• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTSMOUTH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, no pets allowed unless your pet is a service animal.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Strawberry Banke Museum
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Isles of Shoals Steamship Company
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Water Country
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free hotel guest parking. Includes overnight parking and same day parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
  • FEMA Property Number:HI0090

Find History and Adventure near Hotel's Address

Portsmouth, NH is a unique seaside city bustling with culture, wondrous attractions and the Holiday Inn® Portsmouth hotel. Whether you're here for work or play, our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH serves you well.

If you're vacationing in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's location is a great launching point. We're near historic sites like Strawbery Banke Museum, USS Albacore Museum and the Portsmouth Harbor
View More

Find History and Adventure near Hotel's Address

Portsmouth, NH is a unique seaside city bustling with culture, wondrous attractions and the Holiday Inn® Portsmouth hotel. Whether you're here for work or play, our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH serves you well.

If you're vacationing in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's location is a great launching point. We're near historic sites like Strawbery Banke Museum, USS Albacore Museum and the Portsmouth Harbor Lighthouse. We're also a short drive from the thrilling rides at Water Country. Other nearby attractions include the Kittery Outlets, Prescott Park Arts Festival and the beaches of New Hampshire and Maine.

Business travelers in Portsmouth, NH appreciate our hotel's proximity to nearby companies like Liberty Mutual, Lindt, Pease International Tradeport and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. They also enjoy our seven meeting rooms with 3,890 square feet of flexible space; access to our Business Center makes preparing for any event a breeze.

While you stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's amenities will satisfy your needs. Complimentary Wi-Fi access connects you to family and colleagues. Start your day with a workout in the Fitness Center, then cool off in an indoor pool. Swing by Table 21 Restaurant for a bowl of Cioppino, a guest favorite made with local seafood, or sit in the lounge and enjoy a burger and a cold beverage. Relax and join our Portsmouth, NH hotel's guests.

View Less
Features
Guests enjoy easy access to local attractions thanks to our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH. We're adjacent to the Portsmouth traffic circle off I-95 and just minutes to downtown and local beaches.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 112 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff We stayed here while looking at UNH as a prospective family. The hotel staff was great when we asked to extend our stay. The food was very good for breakfast. Some standard continental breakfast fare, but plenty of it, and a pancake maker. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Free wifi was a huge bonus. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WELLING TO MAKE LAST MINUTE SCHEDULE CHANGES THE PLACE WAS VERY CLEAN, THE STAFF WAS VERY PLEASANT, HELPING REBOOK ROOMS THAT FIT THE FAMILY AFTER A SHORT ABSENCE. MANY CHOICES FOR BREAKFAST August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed - nice personnel The overall experience was very good. The only issue was the limited parking and not having a pool. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Stayed at many IHG properties and this was a very good one. Good value for my money. Staff was friendly and receptive to all our needs. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel...great breakfast great play to stay... easy location to get around... only down side...no pool for kids August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charming I knew it would be a good stay when we were cheerfully greeted at the front desk by a lovely young lady who was more than willing to recommend us restaurants, give us directions to anywhere in Durham, and strike up a conversation about our trip. We felt welcomed immediately. The hotel was in walking distance from most sights we aimed to see, and felt clean and comfortable. The breakfast was so-so, but at least it was included! I would absolutely stay another night or two if I ever happen upon Durham again. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice people and nice service Front desk people were nice for all requirements as I am the first time to Durham. Hotel room was great and cleaning. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Everything went well.Can't think of anything needing improvement. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Comfortable, Inviting Hotel The hotel front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. The overall common areas are clean, bright and inviting. Room was clean, A/C was working great and overall very comfortable. There is no pool, but not a show stopper. Also, if you have never been to Durham, its a small college town with only a few choices of places to eat etc. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Durham. My only complaint is not about the hotel, but IHG. I did not qualify for "Reward Points" because I booked this stay through a third party web site. As a note to IHG, Choice Hotels still rewards their customers with points when you stay at their hotels, regardless of how it is booked... July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, comfortable bed Though I did not spend a considerable amount of time in the hotel, staff was friendly at check in, and the room was both clean and a good size. However, I was not impressed that the only curtains in my room were sheer white and my room looked out onto a parking lot (which is fine in and of itself) and into apartment buildings. The thin curtains didn't offer much privacy, nor did they block out light in the morning. The cost for the room, especially given that it was during the summer, seemed quite high. Overall, I would stay again. July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Small, stuffy and no pool Just because it's the only hotel chain in town doesn't give you a right to cut amenities like a pool but charge more than other locations. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean ,comfortable, great breakfast Came into Durham to drop off my child at a UNH summer camp. The hotel is modern, clean and within relative walking distance to campus. Breakfast in the Great Room topped off a quality experience. I plan to stay there again for sure. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good people, Good Value, Good Location Overall - The front desk folks we exceptionally accommodating in their level of customer service. The same was true of the maid service. It was a good value for the area. It is within walking distance to the university. Pros- Value; location; clean; front desk staff gave sage advice re: how to navigate the area; Centrally located allowing you to tour Maine (20 minutes away), NH, July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No gluten free options I had a very good experience, but had to bring my own breakfast to adhere to low-sugar, paleo, gluten free diet lifestyle. Fortunately, the microwave and refrigerator in-room helped for this! The staff were not educated about proper gluten free options to suggest any to be ordered in advance. I do not have a gluten allergy, just a preference, but this is very troubling for those who actually do have a gluten allergy. There should be more options for dining so that more people can feel comfortable dining at your hotel; not many visitors will be able to bring their own staples. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good hotel for a short stay had a comfortable stay and encountered no problems! July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF They have maybe the best variety of any HIX I have been in for breakfast. Nice selection of breads and Greek yogurt and fruits. Front Desk and breakfast staff also very good and accommodating. Only downside is the AC units are very noisy and I think they need to have the filters cleaned better as my son and I both had bad allergic REACTIONS after staying here. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Choice The Holiday Inn Express in Durham, NH was perfect for my needs. It is well-located next to the UNH campus and easily accessible by automobile from local roads. It is clean, efficient, comfortable, and the staff is friendly and competent. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable, great service Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Durham NH. The only drawbacks for me were the internet access issues and the fact that there was no place in the bathroom to put the sink and mirror. A person appreciates privacy in this area and having to shave and such actually in the room became a bit impresonal. Maybe it was the type of room we had, not sure. Overall I would recommend this facility. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice After staying at this Hoilday Express I was able to solve many of the worlds problems. Updates to follow. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean, spacious suite The king suite was wonderful..clean and spacious. Room was noisy though due to location on busy street. Only other complaints were not enough towels for three people and breakfast croissants were stale. Didn't have any direct contact with staff other than check in as we only stayed one night.He was very pleasant. Would return and recommend to others. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI - Express, Durham NH Very nice visit. On business and often stay at higher rated hotels, but very happy with my stay. If in the Durham, NH area I'd recommend this hotel. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by rjnitro a great hotel in a nice little town, good location. only issues are the need for newer beds,the room I had was very uncomfortable+there wasn't a comfy chair to use! otherwise,a nice place to stay! June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bathroom/sink separation Having the sink outside the bathroom area was a little awkward. The toilet/shower area seemed a bit cramped. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff It was clean, and close to our destination, and the staff was very helpful June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by decent hotel; lovely staff Very lovely desk staff. Breakfast was fine. Housekeeping could definitely be better. Little things would be really nice -- a towel hook next to the sink; a lamp next to the wing chair in the corner June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room when we first entered the room, it smelled like propane. So we opened the windows. The neighbors across the way were having a birthday party, which kept me up most of the night listening to that. The breakfast in the morning was the best part of the hotel, nice job on the different choices. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and great staff The staff was welcoming and informative. We appreciated having accommodations this year that are close to our father's boyhood home. (In 1997, we stayed at the New England Conference Center, which is now closed). The room was quiet and comfortable, and the microwave and refrigerator came in handy. The breakfast was delicious. IHG might consider adding fresh salsa, but perhaps it is preferred mainly in the Southwest. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this property to everyone. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by front desk excellent, bed was great The two girls at the front desk were so friendly and helpful each time we needed them.Our only two complaints were 1) the throw on one of the beds had something on it. Looked like it hadn't been washed between guests--that throw spent the night in the closet--and 2) the breakfast the next day left a lot to be desired regarding hot items. The eggs had some bean stuff inside which looked and tasted awful. Looked mass produced and unappetizing. Very disappointing for Special Olympic athletes setting off for a busy day of competitions. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent A great facility with great personnel at a great rate. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a great and wonderful stay and experience We had a great and wonderful stay and experience with your friendly and professional staff. Thank you Michael June 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH
Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH
Select to close.
Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH Intimate and quiet Holiday Inn Portsmouth lobby Cruise on the Isles of Shoals Portsmouth NH Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH lobby Read a book in the Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH library Friendly check in at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth Enjoy NH and Maine beaches minutes from Portsmouth relax, socialize or work in our quiet lobby seating Walk the Gardens,see a show at Prescott Park Portsmouth
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading