• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cumberland County Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Portland Expo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 199 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI Express Standard Achieved Friendly and efficient service in clean and updated accomodations! November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and service This is a good hotel. Clean with a comfortable bed and furniture. Breakfast was up to the usual HIE standards. November 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by customer satisfaction all relatively good but noisy on teh ground level and heating fan too noisy and too dry, November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff makes the stary This is a great hotel to stay at. The staff is friendly and helpful. We strongly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Portland area with easy access to Freeport. You will not be disappointed staying here! November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Ez on Ez off the highway and a great location. The room exceeded my expectations October 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, comfortable stay, loud on highway We stayed at this particular hotel because we wanted to use our Air Miles. Unfortunately, we were not able to (they had run out of rooms that were available for Air Miles users). This was a major inconvenience and made booking a room very difficult, as the hotel did not even show up when we went to book through Air Miles. I'm not sure if this is an Air Miles problem or Holiday Inn - we didn't receive any help from either. However, we did contact Holiday Inn directly in the end, and booked that way and paid full price. So after a difficult booking, the staff we did deal with on the phone and in person at the hotel were great. Super pleasant, attentive, and very friendly. Our room was very clean, no issues, and our bed was king sized and very comfortable. There was a seating area with couch and two chairs which was nice and more comfortable than sitting up in bed, and was large enough for friends to visit. The room had some extras like fridge, etc. which were convenient. The bathroom was very large. The air and temperature were very comfortable. My only complaint really was how loud it was because we backed onto the busy highway. In the morning, it was super loud and all you could hear were cars wizzing by. I ended up using ear plugs. I also could hear people in halls in the evening, but nothing once we went to bed, but still - quite clear (people talking) when we were relaxing in our room). Overall, I highly recommend - the rooms were great, the breakfast was nice (hot, or you can get cereal, bagels etc.) and the coffee was good. They kept the eating area very clean and stocked. I just was annoyed that we couldn't use Air Miles (very disappointed) so book early if you plan to! and bring ear plugs if noise is a problem for you - probably the way our room faced. Our friends ran the fan to block the noise, but were a little cold in late October to do that. Overall - the staff were super pleasant and what made this trip worthwhile. October 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by POOR Review for Freeport-Brunswick Holiday Inn Express No heat in room for the first night!! Forgot to clean the room and nobody on staff at 4PM to clean the room and bring fresh towels. No compensation for the above. October 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Highway noise The room was clean and lobby nice. However, the noise from I295 was TERRIBLE! I turned on the fan in my room (which was nice and quiet) and also turned on a white noise app I have on my iPad. Neither helped drown out the constant roar of the highway. Colleges were on the other side of the building (Route 1 side) and didn't seem to have the noise issues. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation stay My wife and I always stay at this property every time we travel to Maine. The staff is A1! We always feel like we're home here. The beds are so comfortable and the rooms are always kept pristine. They make our stay in Maine the best!!! October 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly efficient staff and nice amenities Being a business traveler I found it very convenient to have good WiFi service in the hotel and plenty of easy to access power outlets to charge my laptop, iPad, and two phones for the next day. The staff was also very friendly and worked very efficiently. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Friendly Staff The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful with recommendations and directions. Room was clean and hotel was clean and comfortable. The price was a little higher than I would have like to pay. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great !! Very nice accommodations.....close to town.....front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend and will stay there when I return. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient. Good service. Just south of downtown Freeport, this Holiday Inn Express provides a great place to stay and relax. It is convenient to I295 and several excellent local restaurants. The service was exceptional; I accidentally left some of my clothes in the room, so they mailed them to me the following day. I'd gladly stay there again. October 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bring Earplugs or Heavy Pillows When I checked in and got to my room the air conditioner housing was on the floor and I think I know why. I could not sleep all night as it sounded like I was parked on the side of InterState 95 with my windows down, it was so loud having a room to sleep was a waste of money and time and should have just kept driving to somewhere else. I emailed the hotel twice to provide feedback just in case it was a issue with the room and got no reply at all, poor customer service. Very overpriced for such as poor poor customer service experience. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Consistent from One Holiday Inn Express to Another We always try to stay at this location when visiting Freeport. The price is reasonable and we love having breakfast in the morning..Hotel is clean and staff friendly and ready to help as needed. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lost Challenge Coin During my stay I dropped in room 125 a Marine Corps armor of God challenge coin. If found, I would like it returned. Thanx. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Freeport Maine Excellent customer service, great location near town and magnificent shopping and dining. Rooms are high quality as expected. Minutes from Portland and north to other locations. Great place to stay to explore numerous areas on the coast! Easy access from freeway! Offers everything expected of Holiday Inn Express! October 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Once I found a pillow to my liked, I slept really well. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What I get at Express Hotels and more Was a notch above the usual great service and facilities I expect from H I Express Hotels October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We really enjoyed this location. The staff was very helpful recommending local restaurants, attractions & ensuring our overall comfort. We loved the location for the ease of taking day trips and being conveniently located to return to for the night. The staff was friendly and attentive. Thank you for a wonderful visit! October 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Odor In the morning, there was an odor outside the hotel which was disgusting. We had to ride with the car windows open for the first few miles to get the smell from the car. October 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Recently stayed here for one night. Comfortable room with really great included breakfast. Wifi reliable and fast. October 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by poor gym only one recumbent bicycle...no weights.....very small...needs more equipment October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! Location is really good; you'd be in downtown Portland in 10-15 minutes. Excellent value! Great staff in general. Room was very clean and organized. Bathroom was not so good and updated, shower was making noise and encountered another minor problems. It would be good if breakfast was not so "sugary". BTW, the eggs were really bad, skip them! Overall, breakfast was just ok (thumbs up for the pancakes!), but there's room for improvement. Perhaps we would consider staying there again. October 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by From NJ We were coming up to Maine from NJ, for a long weekend. Everything about the hotel was better than expected upon arrivial. If I was going to nick pick. It would be the variety of the breakfast menu. We only used it 2 days and both were the exact same thing. So if you like variety, you may want to look locally after a day or 2. The room noise at the back of the hotel was on the loud side. It backs up to RT 95. My kids used the pool. The pool was clean, and nice. I would absolutely stay there again. I would ask on registering for a room at the front of the hotel. Hope this helps!! October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An excellent choice We found the hotel to have a great appearance and while located next to a major highway extremely quiet. The room was clean and the furniture provided was comfortable and sufficient, The staff was friendly and provided excellent service. The free breakfast had more choices and if you could not find something to eat it was your own fault. Check in and out was a breeze. We would stay at this Holiday Inn Express if we come to Freeport again. September 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Definitely worth the money Very comfortable and conveniently located near the interstate. Friendly staff, outstanding appearance, quality food. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean restful night. We were here on a 1 night stay enroute to Booth Bay Harbor. After a day of flying we found this hotel to be a nice, clean, restful stay. The desk personnel were friendly and gave good advice on a nearby restaurant. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great suite Very spacious suite with comfortable bed a good breakfast buffet. We enjoyed the big screen TV's and free internet. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff, good breakfast, clean comfortable rooms friendly helpful staff, good breakfast, clean comfortable room, good proximity to all area offers, convenient internet use September 21, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading