Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 261 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money Excellent hotel to stay for easy access to all amenities on the front June 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by cold room The hotel itself was as expected being a Holiday Inn. I find the heating/air conditioning system in the hotel to be substandard. Lacking in the ability to control the comfort level in the room as there is no way to adjust the heat or air conditioning as the thermostat is non functional. The hotel decides what temperature you have in your room, not the occupant. There were no blankets in the room and the room was cooler that preferred. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Good service Hotel updated and good facilities. Great to have a pool and spa at the end of a sightseeing day. Staff very attentive and felt that they genuinely wanted our stay to be goo, ,they had an interest in our welfare. Would definitely comeback. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Does what it says on the tin Very ordinary hotel. It is not a particularly inspiring hotel or location. The staff were lovely. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service with a smile I have stayed at a good number of Holiday inns but the Holiday Inn Portsmouth is a favourite of mine walking distance of the city centre and nothing is to much of a problem for the staff from arranging a taxi to extra pillows on your bed I will be staying there many more time this year May 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor facilities and expensive wifi Interesting, it seems my previous review went missing........ Fortuantely I put it in word for spelling and still have a copy - i'll try again. I stay away a fair bit (29 nights so far in the 4 months Jan to Apr in a good half dozen different hotels) and always try and stay with IHG. I only mention this to emphasise that I’m comparing apples with apples in this review. So, anyway, onto my review..... I was really, really disappointed by this hotel. My initial impression was not good - I was unable to find a parking space and ended up parked on a double yellow line on bend. This wasn’t a one-off, the next night was the same and third, whilst I found a space, it was the last I could see (and I did have to try everywhere). When I arrived at reception, my perceptions weren’t changed by the check in process. One gentleman who had to repeat my every query to the colleague next to him (whilst I appreciate new members of staff have to learn, it really does make the check in process a chore). Re-iterated by the fact that the next day, when requesting a second key (I’d left mine in my room) that I was handed an additional points voucher with the words "here Mr Armstrong, this is yours". Onto the room, I was disappointed when I got into the room that despite requesting a double, I had a couple of twins shoved together. This is never great as they invariably move in the middle of the night and I end up on the floor! This isn't a problem specifically with Portsmouth, I’ve had this in pretty much all IHG hotels. The decor was more reminiscent of 1994 than 2014. I've recently been impressed by the Holiday Inn in Bristol and the Intercontinental in Budapest - both had the AV panel in the desk area with USB chargers, additional plug sockets, HDMI sockets etc, etc. Here I had a double plug with a big yellow warning sticker saying "do not unplug". The hotel really could do with a spruce (including the lifts that take a good 30 secs from pressing the button to the doors closing). One final point, this hotel does the same "trick" that all other IHG hotels seem to - advertise "free" internet which is basically unusable and then sell a "fast" version. Whilst I’m resigned to this tactic now and know what to expect, what I was not expecting was the ridiculously high internet "charges". For example, I’d just finished staying at the Holiday Inn Bristol who charge £8 for 3 days fast internet. Here, the charge is £8 for 4 hours! 3 days costs £24!!! On top of that, the speeds were still not great and were more than a little disappointed to have to argue billing on check out. It's safe to say, whilst I am more than happy to stay with IHG for all my other trips, the Holiday Inn in Portsmouth is one hotel I will not be returning to. May 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay but!!!! Overall it was an enjoyable stay. The room was fine and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The only reason I cannot give it a higher rating is the very expensive cost for wi-fi. I strongly think that it should be a free facility anyway but £17 per day is excessive. May 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by fRIENDLY STAFF Very good location and has free car parking, good value, we would / will return again. Must use the indoor swimming pool next time we stay !!! .Mr A E W May 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No problems Have been staying here on and off for the 15years, and its always very good. Breakfast, could do with some plain sausages. lieu of the herb ones and PG tips or a quality tea.otherwise excellent. Car parking is a bit tight but did find a slot outside on the road. Very nice lady , Margaret in the bar efficient and polite, Thanks to the team there hope to see you soon. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service I was pleasantly surprised by the room we had and the customer service we experienced. We had a "family room," which I had never experienced before. I was great having the extra beds for the kids & they even included a Scooby blanket for the baby. David was around the lobby area & was very attentive. I was in line at the bar to order food, he came from another part of the restaurant area to take my order instead of having me wait. I really appreciated it. He checked on us through out the evening and gave us the experience of being taken care of. Wonderful experience! Thank you!!! The location was Fantastic! April 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy bedroom I am fed up with staying in hotels which charge a great deal of money just to provide a room for the night and then fail to fulfill their primary function which is to offer a quiet comfortable night's sleep. If this is not provided it doesn't matter how pleasant the ambience, how good the food, how courteous the staff - all of this counts for nothing. In this hotel the room to which I was allocated faced out on to a flat roof on which there were two large ventilators which obviously, as so often happens, were going to be blowing all night, so I asked for a room transfer. The staff were very helpful and I was given what was described as a 'complimentary upgrade' to a room on the fifth floor with a lovely view over the Solent. However, when everything went quiet, I noticed there was an intrusive #electrical# hum in the room, the source of which I simply could not identify. I stayed in the room, but the hum continued all night making a completely restful uninterrupted sleep impossible. I did mention this as I checked out, and left brief details, but I have not received any response. I don't suppose anyone bothered to check the room specifically to confirm my comment. Therefore, in the context of my opening remarks, I consider that this hotel failed. April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Good Location with Excellent staff.. but expensive bar so we went out. April 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Wrong sized bedlinen ruined my night's sleep We booked a twin Executive room but I was disappointed to find that there were single duvets in double duvet covers on both beds. I asked Reception to get them changed, and was told that Holiday Inns are changing all their bedlinen over to 'one-size fits all' , there were no single duvet covers used any more, and that this was company policy. I was staggered enough to email head office, explaining that bedlinen comes in different sizes for a reason - on a single bed, anything larger than single-size tends to fall off the bed as you turn over (as happened to me) so I spent most of the night hauling the bedlinen back on the bed. I got back the most standard reply imaginable, just thanking me for my feedback. That was it. Nothing else suggesting they would look into it, no mention of my actual complaint, just a bog-standard reply. Poor show Holiday Inn, I'll be checking the bedlinen situation before booking in future which is a pity. Holiday Inn has long been my top choice in the past because of very comfy beds, great pillows and excellent cleanliness. But if I can't sleep because of a ridiculous new bedlinen policy, you've lost a good customer here. April 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location not up to usual IHG standards Friendly staff but our standard room was very small and tired. Lots of things listed on the usual breakfast buffet but they were not actually present: e.g. skimmed milk, cranberry juice etc. Location is excellent for Gun Wharf and other tourist attractions but look for cheaper options since this hotel does not deliver the normal Holiday Inn standard. April 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff, great service We enjoyed our stay here and the staff service was excellent. The hotel is in a good location for walking into Portsmouth, Southsea and the Hovercraft terminal. We slept well and enjoyed using the pool, sauna and steam room. However, compared to other Holiday Inns we have visited, this hotel is a little dated, particularly the bathroom. The shower controls were very stiff and the fittings and tiles around the bath could have done with a deep clean. We chose not to eat in the restaurant merely because the decor made it seem, to us, rather dark and uninviting. A few prints on the bland cream walls on floor three would cheer the place up too. Would we come back? Yes! April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good all round hotel The swimming pool was very good and open early and late. We enjoyed the hotel's location, about 15 minutes from the Guildhall and close to the water. Breakfast was good quality and we look forward to returning. April 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overnight The room could have been a bit cleaner around the edges. Breakfast was good. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WiFi issue Everything about our stay was excellent. Staff good, rooms good, location good. The only downer is the hotel policy on WiFi. £16 for something that should be free nowadays is not on! Crazy. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by just like home Love this hotel stayed here about 4 times it feels like coming home fantastic position and the staff very helpful will be coming again soon going to stay longer can't wait.!!!!! April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service go every 6 months to a year Gets better every year/excellent service /food and hotel best ever April 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room - average service Only average - several mistakes with service charges, booking meals etc although resolved things did not run as smoothly as they should. Atmosphere in restaurant in evening very cold - not cosy or intimate. Was ok for breakfast - which was good but same situation in the evening didn't work. Food overpriced. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service a wondeful weekend was had in portsmouthi thanks to the staff of this hotel with good food and accomodation highly recommended. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT HOTEL We stayed here when the great storm was hitting the coast and every where was flooded and trees blown over, when we finally got there the staff was Fantastic nice welcome, rooms are nice enough. clean. beds are good will be back again worth staying, over all you cant go wrong !! March 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mar 14 1 night Lovely quiet room (disabled room allocated) and a large bathroom just spoilt by the shower head rail only rising to about 5'6", so when you are 6' tall, you cant stand under the shower. Add to that my pet hate of small towels . The bar meals looked well priced unfortunately the portion seize was that small, I went to the local chip shop afterwards as I was still hungry > No choice of morning newspaper offered.. Could have done with brighter desk lighting March 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Profession service with a smile Stayed three nights on business. Very helpful staff. Enjoyable experience. Thank you. March 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, good location. Excellent hotel, friendly staff who assisted through an online booking mix up to get two adjoining rooms, including a room upgrade. The parking is too few for the hotel size and occupancy. The health club is in need of a refurbishment and was let down by its general cleanliness. March 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful value for money A few years ago I felt that Holiday Inns were getting a bit tired, shabby, and overpriced. They have certainly changed if this hotel is anything to go by. The room was immaculate, the bed comfortable, and with a choice of pillows. We decided to stay in and took advantage of the meal deal they had on, the food was lovely and the portions more than big enough. Staff great. Overall fantastic value for money, will definitely stay again. February 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Our expectations were too high We were prepared to pay 4* prices as it was not only Valentines weekend but a birthday and anniversary celebration as well. The standard room was adequate but no better than some "value hotels". Our main disappointment however was the dinner menu. As Friday's dinner was part of our package, we were presented with a table d'hote menu with just 3 choices of main course, one of which was vegetarian and one a pasta and none of the choices appealed to us. We discovered later that the 3 choices were taken from the a la carte menu and from the cheaper end of the menu. We were told by the waitress that it was the "Valentines Night Menu" and we were not permitted to choose from the a la carte menu and pay extra.. Altogether a very disappointing stay. February 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great stay. Great service! Fantastic stay!! Thank you for a warm welcome and a fantastic stay. February 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, convenient, great staff Great location very convenient for my work when in Portsmouth, All the facilities are great, One small glitch though The tv service is rubbish, Have stayed in several rooms and tv picture breaks up, or loses signal It also has limited programs. Other HI location has full freeview?. February 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>