• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Walk To The Old Port District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Merrill Auditorium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 118 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location, terrible bed Lived the proximity to downtown but the bed was miserably uncomfortable. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good choice in South Portland We stayed at this property for 9 nights Sept. 15-23. Our stay was very pleasant, and I would stay here again. A couple of things that were a slight nuisance: we had to keep getting our keycard rekeyed. I have never had that problem before, so I don't know what may have been causing it. The other thing was the TV reception. The picture and sound were breaking up frequently. The beds were comfortable, and the shower was good - these are two very important things for us. The room was well-appointed, and we made use of the refrigerator and microwave as well as the plates/cups/glasses/utensils. We were lucky to have Tina as our housekeeper most days, and she is terrific - a real keeper! The breakfast selection was good - first time I have seen pancakes included as a selection. There was enough variety that we were not tired of the selections during this longer than normal stay. The neighborhood is quiet and we felt very safe. It is also close to shopping and restaurants. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable, excellent location, clean rooms The staff were very accommodating, rooms were clean and comfortable with coffee and refrigerator. The bed was good. The only negative was the lack of drawer space. Many good restaurants within a one mile radius. September 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Recommended I can't in good conscience recommend this hotel. My troubles began at the front door which is not handicapped (or for those with luggage) accessible. The air throughout the hotel had the humid and musky odor associated with cheap motels. It lingered on my clothes for days. The noisy room heat/air conditioner ran all the time and had to be adjusted continuously throughout the night. The carpets were dirty and, to the best of my knowledge, were never vacuumed during the time I was there. My room was never made up before 5:00 p.m. The free breakfast was fair, tending toward poor. There is no restaurant. Several are available in a mall about ½ mail away, but don't plan on walking. You must cross two crowded highways with no crosswalks and no sidewalks. Being able to run fast is an absolute requirement. Even driving is dicey since the driveway to the hotel is on a blind cubed with very fast and heavy traffic. In sum, my experience with this hotel was one of the worst in recent memory. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice! Very nice...I would highly reccommend this hotel, it is slightly overpriced, but it seems the whole area was priced high, however it is very clean and was a very nice place to stay, the location was ideal. September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The sign for the hotel is very small on business park sign; terrible at night We arrived about dark. We had a hard time finding the hotel. There are few street signs in South Portland and they are hard to read at night. The sign for the hotel is very small on the corner of a business park sign. It was terrible at night; we just saw a sign for a business park and kept driving around in a large circle a couple of times before finally stopping at a well marked hotel chain for directions. We were wishing we had booked there! The room was lovely but we were tired after flying from Texas to Maine and then driving around in the dark looking for almost non-existent street signs or any hotel signs. September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accommodations and Friendly Staff We recently became IHG Reward members and this marked our second stay at a Holiday Inn. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. Our King Suite was beautiful! The continental breakfast was delicious - hot pancakes included! My husband said it was the best continental breakfast he had ever had. We requested a late check out after having arrived very late the night before following a wedding, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. No problems whatsoever. I would highly recommend this hotel. September 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay We stayed here in July and selected this site to return to this month. It has everything we need and want. September 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location for shopping + free breakfast, but otherwise a fail On arrival, our internet didn't work on the top floor. The person I called at front desk gave a number of conflicting reasons ie: "it may be because you're using Apple products"; and even suggesting that I may need to allow their IT people to "log in" to my computer to figure out the problem. Internet is crucial for my work (not to mention my teenager), so after persisting, he finally just admitted it doesn't work on the top floor. We changed rooms to the second floor, where it worked fine. My assumption is that the new room was one they keep for "emergencies", because it was not only MUCH smaller, the ceiling was full of cobwebs and when we came back to the room after supper, we found an ant crawling on the door. There was no bedding in the room for the pull out couch (we were 3 in a room), so we had to call to request some (then had to make the bed up ourselves). Pillows were lumpy, flat and stingy (4 tiny ones on the King bed + one brought for the pullout). The room was rather stuffy and the windows didn't open. Overall, between those things, I had a hard time sleeping until I decided to imagine we were camping :). In general, the room layout was very bizarre. Although there was a "kitchenette" area with cutlery, etc., there was no sink other than the bathroom one. Although I usually find it convenient to have the sink outside the bathroom, they are usually still separated from the main room. This one was oddly located opposite the king bed, fully on display to other occupants. The bathroom itself was dark, with an explosive sounding fan. It was so tiny, you could barely get the door closed once you were in there. Once closed, the door was grimy and full of scratches, as if someone had tried to claw their way out. Had Portland not been booked solid for the long weekend, we wouldn't have stayed the second night. I requested extra pillows from the chambermaid the next day, which did help. On the plus side... the complimentary breakfast was a convenient surprise. Not fine dining by any means (everything is thawed and reheated in a microwave), but definitely enough variety to start your day. The location is also very convenient to the mall. September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the better Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed in The room was clean and comfortable, hotel was conveniently located and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only change I would suggest is to have a better selection of fresh fruit on the breakfast bar. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top hotel for visiting portalnd area The hotel is easy to find by car of the interstate, The booking in was fast and friendly ..lifts were very quick and we were on the top floor. The lift also went down to the basement to the car park at rear to unload and load your car with ease. We didn't use the pool but it looked lovely and clean and was open till 11 on the night, Breakfast was busy but had the only automatic pancake making machine we have seen in USA so far in our extensive travels. Only minor complaint about the room was that the air con unit was Noisy and not very very controllable ....but we have seen this in a lot of hotels, so it is just a point really didn't spoil the stay. We were very happy with the room being a suite and it also had a usable fridge and microwave. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was spotless as well as the bathroom. We would recommend this hotel if you were visiting the area and also there was a massive shopping complex nearby by with many restaurants. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & room This was our first time to stay here. We were on our way to Bar Harbor. A great choice. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT HOTEL, CLEAN, GOOD SERVICE GREAT EXPERIENCE ALL AROUND, I TRAVEL A LOT FOR WORK AND THIS IS ONE OF THE BETTER ONES August 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Could use a big cleaning! Hallways & rooms were sticky, stains on carpets. Sticky finger prints all over TV & stand, night stand, etc. Didn't get wiped down the whole week were were there. Peeling paint in the bathroon, old towells. Save yourself and stay across the street at the Marriott! August 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Miserable experience I have grown up staying in holiday inn hotels as young as I can remember and never once did I have such a terrible experience. We checked in to the hotel on a Friday night, and that was great. We went up to the suite and we discovered that the floor had not been vaccumed at all. So we went to sleep and Saturday morning after breakfast, I went to the desk and requested that it be clean and was apologized to and reassured that it would be cleaned while we were out. Well we came back and nothing was done aside from the beds being made. On the way up the elevator, there was an employee that rudely said he called the elevator because someone had called the front desk and requested it be mopped. Well we all were standing there with sandals and flip flops as he mopped the water all around and on our feet until I said enough. The room also had a very musty odor to it and it was uncomfortable to be in there. The kitchen staff were rude as well sucking there teeth and copping an attitude when a yogurt accidentally fell off one of our plates. Mind you we cleaned most of it. I certainly hope that this doesn't happen to anyone else who stays here because this is the first time I have ever had any problems staying in a hotel. Totally disgusted and really hope they can turn their staff attitude around and correct these issues. August 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the hot cinnamon rolls for breakfast Room was great - comfortable, clean - beds were comfortable - enjoyed the swimming pool - the choices for breakfast were terrific with a wide variety - loved the hot cinnamon rolls. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Near Maine Mall A very clean modern room with sofa-Micro,-fridge and large Flat screen TV..Staff was friendly and helpful.. The free hearty breakfast with eggs , sausages, pastries, hot cakes was excellent. August 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good location nice hotel and good location, staff are working hard to help out, specially the bus drivers.. it is nice area where the Mall is just cross the street August 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room was not what I ordered My Wife and her friends when there on vacation. I booked a room with two double beds. When they got there they were giving a room with a King bed and a couch. Not what I ordered! The next day they were put into a room with two double beds but the first night to them it was just like that life live with it. August 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bare minimum provided The room had old, uncomfortable double beds with thin, overused comforters. The man who worked the morning breakfast buffet was rude and cranky. He did not refill the buffet unless you asked for something and he pushed through the guests like a bull, shoving past people very gruffly. There were never towels at the pool - even when we called the front desk to get some brought down they didn't bring any. The ceiling in our bathroom was falling apart with a hole around the shower head and wallpaper peeling off one of the walls. There was no recognition for being an IHG member. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything all right Everything was perfect for the second times! 2 on 2 Will come again. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location I really impressed for this hotel. I'll come back to stay here again. August 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff from front desk to clean staff. Comfortable hotel if in the Portland area. Great location near airport and freeways. August 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable Bed-Poor service I had requested a handicapped accessible room for both July 17, and August 1. I was given a handicapped room on July 17, but on august 1, I was assugned a regular room. i did not realize the error on your part until i had made multiple trips to and from my car, and had the room full of luggage and clothing. As a result, i choose to spend the night in a room that was not handicapped accessable, which was hard on my wife. August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, great location! We just recently spent 3 nights on our road trip at the Holiday inn South Portland and we will definitely stay there again on our next vacation. It is 2 minutes from the Maine Mall and many restaurant choices...short drive to Old Orchard Beach and Freeport. Great stay! August 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed I usually stay at a different hotel when I visit the Portland area but this time I chose this one as I had recently had visitors to my home town and had booked them at the HIExpress there and been very happy with it. However, this time, because my family was on our annual vacation, I was not overly pleased with this branch. The hotel was very clean and pretty, but I had booked 4 of us to stay in a suite. Upon arrival, I had 3 towels and 3 washcloths in the room. Every day I left a note asking for maid service to leave extra ones, and they left me 1 more. Our entertainment for our vacation is usually the pool, especially on rainy days. However, the pool was so cold that we could not use it. 3 days in a row, I asked the staff to turn up the heater, and 3 days in a row I was told that some people like it colder and some like it hotter so they leave it like this. I bought a thermometer and checked the temp to find out it was a whopping 68 degrees! And the free breakfast - made to order, well, the omelets were there and I am not sure what kind they were, but it wasn't something my kids would eat. On 2 of the days, someone had let their children go down unsupervised and they had literally destroyed the bar. There was so much cocoa mix and sugar spilled all over that you couldn't put your coffee cup down to fix it. And then, when the man came to replenish the bar, he obviously was not happy by his muttering to himself and slamming coffee pots. And back to the room, as I said, it was very clean and was adequate for a couple, but it was way too small for 4 or more people. In order to put my kids in the tub, I had to squeeze in and shut the door in order to be next to the tub to wash their hair. Overall, because the pool and ammenties are important to me when I travel for vacation with my family, this was a total letdown. I would rather stay at a lesser hotel and have what will keep them entertained then to stay here and have nothing for them to do....But, as I said, the rooms were very clean and the property was very pretty. August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I was here for a wedding, and the staff was very helpful with information, etc. in terms of getting me to the various places I needed to be. Room - king suite - was very comfortable, and clean. All in all, a great 2 nights. August 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I am writing to let you know I was not pleased with my stay at the HIE in Portland. I had hoped to get a survey, but did not. The cost was about 50% more than any other HIE I've stayed at. I flew out early so didn't have breakfast. The hair dryer did not work. I was down stairs when the guy realized he forgot my wake up call. The Internet only worked when I sat at the desk, disconnected if I went 10 feet away to sit on the couch. The room was lovely, nice hot shower, a/c worked fine. I am greatly disappointed. I will not recommend this HIE to anyone else. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Satisfaction The room was clean. Very modern and updated. Staff was great. Thanks for a nice time July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No Surprises My wife and I spent a couple of days in Portland for the first time and must say it was a great experience staying at this IHG property. The staff was great and very helpful in giving us advice on where to go and what we should expect to see in our brief stay in Maine. The room was what we have come to expect from Holiday Inn and the breakfast was top notch. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. July 30, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.