Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 336 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay when visiting Portsmouth We visit Portsmouth on a regular bases for weekend breaks and this hotel is ideal. I have never had a reason to complain. The reception is very well run, the staff are helpful and friendly. You can start each day with a good breakfast which is very good value. We have rebooked for next month 10 out of 10 June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great service A really good hotel ideally located for all that Portsmouth has to offer. Rooms were clean and fresh and the staff really friendly and helpful. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food Very Poor in term of parking and too expensive for food for what choices you have!! June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location The Holiday Inn at Southsea is a good location for Portsmouth Business work. The staff are always helpful and respectful. Car parking facilities could be better i.e more of them would help. I will stay there again June 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday standards declining This is no longer aquality hotel group as evidenced by this stay.It compares poorly with recent stays with Hilton,Novotel ,Van der valk and Premier Inn. Dreadful assembled mea,for the bit I got l,poor service at a high price. Room very tired ,no excuse for aknackered chair with threadbare arms. Reaction by reception was cleaners don't check this June 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unpleasant Air Quality. Portsmouth is a tourist destination. In many parts of the world smoking is discouraged and even banned in public places eg near the entrance to buildings. As the smoking zone at this hotel for both guests and staff is within several metres of the front door it was EXTREMELY unpleasant walking out of the door into a cloud of filthy cigarette smoke. June 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by review I have been staying at the Portsmouth / Southsea Holiday Inn at least 3- 4 days a month for the past few years now, I am completely happy with the ambience, the rooms are nice and comfortable. I only occaisionally eat at the restaurant in the evening and find the food very nice and a reasonble cost. Breakfast is very good with the option of a full english or just continental and fruits. The staff are all excellent and very helpfull. Now the minus points. Parking can be a little problematic if you arrive after 5 pm as the car park tends to fill up quite quickly, but you can park in the road, but be gone by 8 in the morning as the parking becomes payable and parking wardens are about. You can of course park in the disabled only bays at the hotel like several ignorant people sem to do. I have mentioned this to management but they seem to ignore it. Sometimes getting into and out of the front entrance you have to walk past the stinking smokers and cigarette butts on the floor, not nice. Finally in this age of modern TV aand freeview why does this particular hotel only have about 12 channels?? Others have full freeview. Also some of the rooms i have had suffer from picture break up. But all in all i would still prefer to stay at the hotel June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location for the D-Day celebrations. Room was comfortable, clean and just big enough. Pillows were not the best. Wifi was NOT free. No fridge in the room. June 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small room Quite a small room and even smaller bathroom. Door stop located in bathroom directly in front of sink ideally placed to stub a toe. Good area with plenty of night life. Not recognized as a Platinum member June 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel Stay Ever On my first night when the restaurant was almost empty I was told that I would need to come back in 30 mins as they were to busy. Upon returning to the restaurant I was seated and asked if I would like bread and olives to which I said yes but these never arrived, I then had to wait around 1 hour 30 mins for my food to arrive. After this I never had an evening meal in the restaurant and opted for room service instead and on one occasion I was given the wrong main course because the person taking the order wasn’t paying attention. Every morning when I arrived at the restaurant for breakfast I was asked If I would like tea or coffee but only on 1 day did It actually receive any. Also when returning to my room in the evening the towels I had placed in the bath to be replaced were just hung back up and the Tea, Coffee June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms, but very poor service With great difficulty, had tried to reserve two rooms, one with a cot, for our family which included a baby. Impossible to confirm in writing there would be a cot, though assured there would be, but there wasn't one in either room, even though I requested one again on arrival and check-in. Only when my daughter with the baby arrived to check in at Reception did they then arrange for Housekeeping to put one in their room, which caused great stress. Very poor customer service at Reception and when we left in the morning and handed in our keys, we weren't even acknowledged by the staff behind the desk, let alone asked about our stay or wished a good journey. Similarly when we went down to the Bar for a drink in the evening, it took ages for us to be served, even though it was obvious we were waiting to order and there were staff around. This is a customer-led business with competition and they need to do more training in customer service!! June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good hotel position This hotel was clean and comfortable and in a great position. There was some lovely walks by the Solent on the way to Old Portsmouth where there was plenty to see with many places to shop. A visit to the top of the Spinnaker Tower is a must. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Once again excellent I had to stay late in Portsmouth because of a short notice meeting so this was a short notice booking for me , all done very efficiently over the phone, and at check in also very efficient. everything sorted in a flash. I stayed in 571 and was a nice room, everything was good. Stayed here many times before and have notice recently that this hotel is always improving, and standards are being maintained. well done to the team there. Once again excellent Thanks June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Enjoyable stay but a bit pricey for bed only overnight stay when clearly there are rooms available. June 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Beware of Assistant Mager Abbas-Zaid The comfort rating of the rooms, amenities, Lunge and restaurant of this Property is beyond reproach. Tha assistant manager however is a Rude Crude person who is a disgrace to the Holiday Inn Name. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money Excellent hotel to stay for easy access to all amenities on the front June 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by cold room The hotel itself was as expected being a Holiday Inn. I find the heating/air conditioning system in the hotel to be substandard. Lacking in the ability to control the comfort level in the room as there is no way to adjust the heat or air conditioning as the thermostat is non functional. The hotel decides what temperature you have in your room, not the occupant. There were no blankets in the room and the room was cooler that preferred. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Good service Hotel updated and good facilities. Great to have a pool and spa at the end of a sightseeing day. Staff very attentive and felt that they genuinely wanted our stay to be goo, ,they had an interest in our welfare. Would definitely comeback. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Does what it says on the tin Very ordinary hotel. It is not a particularly inspiring hotel or location. The staff were lovely. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service with a smile I have stayed at a good number of Holiday inns but the Holiday Inn Portsmouth is a favourite of mine walking distance of the city centre and nothing is to much of a problem for the staff from arranging a taxi to extra pillows on your bed I will be staying there many more time this year May 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor facilities and expensive wifi Interesting, it seems my previous review went missing........ Fortuantely I put it in word for spelling and still have a copy - i'll try again. I stay away a fair bit (29 nights so far in the 4 months Jan to Apr in a good half dozen different hotels) and always try and stay with IHG. I only mention this to emphasise that I’m comparing apples with apples in this review. So, anyway, onto my review..... I was really, really disappointed by this hotel. My initial impression was not good - I was unable to find a parking space and ended up parked on a double yellow line on bend. This wasn’t a one-off, the next night was the same and third, whilst I found a space, it was the last I could see (and I did have to try everywhere). When I arrived at reception, my perceptions weren’t changed by the check in process. One gentleman who had to repeat my every query to the colleague next to him (whilst I appreciate new members of staff have to learn, it really does make the check in process a chore). Re-iterated by the fact that the next day, when requesting a second key (I’d left mine in my room) that I was handed an additional points voucher with the words "here Mr Armstrong, this is yours". Onto the room, I was disappointed when I got into the room that despite requesting a double, I had a couple of twins shoved together. This is never great as they invariably move in the middle of the night and I end up on the floor! This isn't a problem specifically with Portsmouth, I’ve had this in pretty much all IHG hotels. The decor was more reminiscent of 1994 than 2014. I've recently been impressed by the Holiday Inn in Bristol and the Intercontinental in Budapest - both had the AV panel in the desk area with USB chargers, additional plug sockets, HDMI sockets etc, etc. Here I had a double plug with a big yellow warning sticker saying "do not unplug". The hotel really could do with a spruce (including the lifts that take a good 30 secs from pressing the button to the doors closing). One final point, this hotel does the same "trick" that all other IHG hotels seem to - advertise "free" internet which is basically unusable and then sell a "fast" version. Whilst I’m resigned to this tactic now and know what to expect, what I was not expecting was the ridiculously high internet "charges". For example, I’d just finished staying at the Holiday Inn Bristol who charge £8 for 3 days fast internet. Here, the charge is £8 for 4 hours! 3 days costs £24!!! On top of that, the speeds were still not great and were more than a little disappointed to have to argue billing on check out. It's safe to say, whilst I am more than happy to stay with IHG for all my other trips, the Holiday Inn in Portsmouth is one hotel I will not be returning to. May 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay but!!!! Overall it was an enjoyable stay. The room was fine and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The only reason I cannot give it a higher rating is the very expensive cost for wi-fi. I strongly think that it should be a free facility anyway but £17 per day is excessive. May 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by fRIENDLY STAFF Very good location and has free car parking, good value, we would / will return again. Must use the indoor swimming pool next time we stay !!! .Mr A E W May 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No problems Have been staying here on and off for the 15years, and its always very good. Breakfast, could do with some plain sausages. lieu of the herb ones and PG tips or a quality tea.otherwise excellent. Car parking is a bit tight but did find a slot outside on the road. Very nice lady , Margaret in the bar efficient and polite, Thanks to the team there hope to see you soon. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service I was pleasantly surprised by the room we had and the customer service we experienced. We had a "family room," which I had never experienced before. I was great having the extra beds for the kids & they even included a Scooby blanket for the baby. David was around the lobby area & was very attentive. I was in line at the bar to order food, he came from another part of the restaurant area to take my order instead of having me wait. I really appreciated it. He checked on us through out the evening and gave us the experience of being taken care of. Wonderful experience! Thank you!!! The location was Fantastic! April 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy bedroom I am fed up with staying in hotels which charge a great deal of money just to provide a room for the night and then fail to fulfill their primary function which is to offer a quiet comfortable night's sleep. If this is not provided it doesn't matter how pleasant the ambience, how good the food, how courteous the staff - all of this counts for nothing. In this hotel the room to which I was allocated faced out on to a flat roof on which there were two large ventilators which obviously, as so often happens, were going to be blowing all night, so I asked for a room transfer. The staff were very helpful and I was given what was described as a 'complimentary upgrade' to a room on the fifth floor with a lovely view over the Solent. However, when everything went quiet, I noticed there was an intrusive #electrical# hum in the room, the source of which I simply could not identify. I stayed in the room, but the hum continued all night making a completely restful uninterrupted sleep impossible. I did mention this as I checked out, and left brief details, but I have not received any response. I don't suppose anyone bothered to check the room specifically to confirm my comment. Therefore, in the context of my opening remarks, I consider that this hotel failed. April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Good Location with Excellent staff.. but expensive bar so we went out. April 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Wrong sized bedlinen ruined my night's sleep We booked a twin Executive room but I was disappointed to find that there were single duvets in double duvet covers on both beds. I asked Reception to get them changed, and was told that Holiday Inns are changing all their bedlinen over to 'one-size fits all' , there were no single duvet covers used any more, and that this was company policy. I was staggered enough to email head office, explaining that bedlinen comes in different sizes for a reason - on a single bed, anything larger than single-size tends to fall off the bed as you turn over (as happened to me) so I spent most of the night hauling the bedlinen back on the bed. I got back the most standard reply imaginable, just thanking me for my feedback. That was it. Nothing else suggesting they would look into it, no mention of my actual complaint, just a bog-standard reply. Poor show Holiday Inn, I'll be checking the bedlinen situation before booking in future which is a pity. Holiday Inn has long been my top choice in the past because of very comfy beds, great pillows and excellent cleanliness. But if I can't sleep because of a ridiculous new bedlinen policy, you've lost a good customer here. April 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location not up to usual IHG standards Friendly staff but our standard room was very small and tired. Lots of things listed on the usual breakfast buffet but they were not actually present: e.g. skimmed milk, cranberry juice etc. Location is excellent for Gun Wharf and other tourist attractions but look for cheaper options since this hotel does not deliver the normal Holiday Inn standard. April 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff, great service We enjoyed our stay here and the staff service was excellent. The hotel is in a good location for walking into Portsmouth, Southsea and the Hovercraft terminal. We slept well and enjoyed using the pool, sauna and steam room. However, compared to other Holiday Inns we have visited, this hotel is a little dated, particularly the bathroom. The shower controls were very stiff and the fittings and tiles around the bath could have done with a deep clean. We chose not to eat in the restaurant merely because the decor made it seem, to us, rather dark and uninviting. A few prints on the bland cream walls on floor three would cheer the place up too. Would we come back? Yes! April 17, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>