• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Walk To The Old Port District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Merrill Auditorium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 118 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stale cigarette smell, beds sheets not clean Room had an odor of stale cigarettes. Bed sheets were not clean. Had 5 in room so needed the advertised pull-out couch. There wasn't one! Roll away bed was unceremoniously delivered (after a visit to the front desk) by a maintenance man who didn't say a word and left it standing upright in the middle of the room. They should have made the bed. At least put it down! We left two days earlier than planned as a result. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, great location. July 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room but poor TV reception and Internet access This was my first visit to the Holiday Inn in South Portland. I was impressed with the room layout, and the bed was very comfortable, but the cable television reception was very poor, and the programs were continually interupted due to signal loss. I was not able to acces the internet, due to unknown circumstances. I did enjoy a swim in the pool, and the staff was helpful. July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, lots of room, good service Our long weekend stay was great. The suites were large and comfortable, which was perfect for those of us who travel from afar in groups... a good space to congregate and chat about our wonderful stay in Maine. The beds were clean and comfortable, I slept extremely well here. The shower pressure was PERFECT! The breakfast spread and selections were decent, completely satisfactory given that it was complimentary. I like the 24-hour availability of coffee and tea, and the lobby area is spacious and inviting. However, the rates were comparable to other area hotels that were of a higher caliber. Since it is the peak of tourist season in Maine, all of the area hotels probably raise their rates similarly. July 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Property sorely lacks service and ammenities I have stayed at this hotel twice flying in and out of Portland. Some of the issues we ran into. 1. Business Center was down with no estimate on when it would be working again 2. Their one vending machine was not working 3. Shuttle was 50 minutes picking us up from the airport when we were told twice it was on it's way and would only be 15 min from the first time I called. It only takes maybe 5-10 min to drive from the airport. The shuttle for the HI by the bay was there and back 2 times. 4. Their were ants in our bathroom on the 6th floor. We complained to the manager but nothing was done I have stayed at several HI and this one is sorely lacking the Customer Service and amenities of the others. July 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Less than stellar Our son was getting married and had reserved a block of rooms for wedding guests. It took forever to connect with someone to make our reservation because it had been set up so that only one person at the hotel could book the reservation. I was put on hold and transferred to in-house reservations only to have no one answer, so I got bumped to corporate reservations – which could not make the reservation because it was restricted and told me to call the same phone number I had called originally. After three go around attempts they finally put me through to a customer care representative who was able to help me make the reservation. My sister went through the same thing. My granddaughter was the flower girl in the wedding and was traveling with us. The rehearsal was to start at 3:00 in the afternoon, so I called to request an early check-in. I explained our situation of driving all day, having to go to the rehearsal, and party following, and that we would not be back to the hotel until around 9PM with a small child. I was told that due to the holiday weekend an early check in could not be guaranteed. I asked if we could do all the paperwork in the afternoon if the room was not ready so that we could just pick up the key at the desk later that night. I was told we could do the paperwork and leave our luggage and it would be in our room waiting when we got back to the hotel. We arrived at the hotel one hour before scheduled check-in time and there were no rooms ready for check-in, which was fine, but when I explained what I had been told the woman at the desk practically called me a liar. She said that we could not have been told that because it wasn't possible the way your system is set up. If there isn't a room to assign then they could not do the paperwork or accept payment. First of all, I find it very hard to believe that 3 hours after check-out time and one hour before check-in time that there were no rooms clean and ready and second, reservations can be prepaid and in some cases it is required. We finally arrived back to the hotel hot and tired, unloaded the car, took care of the paperwork, and off we went to our room to shower and go to bed. When we opened the pull out couch for my son, there was no bedding on it and none anywhere in the room, there were four of us and only three towels, and when my husband went to tuck my granddaughter in there were spots of someone’s red blood on the white comforter/blanket – so it was not a stain left after laundering. We were too tired to deal with anything else so we flipped the blanket so that the blood was tucked under the mattress rather than under our chins. You have a nice looking facility, the breakfasts were lovely, and the pool was well kept, but the staff is not accommodating and there was too much confusion. Serious attention needs to be paid to cleaning the rooms and preparing them for guests. I was very disappointed in the value of our stay for the price we paid for our room. I will not stay at the Holiday Inn Express again. July 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room good but some problems with amenities The room was clean and comfortable, but the hotel's wifi system could not be accessed from our room and the cable TV service went in and out. Breakfast had the basics but could use and upgrade. July 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of cleaning Stayed at this hotel from a Thursday through Sunday, room was only cleaned once (after we requested the cleaning Saturday late afternoon), was told cleaning staff was short handed. We were gone each day from 9 AM through 3 or 4 PM, room should have been cleaned each day within this period of time. AND one would think that the cleaning staff would pick up where they left off the following day to clean the rooms they didn't get to that day. Not a hotel I would return to again. July 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by recently remodeled maybe six years ago I was disappointed in the total room cleanliness as I stay at many HI properties but this one needs a makeover in the rooms....Just not the cleanest property I have stayed at and I travel for business every other week. On the HI website they advertise recently remodeled but I can tell you it has not been and they should remove that. July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by okay Front desk although friendly, the lip ring didn't impress me much. Room was nice but I've stayed in others (HIE) just as good or better for less money. Breakfast was as good as other Holiday Inn Express but there were 2 toasters and neither one worked right. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice staffs and comfortable airport shuttle transportation. I'm so impressed with staffs. I'm comfortable with my room. I expect that'll be perfect if I can ride shuttle van to Maine Mall as well. But I'll come back to you again in August definitely. July 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, poor beds All the staff I came into contact with were great. The breakfast was good, the pool was nice, the laundry facilities were excellent. The one thing that stood out, and not in a good way, was the bed. It was rock hard and my tailbone hurt after one night on it. I was not well-rested after my stay here. If I could change anything about this place, it would be the bed. Both my husband and I woke in pain after both nights we stayed. Other than that, this facility was great. June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice surprise This was the last night of our 5 week vacation and when we were pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade when we reached the hotel. Thank You. The room was spacious, bed comfortable and very quiet. We had a good night's sleep and a nice breakfast before we continued our trip home. June 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Check in Check in was below standard. The front desk person was un attentive, answering phones while assisting me. Not paying any attention, failed to recognize me as a Priority Club gold member, failed to offer the usual water/snack and did just handed me the room key while talking on the phone. Zero personal attention. Worst customer service experience so far. Not sure if I would choose this hotel again. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff was great. I can't thank the staff enough especially the young woman running the night desk. I checked out before 5am to go to the airport. It turned out that I couldn't fly out until noon. Since it was still before 6am at the time, I called the motel and asked the night clerk if I could get my room back for a few hours to get some rest. She said sure and had the key cards ready when I returned. I was able to get some much needed rest before heading back to the airport. Thanks again for the outstanding service. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by location, great service, comfort, breakfast, hotel clean. excellent value, food is very good, hotel is quiet and in a very good location, the service is very good and the hotel is very clean. I travel extensively in 4 and 5 star hotels for business and pleasure all over the U.S. but when I go to Portland I like this hotel and the value is hard to beat. June 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice location This hotel was in a great location near the maine mall and that area. It was relaxing. The pool was great on the hot days we were there.It was quiet and the breakfast was great. My only complaint was that i never found the bed that comfortable but in all honesty I haven't found any hotel bed that great the last few times i was away from home. June 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel is not well maintained This location is not at par with several other HI Express hotels that I have visited. Bed sheets were worn out and pilled. Fitness center had broken equipment. Priority Club members (platinum) were not recognized at the check in. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Place I enjoy staying at all holiday inns . They are always very clean, have a great staff and are very helpful. I have not had a bad experience every. May 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fair to Average Experience Odd room layout and the room rugs and wall paper could have been updated with the rest of the room. May 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Place to Stay Room was clean and check-in was prompt. Only problem we had was that it made no sense to put pet owners on the 5th floor.I would suggest that they be located on the first floor, not only to avoid additional cleaning of elevators, hallways, etc., but less chance of soiling rooms and hallways. Our pet is older and well trained, but there were some puppies there during our stay. Also, free breakfast was fantastic! They had just about everything available. Pricing was fair. Would recommend. May 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Service everytime we go there Have stayed several times before but this time used the Park & Fly service. Great value. Very convenient. On our most recent stay we arrived back very late after a long flight from the west coast. Called for the shuttle in the wee hours of the morning and the driver was there to pick us up in 10 mins. Arrived at the hotel and the young lady on the front desk had us all checked in and had extra blankets all ready for our use on the pull-out couch! We were late getting up the next day (jet-lagged) but that was no problem for the gentleman looking after the breakfast. After he was to have shut it all down he prepared a few omlettes and some fresh coffee for us. An outstanding experience. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and accomodations It was a nice stay with good service and the accomodations were very good. The pool area was clean and we had plenty of towels. The exercise room was clean and well kept. The room itself was clean and well kept also. The TV was ok. the channels were just adequate, nothing great. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was good and filling. Lots of choices. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. May 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great Location This was our 2nd stay at this hotel. The 1st time was better than this as far as quality of sleep. We were located on the side of hotel where the noise from Interstate could be heard very easily. Next time I would request to stay on opposite side. May 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy We were in a suite at end of hall next to ice machine and that is all you could hear at night. The air conditioner/heater dripped most of the night. Bed was uncomfortable. April 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy & clean Enjoyed our stay while visiting Portland; clean, bed was very comfortable, room was a nice size with a kitchenette, perfect for more than an overnight stay. Breakfast could have been maintained better; the service bar was really messy, unkept, coffee ran out,hot egg selection was empty for a long time, tables were not cleaned. Otherwise a very relaxing stay. April 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad but could be better This hotel is starting to show it's age. The toilet had a tendency to run all on its own. The pillows were lumpy & uncomfortable. Need better cable service. The breakfasts at all of the Holiday Inn Express locations need more variation. April 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by HI Stay April 2013 Everything pretty good, loved the room with kingbed, the layout, and amenities for the most part. Wish the bathroom sink was situated in the bathroom though. Breakfast buffett very much like all others, so that warranted an average rating. Lots of room though, I liked that. However, I am outraged that coupons, found at every rest stop and other places from Florida to Washington, are not honoured. Of course you don't find out until you present it at the front desk, to which the agent was only too happy to inform me, without any other greeting, "we don't honour them", after which I nearly went through the roof, 10 hours on the road, thinking I had a great deal. What the devil do they even exist for then? April 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sports teams create negative experience We have stayed at this location numerous times over numerous years and have had positive experiences; not this time. :( We had 2 rooms as we were traveling with family. The toilet in room A wouldn't stop running and eventually overflowed, soaking everything around it. When we tried to call the front desk for help we kept getting a busy signal. We found out later, when we checked out, that the phone system had been changed, but the guests weren't notified. Quote "The new cards for the guest phones aren't ready yet." Why didn't staff tell us of the change when we checked in? There was a huge cobweb hanging over the bathroom sink mirror in Room B. The topper for the whole stay were the number of sports team members that ran up and down the halls all night. :( April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and rest Stayed here on our way back from Florida. Really enjoyed our stay. Room and staff were excellent. We have recorded this place as a for sure place to stay when traveling to or through Portland April 9, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Kids stay and eat free at Holiday Inn ® hotels.  Click to learn more.