• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cumberland County Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Portland Expo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 231 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Staff very attentive friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable, easy to fall asleep, breakfast was very good, would recommend this place highly October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Very comfortable bed and great service with very helpful staff. October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable night Came in late from a hectic day of travel. Very comfortable nights sleep. October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice surprice We came here as walk in if they had a room. Thanks to the lovely staff behind the desk and the good price/quality we stayed two nights in a beatiful room with a perfekt bed. The noise from traffic outside can bother you, but was just not bad enough to leave. The breakfast is OK but coffee and juices are not as good as all the other hotels in this 30day trip. Both very watery... October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip Stay was great. Staff was excellent. Room could use an little update but was in great clean shape. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel to stay and shop This hotel is a gem - there is not only 2 queen sized beds, but a lovely living area. Lots of room for up to 4 people to stay at a great price. Very clean and comfortable. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to many things We were here to visit a friend at the University of New England. There is a hotel closer but was booked. This hotel offered a comfortable place to stay. Front desk staff was very helpful and made a good suggestion for dinner (non-chain) which we took advantage of. This hotel is convenient to large corporations and a variety of shopping and dining places. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just like home I travel a lot for my company, all over this great nation of ours. I spent a lot of time in hotels Where I can I will stay at IHG properties. These are my home away from home preferred stays. Staff is always upbeat, friendly. Always there is a comfort to know you are welcomed. October 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Very clean and updated hotel. Professional staff who greeted everyone very friendly. Front desk demonstrated a real desire to make my stay as comfortable as possible. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay! My stay was very relaxing and I found the staff to be very helpful, especially Cameron on the front desk. Kudos to him! My only wish would be that the shuttle service extends a little further - even for a small fee. We would have loved to use the shuttle to bring us to a certain restaurant; however, we were told it did not go that far. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Inn One of the two most beautiful Holiday facilities I have had the opportunity to stay in. Cordial,helpful staff. Spacious rooms on well manicured grounds. Very satisfying stay. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by we stayed at 4 holliday inn hotels - this was the best We stayed at 4 holiday inn express hotels in one week while traveling between Maine, Rhode Island and Mass. This one I would give a A+ on every category. The location in the city was close to everything. The people at this hotel were the BEST! October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience We really enjoyed our visit to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland. The staff treated us great and took care of all of our requests. The breakfast was great. The only thing that didn't come up to standards was that the back door was never locked. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and great service A quick stopover on our way to Boston. It was a comfortable hotel with great service. We would definitely stay here again. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No gimmiks here Good room, good bed, eager staff and better than average hotel breakfast. We got twice the room for less than the one up the road that charges extra , I guess because they are nearer to L.L. Bean and I-295.. We were Privileged to have made a better Choice. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - very handy Very nice stay - everyone was very helpful - I changed the departure several times - only made me change rooms once, as I was in a king, and could only book a double for availability. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place for the end of our vacation in Maine.Staff was great. Great relaxing experience to close out a outstanding vacation in Maine.. will return. Thanks RDS October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation stay before going to Fryeburg Fair Suite was spacious and nicely set up. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Free continental breakfast was ready before official opening time, and that was very helpful to getting out on the way to Fryeburg Fair before 6:30 AM (official opening time for breakfast.). Also I really enjoyed the cheese omelets, among other nice breakfast goodies. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Bed, no drapes in bedroom The room was nice, and the bed comfortable. Our room was on the top floor so apparently they didn't figure drapes were needed for darkening or privacy. The issue was the parking lot lights outside made the room not very dark. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wake up call only complaint was they forgot to give us our wake up call at 3:50 am. Almost missed our shuttle to airport for our early am flight.l The night before, when we called they were busy at the front desk but said they would write our request in. Someone forgot. other than that our stay and the hotel service was very good, and acheery staff. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCLEENT STAY On our trip through Maine we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Portland. The staff was great , check in was easy .They had great knowledge of the area, which was very nice for us to visit resteraunts in the area. The room was very clean and quiet. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service/Breakfast Comment The service was excellent at this property. I also enjoyed the walnut and raisin selection for oatmeal in the morning. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couldn't have been better My sister and I stayed in this hotel for one night, as we were attending a family wedding in the area. Our stay began on a positive note, as we requested and received an early check-in time so that we would have time to get ready for the wedding. On check-in, we were warmly welcomed by Melissa at the front desk, who informed us about the hotel's free shuttle to local areas. We used the shuttle to go out for a quick bite and again later to take us to a nearby hotel to meet the bus that was transporting other guests to the wedding. Our suite was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had a nice sitting area with a large desk (where we could both sit with our laptops!), a mini-kitchen, and 2 double beds. After the wedding - about 11pm - we called the front desk and Rachel immediately arranged for the shuttle to come pick us up. It arrived in minutes. Later that night, we requested and received a late check-out time. Everyone was as warm and accommodating as could be. The next day as we were loading our car, we heard a jet from the nearby airport take off, and we remarked that that was the first plane we'd heard. So that's how QUIET the room was! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ALL GOOD !!! ALL GOOD !!! clean, nice folks ALL GOOD!!! Good breakfast good time September 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Torture device for a mattress and terrible breakfast You have obviously never slept on one of those mattresses or you wouldn't have them. Really felt like a piece of cement with a sheet on it. And that breakfast, well, I'm not really sure how to describe it. Except to ask, Would YOU eat it? And if you would, I REALLY don't ever want to stay there again. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean The room was very clean as well as comfortable. Being in a beautiful state such as Maine we didn't spend a lot of time in our room. The staff was professional and very helpful with any questions we had. September 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, Great stay I read a few negative reviews before booking this stay. However, as this was the only IHG hotel near my destination, my options were severely limited. I must say that none if the negative reviews proved to be true. The room was very clean and more than adequate for a two night stay with my wife and child. The people working at the hotel could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The breakfast options were a bit limited, but everything else worked out just fine. We especially enjoyed that pool after spending a majority of the day sight-seeing. We look forward to returning to this hotel the next time we are in Maine! September 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Annual South Portland Trip We travel to South Portland, Maine every Labor Day to shop, eat lobster, and drink local beer. We choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express because it is conveniently located, clean, quiet, and comfortable, with a friendly staff. Each year we are never disappointed. Unless Maine runs out of lobster, we will be back next year - same time and same place. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Love this hotel. Will be back next year. Great Customer Service. Clean and comfy room. Convenient location. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Clean and Quiet hotel in a very convenient location Stayed here w/ other family members to attend a local wedding. The rooms were spotless and convenient- with a good sized dorm fridge and microwave; the channel choices on the tv EXCELLENT (and cable- no fuzz), the showers hot with good pressure. The hotel was QUIET in spite of the fact that is was full and there were plenty of children there. The only issues were 1) The mattress is EXTRA firm- very unforgiving for anyone w/ back or joint problems. (Pillows were awesome though!) and 2) the AC was a tad loud and not thermostatically controlled. The front desk people were so helpful and gave excellent directions and recommendations. Would definitely stay here again when returning to area. September 3, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading