• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cumberland County Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Portland Expo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 130 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive Weekend The motel is typical of most Holiday Inn Expresses. The room was clean, beds and pillows comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating and we experienced not issues during our stay. My only complaint is the extremely high price I had to pay for a week end night. The second night we stayed the price dropped over a hundred dollar. I feel that since we were staying for the two nights one of which was a non week end that my price should have/could have been modified. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service No complaints. I would recommend this hotel for business or leisure. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Problems with door locks and a/c leaks water on rug overall good hotel but noticed door locks did not act as should. They remained locked resulting in door NOT closing as expected. Be sure to DOUBLE check your door to make sure it closes and lock is functioning properly. Never experienced this at any other hotel or with any other door. Noticed neighbor had same problem. I discovered after leaving for awhile and coming back to a door ajar and open. Fortunately was on end so no traffic by the open door. Rug was wet from AC leaking resulting in step around mode. Sausage was like cardboard and not cooked properly. Didn't get cookies and smiles on check in but oh well. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Like this location Friendly staff and great location to relax after shopping and dining in Freeport Maine! Found room at rear of hotel to have some traffic noise from the highway being so close but it is buffered somewhat by the trees between the hotel and road. We have stayed here previously but were on the front side of the hotel and was not aware of any traffic noise. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Freeport The hotel was very nice. We enjoyed our stay in Freeport, ME. July 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by very disappointed the sofa bed was broken -- no linens for sofa bed, had to ask for them-- the mattress was horrible on the sofa bed. the patch on the carpeting was terrible--it looked like someone had just slapped it in place. in the bathroom the tub was slippery - had to put a towel in tub for safety. the tissue holder had only a few tissues in the box. the person at the desk, however was great, was able to secure linens for us and was very helpful. we've stayed in this location 2 years ago and were very pleased--we do not plan to stay at this location again. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Check in Very helpful. She took our priority club card and recorded our visit. She also recommended one of the nicer restaurants I have been to. July 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Missed the Mark Rented two rooms. Checked out Wednesday AM. Computers down. Advised they would send a receipt to my email by Friday for my business expense report needs. Never received. very disappointed. July 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Comfortable beds and a great location. Staff is very friendly. Would like a few more healthy choices on breakfast selections but otherwise fresh and tasty. Also, more than one firm pillow would be nice. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick and comfortable I like when it takes 30 seconds to register and have a peacefull night. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice rooms, breakfast needs some work The hotel is very nice and the rooms were good. The pullout couch mattress was horrible, my children didn't notice because I am sure they could sleep on the floor! I could never have slept on it though. The rest of the room was nice, we enjoyed the pool. The breakfast room wasn't welcoming anytime after breakfast. The warm breakfast food selection did not change while we were there. The tea selection was only two kinds (green and breakfast tea). There were no cookies in the afternoon and I did not see a staff member in the breakfast room during breakfast either morning I was there. July 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Other HI Expresses have been better I've stayed at several other Holiday Inn Expresses though the years, and this one seemed quite dated and ordinary by comparison. We recently did a 8-day trip to Boston and up into Maine, and stayed at 5 different properties during our trip, with this one being the 4th of 5. The bathroom was very dark, the sink didn't drain well, and there was nothing special about the one night stay. It wasn't bad by any means, just nothing to remember it by. The air conditioner was actually better than some we stayed at on our trip in regards to noise level, but I think it's a design requirement for any hotel air conditioning unit to be noisy no matter the brand. Also, the wifi was very slow compared to any of the other places we stayed on this trip. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Had a good stay with a baby. Close to both Portland and Freeport. Bathroom had uncomfortable smell from shower curtain. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, clean, comfortable, convenintly located We enjoyed our 3 days stay at the Holiday Inn in Freeport. It was a great locations for all the sites we wanted to visit while in the Freeport area. Staff was great and most helpful in providing directions to different attractions. Recommend a couple of great restuarants. Even called us to let us know we have left a couple of items behind and asked where they could mail them to us. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Servies My children treated me to days away for my 75th birthday, and it was a pleasant experience. June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Freeport Nice place to stay. Comfortable and clean. The breakfast was not good. Other than that, it is a great value. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was hard and wasn't quite as comfortable as I would have liked Everything about my stay was awesome except for the bed not being as soft as I would have liked. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. Breakfast was great and always hot. I visit this area at least once a year and will make this my stay for all future visits. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 24 hr Stay We stayed at this location for my sister's wedding. It was basically used as a room to get dressed June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Most went well Everything for my stay went well, except after I requested a late checkout. I did not hear the cleaning staff knocking on my door at the normal checkout time and they almost walked in on me naked. I think the cleaning staff should have been informed of my late checkout or, at the very least, knocked louder. Everything else during my stay went well. Although, I do wish the pool was open until 10pm instead of 8pm. I chose this hotel for the pool and the price. Most other hotels in the area allow pool use until 10pm. Unfortunately, I didn't arrive until 730pm and was unable to use the pool in the evening as I had hoped. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Trip Quiet, clean room. Easy access on and off the highway. Staff pleasant and very helpful. June 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Freeport Trip Stay was average, facility could use updates to rooms and hallways - more attention should be paid to cleaning, June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoy a Swim Took advantage of the heated indoor pool. The heated water was the perfect temperature and the pool was spotless. I also used the hot tub which was so relaxing. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms Satisfied with the cleanliness and the atmosphere of the location June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by May 29 and 30, 2014 My husband and I enjoyed our previous stay at the Freeport Holiday Inn Express. Our most recent stay was equally pleasant. We look forward to being your guests again soon. M & W Cottle June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Two Nights in Freeport This Holiday Inn Express is what you would expect any HIE to be. I wish the food was better but that is what you get at these hotels. Comfy bed, quiet room. Internet somewhat lacking. I'll stay here again when I am in the area. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and great service We were upgraded to a suite that included a separate area with sofa, sitting chair and a table. In addition, the bedroom area included a desk, sitting chair and ample room for luggage. The bathroom and closet spaces were generous. Most importantly, the staff was always friendly and helpful. My wife and I are sold on this Holiday Express and will return to it when our travels once again bring us to Maine. May 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff not knowledgable poor wifi Wifi was difficult to operate. Staff was not helpful nor knowledgable May 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very surprised on this stay One of the very few times I have experianced this at IHG properties. I reserved a King room and travel to this area frequently, usually staying at another property that was recently sold. While this HI was about 1/2 hour away I thought i would give it a try and just start a little earlier in the a.m. I arrived in the early evening 5/12/14 to a quiet lobby, I was never recognized as a priority club member and was pretty surprised to be put in a double room without being told as I reserved a King. I was also not given the wifi code. It was to late to change rooms but still left a bad taste. The next morning there was zero yogurt, zero fruit and I believe the pancake machie was broken. Unfortunately, with this experiance I will not be staying the extra 1/2 hour away to stay at this particular property. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A friendly face:) I enjoy staying at this Holiday Inn Express because of it's location. Far enough away from the crowd but close enough to the action. Easy on and off from the highway and down the street from the Shaw's. The hotel staff are welcoming, the rooms clean, you can't go wrong here. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience We enjoyed our stay very much. Very nice room, could not ask for anything more. We were very pleased. April 30, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading