Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 135 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff My first visit to Portsmouth. I stay ay a lot of hotels, and I think that the staff at the Holiday Inn Portsouth was the best that I have ever encoutered. Thank you for making my short stay so enjoyable September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Traveling with 19 of our closest friends can be a bit overwhelming to some hotels, but not at this one. The staff was great, got us checked in quickly and efficiently and they let us keep all 11 motorcycles right out front for the night! Getting the little IHG Rewards Club goodie bag was nice. The rooms were clean and the restaurant had a good menu. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area. Its a great place to stay! September 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good experience Soda vending machine only on floor. No ice or food. Shower curtain bar missing screws. Staff friendly, helpful, knowledgable on local restaurants & attractions. My companion lost 2 bracelets. Suspect they fell down sink. Called hotel & maintenance checked trap. Nothing found. Beds comfortable. Some noise from slamming doors nearby. No continental breakfast included, but restaurant onsite. September 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pool is great - the rest is mediocre The new renovated pool looks great. But that is the only outstanding thing I can say about this hotel. Everything else from personnel to room is mediocre. Room service didn't clean the room twice in a row when I came back from work at 4 PM. Didn't got better after I complained the first time. The hotel rooms and hallways make a dirty impression. Elevator is filthy. If I am again in this area I will avoid this Holiday Inn. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room and bed, Exceeded our expectations Our one night stay exceeded our expectations in all regards. We ate two meals at the restaurant and both were excellant. Room, lobby, halls, and restaurant were all exceptionally clean. This is the best HI at which I've stayed. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Benefits I am a Platinum rewards member and this Holiday offers little additional benefits for a Platinum level rewards member. At check-in I receive a welcome bag but any rewards member receives the same bag. They have no upgrade rooms available just standard and king and anyone can book these. I do get floor preference and room location preference but that is thanks to the desk staff since I am a frequent guest at this hotel. I get a discount at the restaurant but so does any hotel guest. The hotel staff is wonderful and treat me very well but again that is because they know me not because I am Platinum. It would seem that they could at least put together a better welcome bag for guests that hold gold or platinum level status. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome!!! Always kind! I't was my third visit and I feel like I am at home. August 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by my review the lobby, pool area and bar and dinner room were very nice. the food was not very good, my onion rings were burnt, the prime rib was dry. the room was small there was some type of flying insect in the room that kept me awake part of the night, the other part of the night was awaken by people in the hall making noise. also, no free breakfast. would not go back there again August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel I enjoyed my stay with this facility. The staff at the facility was courteous, friendly and welcoming. The pool/spa/workout area was gorgeous! My room was well appointed, comfortable and quiet. I hope to be able to use the Portsmouth Holiday Inn on future visits to the area! August 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely noisy We did not sleep until after 5 am then had to get up at 6. People in rooms next to us in and out of rooms, yelling in halls and slamming doors until at least 4:47am! Pillows very hard. Didn't really matter much though because we didn't sleep anyway. Very disappointed. People working there very nice. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant surprise I stayed 1 week here for business. I was very impressed with the appearance of the hotel, it has been updated and looks great. The staff was fantastic, all very friendly and helpful. The food far exceeded my expectations. This is right next to Shawnee State University and the Portsmouth Murals, so it's very convenient for those attractions. July 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by 5 floors 1 elevator, outside stairwell poorly staffed Reservations months in advance for a rally. Hotel was overbooked, 3 people at the desk and two were to busy doing nothing to help the 30 people standing in line waiting check in. One small elevator for the crowd standing in line is insufficient, had to wait 10 minutes or carry luggage up an outside stairwell 4 floors. Fire alarm goes off at midnight, walked down the outside stairwell to be told by the desk false alarm......just a bad, bad experience. July 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I stay at hotels probably 75-100 nights per year. Even at a corporate rate, this property was not a good value. The outside appeared to be updated but the inside was anything but. I also stay at 2 other national chains regularly. I'd say the difference is in the little things: How the property is maintained, the cleanliness, the aesthetics. For the money spent, in another city, with more options, I could have had a much better experience at another comparable hotel. June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Had a very nice visit. I never received any remark about my Priority Club stay/status nor offered an upgrade. Surprised me. June 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad AC, bad work out room Air conditiner leaked all night and flooded 10 feet out from the unit. the work out room is poor and behind the times. June 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE BED AND GREAT SERVICE BUT IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE THE HOTEL IS FINE, THE STAFF ARE GOOD. THE PRICE IS NOT COMPETITIVE. THANK YOU June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Didn't get serviced After being gone all day from our room, we returned to find it not serviced. Nothing had been done the bed, towels etc where just as we had left it. I spoke to the front desk man "Jim" who at first pooped an attitude and said nothing could be done and he would speak to housekeeping the next day. He said he would have some towels for us at the front desk when we returned. To say the least I was upset. Upon returning a lady from the laundry had taken it upon herself to not only put new towels in the room but changed the sheets and made the bed. I feel she went out of her way to make our stay more comfortable. June 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Quality I was here for 4 days and had to be moved from the first room. The shower would not drain and by the time I was compete had about 4-5 inches of water in the tub. Also, the commode was basically behind the door. You had to sit on the toilet almost at a right angle since it was so close to the wall and toilet paper roll. Very disappointing. The second room they moved me to the shower head would not stay pointed out into the shower, it kept slipping back to a position that would have the water shooting at the front wall. So you had to hold the shower head out to point it out into the shower. Very disappointing. May 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bereavement Stay at Holiday Inn, Portsmouth, OH April 24, 2013 the youngest of our siblings died suddenly and unexpectedly. Our family is scattered all across the United States My family asked me to find a hotel in Portsmouth so we could all stay in the same place for the funeral, mostly to be able to support each other during this very emotional time. Staying at this property before, it was my first choice. Being a business person, dealing with all kinds of situations, I felt like I could call the hotel and make the arrangements in a business and professional mannor. Upon calling, I was connected to Deanna, Front Desk Manager / Sales. Well, in short, I had a complete emotinal breakdown. Deanna, reconizing my distress, with empathy and professionalism, caringly stepped me through the entire process of booking the rooms for my family. Upon my family's arrivals, the entire staff performed above and beyond their normal duties to make sure we were settled into our rooms and provided anything we needed during our stay. I travel a good bit and have stayed in a lot of properties. Never before have I or my family been treated with such kindness and attention. The Portsmouth, OH Holiday Inn was our "safe house" that was so desperatly needed. Thank you Deanna and all the staff. May 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service and cost I have stayed at this Holiday Inn 2-3 times a year since remodeling and opening.The front desk is where it starts and the staff have always given a first good impression. Recognize your presence when you come to desk, quick to ask if you need assistance. Check in easy always ready for you. I also appreciate the companies recognition of military service. The facility has a nice presentation and I know I will never hesitate to make reservations there! Be proud of your staff in Portsmouth. May 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great stay I enjoyed me stay at Portsmouth. My room was very clean and organized. I loved the hotel gym (this is the 1st time I can say this) all the equipment actually worked. The hotel is walking distance to several bar/restaurants. Its also close to Shawnee State Univ. (hotel has agreement to use their gym too - great gym!). Definitely the best hotel in the area. May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice accommodation This property is very well maintaned and has been remodeled very nicely. I enjoyed my stay and will return...I've returned every year being that I have a work meeting convening in the area each year. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean room! Great staff, nice room and I would definitely stay there again. TV reception could be a little better. Would be nice to have a continental breakfast. Oscar's is a little costly. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value...OUTSTANDING customer service! The only place I would stay in Portsmouth. Stay at this hotel frequently for business and have never been disappointed. Beautifully renovated hotel right across from the river. Staff is very helpful, especially Hazel at the front desk--she is a true professional, very accomodating. April 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Security Inadequate and marked entrance to the Pool Concealed carry is not permitted at this location and the overall security is inadequate. Law abiding citizens arriving will have to leave your weapon in your vehicle. Lastly Pool entrance is not marked and you have to go through a door marked men’s restroom to get to the pool. April 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Recently remodeled When you are in Portsmouth on business there aren't too many choices to be close to downtown so this hotel is where we always stay. I've been there several times and this last time it wasn't the best experience. There was a huge domestic disturbance in the hallway at 1am and it took the hotel about 20 minutes to respond. The hair dryer in my room kept shorting out and the shower pressure wasn't very good. The towels smelled like they had been burnt in the dyrer and they were hard and crusty. Come on people, when you are traveling on business the two things we want are soft towels and soft sheets. We don't want to have towels that make us feel like we just dried off with a loofa. They have pull down blinds instead of inside curtains...mine was broken and wouldn't go back up. Good thing I checked out before I needed to have sunlight. On the upside they seem to have remodeled most of the hotel and it looks nice. The room was clean and the carpet seemed clean or new. April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Stay Wonderful experience as always!....Hotel staff so pleasant and helpful...Hazel and Tim are great!....Food was excellent...Kids loved the pancake breakfast...and such a great value....they also loved drawing pictures with their crayons on the paper at our table...can't wait for my next stay March 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tiny Bathroom - Poor Service in the Lounge I am a Platinum Member with in excess of a half million points. I'm not sure if my room was different that the rest, but I will not stay at the hotel again on the off chance I would get that room again. The bathroom was tiny. I am 5'9,180 lbs, and the toilet seat was so small, I could just barely use it. The temperature settings for the heating / air conditioning unit didn't work properly. If the heat was on the room got very warm, so I had to just manually turn it on occasionally to keep from frying. When using the internet, the wireless access would reset and the login would have to be done almost every two minutes. It was so frustrating that I just gave up.To top it off, I thought I'd venture down to the lounge for a beer. I sat at the bar for 15 minutes and after getting no service or even acknowledgment of being a human at the bar, I got up and left. The only saving grace was the staff was very nice and efficient at check-in. The dining room was pleasant and I had a very nice waitress. The food was good too. March 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business stay This was my second time staying at this hotel. The first time (January 2013) I was assigned an older room and it wasn't very pleasant. This stay (Feb. 2013) I was assigned the top floor where the rooms had been updated, and it was a much more pleasant experience. My only suggestion would be the restaurant change it's menu to offer healthier selections. Otherwise, it's the best hotel in town. March 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Helpful Staff Newly renovated rooms, very comfortable. Staff was especially helpful before, during, and after our stay. Restaurant service very slow, but food was good. February 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>