• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Walk To The Old Port District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Merrill Auditorium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 161 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location, nice suites Very convenient location. Two room suite nicely done. Everything you need for a comfortable stay. Wish I had known in advance that they were doing some work on the place (right outside my window at 7AM.) Luckily I was already up & getting ready for work but it was quite noisy. Glad they finally upgraded their cable TV package. Would recommend. October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A welcome experience after a long day After staying at a Holiday Inn Express in New York for three nights, we arrived in Portland late after a 11-hour drive hoping to find another green and white "H" - and we were glad we did. Room was huge, beds were comfortable, and breakfast was predictably excellent as it was in NYC. Wish we could have stayed another night. Everywhere I go, I'll always look for a Holiday Inn Express. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location We stay here a lot with our points as it is convenient for us. The facility is nice however was loud with the vacuuming in the lobby area when we arrived - very loud industrial vacuum right when you entered. But the staff was friendly and it was a clean hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not happy I was not happy with our stay. Went to check in one person working and 6 people in line. Beds were not comfortable, had a pull out sofa with no bedding for it. The bathroom had cracks in the ceiling that needed major repair. Will never stay here again. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Soccer Guests Our stay would have been more pleasant if the parents of the soccer team boys supervised their children. We were bothered several times by boys running down the halls and knocking on doors. The children also congregated near the ice machine ( also near our rooms) and pressed the ice machine button for "fun", while their parents sat downstairs and visited with each other. Don't know how the breakfast was since there was no room to sit because the soccer team had the whole lobby taken. While Holiday Inn can't always control these things, I just think that the parents should be given notice that their children can not run wild during their stay as it makes other guests of the hotel uncomfortable. October 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel great, staff, not so much... I travel quite a bit and I expect a certain level of service when I pay a premium for hotel rooms. While the property was up to snuff as always, the front desk help left some to be desired. It took me longer than normal to check in because the desk help was busy answering phone calls. The hotel was not explained to me. There was no book in the room telling me what time breakfast was, where to find the pool, hours etc. So I was left to guess. The room was great. The bed was comfortable. They needed more help at the desk and better training of the staff. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything great... One of the best HIE facilities we have stayed in. Starting with the staff when we checked in, the breakfast. and the rooms. All were great... October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but Fitness center needs work Nice rooms, and good location but the Fitness center needs attention. The elliptical was as wobbly as anything I have been on. And no free weights. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, convenient, caring staff. Thanks for doing it all, a really nice weekend. The airport services are a real value. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facility The staff and rooms were very good, the only complaint is that I wish they had a hot tub. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for the money No issues with hotel at all. Easy to get in and out, not a big fan of the parking. Definitely check in before you unload the car. You will not be parking near the front door. Biggest issue i have at this hotel is at breakfast. It's a large hotel, but the breakfast area is small and several times i stayed there i either took food to my room or sat on a couch because there just aren't enough tables for people to eat their breakfast. October 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not value for money This hotel does not deserve a 3 star rating. It is old, the common areas cramped, the rooms small and the bath room tiny. The location however is good; hidden drive off main strip but close to a mall and restaurants. The staff was friendly; my room turned out to reek of smoke and when I called, it was changed immediately. The entire hotel needs a renovation and until this is done, I'd say it is a solid 2 stars. For what I was charged, I won't recommend it. To add insult, I find this hotel did not give me any rewards points. September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good time in POrtland Maine We were very satisfied with our accommodation at the Holiday Inn Express in South Portland. The room was very comfortable and clean. The service to the room was excellent. The breakfast included in the price was more than adequate with good quality and variety. The location just off I95 was very convenient for exploring Portland and the surrounding attractions, such as Portland Head and the Maine beaches. We would definitely go back to this Hotel the next time we visit Portland. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location, terrible bed Lived the proximity to downtown but the bed was miserably uncomfortable. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good choice in South Portland We stayed at this property for 9 nights Sept. 15-23. Our stay was very pleasant, and I would stay here again. A couple of things that were a slight nuisance: we had to keep getting our keycard rekeyed. I have never had that problem before, so I don't know what may have been causing it. The other thing was the TV reception. The picture and sound were breaking up frequently. The beds were comfortable, and the shower was good - these are two very important things for us. The room was well-appointed, and we made use of the refrigerator and microwave as well as the plates/cups/glasses/utensils. We were lucky to have Tina as our housekeeper most days, and she is terrific - a real keeper! The breakfast selection was good - first time I have seen pancakes included as a selection. There was enough variety that we were not tired of the selections during this longer than normal stay. The neighborhood is quiet and we felt very safe. It is also close to shopping and restaurants. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable, excellent location, clean rooms The staff were very accommodating, rooms were clean and comfortable with coffee and refrigerator. The bed was good. The only negative was the lack of drawer space. Many good restaurants within a one mile radius. September 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Recommended I can't in good conscience recommend this hotel. My troubles began at the front door which is not handicapped (or for those with luggage) accessible. The air throughout the hotel had the humid and musky odor associated with cheap motels. It lingered on my clothes for days. The noisy room heat/air conditioner ran all the time and had to be adjusted continuously throughout the night. The carpets were dirty and, to the best of my knowledge, were never vacuumed during the time I was there. My room was never made up before 5:00 p.m. The free breakfast was fair, tending toward poor. There is no restaurant. Several are available in a mall about ½ mail away, but don't plan on walking. You must cross two crowded highways with no crosswalks and no sidewalks. Being able to run fast is an absolute requirement. Even driving is dicey since the driveway to the hotel is on a blind cubed with very fast and heavy traffic. In sum, my experience with this hotel was one of the worst in recent memory. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice! Very nice...I would highly reccommend this hotel, it is slightly overpriced, but it seems the whole area was priced high, however it is very clean and was a very nice place to stay, the location was ideal. September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The sign for the hotel is very small on business park sign; terrible at night We arrived about dark. We had a hard time finding the hotel. There are few street signs in South Portland and they are hard to read at night. The sign for the hotel is very small on the corner of a business park sign. It was terrible at night; we just saw a sign for a business park and kept driving around in a large circle a couple of times before finally stopping at a well marked hotel chain for directions. We were wishing we had booked there! The room was lovely but we were tired after flying from Texas to Maine and then driving around in the dark looking for almost non-existent street signs or any hotel signs. September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accommodations and Friendly Staff We recently became IHG Reward members and this marked our second stay at a Holiday Inn. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. Our King Suite was beautiful! The continental breakfast was delicious - hot pancakes included! My husband said it was the best continental breakfast he had ever had. We requested a late check out after having arrived very late the night before following a wedding, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. No problems whatsoever. I would highly recommend this hotel. September 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay We stayed here in July and selected this site to return to this month. It has everything we need and want. September 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location for shopping + free breakfast, but otherwise a fail On arrival, our internet didn't work on the top floor. The person I called at front desk gave a number of conflicting reasons ie: "it may be because you're using Apple products"; and even suggesting that I may need to allow their IT people to "log in" to my computer to figure out the problem. Internet is crucial for my work (not to mention my teenager), so after persisting, he finally just admitted it doesn't work on the top floor. We changed rooms to the second floor, where it worked fine. My assumption is that the new room was one they keep for "emergencies", because it was not only MUCH smaller, the ceiling was full of cobwebs and when we came back to the room after supper, we found an ant crawling on the door. There was no bedding in the room for the pull out couch (we were 3 in a room), so we had to call to request some (then had to make the bed up ourselves). Pillows were lumpy, flat and stingy (4 tiny ones on the King bed + one brought for the pullout). The room was rather stuffy and the windows didn't open. Overall, between those things, I had a hard time sleeping until I decided to imagine we were camping :). In general, the room layout was very bizarre. Although there was a "kitchenette" area with cutlery, etc., there was no sink other than the bathroom one. Although I usually find it convenient to have the sink outside the bathroom, they are usually still separated from the main room. This one was oddly located opposite the king bed, fully on display to other occupants. The bathroom itself was dark, with an explosive sounding fan. It was so tiny, you could barely get the door closed once you were in there. Once closed, the door was grimy and full of scratches, as if someone had tried to claw their way out. Had Portland not been booked solid for the long weekend, we wouldn't have stayed the second night. I requested extra pillows from the chambermaid the next day, which did help. On the plus side... the complimentary breakfast was a convenient surprise. Not fine dining by any means (everything is thawed and reheated in a microwave), but definitely enough variety to start your day. The location is also very convenient to the mall. September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the better Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed in The room was clean and comfortable, hotel was conveniently located and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only change I would suggest is to have a better selection of fresh fruit on the breakfast bar. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top hotel for visiting portalnd area The hotel is easy to find by car of the interstate, The booking in was fast and friendly ..lifts were very quick and we were on the top floor. The lift also went down to the basement to the car park at rear to unload and load your car with ease. We didn't use the pool but it looked lovely and clean and was open till 11 on the night, Breakfast was busy but had the only automatic pancake making machine we have seen in USA so far in our extensive travels. Only minor complaint about the room was that the air con unit was Noisy and not very very controllable ....but we have seen this in a lot of hotels, so it is just a point really didn't spoil the stay. We were very happy with the room being a suite and it also had a usable fridge and microwave. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was spotless as well as the bathroom. We would recommend this hotel if you were visiting the area and also there was a massive shopping complex nearby by with many restaurants. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & room This was our first time to stay here. We were on our way to Bar Harbor. A great choice. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT HOTEL, CLEAN, GOOD SERVICE GREAT EXPERIENCE ALL AROUND, I TRAVEL A LOT FOR WORK AND THIS IS ONE OF THE BETTER ONES August 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Could use a big cleaning! Hallways & rooms were sticky, stains on carpets. Sticky finger prints all over TV & stand, night stand, etc. Didn't get wiped down the whole week were were there. Peeling paint in the bathroon, old towells. Save yourself and stay across the street at the Marriott! August 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Miserable experience I have grown up staying in holiday inn hotels as young as I can remember and never once did I have such a terrible experience. We checked in to the hotel on a Friday night, and that was great. We went up to the suite and we discovered that the floor had not been vaccumed at all. So we went to sleep and Saturday morning after breakfast, I went to the desk and requested that it be clean and was apologized to and reassured that it would be cleaned while we were out. Well we came back and nothing was done aside from the beds being made. On the way up the elevator, there was an employee that rudely said he called the elevator because someone had called the front desk and requested it be mopped. Well we all were standing there with sandals and flip flops as he mopped the water all around and on our feet until I said enough. The room also had a very musty odor to it and it was uncomfortable to be in there. The kitchen staff were rude as well sucking there teeth and copping an attitude when a yogurt accidentally fell off one of our plates. Mind you we cleaned most of it. I certainly hope that this doesn't happen to anyone else who stays here because this is the first time I have ever had any problems staying in a hotel. Totally disgusted and really hope they can turn their staff attitude around and correct these issues. August 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the hot cinnamon rolls for breakfast Room was great - comfortable, clean - beds were comfortable - enjoyed the swimming pool - the choices for breakfast were terrific with a wide variety - loved the hot cinnamon rolls. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Near Maine Mall A very clean modern room with sofa-Micro,-fridge and large Flat screen TV..Staff was friendly and helpful.. The free hearty breakfast with eggs , sausages, pastries, hot cakes was excellent. August 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading