Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 367 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel verry convient to get around the raea the shuttle service was great during my stay it was snowing we used the shuttle service daily the employees went out of there way to make feel at home I will recommend the hotel to family and friends January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short but pleasant stay My room was on the top floor and had a wonderful view of the City of Portland. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and in good shape. Internet service was easy to access and reliable. The only downer was that the fan on the heat/AC unit ran continuously, even when on auto. The stay was short, but very comfortable. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our favorite hotel in Portland We have stayed at the Holiday Inn whenever we visit Portland. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. We also appreciate the availability of rooms where smoking is allowed. January 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gem in Portland Great stay in January at Holiday Inn By The Bay. Staff was extremely kind and attentive whenever questioned or in casual passing. I had a bay view room which offered a beautiful view of Casco Bay. I have stayed in previous bay view rooms at this hotel and have seen many beautiful sunrises from it. This time the weather prevented that but still offered great viewing of boats in the water. Breakfast buffet was included with our stay as part of the group we were with and it was always stocked and have various options of hot and cold items. Shuttle service to the local area was also very helpful especially in the snowy weather we had and the shuttle driver was able to provide me with several great places to check out based on interests I expressed. January 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Service I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay. The staff was helpful, accomodating, courtious, and professional. The rooms were great and the banquet facilities for our conference exceptional! Just a short walk to the Old Port. I highly recommend a stay! January 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by decent location The staff were great and we received a complimentary upgrade but the hotel is starting to show its age. The in-room air conditioning/heating units are very loud so good luck if you're a light sleeper or have a sleepy toddler in the room! Would have thought you would have had breakfast included especially off season and as a priority club member. But overall it's fine, just needs a makeover. January 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spontaneous Overnight A few friends of mine had never been to Portland before and I was planning on visiting a business associate of mine. We decided that we would spend a night in Portland so the friends could see the city and I could get a little work done as well. There was no question that we were going to stay at Holiday Inn by the Bay. The staff is always fantastic, the rooms are ample sized and comfortable and the location is absolutely ideal. The rates are quite reasonable and they have on-site parking for a small fee, saving us from having to use an in town garage. I always enjoy staying here and always recommend it to other people. January 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Special Thanks I have stayed at Portland-by-the-Bay frequently, but this time I appeared with a sciatic leg. They could not have been more helpful, bringing an extra blanket, asking repeatedly if there was anything they could do to help. In the end, the trip, which was necessary and not pure pleasure, turned out to be one of the most relaxing I've had, and I returned home healthier than I left! January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All around great experience! It's very apparent that service has been taught from the top down. Very impressive hotel! I know there are other hotels in Portland but my wife and I always check this hotel for a room before we even consider staying anywhere else. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Seriously, it doesn't get much better than this, folks! I've stayed in a lot of properties in my time (including some with a 5-Diamond rating), and this is one of the best I've ever been in. I didn't really have high expectations going in; I just chose this property because it was across the street from my meetings. So I was delighted to discover a place I would enjoy going back on vacation. First the lobby and front desk: the entry is clean and bright and modern, and the person who checked me in was friendly, welcoming, and professional. Then the room: fresh, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Excellent bed, comfortable pillows, great climate control system. Nice towels, real wood hangers in the closet, and a Keurig coffee maker! Workout facilities: basic machines, but a really nice pool that's actually long enough to do meaningful laps in. Room service: good food at a reasonable price, delivered well within the promised timeframe. Location: right in the heart of old Portland just steps from the art museum and other fun stuff to do. The best part, though? The people!!! Every single staff person I came into contact with was 5-star. Not only were they professional, they were NICE too!!! I will definitely be back!!!! January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stranded love Portland, this city is a gem - anytime I think of a getaway from New York's craziness, I know this city is a place to be. The first time I came here a couple of years back, I stayed at this hotel. I was very satisfied with the amenities they offer, so I planned our (my boyfriend and I) new years eve here. We booked and purchased the room in advance from december 31st to january 2nd. Unfortunately there was a snow storm, thus our flight was cancelled and there was no way out from Portland to New York all the way to the 5th, which means we had to stay for three additional nights. Since we stayed in an executive room, I knew we might have to switch to a more affordable one, or it would cost as both of our arms and legs. We expressed our concern to the shift manager (Jonathan), whom were more than helpful. He understood our situation and offered a reasonable price for the same room for the three remaining nights - knowing that it wasn't our plan and to moving to an other room would be a a bit of a hustle. He handled our additional booking in a highly professional manner. The stuff was very helpful throughout our stay, our room was neat , comfortable and clean. I loved the coffee machine (keruig) in our room, although there is a free coffee/hot chocolate/tea station at the lobby. The restaurant - Port of Call - was the best choice for breakfast, they have everything to ask for for an easily affordable price. Service is friendly and prompt, you just might have a bit of a problem listening to other guests dietary needs, but thats about it. There is a bit of a set back with the dinner menu though - it doesn't have too much of a varieties. The portions are ok, but Im pretty sure that the haddock on the Caesar salad is made from frozen fish - which you are not expect from a city known from it's fresh seafood. The location is excellent, it is about 10 mins walk from the Old Port . The hotel amenities include a free transportation, so whenever you need a lift just call them, and they will pick you right up. It could be extremely helpful when the weather gets nippy and you are two miles away from the hotel. Over all, I was very happy with our hotel selection in Portland - and if I need another mini-vacation, I would be certainly choosing this hotel again. For the hotel stuff: thank you for making our extra days in Portland memorable! :) Ps: I would recommend to flip the mattresses time to time, coz it can get somewhat "bended" after a while. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stranded I love Portland, this city is a gem - anytime I think of a getaway from New York's craziness, I know this city is a place to be. The first time I came here a couple of years back, I stayed at this hotel. I was very satisfied with the amenities they offer, so I planned our (my boyfriend and I) new years eve here. We booked and purchased the room in advance from december 31st to january 2nd. Unfortunately there was a snow storm, thus our flight was cancelled and there was no way out from Portland to New York all the way to the 5th, which means we had to stay for three additional nights. Since we stayed in an executive room, I knew we might have to switch to a more affordable one, or it would cost as both of our arms and legs. I expressed my concern to the shift manager (Jonathan), whom were more than helpful. He understood our situation and offered a reasonable price for the same room for the three remaining nights - knowing that it wasn't our plan and to moving to an other room would be a a bit of a hustle. He handled our additional booking with a highly professional manner. The stuff was very helpful throughout our stay, our room was neat , comfortable and clean. I loved the coffee machine (keruig) in our room, although there is a free coffee/hot chocolate/tea station at the lobby. The restaurant - Port of Call - was the best choice for breakfast, they have everything to ask for for an easily affordable price. Service is friendly and prompt, you just might have a bit of a problem listening to other guests dietary needs, but thats about it. There is a bit of a set back with the dinner menu though - it doesn't have too much of a varieties. The portions are ok, but Im pretty sure that the haddock on the Caesar salad is made from frozen fish - which you are not expect from a city known from it's fresh seafood. The location is excellent, it is about 10 mins walk from the Old Port . The hotel amenities include a free transportation, so whenever you need a lift just call them, and they will pick you right up. It could be extremely helpful when the weather gets nippy and you are two miles away from the hotel. Over all, I was very happy with our hotel selection in Portland - and if I need another mini-vacation, I would be certainly choosing this hotel again. For the hotel stuff: thank you for making our extra days in Portland memorable! :) Ps: I would recommend to flip the mattresses time to time, coz it can get somewhat "bended" after a while. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything but good coffee The front staff were absolutely great! They offered recommendations and directions and made our stay a memorable one. The beds were extremely comfortable and the view of Casco Bay was something to wake up to every morning. The parking was even better than expected and the pool was comfy and clean for the kids. The only complaint was that the coffee was awful - whether it was in the lobby or in the restaurant, the coffee was awful. We did find a great coffee shop just down the road a piece so that was the only area where they could use some help. December 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by extremely disappointed....... we were very disappointed with our stay at your hotel, our son and family live nearby, so this is our second xmas stay here. first of all $10. per nite parking. i could understand if it were the season or just $10. for our stay. ridiculous!!! when we checked into our FIRST room we could not get in even though the green lite came on, so back down to the front desk and when we told them they asked if we turned the handle both up and down, duh..... then they put us on the 11th floor. when we went into the room the front of the heat facade was off. it was quite chilly we turned the heat on to 71 and left the room we mentioned to the desk clerk that it was cold, but she assured us it just takes 1/2 hour. so we left when we came back at 9 pm the room temp. had not changed. so we called down to the front desk for room no 3. he came up and escorted us to our 3rd room which was adequate. a room upgrade would have been nice. extremely disappointed, don't have any plans to stay there again. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you all so much First, you should know, my wife and I are champion complainers. We find silly things to criticize and can find a problem in nearly anything. That said, we loved our experience with this hotel. We had an awful experience dealing with the airlines and Newark International Airport, in trying to get out to Portland. Our connecting flight was canceled while we were in the air. So we were supposed to arrive in Portland that night, but instead were stuck in Newark and had to spend the night in a different hotel. We finally made it to Portland the next morning around 10:30am. The shuttle came and picked us up at the airport immediately. We explained how the airline messed everything up. They helped us out by granting some discounts to offset the fact we had to stay in a different hotel the previous night. They then bent over backwards to help us make the most of our stay, by pointing us to neat little hidden gems in town. We were to check out on a Sunday and fly back into Newark to get our connecting flight back home. Yet again, Newark canceled our flight, and we were stuck in Portland for an extra night. The staff helped us out tremendously. They put us right back in our old room at a significant discount, the shuttle took us to the airport so we could talk to a representative and iron out the details and figure out how to get the flights for the next day arranged, the shuttle waited for us at the airport until we were ready to head back to the hotel, and the staff helped us coordinate a very early morning shuttle to get back home. The room was great, the view was great, the location was great, the rate was great, and the staff was great. We were extremely happy with our experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone. December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We Had a Pleasant Stay! Overall very nice stay. We were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff--van drivers, front desk, bar, restaurant, and housekeeping! The room was nice (although bathroom was smallish) and clean and the beds comfortable. A microwave and refrigerator were an added plus in the room. We were on the 11th floor and the internet signal was very weak/hard to connect to for rooms facing the city. The hotel vans will take you to local attractions and restaurants, which is nice if cold outside. The lounge could probably use a cocktail waitress/waiter in addition to the bartender. We really liked the free coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby! We liked our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone! December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient & spacious room This hotel was close to everything. We stayed here one night for a show a few blocks away. Was an easy walk (just with construction around hotel) to and from the venue and around the area. We had thought we booked a non-smoking room, but when we checked in, the hotel had us down for a smoking room. The employee checking us in was nice enough to easily make the switch. The room was very large with 2 beds, sofa, and large windows to enjoy the view. The bathroom seemed a little small, but that was probably the only negative. The staff was very polite and greeted us every time we entered the building. Would definitely stay here again. November 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Stayed for a conference. Great location and helpful staff! November 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This place stinks (literally). I guess it's possible to gave a good stay here, in that maybe my experience is an isolated one. However, here's what happened to me: I checked into this hotel, got up to my room, and found that the room absolutely REEKED like red onions. A very distinct and pungent odor, and it slapped me in the face when I entered the room. I called the front desk immediately, the sent up someone who sprayed air freshener in the heater to cover the smell. I guess it worked for a little while, although it wasn't much of an improvement. Normally, I would've asked to be moved to a different room, but I overheard a hotel employee at the front desk tell someone that the hotel was completely booked out, so I knew that would not be a possibility. I left the room for several hours for dinner. When I came back, the smell was worse than ever, as if it had actually gotten worse while I was out. It was late, and I was very tired, and frankly I was too beat to complain about it (again) to the skeleton night crew. Well, I wish I would've been more tenacious, because the smell became overwhelming in about an hour or so, and I basically got no sleep at all that night because of the incredibly pungent and noxious smell in the room. There was no escaping it. At one point, I actually considered going down to my car in the garage and sleeping there- that's how desperate I was to get a few hours of sleep. When I was ready to check out, I called the front desk to tell them about this, so that at the very least someone else would not have to deal with that stench. They said they were sorry, but that was it- they didn't send anyone up to check it out, or offer anything beyond that. I went down to the front desk to check out, and again told them about the awful smell in the room. The front desk employee apologized, and took $25 off of my bill. Thanks, I guess. While I appreciated the sentiment, I left like the hotel didn't go very far to deal with this problem, at all. I guess I should've complained more and been more of a jerk about it, but frankly I was so tired from the sleepless night I didn't have it in me to make more of stink (pun intended). Also, how many times am I supposed to call with an issue like this? The room was unsuitable, it shouldn't have even been allowed to be rented. This wasn't a cheap room, so knocking $25 off of the bill doesn't really go very far, and I don't feel like they cared whether or not I was satisfied, and they just wanted get me out of the door. Based on this experience, I would never stay at this hotel again. If you plan on staying here, I hope you don't get room 914, or that you really like the smell of red onions. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great experience. My stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland was great overall. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The dining areas offered great atmosphere with delicious food. The shuttle service was on point and transported my colleagues and I safely. It definitely is the place to stay for a vacation atmosphere without too much cost involved. Although I had an overall great experience, there are a few things I'd like to note that may be irritating for potential customers. Listed below are 2 major items that people should be aware of. First, the internet is very slow. No matter where I was in the building, it was not working efficiently. Although it is understandable that with such a large capacity hotel, there is a lot of room for improvement. I also had a room with an ethernet router I can plug into that did not work. Second, the parking deck was very tight, very limited, and costly. I'm not sure how many potential customers would enjoy getting charged daily for a parking deck they can't even park in because attendees to events and conferences take up all the parking spaces. Also, the spots are very tight, which holds a high risk of cars being scratched. To conclude, other than the 2 major items that made my experience somewhat uncomfortable, everything else was great. I definitely enjoyed the people and the staff. Very friendly and very professional. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Excellent place to stay. Great location, perfect hotel, excellent customer service and nice bedding. November 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great venue Nice ammenites , good food and responsive staff make for a great time. November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, comfortable surroundings, great location We were greeted immediately upon arrival. The desk agent was extremely friendly, informative and professional. Our room was spotless. Impressive 40 inch television, great bedding and sitting area. We visited the bar soon after. Our bartender was super friendly. Gave us tips about the area and chatted sports with us at length, which we love! We actually made it a point our second day to visit him again. That is impressive in a city full of restaurants and bars. All in all it was a fabulous stay. We had a little hiccup at checkout, but it doesn't change our opinion on this hotel. We never ate at the restaurant, but the food we saw looked appetizing. They also offer free apps on the weekend afternoons. It was an easy walk to the downtown, also. I would suggest this hotel to friends and family. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Complimentary Water I enjoyed having complimentary coffee & tea in the front lobby but I would also like ice tap water. Thank you for the complimentary coffee & tea setup. I appreciate the small things. November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service The plug ins for electronics did not work, so I called front desk. After that, I had to endure 3 visits of the service personnel, who checked and rechecked all devices, replaced clock and lamp. However, the plug ins still did not work. It turned out the phone worked poorly too. Next day my room entry card stopped working. They replaced the card, but nobody cared to apologize for these problems. There was very large and noisy company in the next room, which came there at about mid night. The stay was miserable. Next time, I will stay in some motel: it will be not worse, and cheaper. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitable and clean The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the amenities we could have needed. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean hotel - great experience I requested a room with a view upon booking as we were celebrating my wife's birthday in Portland and I was really happy that they accommodated my request. The hotel lobby and was clean and checkin was fast. Parking was very convenient as well - we could come and go as we pleased and it was competitively priced to surrounding garages. I particularly liked it was self park and enclosed. Our only gripe was the sheets weren't as soft as we would have liked. We had housekeeping change the sheets and found they were still a bit too rough. I find it funny I am writing this as the negative for the hotel - I never thought I'd be picky about the sheets as I'm not that type of person. Otherwise we had a great stay and recommend the hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome bag I was very appreciative of the welcome bag I received on check-in that contained snacks, a bottle of water, magazines, and coupons for free drinks. That was a very nice touch! I wish that the rooms with 2 beds had queen beds in them instead of doubles. That would have definitely made the stay more comfortable, though I was pleased with the hotel overall. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by October in Maine Very nice rooms with a great view of the Portland Harbor. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and impeccable cleanliness Everyone on the staff greted us with a smile and offered to help us, including shuttle drivers, front desk, housekeepers. The rooms, inlcuding meeting rooms and public restrooms were impeccably clean. The shuttle even took us to a good seafood restaurant. My only negative was that the food in the restaurant was boring and limited for people on healthy diets. The service in the lounge was poor - it seemed like the bartender had more than she could handle alone. October 21, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13 next>>