Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 99 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food and Lounge Our experience in the lounge was great....the bartender/server was excellent and our meal was served hot and was delicious. Our complimentary drinks were a plus. Breakfast was not so good. The staff was not there to greet customers.....and at the time we came in there were very few. There appeared to be discontent....think it was the cook or someone from the kitchen came out to replenish one of the serving containers and was ask about getting some toast.....the response was curt...everything we have is out here!!!!! A couple minutes later someone came out and offered to get toast for the customer..... Generally not a very happy group of people working on the breakfast crew that day...... July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice We stayed July 4th and July 8th - both nights were very enjoyable. Recommend the steak at "21" :) July 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but not very clean The location is convenient, close to the highway and only a 5 minute drive from downtown. The hotel seems to have been renovated recently which was nice. The bathroom was very tiny and we found long dark hairs on towels in the bathroom as well as in the tub. The carpet was sticky all over and curtains were torn. The blackout shades had holes as well. We also found hairs on the sheets and pillows. We were only there one night but based on the lack of cleanliness I would not go back. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here! This hotel is located minutes from all the downtown shops and restaurants. I knew its location from working in Portsmouth. There is NO need to spend more on a room with a view of scrap metal or salt piles. This hotel is right next to a great diner for breakfast, and right off the highway. Nice bar, nice room, and nice service. Do yourself a favor and do not overpay to stay in Portsmouth. Stay here. July 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable stay We stayed on the 5th floor which must have air conditioner equipment on the roof as there was a constant noise and vibration in the room, the bed is one of the worst I have slept in, it was sagging in the middle and very lumpy, and there was a smell of sewage every now and then, not sure why. May 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Slightly disappointed Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by hotel staff as a Priority Club member. I was given a room on the second floor above the lobby overlooking the parking lot. I could hear the voices of folks holding conversations in the hotel lobby. I could not make out their every word, now was I trying to. However, I was aware of each new conversation. My room lacked a desk. Since I was in the area for work, I asked to be moved to another room with a desk. The clerk told me that there were no other rooms available. She asked me if there was a table in the room, to which I replied--yes, there is a table but no chair. She then sent a worker up to my room with a straight backed dining room chair. I found all the bed pillows uncomfortable and slept without a pillow rather than use one of the hotel pillows. Hotel staff were polite. May 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Graduation weekend The staff at this Holiday Inn is fantastic. Very friendly and professional. We were greeted by Shannon at check in and she really took care of our special needs. Great location. May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Courteous and helpful staff; clean and comfortable room In town for an overnight; would consider staying longer if visiting the area in the future. May 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly good, but... Overall we found our 5 night stay quite good. There were only two issues. First, when we arrived the parking lot was blocked off with cones. I had to drive around them to get in. Once at the desk I found out they were painting new lines the next day. The problem was that there was also a lot in the back, but I did not see it, nor were there any signs pointing us to it. We had never been to this hotel before. The other issue was the tub drain. It was blocked so water kept getting deeper during the shower. I reported it the first morning but nothing was done to correct it during our entire stay. I did not feel I should have to report it multiple times if the desk clerk was competent. Otherwise the hotel was very nice. Other than the small bathroom, we found the food very good- breakfast each day and dinner about 3 times. Better food than most Holiday Inn restaurants we have been in! May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by On the ball front desk The front desk tracked me down (not a simple task) to tell me I left my lights on. Simple as this seems, it saved me a world of hassle in the morning dealing with a dead battery. It's the little extras that keep me coming back to the Holiday Inn brand. Best front desk staff ever! Thank you so much for the little extras! May 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy and cozy I always have a nice experience in Portsmouth. I wish they offered free continental breakfast here, though. That is the only negative I found during my brief stay. Staff was very friendly. The room was fine with a very comfy bed. April 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay we had a very comfortable stay. great location and friendly staff. April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was exceptional except for... Only one problem with HI Portsmouth otherwise my stay could not have been better. My room was on the top floor(5) and at the end of a corridor, as a result I could not get a WiFi connection. I went down to the lobby and it worked just fine but having such an"outlier" room kept the signal from reaching the top floor extremities. April 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by soiled linens the bed sheets were soiled. I asked for replacements, and 3 different times I was brought the wrong fittings. The bathroom is really small. The hotel had a musky odor. Overall, the stay served my needs, but not sure I would stay there again. April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service comfortable room and clean, the bathroom was fairly small and outdated but served the purpose April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable beds. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and the hotel was easy to get to from the highway. March 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value I had a long day flying and driving and stopped at the Holiday Inn as it was convenient off the highway - The Desk clerk was wonderful and I was in a room relaxing in no time - I later went down for a bite to eat and although the bar/dining room was empty I had a fabulous bowl of soup and a sandwich - The hotel is old, but it is definitely well maintained. Thank you for being there when I needed a good night sleep with a great price. January 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, but odd room location I checked in to this hotel for one night on business. The concierge at the front desk was very helpful with finding me a place to eat for dinner! They suggested a local seafood place and even supplied me with a coupon. The service was excellent! The only complaint was that my room was on the highest level of the hotel, which meant that I had to take an elevator, then walk up a flight of stairs to get to it. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay! Clean, Friendly, Great Location! I stayed here on New Years Eve after planning to go out to downtown Portsmouth. It was very clean, very modern looking and the rooms were stocked with amenities. The staff at check in were very friendly and extremely helpful. Upon check in they immediately offered numbers for cab companies. The location is perfect if spending time in the Portsmouth area. The bed was very comfortable! I am a person concerned with cleanliness and coming from a family who owns and operates a hotel I have spent plenty of time working as a housekeeper and I found these rooms to be exceptionally clean. There was a microwave in the room as well as a coffee maker and plenty of towels. Would definitively stay again! January 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very accomodating, reasonable rate We were going to Portsmouth for C'mas shopping and dinner. We were able to readily find the actual front desk number - without going thru the cumbersome nationwide reservation service./system. Staff was very helpful in directing us for parking, shopping and dinner. After all of the above we returned to HI and had a very enjoyable time at the in house bar. The bartendress (Jaycie) was an absolute delight: very friendly and attentive, bright and friendly, with a great knowledge of the area to aid us in our plans for the next day. January 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by do not ask for 6th floor.rooms way to small Staff was great about moving to another floor. No upgrades. No perks about being platinum member. 2nd room we received was better January 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Expirience with staff, tired rooms The home office for my company is in Portsmouth which requires me to stay at a local hotel often. I stayed at this location and sorry to say that is the worst Holiday Inn I have expirienced for many years. The hotel staff was not friendly, they seemed to be quite distant to guests, almost like we were causing them problems. The first room I rented had a clogged shower drain and broken door lock. The second room had ripped curtains. I think I will find another hotel to stay in even though I am a loyal Holiday Inn customer. January 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by DONT STAY HERE! My first stay to this holiday inn was horrific, and for some reason I was stupid enough to stay here again. On my first visit the following happened to me: 1. Room service was closed upon check in even though they advertise throughout the building that its open until 9PM, I had to make my way back out in the snow to get my dinner. This would have been okay-but I would have liked to know that they were closing early prior to my arrival. 2. Tried to get room service another time, and was unable this was okay because at least the weather was good enough to drive in. 3. 1st night my alarm clock went off at 5AM because they didn't manage to reset it from the previous guest. 4. Very loud guests next door the next night so I lost another nights sleep. 5. Room service forgot my toast the next morning, although the woman who brought it up was very cheery. 6.My favorite part-On the last day of my stay they changed my sheets. However they did so with dirty sheets. The top sheet had what looked to be a blood stain on it. I unfortunately decided to stay again when I got caught in the area for work a week later. The only reason I decided to do this is I knew they had same day laundry service, and as I wasn't expecting to stay in the area (I only live around 3 hours north) I hadn't packed for a full stay and would need laundry done. I'm in the hotel now, and I can't wait for checkout tomorrow. So far this is what has gone wrong: 1. When I arrived they put me in a room without working heat. I put the heater on which was making a loud rumbling noise and after about an hour and no change in temp it just stopped. The thermometer read 50 degrees. One would think they would check thats sort of thing before you checked in. The front desk was accommodating and got me another room, but having to move all my stuff and deal with it was frustrating. 2. I dropped off laundry last night for pick up tonight (again the whole reason I stayed here again). When coming back in tonight The girl at the front desk didn't seem to care much but told me that they forgot to call it in, did I want to have it sent out tomorrow. When I asked about other options she said I could do it myself with the quarter ran machines. You'd think they'd at least offer to do it for me! So I got to stay up late tonight before my meeting tomorrow morning doing my laundry that I had dropped off well in advance just because they are too incompetent to call it in. Thank god it wasn't dry cleaning and I'll still make my meeting tomorrow, even if I am exhausted. I attempted to call the general manager and just got a voice mail saying hes on vacation until January 2nt. I did write to the Holiday Inn customer service requesting a full refund on both stays, which I think I'm owed at least that. Heres hoping that they care & that nothing else goes wrong before morning. I would have expected more from a Holiday Inn, this isn't what you'd expect. December 23, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas shopping and a day downtown portsmouth I had some concerns with the 3 star rating but gave it a shot for an over night. Saterday night we had dinner here and it was a good experience. The resturant was quite and the lounge was half full. This work out great we ate in the lounge food was good the portions large service was good. We had no complaints. December 14, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too much noise Hotel is OK, but dated. Bathroom was very small. The location was close to Kittery shopping outlets (that"s why we stayed) After the bars closed in downtown Portsmouth we were waken by noise in the hall The noise went on for about 10 minutes, and started again 15 minutes later. The sound proofing is non existent. The lounge did not have a full bar, my wife wanted a Pina Colada, and we were told they don't have it. We settled for a beer and wine We didn't have a restful nights sleep.. December 14, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Good location and clean. We liked the place enough the 1st time to stay again. This stay was not quite as good as the 1st time. We had an end room this time near a stairwell which caused the room to be smaller (at the same price) and you could hear the stairway traffic. They also had a private function that closed the lounge and resteraunt to the rest of the guests. I think this should have been comunicated prior to letting us book the room. It was one of the reasons we picked this hotel. Overall still a good stay. November 17, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Huge Complaint We have visited your hotel several times, but this last visit was awful because of the Anthology event that took over the hotel. It was equivalent to a bus load of 10 yr. olds in the hotel. They slammed the doors until 2 a.m. and were up @ 7 a.m. slamming the doors again. Everyone should have a quickie course in how to behave in a hotel - this group obviously never even began to think they were sharing the facility with others. I've never experienced such a horrible night's sleep as this one (11/10/12)!!! November 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A GREAT FRANCHISE Poor accomodations in the Bath (Shower) Area where there are no fans for personal reasons, and also the Steam covering the entire bath Shower area with not even seeing the mirror, this is in many of the Holiday Inn's we stayed in in three different States. The othere area was the Holida ySuites has the Hand Basins and sink areas right out side the Shower area so when you come out of the Shower you bump into the person using the sink area brushing their teeth or other personnel activities. If I step out out of the room for a few minutes when I arrive back anyone walking by can see the sink basin a see the personnel activites going on very very poor These areas should be looked into. I feel that since you have asked for direct feedback you can consider adding or compensating us with extra points or or other means. I know this is is is not mandatory but I still ask. Thank You !!! November 12, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Touring New England We had a one night stop here and were very impressed with the welcome from the staff. We got a room upgrade and the evening meal in the restaurant was great. Well done all. October 19, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Issues Overall is was an average experience. Here are some of our cons: Shower rod was broken and hanging which led to excessive amounts of water on the floor. Other issues included no elevator service to our floor, we had to walk up one flight of stairs. Try that with many pieces of luggage and bags. Plenty of window views if you like looking at the roof. Next time I think I'll stay someplace else. This is my second stay at a Holiday Inn and each experience has been average to fair. For the price, I think we could have done much better elsewhere. October 12, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>