• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
(e.g. Oct-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cumberland County Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Overlooking Casco Bay & Atlantic Ocean
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Portland Expo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Located In Historic Arts District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:500
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 parking charge per vehicle
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 10.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:239
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:176
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:201
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0011

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area.
View More

Guests Revel in Portland Hotel's Setting by the Sea

Set along the beautiful shores of Casco Bay, the Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel's location in Portland, Maine combines convenience, entertainment and beauty to create the perfect environment for every traveler. Offering a waterfront view that extends to the Calendar Islands, the hotel's setting fully captures the beauty and culture of Portland, Maine.

The hotel's business travelers find great opportunities in the area. Those traveling long distances make use of the hotel's shuttle to take them to Portland International Jetport (PWM), Amtrak, the bus station and many other local destinations. The Portland Arts District surrounds the hotel, with the Portland Museum of Art, Children's Museum, Merrill Auditorium and Civic Center.

This hotel's location in Portland, Maine provides a variety of entertainment options for its guests, as well. When guests aren't taking cruises on the Casco Bay Lines or enjoying the Old Port District just a short walk away, they often venture down to Cape Elizabeth and check out the Portland Head Light, a historic lighthouse set on the spectacular shores of Fort Williams Park.

The Holiday Inn® Portland - By the Bay hotel includes a beautiful indoor pool and sauna where guests can relax. Fantastic cuisine awaits you at the on-site Port of Call restaurant. Come and experience the natural beauty and unique culture of Portland, Maine.

View Less
Features
With a magnificent view overlooking Casco Bay in Portland, Maine, the hotel's location is unbeatable. Within walking distance to Old Port, this waterfront property's view will take your breath away. On one side you have the enormous view of the Harbor and Islands in the distance. On the other side, the beautiful city and White Mountains in the background.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 372 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff This a great site for a hotel. It is close to the old town, but quiet even when the town was holding a riotous festival. I am impressed with the staff who handled a disruptive group with aplomb and efficiency. They were also very accommodating of our last minute change of plans. We would happily return. It's good value. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Stay at Holiday Inn by the Bay I was not a big fan of Holiday Inn until now. You have changed my whole perception and opinion of Holiday Inn. From now on I will make Holiday Inn my first choice in hotel stays. If others are comparable, we will be delighted. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good conference experience I stayed here for a conference and had a very good experience with this hotel. The employees were all friendly and helpful. Meeting rooms were good and everything for the conference seemed to run smoothly. And when I got home and realized I'd left some things behind in my room, I called the hotel and they promptly mailed my items back to me. Overall a good experience here, and it was a convenient location for some sightseeing too. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay! This was such a great stay from before I checked in to leaving. I called in the morning to ask if a room was available for early check in and without hesitation the staff was able to check us in early. Was given a corner, bay view suite which was phenomenal. The view was beautiful and the room was very comfortable. The bed was super comfty! I did not want to leave it in the mornings. Nice large fridge and microwave for convenience and even a Keurig machine to brew coffee. It was in a perfect location to walk to many different restaurants, entertainment venues. The staff was beyond accommodating and even had coffee and drinks in the lobby throughout the day. I can't say enough great things about this hotel. Very nice stay indeed. I would highly recommend this hotel. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location My friends and I chose this hotel because it is within easy walking distance of the Maine State Theatre, where we had tickets for a show. The hotel is very nice, and the staff are very helpful and welcoming. June 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by We were surprised. We typically stay at Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express while on the road because we can count on consistency throughout the chain- a clean room and a good value. In our opinion, this hotel was neither. There was a good amount of dust on the end tables and TV and a pen refill on the floor. The price of the room was much more than all the other hotels we stayed at on our trip throughout Maine and the room was not nearly as nice. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay! Great room overlooking Port, great service, and delicious food (especially the Lobster Benedict for breakfast!) June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Price My friends and I had a nice stay at the Holiday Inn Portland by the Bay. It was convenient to downtown Portland and the waterfront. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly. June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family party May 30, 2014 stayed for two nights great location, clean, comfortable. Staff at front desk pleasant , very helpful with map of area and directions. Breakfast in hotel resturant was good. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Staff wonderful, room very nice, ( though dry and ACa bit loud), best eggs Benedict ever!! Terrific hotel experience!!! June 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rude front desk manager Although the location is good, I would have rather stayed somewhere else that appreciated my business and wasn't rude to me upon check in when I had asked again for a Non smoking room (in addition to my request months, weeks and days prior to my check in). Not sure why smoking rooms are still even offered in this day and age, especially to a non smoking couple. It was as if I slept in an ash tray and of course woke up with a terrible sore throat. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Experience No complaints! Everything was great, the staff was friendly, clean room with a fantastic view right in the middle of Portland. Loved our stay! June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Hit We've been coming to Portland and staying at the Holiday Inn on Spring Street for at least 8 years now. We come 3 or 4 times a year and it never disappoints. The staff is super. The value is OK. The location is perfect. You can walk anywhere. The shuttle bus is also very convenient. We walked down to the Old Porte area, had some drinks and dinner, and then some drinks.... you get the picture...and then we didn't want to walk back, so we called the shuttle bus to come and get us for the ride back. Beautiful. For years they never charged for parking but its ten dollars a day now. I'm not happy about that, but compared to staying in Boston it is a large bargain. We will be back. We love Portland. And the Holiday Inn is our place when we come and we are certainly made to feel that way by the staff. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Rooms great location Greeted by professional staff, quick check in with room overlooking the Bay. Rooms are quite comfortable with very fluffy pillows. My stay was for business confernece and the entire conference was handled smoothly. The food was delicious. No need for a car. Hotel is near town so can walk or make use of the hotel complimentary shuttle service to and from airport and to shops and restaurants in town.. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location - Excellent Staff Good location. Friendly and Helpful Staff. The decor is dated. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, but beds are not comfortable I like a soft bed for my back. Unfortunately, like most hotels, the beds are hard. Otherwise, the hotel staff was very friendly and efficient, the room was clean and, despite being downtown, very quiet. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and a 3 out of 5 all around We stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed are stay. The employees we nice and the hotel has a pretty good location to be able to walk around portland. Our room was clean enough, but pretty dusty. I would have liked to use the Keurig, but it was not clean enough for me. The AC was the worst part. It sounded like an airplane taking off when it kicked on, but kept the room comfortable at least. Nothing I experienced would stop me from staying here again, but it would be great to come back and have an even better stay. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay when visiting Portland Booked this hotel for a 4 night stay and was delighted with everything. Superb location, tea and coffee making facilities in room and staff very attentive to your needs. Clean, comfortable hotel and so very quiet - rare in busy hotels these days! Recommend to anyone. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking The parking was dissatisfying. To pay $10 a night and not be able to find a spot in the main garage, which has spaces way too small, was not convenient. Parking at the lot not attached to the hotel did not make me feel safe. Walking in the garage back to the hotel was frightening. That was the only thing that I was dissatisfied with the hotel. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great location and great view. The van shuttle was very useful. Excellent breakfast in the restaurant. Only disappointment was no Jacuzzi at the pool. May 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay Enjoyed our stay with a beautiful view of the full moon over the bay. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bedding Upon arrival, the 8 pillows and bed sheets and bed spread had hair on them. Some pillows even had 2 strands of long hair on them. The hotel staff was very apologetic and they sent a housekeeper immediately to change out the bedding. The hotel clerk rectified the situation and offered us a choice of a room upgrade or 2 vouchers for breakfast for the inconvenience. Other than this, the room was clean and we enjoyed our stay. May 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fitness room The fitness room lacked supplies to wipe down the equipment and there were no towels. Also the fitness was not cleaned with trash on the floors. May 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Portland Me Awesome view...needs updated beds....shower and drains needed unclogging. ..old carpet....nice locale....just needs a facelift May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greast place to stay Excellent hotel, we were very comfortable and the service was great. The place was very clean and we loved the shuttle. May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient hotel in downtown Portland Downtown Portland is a happening place, and this Holiday Inn was a convenient place to say....and more reasonably priced than other Downtown spots. The good news is that this place has convenient and reasonable parking (which is helpful, because the meter maids are out in force in Portland). Like most Holiday Inns, this place kind of sterile. But the rooms clean, staff friendly and helpful (in providing directions and restaurant suggestions). May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great restaurant greeting and service 5/5 for restaurant in the hotel 1/5 for bar in the hotel 2/5 for sound in the hotel May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and view Had a great stay , nice room with view, close to everything, great staff. Still waiting for bonus points at check in to be put to my account, but staff is taking care of it. Great Hotel. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We were here for 3 nights-what a great stay! Everyone was so friendly and helpful- from front desk to cleaning staff. Comfy beds and very clean room. GREAT location- in between downtown and Old Port. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location and Affordable Hotel Hotel Staff was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations, transportation information and other highlights of the downtown area. The guest room was comfortable although a little small, we were able to get a room with a view of the bay, which was awesome. May 22, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions--Boating Area Attractions--Civic Center Area Attractions-Old Port Area Attractions--Deering Oaks Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Lobster Bake Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Victoria Mansion Area Attractions--Portland Children's Museum Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Museum Of Art Area Attractions--Gulf Of Maine Area Attractions--Portland Sea Dogs Area Attractions--Portland Headlight Area Attractions--Longfellow's House Area Attractions--Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Area Attractions--Coast Of Maine Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Old Port Area Attractions--Boat Trips Area Attractions--Merrill Auditorium Area Attractions--Golf
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading