• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Walk To The Old Port District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Merrill Auditorium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 55 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff friendly, very clean! Breakfast good was not hot enough. You need to keep the vending machines stocked at all times. There was no water but was given 1 by front desk. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Facility I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a great stay June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and comfortable The room appeared clean and modern. The bathroom was also clean and roomy with enough towels. The only change I would make is replace the king bed with a queen. We would've preferred the extra room space. Breakfast was a nice surprise; many options to choose from. Would recommend this hotel. February 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cold Room I stayed at this hotel on two consecutive weeks when the outside temperature was near 0°. On both stays the heat was turned off in the room. The temperature in the room was around 50°. It took several hours for the room to warm up. I travel to this area twice a month, and have always stayed at this Hotel. If this is what they have to do to save money, I will find a Hotel that puts the comfort if it's guest above saving a few dollars. . February 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What A FANTASTIC STAFF Thank You for all the help!!!!!!!!!!!!! I stayed here twice this week and during the second stay I had a medical issue and the staff did everything they could. The only problem was at check-in when I asked for aspirin I was told I could go back to the gas station when you can't walk that was disappointing. I would have hoped that maybe there would have been a first-aid kit somewhere. But the day staff was outstanding. January 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff wonderful The staff were incredibly accommodating! Bed was very comfortable and my stay was very peaceful and easy. Only complaint is that gym equipment was lackluster. January 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Indoor Pool Too Cold! I often stay at the HIE Biddeford with my three grandchildren who love to swim in the indoor pool. Over our recent 3 night stay, the indoor pool's temperature went from 82 degrees on a Thursday, to 77 degrees by Sunday. The staff informed me there's a law in Maine that indoor pools must be kept at no higher than 77 degrees. I don't know which is worse, that there is a law made by politicians, or that they think 77 degree water is comfortable during the winter. Pathetic. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER WE RETURNED TO THIS HOTEL AND FOUND IT TO BE EVEN BETTER THAN OUR PREVIOUS STAY. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT LOCATION - GREAT STAFF- GREAT HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS ONE OF THE BEST BENEFITS OF "POINT SAVERS" IS TRYING HOTELS ONE MIGHT NOT OTHERWISE AND BEING PLEASANTLY SURPRISED. December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Personal, clean, comfortable I had to travel from CT to Maine for personal business and the receptionist Krista was great! We needed to change the room from a single king to queens and she did it with no questions asked. In the morning during check out in the reception was also very friendly. Oh and my kids loved the pancake making machine and of course the cinnamon buns! Thanks for a great stay! December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nearly perfect We had a great stay. My husband had to go to Biddeford for work and it was a very convenient location. The hotel was clean and pleasant overall. I even had to ask if it was new and the staff indicated that it had been newly renovated and it showed. The continental breakfast was perfect. The only negative was we could hear a mechanical noise most of the night which interrupted our sleep a little. We would stay here again for sure. December 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you I spent an overnight in Biddeford every other week for nine weeks for business. I found the rooms clean, staff friendly and only one week where room was not to temperature. Trevor (don't know how to spell) Tanya, and other permanent staff were helpful and friendly. Was always quiet and pleasant clientele. Breakfast and staff were great. I work part time in housekeeping so I know the work is hard. Would recommend this to anyone traveling for business or pleasure December 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property, friendly staff, horrible fitness room, terrible heat I redeemed Point Breaker points to stay here and that's why I give it an excellent value. The hotel is clean and the property is well kept. The rooms are clean and up to date. Staff was friendly but not very helpful. The fitness room was THE WORST of any IHG property I've ever stayed at and I use the fitness facility at every hotel I stay in.The room was tiny, hot and stuffy. There were three pieces of equipment- A barely working, old and wheezy treadmill, an ancient recombinant bike with no foot straps on the pedal and a dated eliptical which I didn't try. A poor excuse for what they advertise as a "fitness center". When I entered the room I was favorably impressed but the room seemed cool eventhough the thermostat read 70. I turned up tthe temperature but even after a half hour the heater was not blowing warm air. I called the front desk and the gentleman who answerd asked me a coule of questions. Finally he said "I don't know what to tell you sir other than to turn it up all the way. I think it maxes out at 75. That was it. The next morning the thermostat still read 70 and the room was still cold. For 5,000 points I guess I'd stay there again but I would never pay to stay at this property unless they do something about the fitness room. December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay!! Had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Pool was nice, warm and relaxing. The room was spacious. Bathroom was a tad small but was clean and functional. Really liked that the hotel was close to restaurants and shopping. It was easy to find and very quiet. Would definitely go back if in the area again. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff friendly right on top of everything checked to see if everything was in order and asked a number of times if they could do anything for me. Each and everyone of your staff made me feel very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by surprised I was expecting an average chain room small but serviceable. Was pleasantly surprised to find that the room had a separate sitting area with desk that was furnished and designed in a very classy manner. The beds were above average in comfort. I guess you could say it is like the car ad on tv..." This is not your fathers Holiday Inn!" November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and would highly recommend This was an extremely spacious hotel - separate sitting and desk area was a definite plus - breakfast was way more than a continental -- I am definitely making this a hotel of choice every time I am in the Biddeford, Maine area. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accommodations We booked this hotel after reading great reviews. We were not disappointed!  Everything looked brand new and very clean.  The rooms were well appointed, with the sitting area set apart from the actual sleeping section. Although other reviewers have mentioned the breakfast selection lacking, I must say that they offered a wide assortment of breakfast items on both mornings that we were there. Definitely will return another time. November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room except bathroom was cold we were very comfortable & pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel November 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Last Minute Stay We were unexpectedly in Maine for the weekend and had no accommodations. We found the Holiday Inn onljne and were close enough to drive to it. We entered the property at 6:30 PM and were warmly greeted - they not only found us a room, but also extended an online promotional rate. This allowed us to relax - they even provided a late check out the next day. Great staff. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed convenient location. Clean room with comfortable bed. Good overall stay! October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience My family stayed here for a weekend in October and we were very pleased. Our room was comfortable and clean and it was clear that the hotel had been recently renovated. Everything was new and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and always smiled instead of sitting behind a counter playing on a computer. The breakfast room had typical breakfast items and the staff were constantly restocking items throughout breakfast. The rooms were quiet, no hall noise or other guest noises were heard. The refrigerator and microwave were handy and a nice added convenience. The overall experience was awesome and certain members of my family are very picky about hotels and they had a lovely experience as well. Very reasonable prices. I have already booked my next stay here in a few months. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay, Inexperienced Staff My husband and I recently stayed at the Biddeford Holiday Inn Express for a weekend away in Maine. Overall, the hotel is gorgeous and well-maintained, and our room was very large and clean. The breakfast was super delicious, especially for a free continental breakfast. Our only complaint was the staff. The first gentleman we met who checked us in was very pleasant, but did not know when to stop chatting. We had arrived just before midnight after driving more than 9 hours to get there, and he kept carrying on about different things in the area and services the hotel provided (and he was very kind and professional, and the information was good). The issue was that I kept trying to walk away and end the conversation because we needed to bring our bags in and, frankly, get some sleep. This was minor, of course, and he was very kind, so it wasn't a big deal. The bigger deal was the rest of the staff. Every staff member that we came across was in their early 20's (my assumption) and usually more interested in chatting with one another or looking at cell phones than helping us. Additionally, we were out of towels and approached a cleaning staff person who indicated he would return in a few minutes with new towels. We waited 1.5 hours, and then decided we needed to leave - we were there to vacation, not to sit around and wait for towels. We returned to the room several hours later- still no towels. My husband called the front desk, and they said they would gladly send towels right up. 2 hours passed and still no towels, so my very annoyed husband headed down to the front desk to get them himself. He returned to the room without towels, having been told by the staff that they "ran out" because of all the kids staying at the hotel for a soccer tournament, were laundering them now, and would bring 2 up to us within an hour. Needless to say, morning came and we still never received towels so we both had to use a single hand towel that was still clean in our suite to shower with. Yeah, that was fun. So, hotel was beautiful, breakfast was awesome, and the room was amazing. The staff..... well, they are young and inexperienced from the looks of things, but at least that's an easy fix! We would stay here again, either way. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and spacious room. I was very pleased with the accommodations! The room was clean, beds were comfy. Refrigerator and coffee maker were a plus. Nice pool area and fitness room. We were only there one night, but I would highly recommend this for several nights. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fine stay This hotel is up to the normal HIE standards. I asked the desk clerk about a spot to run in the morning and he pointed out the location of the Eastern Train which was perfect. The room was fine, but the breakfast was not as well-stocked as other HIE breakfasts I've had. All-in-all, I would recommend it. I'm a pretty low maintenance traveler. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Value We went on a family trip to Freeport and Kittery. Couldn't have stayed somewhere more perfect. Great value for the dollar. October 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Management - Worst Hotel Experience To date, this is the worst experience I’ve had at Holiday Inn Express. This hotel is way below standard and reeks of poor management practices. I made my reservation greater than 24hours in advance via the IHG website. Upon arrival around 10pm, I was greeted by a sign indication the desk clerk was not available. After some time, a disheveled young man exited an office behind the counter and asked if he could help me. I introduced myself and informed him that I had a reservation. To that he responded that the hotel had no rooms; that somehow they were overbooked. He added that he had been in phone contact with the manager and had received no help. I expressed that I had made my reservation the day before and them not having a room was unacceptable. He asked if I could wait about 30 minutes while he moved some people around. After about 20 minutes he told me he had my room ready and issued my key. Upon my wife and I entering our room, we discovered a man in the room apparently making a bed. I questioned him as to his presence in the room, but did not get a satisfactory answer. Back at the front desk, I was informed the man was hotel staff and was cleaning the room. I discovered later that he had apparently been living in the room and was forced to move out that night. When we finally got access to the room, the room smelled of body odor, there were cobwebs on the ceiling, brown liquid spilled in the sink, dirt in the refrigerator, and the bathroom floor was dirty. It was obvious this room had not been used for hotel guest in quite some time. As a Platinum Member I’ve come to expect better standards from Holiday Inn Express. October 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms but terrible overall experience We started with bad experience when booking rooms and that should have been our first clue. Every time we called to book rooms for a wedding we were told he couldn't do it and call another time. We finally dealt with the manager who was very nice. One the day we arrived to check in our room reservation was lost. We even had confirmed it a few days before since it was our wedding. After waiting for 40 mins to try to get a room which I might add made us late for our own wedding rehearsal, we were given a room. The staff on at that time did not seem to care that this was causing any problems and had a whatever attitude. We thought that the worst was over and behind us. Again, the rooms were very nice and clean so that was great. On our last day at the hotel we began to load some of our luggage to the car so we wouldn't have so much to do after. We had the bulk of our stuff out of the room but still had an hour left which we planned to take advantage of by using the pool. When we ran back upstairs we found our door open and that the maid service had taken everything out and cleaned the room. I angrily asked where the remainder of our stuff was and was told there was nothing left in there. Well yes, there was...flowers from the wedding, our 2nd room key and our bill. We did end up talking to the manager a day later and got an apology and some money off our bill but that does not give us our flowers back. It also makes me thankful that I did not leave anything of great value (money, gifts, etc) in the room since they went in without permission. It makes me wonder how often that might happen to guests. I will never chose to stay at this hotel again, no matter how nice I felt the rooms were. October 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 dissapointed My wife and I spend about 40 nights a year at Holiday Inns. We were visiting the area for the 1st time. At check in I asked for a local map and was told that they didn't have any. Computer in the lobby for the guests to use? Nope, so I couldn't print one. Wifi signal in the room very weak and we were unable to get a google page to open so we were unable to even look at a local map. In the morning I asked again if they had a local map and was given a state map, Not very helpful. A list of restaurants with addresses doesn't help much if you can't find the addresses. We spent a lot of time driving around and asking directions. This is inexcusable for a tourist destination. Otherwise the room was comfortable and the breakfast was typical HIE breakfast. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stop over We were on our way up to Bar Harbor, and decided to split the trip up. This hotel has been redone and is nicely up to date. We found the check in Friday night rather slow as only one person was on and there was a line of people who did not seem to know what they were doing- there was a large party checking in. And we did not get a king room, but a double. It worked. October 8, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Availability
Loading