• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTSMOUTH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, no pets allowed unless your pet is a service animal.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Strawberry Banke Museum
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Isles of Shoals Steamship Company
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Water Country
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free hotel guest parking. Includes overnight parking and same day parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
  • FEMA Property Number:HI0090

Find History and Adventure near Hotel's Address

Portsmouth, NH is a unique seaside city bustling with culture, wondrous attractions and the Holiday Inn® Portsmouth hotel. Whether you're here for work or play, our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH serves you well.

If you're vacationing in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's location is a great launching point. We're near historic sites like Strawbery Banke Museum, USS Albacore Museum and the Portsmouth Harbor
View More

Find History and Adventure near Hotel's Address

Portsmouth, NH is a unique seaside city bustling with culture, wondrous attractions and the Holiday Inn® Portsmouth hotel. Whether you're here for work or play, our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH serves you well.

If you're vacationing in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's location is a great launching point. We're near historic sites like Strawbery Banke Museum, USS Albacore Museum and the Portsmouth Harbor Lighthouse. We're also a short drive from the thrilling rides at Water Country. Other nearby attractions include the Kittery Outlets, Prescott Park Arts Festival and the beaches of New Hampshire and Maine.

Business travelers in Portsmouth, NH appreciate our hotel's proximity to nearby companies like Liberty Mutual, Lindt, Pease International Tradeport and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. They also enjoy our seven meeting rooms with 3,890 square feet of flexible space; access to our Business Center makes preparing for any event a breeze.

While you stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's amenities will satisfy your needs. Complimentary Wi-Fi access connects you to family and colleagues. Start your day with a workout in the Fitness Center, then cool off in an indoor pool. Swing by Table 21 Restaurant for a bowl of Cioppino, a guest favorite made with local seafood, or sit in the lounge and enjoy a burger and a cold beverage. Relax and join our Portsmouth, NH hotel's guests.

View Less
Features
Guests enjoy easy access to local attractions thanks to our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH. We're adjacent to the Portsmouth traffic circle off I-95 and just minutes to downtown and local beaches.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 119 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable visit Stayed at the Rochester, NH HIE for two nights while on vacation and the stay was very comfortable. Check in was a breeze with the front desk staff recognizing my platinum standing and upgrading our room to a suite. She also recommended a restaurant in Rochester that was excellent, Lilac City Grill. Location was great for traveling to Salem ,MA and Maine. Will book again if traveling to the area. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by helpful staff we had a problem with the room and it was fixed without any question August 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smokey smelling room We requested a non-smoking room but the first thing you noticed when entering the room was that it smelled smokey. We started coordinating 3 days in advance for an early checkin, looking for an extra 30 minutes yet the staff was unable to make that happen in spite of us dropping our Friday night and only staying Saturday night. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by TV didn't work, breakfast unpalatable, dining room staff unhelpful, $$$ I have written more than enough and taken too much time for no gain. Please see above. I'm done. Thank you. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall great experience The staff were very friendly and took care of any requests I had. The bed was comfortable. There was a large breakfast area with many tables and comfortable chairs to sit and just relax with coffee. The food was excellent and plentiful. The pool area was clean, with a hot tub. The only problem I experienced was that there was only one washer and dryer. Since there were many athletes staying there who needed clean uniforms the next day, this presented a problem. I was doing laundry at 11:00 pm. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel The staff was very friendly and made me feel right at home. The hotel was very clean. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Accommodating I found my weekend stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Rochester to be more than what I had expected. The hotel was very clean and the accommodations were quite good. I was impressed with the king size bed room that included a sizeable bathroom and good air conditioning. I would definitely recommend the hotel for business or leisure. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, clean hotel, but not quiet I don't know if the walls were extra thin or the Stamford Softball players on the floor were just that loud. The good news is that the staff is very responsive and explained that the guests had signed a quiet policy that could be enforced if it happened again. Overall, it seemed a lot louder than other Holiday Inns that I've stayed in. The location was very convenient and the room was a good value. We stayed in a King Room and it was fairly spacious. Although, unlike 99% of the Holiday Inns/HIEs that I've stayed in, this one did NOT have a fridge/microwave in the room. The pool and sauna were great, breakfast was delicious, and the staff were helpful, friendly, and attentive. I would certainly stay here again. July 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value I would return if going/passing through the area again. And I would recommend it to people. July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really nice and kind employee Comforable service and kind employee but room has leakage condensation and smell is bad.. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a wonderful time We needed a place to stay when picking up our children from camp at Camp Brookwoods/Deer Run in Alton. We were so happy to find this Holiday Inn Express in Rochester only 30 minutes from the camp. We are from Tennessee so having a place to stay so conveniently located was wonderful. On top of that, the experience was very positive. From walking in the door, we were treated so well. The front dest staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable. We can't say enough good about our stay and will be staying here again for sure. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything great but the price I travel as much as the next senior. In my mind the price of the room, based on the amenities, is $50 too much. I had to bite the bullet because of a wedding nearby. I bumped up the rating mainly because of the friendly, accomodating staff. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean! Great Staff Very Cozy Bed! Great, helpful staff! Recommend staying here. There's a very inexpensive taxi service in town that they recommended to us who were 24 hours. Worked out well so we didn't have to drive home from a wedding reception at 2am. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good stay overall My friend and I stayed because we were driving from Maine to see a concert at Meadowbrook, so we were only there for one night, but it was very pleasant. The outside of the hotel was honestly kind of beautiful, as was the lobby, and the room was lovely. The pillows were great. The bathroom was clean, and there was no smell anywhere. The only problem we ran into was the air conditioning in the room, but I can't imagine that's a hotel-wide problem. The staff was kind, and the free breakfast was pretty nice too. If I go to another concert at Meadowbrook, I know where I'm staying July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Probably the best Express HI hotel I have stayed in. Nice property, very comfortable rooms and excellent staff. June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay Best choice in the Rochester area! Great location. Excellent rooms. Always a pleasure to stay here. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and clean rooms The staff at this hotel exceeded my expectations in all areas. They were helpful and knowledgeable. Our rooms and beds were very comfortable and clean. I especially loved the soft and firm pillows. The bathroom storage area in the wall was the perfect way to leave our toiletries without cluttering the vanity. We will stay at this hotel again. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and great service Best experience i have had.Room was very clean.Staff was very friendly.Highly recommend! June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by okay stay 3rd floor was very smokey and we had to request to be moved to a different floor. The front desk staff member was not very personable or polite. The second room was okay although smelled of chlorine as it was over the pool. The morning staff was much nicer and fixed our bill as we were overcharged by the night staff and not told about the rate change. Overall it was an okay stay but that is what we normally experience at this motel. If it was not so close to my daughters we would try to find a different one. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience-highly recommend Everything was outstanding-from check-in to check-out! The breakfast selection was expansive and good and the staff were helpful and friendly. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel but prices are climbing I have been enjoying my stays at this location but recently the prices are going through the roof. I asked the management to please explain how prices have doubled and I was told that "the prices have gone up because they are full during the summer". She also said "they will go up more in the near future". I like the location but will be looking for a better value for future stays. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome staff This was an excellent stay. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and caring. After arriving, I was given my room key. Upon opening the door, the TV was running and the room appeared occupied. I reported directly back to the front desk. I was assured this was not a normal occurrence and both the desk clerk and the manager were very apologetic. They went out of their way to make it right. It was unexpected, but I was very happy. I will definitely stay at this property again. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Back in Rochester Some family lives in Rochester so it's inevitable that we will visit the area. It's comforting to know that there is an efficient, clean and comfortable place to stay. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by resent visit to Rochester. Mostly perfect. My wife said something about dirty grouting in the shower, but I did not see this,,,,,, June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by never gave a hotel a 10 there was no other score i could give i will be talking about this hotel for along time and recomenbing this to all who ask a big thank you to the staff. they were pros all shifts the food was goood and plenty of it. we were there for a sad ocasion they made it bearable. cant wait to go back for a better reason June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend stop Excellent service and a very attentive staff helped make my weekend stop over in Rochester, NH great. Hotel is in an accessible location with plenty of amenities close by. I will definitely stay here again when in the Rochester area. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! I was extremely surprised staying at this hotel. We were traveling with our AAU team and the team mom booked all the rooms here. I wasn't sure what to expect, but as soon as I walked into the room and sat on the bed I was happy. The room was clean. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable! The comforters where soft and comfy. I slept the first night we were there. (And usually it takes a few nights to get comfortable in a hotel.) The bathroom was stocked with Bath and Body soaps and lotions. (Which really surprised me!). The shower was nice and big. It has a heated pool and hot tub that all the kids loved! The continental breakfast the next morning was what you would expect. Cereal, bagels, pancakes, eggs, etc. But it worked for us! I would highly recommend this as a hotel! June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was a sad reason for us having to go to nh I have stayed at many places i have never felt welcome the staff was so good i mean everyone I wish i got there names to front desk actually had me laughing the breakfast was wonderfull. you feel like they are glad you are there almost like visiting family no request was turned down they took such good care of us they made a difficult time in our lives so much easier. I dont put much into reviews and most times i dont write one this time i had to all i can say to the front desk the whole staff is thank you so much the lady making breakfast was wonderful i fell like this review isnt enough they were great and will think of them often i feel like i made new friends thank you one more time June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service It was a girls weekend away, had a great stay and enjoed everything about the hotel. Loved it!! May 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by clean room,great breakfast WIFI service was terrible. Other guests were slamming doors late at night and early in the morning. One of the front clerks was not very nice when asked to help with the WIFI. May 14, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH
Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH
Select to close.
Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH Intimate and quiet Holiday Inn Portsmouth lobby Cruise on the Isles of Shoals Portsmouth NH Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH lobby Read a book in the Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH library Friendly check in at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth Enjoy NH and Maine beaches minutes from Portsmouth relax, socialize or work in our quiet lobby seating Walk the Gardens,see a show at Prescott Park Portsmouth
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading