th floor) also far superior. The cost wasn't much different because we had our own wine in the room. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location, nice place to stay we love portland this is the 2nd time we stayed here. great location view. parking garage was a little tight but we moved to another level found alot more spaces to park in. shuttle to town was useful so we didn't have to move the car. can't wait to return! August 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't Stay Here: It's Gross And The Staff Is Rude My room was overpriced for the size and amenities. The housekeeping (bathroom especially) was appalling and the shower was clogged and I had disgusting bath water up to my calves! The AC rattled and it was a smoking room without any air filter system or window to open....I definitely would rate this room as 1 star or poor!! Not to mention they tried to charge my room twice to my card and announced to the entire line behind me that my card was declined....it declined because I could only afford one nights stay!!! Uppity staff that didn't fully resolve my problems so I was sure to call corporate and file an official complaint. Please don't waste your time and money at this establishment, unfortunately I did. August 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Holiday Inn at a VERY High Cost My stay was fair at the Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, but the cost was outlandishly high compared to the quality. This property is simply just another Holiday Inn, usually a fair value, but not at the amount charged for this room. In fact half of the charge would have been considered very high. Had it not been that I needed a room for friends in downtown Portland at that time I would not have stayed there. I feel very used! August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overnight stay after late arrival via plane The hotel picked us up at the airport. It was a very speedy check-in and a great night's sleep. In the morning we walked to the Enterprise car rental and picked our car up. It was a beautiful short walk. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Perfect Stay! This hotel is in the perfect spot! Downtown close to everything with a wonderful shuttle service that picked us up at DiMillos during a rainstorm and will take you just about anywhere (within reason) you want to go. Beautiful view of the bay, Keurig coffee maker, big tv - although we spent very little time in our room. We ate breakfast in the hotel the morning we left - they open VERY early. The blueberry pancakes were totally loaded with sweet blueberries and the Maine maple syrup was served warm. Friendly, accommodating staff - I could find no fault at all with the hotel (other than AC that was a tad noisy). Would definitely stay there again! August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleasant Stay We stayed for two nights paid by points on our IHG Member Master Card. We were treated like VIPs at check in. The hotel was nice and clean, and all staff were pleasant. The hotel is an easy walk from the old port, and several very nice restaurants. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good hotel nice room but breakfast is lacking We had vouchers to use on breakfast and we used them on the buffet and the food was horrible. It was old dried out and not worth 11.99 August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Facility An excellent facility, nicely located in Portland. Staff are competent, courteous, and do a good job of anticipating, and resolving, any needs. A definite do-again. July 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by do not bother staying here A very disappointing experience Restaurant staff were rude, arrogant and condesending Room was fair Air conditioning would not adjust July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, great view We were on the top floor with a view of the bay and loved it. Room was very clean, comfortable, enjoyed the large indoor pool, staff was friendly, courteous and very helpful. Would definitely stay again. July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lovely room, smoke free poor view from the 4th floor, better views offered came with a smoking room on the 8th floor. Wonderful shuttle, quick and easy espically in a down pour. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed and room It is tough to get a full night sleep when the bed is making such loud noises. You couldn't move without everyone in the room waking up. It was too late to call the front desk to ask for a room change. Please check this out so future guest won't have that problem. Behind the chair and the under lip of the sink could use a good cleaning. The staff was wonderful and the location great. Deana at the front desk was great! She checked us in and helped us with our questions. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean, friendly A beautiful and well-kept room, very friendly and helpful staff, and good location for downtown Portland sites such as the Portland Art Museum. I appreciated the shuttle to the airport. Too bad there was no breakfast--which less expensive hotels usually offer--and wifi was so slow that it was almost worthless, a disappointment after seeing the advertising touting the implementation of this service across the chain. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, friendly staff We have stayed here many times, as the rates are comparable to other properties and the location is great. Room was comfortable and the staff was very friendly, both at check in and check out. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful surprise! Perfectly located close to the Old Port, but not so close you feel the chaos. The staff is amazingly attentive and the facilities are well cared for. My family loved our time here! July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was very gracious and helpful. We found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and fairly quiet. The location is terrific for walking around town vs. taking your car. Considering that we were in Portland over a weekend, the hotel price was fairly reasonable compared to others in town. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The Holiday Inn by the Bay was a great location, close enough to all the shops and restaurants that you could walk to everything. We did use the shuttle service a couple times and taxi service only when we went to a marina across the Bay. We would definitely stay here again and the added cost of a Bay View was well worth it. We had great views all the time! July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great experience Thoroughly enjoyed our stay...comfortable room with a view...great breakfast in the dining room...comfortable lounge..extremely friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely stay here again. Love PORTLAND!!!! July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous location This was my fifth time staying at the holiday in Portland by the bay. Each time I am more than satisfied with the room, the staff, and the value of the stay. But what cannot be beat in my mind is the location of this property. A mere four blocks down hill to the port it self, it is close to all the stores, Monument Square, all the restaurants along the water and only about a mile to the Ferry Pier. For the price, this hotel cannot be beat! I did not eat any food there nor did I have time to relax because I was there for an event. But I would like to say that although there were other events being held there and many wedding guests staying in the rooms, the hotel was quiet and smoke-free. July 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, nice facility, had smoking room Good location, nice facility, and friendly staff. Negatives were a slightly expensive breakfast and the fact that we had to accept a smoking room that was very fragrant. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A fantastic seaport hotel A great hotel that is highly walkable to the old port district filled with restaurants and shops. It's in a quiet location and was very clean with awesome ocean views if you can get a bayside upper floor room. Staff was extremely helpful and especially the shuttle driver who was awesome. I would stay here again and would also recommend it to others. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay and Wonderful Employees We found this to be a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay. The employees were extremely helpful and accommodating. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We had a wonderful stay! Staff was excellent! Front desk was very helpful with places to go and directions. Breakfast hostess was very friendly with a positive attitude - great start for the day! Needed the shuttle once on a rainy day - service was awesome. Will stay again and will recommend to friends and family. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in Portland My wife and I stayed at the HI in Portland for two nights July 2 and 3. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Portland and I would absolutely stay here again. It's close enough to the Old Port area but far enough away that you don't get all of the noise and pedestrian traffic that you would get if staying down by the water. The front desk staff failed to tell us they had a shuttle service to downtown-a security person had to to inform us of this. I can overlook the small stuff because the overall experience was excellent! July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No bang for your buck! I have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inns over my life time. I must say I was a little disappointed considering the price of my room. You are simply paying for location and nothing else. Don't get me wrong staff was friendly, rooms were clean, just no extras or wow factor. That is room was satisfactory, view was mediocre, amenities okay, and not even a hot breakfast included in the price of admission. Only pro is that you are less than 10 minute walk to the wharf, shops and restaurants, although sidewalks in the area leave something to be desired. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you for the hospitality Great location in Portland. Very friendly staff at the front desk and the Van drivers (especially Mark and Mike), some of the greatest guys around. thanks for your help and tips. July 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>