• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cumberland County Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Portland Expo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 218 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and great service A quick stopover on our way to Boston. It was a comfortable hotel with great service. We would definitely stay here again. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No gimmiks here Good room, good bed, eager staff and better than average hotel breakfast. We got twice the room for less than the one up the road that charges extra , I guess because they are nearer to L.L. Bean and I-295.. We were Privileged to have made a better Choice. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - very handy Very nice stay - everyone was very helpful - I changed the departure several times - only made me change rooms once, as I was in a king, and could only book a double for availability. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place for the end of our vacation in Maine.Staff was great. Great relaxing experience to close out a outstanding vacation in Maine.. will return. Thanks RDS October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation stay before going to Fryeburg Fair Suite was spacious and nicely set up. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Free continental breakfast was ready before official opening time, and that was very helpful to getting out on the way to Fryeburg Fair before 6:30 AM (official opening time for breakfast.). Also I really enjoyed the cheese omelets, among other nice breakfast goodies. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Bed, no drapes in bedroom The room was nice, and the bed comfortable. Our room was on the top floor so apparently they didn't figure drapes were needed for darkening or privacy. The issue was the parking lot lights outside made the room not very dark. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wake up call only complaint was they forgot to give us our wake up call at 3:50 am. Almost missed our shuttle to airport for our early am flight.l The night before, when we called they were busy at the front desk but said they would write our request in. Someone forgot. other than that our stay and the hotel service was very good, and acheery staff. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCLEENT STAY On our trip through Maine we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Portland. The staff was great , check in was easy .They had great knowledge of the area, which was very nice for us to visit resteraunts in the area. The room was very clean and quiet. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service/Breakfast Comment The service was excellent at this property. I also enjoyed the walnut and raisin selection for oatmeal in the morning. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couldn't have been better My sister and I stayed in this hotel for one night, as we were attending a family wedding in the area. Our stay began on a positive note, as we requested and received an early check-in time so that we would have time to get ready for the wedding. On check-in, we were warmly welcomed by Melissa at the front desk, who informed us about the hotel's free shuttle to local areas. We used the shuttle to go out for a quick bite and again later to take us to a nearby hotel to meet the bus that was transporting other guests to the wedding. Our suite was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had a nice sitting area with a large desk (where we could both sit with our laptops!), a mini-kitchen, and 2 double beds. After the wedding - about 11pm - we called the front desk and Rachel immediately arranged for the shuttle to come pick us up. It arrived in minutes. Later that night, we requested and received a late check-out time. Everyone was as warm and accommodating as could be. The next day as we were loading our car, we heard a jet from the nearby airport take off, and we remarked that that was the first plane we'd heard. So that's how QUIET the room was! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ALL GOOD !!! ALL GOOD !!! clean, nice folks ALL GOOD!!! Good breakfast good time September 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Torture device for a mattress and terrible breakfast You have obviously never slept on one of those mattresses or you wouldn't have them. Really felt like a piece of cement with a sheet on it. And that breakfast, well, I'm not really sure how to describe it. Except to ask, Would YOU eat it? And if you would, I REALLY don't ever want to stay there again. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean The room was very clean as well as comfortable. Being in a beautiful state such as Maine we didn't spend a lot of time in our room. The staff was professional and very helpful with any questions we had. September 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, Great stay I read a few negative reviews before booking this stay. However, as this was the only IHG hotel near my destination, my options were severely limited. I must say that none if the negative reviews proved to be true. The room was very clean and more than adequate for a two night stay with my wife and child. The people working at the hotel could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The breakfast options were a bit limited, but everything else worked out just fine. We especially enjoyed that pool after spending a majority of the day sight-seeing. We look forward to returning to this hotel the next time we are in Maine! September 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Annual South Portland Trip We travel to South Portland, Maine every Labor Day to shop, eat lobster, and drink local beer. We choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express because it is conveniently located, clean, quiet, and comfortable, with a friendly staff. Each year we are never disappointed. Unless Maine runs out of lobster, we will be back next year - same time and same place. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Love this hotel. Will be back next year. Great Customer Service. Clean and comfy room. Convenient location. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Clean and Quiet hotel in a very convenient location Stayed here w/ other family members to attend a local wedding. The rooms were spotless and convenient- with a good sized dorm fridge and microwave; the channel choices on the tv EXCELLENT (and cable- no fuzz), the showers hot with good pressure. The hotel was QUIET in spite of the fact that is was full and there were plenty of children there. The only issues were 1) The mattress is EXTRA firm- very unforgiving for anyone w/ back or joint problems. (Pillows were awesome though!) and 2) the AC was a tad loud and not thermostatically controlled. The front desk people were so helpful and gave excellent directions and recommendations. Would definitely stay here again when returning to area. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This was our 2nd year in Portland ME and this was the hotel that we chose based on our experience from the previous year. This hotel is in a great location, close to the mall and dining places. The room had plenty of space and felt cozy. There was free breakfast buffet each morning, although I was hoping healthier food options, like whole grain stuff. They had Chiobani yogurt however. The prices of other hotels in this area were quite high, but this hotel had a reasonable rate for the quality it provides. For our next trip to Portland, we will definitely stay in this hotel again. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by holiday inn number one great service only there a short time but we always try to stay at the holiday inns or holiday inn express September 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Good Room, service, and cleanliness - poor fitness center The fitness center was extremely hot... it was hard to run on the treadmill. No towels at 7:00 AM in the room. They came at 8:30 AM to stock the towels. One of the three treadmills was broken and the one I was on started to make a loud grinding sound. Better ventilation and equipment is needed. Since a functioning fitness center is important to me I will not go back there on my next trip to Portland. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is a good value for our family of four and the breakfast is top notch. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. This hotel has the following plus's for me. Comfortable beds and pillows, dark room for sleeping and it's located in a quiet area. The overall appearance of the room was excellent. The staff was really friendly yet professional from the front desk to housekeeping. Breakfast is amazing the area is clean and organized and there is plenty of seating. Its about a five minute drive to the Portland Waterfront. We really enjoyed our stay. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable and clean We stayed overnight for a wedding that was being held at the Marriott. We were very pleasantly surprised by the Holiday inn Express. Very comfortable bed and room. Very large and spacious. Very clean. We did not participate in the breakfast as we had other plans but the lobby had great coffee. August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by hotel stay spent 2 nights in s. portland with family. rooms were fine, refigerator you could not adjust the coldness. should be a sink near micro and frigerator. towels ran out in the pool area and we told an attendent. didn't care that 22 kids were allowed in at the same time, all yelling an dscreaming. was to much for us, we left. hot coffee is available but they dind't always have covers for them. riding in the elevator we spilled some-an attendent saw it and radioed to front desk. staff was great, roooms were great. flying planes overhead were noisy at times. rooms were not ready at arrival. we came back 2 hours later. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay at Holiday Inn Great Stay , comfortable and very good Service. Enjoyed the time during stay. feel safe. August 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Suprisingly disappointed I stay at Holiday Inn for all of my business travel because of the consistency of quality. This Holiday Inn was run down, had many small issues that cumulatively added up to a negative experience. When I brought an issue to the staff they promised action and did not deliver. When that was mentioned I was told about how busy they were and they just forgot. Of the 13 Holiday Inn's I have stayed at this year, this was by far the worse in appearance and customer service. August 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, unfortuante that they have to work at this holiday inn. This holiday inn did not meet my holiday inn expectations at all. I've stayed in over 10 in the past two years from Maine to NJ, and I've never been as unsatisfied with the overall comfort level of the room. The "king suite" felt like it was really stuffed into a room that was too small. The bed was definitely not a king (in either of the rooms they placed us in) and even the layout of the room was just tacky. The comfort level of the bed was unbelivable; it felt and looked like it was 10 years old. If it were my choice, I would choose to not stay here again. The staff was beyond excellent, but this hotel was not up to value. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Choice in Portland The Holiday Inn in Portland is a great and inexpensive option for families visiting Portland or passing through on the way to the Maine coast. My son, and dog, both loved the hotel! August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good time had by all Decided at 47 & 48 (myself/girlfriend) she wanted me to see the ocean~get away for a day. Our only issue was finding a room for 4 adults & 2 kids..I did some shopping around & came up with your hotel. GLAD WE DID!!! Not knowing area had little trouble navigating around; Little farther from ocean than I was hoping for but got 1 room with 2 beds, fold out couch & ALL KINDS OF ROOM!!! Everything very neat & clean. Front desk staff was A+++. The pool was a real plus with 3 & 14 year old's~they loved it!! There is anything you want within a short distance~stores everywhere!!! Will absolutely look for Holiday Inn Express for any other little trips we decide to take!!! 5 STARS IN MY BOOK!!!!! August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff! Location is great, very close to mall and restaurants and not far from Downtown. Room should be updated, it was a little worn and in need of repair. August 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading