• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Walk To The Old Port District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Merrill Auditorium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 118 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you, Alison overall excellent service, cleanliness and comfort. Lobby computer was out of service, however, and despite efforts by staff, the printer could not be made to function. Alison at the front desk went beyond the call of duty and enabled me to use the hotel computer and printer in order to access my email and print boarding passes for our flight the following morning. Thank you for your outstanding assistance, Alison. January 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by hard bed small pillows We've stayed at the Holiday Inn express in Biddeford and the beds and pillows were excellent. A much newer property. The over experience at the biddeford property was excellent all around. The S. Portland property was an older property everything was very good to excellent except for the beds and the pillows. Maybe if the bed had been more comfortable! December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful room We travelled with our dog and the extra space we had in our room was wonderful. It was quiet, the staff was polite and helpful. Plenty of places to walk the dog, even in the snow. Beds were a little hard for me personally (it's all so relative) and the breakfast was okay. But overall, an excellent experience and we would go back again. December 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable beds! We spent one night as a family getaway.....my young daughter woke up the next morning and complained about her back hurting. These were by far the most uncomfortable mattresses we have ever slept on. My husband and I certainly were uncomfortable all night. The room did not have cold water coming from the bathroom faucet. We asked for a recommendation for a pizza place and the front desk associate said there weren't any good ones around. We took a drive and found 3 within a 2 mile radius, the one we chose was excellent. We spent lots of time swimming, but the bottom of the pool was very dirty with many hairballs. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant night's stay The night before travel is always an anxious time. Holiday Inn Express provides a great service with the shuttle to the airport. Room was quiet and dark and the bed comfortable. The wake up call came at the correct time. Thank you, December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff Stayed unexpectedly after a cancelled flight. Had to leave the next morning well before the free breakfast was available. The desk clerk gave us a bag full of granola bars and breakfast bars since we wouldn't be there for breakfast. Really nice and pleasantly surprised. Many thanks to the young lady working the evening of 12/15! December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best yet Wife and I have been going to the hotel in South Portland and we wouldn't go anywhere else... Holiday Inn Express is the Best Wife and I thank you all... Have a great Holiday season... December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, small bathroom The room was nice. I was expecting it to be a little bigger. Instead of one chair a small sofa would have been nice so my husband I could sit together. Other than that, great experience. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room design and a good night's sleep The room was more like an efficiency apartment than a standard hotel room. I like that the bed had a wall that separated the rest of the room. My only constructive criticism is that there could have been more (i.e., loft) for blankets. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large room, 5 minute drive to Maine Mall The suite with 2 double beds is perfect, for a shopping weekend. Plenty of space to spread out. Included a continental breakfast, which had many choices from pancakes to cereal. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fun weekend I took my 7 year old daughter here on a girls weekend for fun. We were so happy with how big our room was...the pool was nice and warm and she had a blast swimming for hours. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with lots of variety. Staff was friendly and attentive! November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! This was a nice hotel. Located near shopping and restaurants. Easy on/off I95. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and accommodations Excellent value recognizing the friendly staff and accommodations'! Great Job! November 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Starting to get outdated We've have stay in this facility many times before but at our last stay we noticed that it would need a refreshing cure. Beside that, we were 3 adults (mother and 2 daughters# that had booked a ''suite'' which was suppose to have a king size bed and a sofa bed, we had to call the reservation line a couple of times before our stay and each time we had confirmed that we were going to be 3 adults in the room and each time they had confirmed that the ''suite'' was able to lodge all 3 but when we got there late a night the hotel was full and when we got to the suppose ''suite'' there was just a king size bed, after contacting reception to ask for a cot bed when it got to the room it was a bed that could barely fit an youth but it was a 5'11'' women that needed to sleep in the bed!?! With NO BEDDING, just two linen!!! The reception advise that since they were full they had no other blankets, I give two thumbs up to the receptionist that went to their sister hotel next door #Marriott# to get a blanket and gave us a reduce price, but I think we would have rather have paid the full price and wouldn't have mind to be moved next door and have a nice night of sleep. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Great place to stay. I'd like to stay again if possible in the future. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, spacious room and great service. I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express South Portland for two nights. The hotel is situated on a hill with a good view of the mountains. The front desk staff were incredibly nice and helpful. They let me check in extremely early since a room was ready, and I had originally selected a standard room with two double beds online, but they let me have a king suite at the same price which was great since I was staying alone. The room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to stay somewhere near the airport. There is also a pool, though I didn't use it, which was not a feature at any other Holiday Inn Express hotels that I have stayed at in the past. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Room Reservationist! Making and confirming my reservation was a problem. I booked 2 rooms and they only had me down for one the day I called to confirm even though I had a confirmation number and a printout saying 2 rooms. Then when they rebooked the 2nd room they raised the rates of both rooms by $20 each. So I had to finally get a manager to resolve this issue. The rest of the staff was nice. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location, nice suites Very convenient location. Two room suite nicely done. Everything you need for a comfortable stay. Wish I had known in advance that they were doing some work on the place (right outside my window at 7AM.) Luckily I was already up & getting ready for work but it was quite noisy. Glad they finally upgraded their cable TV package. Would recommend. October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A welcome experience after a long day After staying at a Holiday Inn Express in New York for three nights, we arrived in Portland late after a 11-hour drive hoping to find another green and white "H" - and we were glad we did. Room was huge, beds were comfortable, and breakfast was predictably excellent as it was in NYC. Wish we could have stayed another night. Everywhere I go, I'll always look for a Holiday Inn Express. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location We stay here a lot with our points as it is convenient for us. The facility is nice however was loud with the vacuuming in the lobby area when we arrived - very loud industrial vacuum right when you entered. But the staff was friendly and it was a clean hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not happy I was not happy with our stay. Went to check in one person working and 6 people in line. Beds were not comfortable, had a pull out sofa with no bedding for it. The bathroom had cracks in the ceiling that needed major repair. Will never stay here again. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Soccer Guests Our stay would have been more pleasant if the parents of the soccer team boys supervised their children. We were bothered several times by boys running down the halls and knocking on doors. The children also congregated near the ice machine ( also near our rooms) and pressed the ice machine button for "fun", while their parents sat downstairs and visited with each other. Don't know how the breakfast was since there was no room to sit because the soccer team had the whole lobby taken. While Holiday Inn can't always control these things, I just think that the parents should be given notice that their children can not run wild during their stay as it makes other guests of the hotel uncomfortable. October 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel great, staff, not so much... I travel quite a bit and I expect a certain level of service when I pay a premium for hotel rooms. While the property was up to snuff as always, the front desk help left some to be desired. It took me longer than normal to check in because the desk help was busy answering phone calls. The hotel was not explained to me. There was no book in the room telling me what time breakfast was, where to find the pool, hours etc. So I was left to guess. The room was great. The bed was comfortable. They needed more help at the desk and better training of the staff. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything great... One of the best HIE facilities we have stayed in. Starting with the staff when we checked in, the breakfast. and the rooms. All were great... October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but Fitness center needs work Nice rooms, and good location but the Fitness center needs attention. The elliptical was as wobbly as anything I have been on. And no free weights. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, convenient, caring staff. Thanks for doing it all, a really nice weekend. The airport services are a real value. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facility The staff and rooms were very good, the only complaint is that I wish they had a hot tub. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for the money No issues with hotel at all. Easy to get in and out, not a big fan of the parking. Definitely check in before you unload the car. You will not be parking near the front door. Biggest issue i have at this hotel is at breakfast. It's a large hotel, but the breakfast area is small and several times i stayed there i either took food to my room or sat on a couch because there just aren't enough tables for people to eat their breakfast. October 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not value for money This hotel does not deserve a 3 star rating. It is old, the common areas cramped, the rooms small and the bath room tiny. The location however is good; hidden drive off main strip but close to a mall and restaurants. The staff was friendly; my room turned out to reek of smoke and when I called, it was changed immediately. The entire hotel needs a renovation and until this is done, I'd say it is a solid 2 stars. For what I was charged, I won't recommend it. To add insult, I find this hotel did not give me any rewards points. September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good time in POrtland Maine We were very satisfied with our accommodation at the Holiday Inn Express in South Portland. The room was very comfortable and clean. The service to the room was excellent. The breakfast included in the price was more than adequate with good quality and variety. The location just off I95 was very convenient for exploring Portland and the surrounding attractions, such as Portland Head and the Maine beaches. We would definitely go back to this Hotel the next time we visit Portland. September 26, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.