• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cumberland County Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Portland Expo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This was our 2nd year in Portland ME and this was the hotel that we chose based on our experience from the previous year. This hotel is in a great location, close to the mall and dining places. The room had plenty of space and felt cozy. There was free breakfast buffet each morning, although I was hoping healthier food options, like whole grain stuff. They had Chiobani yogurt however. The prices of other hotels in this area were quite high, but this hotel had a reasonable rate for the quality it provides. For our next trip to Portland, we will definitely stay in this hotel again. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by holiday inn number one great service only there a short time but we always try to stay at the holiday inns or holiday inn express September 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Good Room, service, and cleanliness - poor fitness center The fitness center was extremely hot... it was hard to run on the treadmill. No towels at 7:00 AM in the room. They came at 8:30 AM to stock the towels. One of the three treadmills was broken and the one I was on started to make a loud grinding sound. Better ventilation and equipment is needed. Since a functioning fitness center is important to me I will not go back there on my next trip to Portland. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is a good value for our family of four and the breakfast is top notch. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. This hotel has the following plus's for me. Comfortable beds and pillows, dark room for sleeping and it's located in a quiet area. The overall appearance of the room was excellent. The staff was really friendly yet professional from the front desk to housekeeping. Breakfast is amazing the area is clean and organized and there is plenty of seating. Its about a five minute drive to the Portland Waterfront. We really enjoyed our stay. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable and clean We stayed overnight for a wedding that was being held at the Marriott. We were very pleasantly surprised by the Holiday inn Express. Very comfortable bed and room. Very large and spacious. Very clean. We did not participate in the breakfast as we had other plans but the lobby had great coffee. August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by hotel stay spent 2 nights in s. portland with family. rooms were fine, refigerator you could not adjust the coldness. should be a sink near micro and frigerator. towels ran out in the pool area and we told an attendent. didn't care that 22 kids were allowed in at the same time, all yelling an dscreaming. was to much for us, we left. hot coffee is available but they dind't always have covers for them. riding in the elevator we spilled some-an attendent saw it and radioed to front desk. staff was great, roooms were great. flying planes overhead were noisy at times. rooms were not ready at arrival. we came back 2 hours later. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay at Holiday Inn Great Stay , comfortable and very good Service. Enjoyed the time during stay. feel safe. August 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Suprisingly disappointed I stay at Holiday Inn for all of my business travel because of the consistency of quality. This Holiday Inn was run down, had many small issues that cumulatively added up to a negative experience. When I brought an issue to the staff they promised action and did not deliver. When that was mentioned I was told about how busy they were and they just forgot. Of the 13 Holiday Inn's I have stayed at this year, this was by far the worse in appearance and customer service. August 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, unfortuante that they have to work at this holiday inn. This holiday inn did not meet my holiday inn expectations at all. I've stayed in over 10 in the past two years from Maine to NJ, and I've never been as unsatisfied with the overall comfort level of the room. The "king suite" felt like it was really stuffed into a room that was too small. The bed was definitely not a king (in either of the rooms they placed us in) and even the layout of the room was just tacky. The comfort level of the bed was unbelivable; it felt and looked like it was 10 years old. If it were my choice, I would choose to not stay here again. The staff was beyond excellent, but this hotel was not up to value. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Choice in Portland The Holiday Inn in Portland is a great and inexpensive option for families visiting Portland or passing through on the way to the Maine coast. My son, and dog, both loved the hotel! August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good time had by all Decided at 47 & 48 (myself/girlfriend) she wanted me to see the ocean~get away for a day. Our only issue was finding a room for 4 adults & 2 kids..I did some shopping around & came up with your hotel. GLAD WE DID!!! Not knowing area had little trouble navigating around; Little farther from ocean than I was hoping for but got 1 room with 2 beds, fold out couch & ALL KINDS OF ROOM!!! Everything very neat & clean. Front desk staff was A+++. The pool was a real plus with 3 & 14 year old's~they loved it!! There is anything you want within a short distance~stores everywhere!!! Will absolutely look for Holiday Inn Express for any other little trips we decide to take!!! 5 STARS IN MY BOOK!!!!! August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff! Location is great, very close to mall and restaurants and not far from Downtown. Room should be updated, it was a little worn and in need of repair. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by buisness Priced right and fairly close to Downtown Portland. Nice Hotel Great Staff August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel good value for money We stayed at this Holiday Inn for three nights. I found the hotel to be comfortable, the breakfast to be great and overall it was a pleasant experience. We had a suite so overall the room was lovely. My only complaint would be the bed. It was in need of an upgrade. We used the pool, which was great. I would definitely go back to this hotel in the future. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The room was very spacious and I enjoyed having the kitchenette countertop and ceramic plates and cups etc The only vacancy was a suite equipped for handicap guests so it was a bit too roomy for two people overnight but the view and balcony was very nice. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great beds and linens We really like the Holiday Inn Express.. The beds and linens were as good as higher priced chains. Liked the pillows very much and the size of the room was generous, with a sitting room. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place in portland close to the mall I was very pleased by the staff, very kind and considerate. I hope that I get a chance to go here again. The location is close to the Mall and to very good eating locations. Clean and nice. August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing We checked into 2 rooms last Wednesday evening, rooms 219 & 220. These rooms were apparently preventative maintenanced earlier in the day. You could smell cleaning solution as soon as you walked into the rooms. The sofas were still damp. My mother in law sat on the sofa in her room and it soaked through her cloths. I pulled back the bed sheets in my room only to find hair in the beds. I spoke to a front desk clerk who could only apologize. I was told we should have never been checked into those rooms. It wasn't until the next morning when I spoke to the hotel manager, did I get any satisfaction. Also, carpet in room 220 was stained in front of sink. Hot foods on breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired. Eggs, sausage and biscuits tasted lousy. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay Our scent-free room was prepared as we expected. The staff were very friendly August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall very good bathrooms small and not well lit but that was not a big issue excellent stay thank you August 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room the room was nice, but the hot water took awhile to come on, also the tv channels were tiling...but it was ok for the night. August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected I was happy with our room until we pulled back the bed to go to sleep and found hair in several places on the sheets. I walked over to the couch area (we had a suite) to help my daughter get ready for bed and found that the whole area smelled like vomit. I alerted the front desk staff to the problems. They have us sheets to change the bed and then moved us to another room for the next night of our stay. I don't think we'll be staying at this property again. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by S. Portland Nice large room was able to accommodate our family of 5. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Experience Very comfortable and the staff was Excellent...Hotel was very clean..Dining area was good with excellent breakfast. Will be visiting this Holiday Day Inn express again..We have stayed here MANY times August 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Above Average cost, Below Avg Experience I stay almost exclusively at Holiday Inn & Suites. My room, 625 had plastered over holes in the wall, the toilet had problems flushing and the AC was very loud. It was 35% higher than most I stay at, I guess because of the location. I will stay downtown next time and would not recommend this property. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Servicio amable Personal muy atento a nuestras solicitudes, siempre listos para colaborar. Habitación bastante cómoda, variedad de opciones para el desayuno. Pasamos tres días con mi familia con el fin de conocer Portland, la ubicación del hotel es excelente como punto base para conocer los alrededores. Un sitio muy tranquilo y acogedor. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good choice when visiting Portland area One exit from the downtown Portland area, and convenient to Maine Mall and any kind of shopping/restaurants you would want. Staff was friendly and efficient; accommodations were quite satisfactory. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant accommodations Located south of the downtown, the location was quiet with a short drive into the downtown. Room was comfortable with a nice layout. Staff, allow somewhat reserved, was responsive to our requests. July 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn Experience I am a frequent traveler and priority club member. This was absolutely the worst experience I have ever had at a Holiday Inn. The staff was rude, couch cushions were ripped and the sleep sofa was extremely uncomfortable! July 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading