Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 306 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing hotel stay Hotel was nice and bright. Staff friendly couldn't ask for anymore. Looked after my daughter well offering her activity pack and refreshments upon arrival. Swimming pool was excellent and very clean. Breakfast had a good variety of choice. All freshly cooked and presented well. Overall the stay was excellent and will be returning next year. August 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, poor service Once again, we experienced poor service here. Had already booked the hotel because of its convenient location to get an early morning ferry, even though we were disappointed with the lack of service at Reception for our previous stay. Things hadn't improved. First, I was told my booking hadn't come through and I must have booked last-minute. I'd actually booked AND pre-paid in March, four months earlier. They did find us a room - not sure what would have happened had they been full. Later that evening I realised I couldn't access the WiFi so I went to Reception and asked if I needed a code for the WiFi. The answer was simply 'Yes'. Then I had to ask what the code was #as did another guest next to me# - simply unbelievable!! This info should have been given automatically at check-in, along with other info I heard guests asking such as where the lift was, when breakfast was served etc. Does the Holiday Inn not train staff at all? The actual room and location were fine, but this is a SERVICE industry. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing We visited this hotel for leisure purposes choosing Holiday Inn because we have stayed at other Holiday Inns in the UK. this Holiday Inn however does not compare to the others we have stayed in particularly as far as the restaurant and bar and lounge area are concerned. There was also a problem with the TV which went off on one particular channel never to return. July 31, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good location. Poor Service Parking was the first issue, I have a "Blue Badge" because of my wife's disability. all disabled spaces were taken, some without any badge showing. Reception weren't interested Not informed of dining offers for both Dinner and Breakfast on check-in. My meal ended up being £30 more than if I had bought vouchers. Despite being a Platinum Member it took the reception clerk 15 minutes to check me in. He took an imprint of my credit card for charging but when trying to purchase drinks, I was told no credit was allowed as my card had not been registered. The room was OK but very basic and not as good as some many other HI and HI Expresses I have stayed in. Breakfast was very poor with all the hot food being cold. I aired my views with the duty manager on departure and was promised a call from the manager. No call! July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Had a good time Staff were welcoming and very friendly. The room was very nice and had everything we needed - it could have benefitted from black out curtains as it was very light in the early mornings. The little swimming pool is great for some laps or a bob around in. The restaurant had superb food and we went to bed stuffed every night. It is in a good location to walk to Gunkeys Wharf as well as Commercial Road (the high street) for shopping and food. Only quibble I had was as a Platinum elite member I was only offered a free drink for me, my wife got nothing! July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good but let down by Breakfast I had made a mistake with my booking and reserved a double - the receptionist cheerfully moved us to a twin. The room, though fairly small, was clean and well presented. Our only quibble was that there was only one dining type chair provided, so the only place to sit was on the beds. On the Saturday, my wife was having a lay down in the afternoon when housekeeping came to clean. When we went out, I told reception and the room was cleaned with no problem. We went out on both evenings so I have no idea what the restaurant was like. A look into the pool showed lots of children having a whale of a time. There were a lot of children in the hotel (it being the first day of the summer holidays), and they were full up, but once in our room we did not hear them at all. So far so good. Then came breakfast. This was, like the proverbial curate's egg, good in parts: The coffee and orange juice were excellent; the croissants very good, and the fresh fruit and yoghurt selection first class. What let them down was the cooked breakfast: cold plates, overcooked bacon (which I did not try), burned and tasteless sausages, and poor scrambled egg. By contrast the restaurant staff were first class. I suggest that the management should look for, and promote, local produce. Hampshire can provide all they need in a very much higher quality than the food on offer. Then they need to cook and present it properly. All in all, we enjoyed or two nights at this hotel, and we will probably return in the hope that they improve the breakfast. I should also give the reception staff a mention - apart from my minor problems, I saw them deal calmly, cheerfully and efficiently with some other guests who seemed to me were quite unnecessarily rude and demanding. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good service and clean,comfortable rooms I have stayed numerous times at the Holiday Inn, Portsmouth and I have never been disappointed. It is accessible for the many delights of the area. Staff always do their best to welcome you and meet your needs.The rooms are comfortable and the beds ensure a good nights sleep. Breakfast offers a wide choice and there is no waiting for tables, drinks etc. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Standard of Service and Accommodation at a Reasonable Price Members of staff at reception, in the restaurant and bar were very friendly, very professional and very helpful. In general a good standard of accommodation with the rooms about due for a little TLC but I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. July 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired hotel and overpriced but with outstanding staff Tired small room and ailing plumbing. No longer the family rooms of old for travelling with young kids. Prices per night very high for what's on offer. Swimming Pool outstanding Staff friendly, competent and personable. Internet expensive and service slow and unreliable. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by weekend break We stay at this hotel on a regular bases for weekends. We always enjoy our stay 10 out of 10 Never have a problem and the location is perfect to visit Portsmouth. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Summer weekend We came to stay primarily to go to the dockyard, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. This is our second visit to this hotel and the dockyard this year. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Endless banging of doors throughout the night led to sleepless nights The hotel is nicely situated with friendly staff and comfortable lounge area. bar snacks were delicious but waiting for an undrinkably bitter coffee was painful to watch. How difficult can it be to make a coffee? I found the prices of drinks at the bar very expensive, July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good Service All round good value, good location and service. Enjoyed Portsmouth and area July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Well placed for visiting the Historic Dockyard with buses on the doorstep. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, just a small walk from all there is to do Really enjoyed the stay. The room was big and comfortable. Enjoyed the walk to both Gunwarf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. I also found the staff friendly and able to help. The workout area and pool felt both safe and comfortable. Seemed very family friendly. A warning to those not willing to do a little walking, this hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the mall and the HMS Victory. However, it is closer to the D-Day Memorial. Overall, I"d recommend. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great stay Lovely friendly staff all seem to go the extra mile to welcome , the girl serving the coffee in the morning took time to ask if i had slept well so nice that you have staff who go the extra mile and make people feel welcome , i am back down this Wednesday for my third stay in three weeks and getting very fond of the place , well done to all see you soon Grant July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good breakfast, quiet Overlooking the Southsea common and sea, this is a great location. The entrance, bar and restaurant are clean and modern. Staff are polite and friendly. The rooms are good with air conditioning and flat screen tv with HD. There's a safe in the room to keep your valuables safe (it's free too). Includes ironing board and iron. My room had a shower over a bath but it was nice and powerful. Only had breakfast, but the choice was good and service brill. Only the scrambled eggs had cause for concern! Parking is a bit limited, but we always found a space. The location is only 10mins walk from Southsea or Gunwharf Keys, so is ideal if you're choosing a hotel to see these sights. It's a long walk to Portsmouth centre though. Can't really fault the hotel and will no doubt stay again. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel Very comfortable stay. Excellent, friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent service and good quality food in the restaurant. I fully recommend this hotel. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience The breakfast was excellent. The choice and the quality of food could not be faulted. It was unfortunate that there was only one member of staff at the bar on Saturday, 5th July at lunchtime, since the bar area was fairly busy and we did not get our drinks until the food arrived. The staff were friendly and helpful. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed Although had a comfy room my main complaints are the lack of parking spaces allocated to guests. After travelling for four hours or more I think there should be more spaces, but instead these are used by leisure members. 2nd complaint was the breakfast - food piping hot, served on cold plates, then having to eat your food under air conditioning units. Result equals horrible cold and greasy food. July 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location,great staff and food. We have stayed at this hotel many times and cannot fault the staff, food or rooms,however on this ocation the room was a little small, especially the bathroom July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ask for a decent sized bathroom For a Holiday Inn, this is average in most respects. I have stayed at hundreds of Holiday Inns and have stayed at this particular one half a dozen times. We were caught out by the size of the bathroom which was pitifully small. You fell over the toilet trying to close the bathroom door. 2 people simply cannot get into the bathroom together. We only realised how small the bathroom was after completely unpacking and after a long tiring journey, couldn't be bothered asking for a room change. The building is quite old but it is decent inside. If you get a reasonable sized bathroom it is fine but avoid our room - 624! July 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Arrive early is you want safe parking - and don't expect too much... I used this hotel as a one-night stay before leaving early for Goodwood Festival of Speed. I arrived at about 8:00pm and since the hotel only has a small number of parking spaces, they were all taken and I had to leave my car parked on the road nearby - hardly secure. I wanted to leave early the next morning to avoid traffic, but was assured that breakfast would be available from 6:30am the next morning - marginal for my plans, but just OK. However, when I (and a coachload of Germans) arrived for breakfast at that time the next morning, nobody was to be seen. It was close to 7:00 before we could sit down - and no explanation or apology was given. Overall the hotel is a bit of a tired waterfront property that has had some internal refurbishment, but that doesn't totally mask the (not good) feeling of age. While nothing was horrendous (aside from the continual worry about whether my car's windows would still be OK the next morning), I would not stay here again by choice. I would prefer to drive an extra 50 miles and stay elsewhere. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Portsmouth Holiday Inn Stay here often for business. Super location and you get what you expect from the Holiday Inn group July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by holiday inn portsmouth The problem we had was car parking as the car park was full there were cars parked in none spaces so as we pulled in to check in we found it difficult to manoeuvre and find room to turn round to leave the car park. July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Good place to have value for money. The hotel location is very strategic and well located for both business and pleasure guests. The hotel gym though small is okay for the size of the hotel but the fitness machines are okay for their purposes. In all, if the hotel management listens more to guests suggestions, this is the hotel to beat in Portsmouth. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive staff but minor problems Excellent location and staff were great when you needed some help. Reception staff were very helpful when approached but during my stay I did not see them acknowledge guests passing the desk . The daily "treats " for guests in Reception is a great idea and much appreciated. Powered scrambled eggs for breakfast a real pity. The chef is great and the quality of his cooking first class but the ingredients leave a lot to be desired, especially at the price charged. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel very central to all locations we wanted. This is the second time we have stayed here.First time was very good ,the room was on the third floor ,Lifts were good and quick.Staff were very happy and cheerful.We had breakfast which was buffet so could pick what you fancied.There was no problems at all.So decided to go back there and to our surprise we had the same room as last time. So the holiday at the hotel was fine.Will go back again. June 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a lick of paint This hotel is tired , but the location is excellent . The car park is very tight and too small for a full. Hotel so get there early June 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what you expect for a holiday inn Came in late from Ferry and there was no parking available. Gym was closed at 11pm and did not reopen until 6.30am Was not told at reception that breakfast ended at 9.30am and arrived at 9.35am and told it was finished Staff need to understand what global customers need Stayed at other holiday inn 2 days ago and was 200 percent better Internet is real slow Will not stay here again June 26, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>