• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PORTSMOUTH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, no pets allowed unless your pet is a service animal.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Strawberry Banke Museum
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Isles of Shoals Steamship Company
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Water Country
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free hotel guest parking. Includes overnight parking and same day parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
  • FEMA Property Number:HI0090

Find History and Adventure near Hotel's Address

Portsmouth, NH is a unique seaside city bustling with culture, wondrous attractions and the Holiday Inn® Portsmouth hotel. Whether you're here for work or play, our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH serves you well.

If you're vacationing in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's location is a great launching point. We're near historic sites like Strawbery Banke Museum, USS Albacore Museum and the Portsmouth Harbor
View More

Find History and Adventure near Hotel's Address

Portsmouth, NH is a unique seaside city bustling with culture, wondrous attractions and the Holiday Inn® Portsmouth hotel. Whether you're here for work or play, our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH serves you well.

If you're vacationing in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's location is a great launching point. We're near historic sites like Strawbery Banke Museum, USS Albacore Museum and the Portsmouth Harbor Lighthouse. We're also a short drive from the thrilling rides at Water Country. Other nearby attractions include the Kittery Outlets, Prescott Park Arts Festival and the beaches of New Hampshire and Maine.

Business travelers in Portsmouth, NH appreciate our hotel's proximity to nearby companies like Liberty Mutual, Lindt, Pease International Tradeport and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. They also enjoy our seven meeting rooms with 3,890 square feet of flexible space; access to our Business Center makes preparing for any event a breeze.

While you stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, our hotel's amenities will satisfy your needs. Complimentary Wi-Fi access connects you to family and colleagues. Start your day with a workout in the Fitness Center, then cool off in an indoor pool. Swing by Table 21 Restaurant for a bowl of Cioppino, a guest favorite made with local seafood, or sit in the lounge and enjoy a burger and a cold beverage. Relax and join our Portsmouth, NH hotel's guests.

View Less
Features
Guests enjoy easy access to local attractions thanks to our hotel's location in Portsmouth, NH. We're adjacent to the Portsmouth traffic circle off I-95 and just minutes to downtown and local beaches.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by UNH Home Coming Week-End I was there for the weekend with friends. We had the king suite, it was great. I only gave value average because I am sure the rates went up because of the weekend...otherwise it is always pretty good. We stay here every time we visit. October 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of Darkness and Quiet TV wouldn't shut off completely leaving a dull glow in the room... I know I was in a University town but the windows need to be replaced with thicker glass... Could hear a lot of traffic and a lot of partying. October 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by such a friendly staff! I was really satisfied with my choice of this hotel. the only down side for me was that the AC was too loud. and that the sink is inside the room itself and not in the bathroom. besides that everything is very clean and the breakfast is nice. October 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by my stay it was just OK, dissapointed a little in location. Not the best for parking. The room seemed small compared to some. I would of thought it would of been a little less expensive considering the room size. The breakfast was a dissapointment it seemed that there wasnt a selection and we checked out at 845am. I will recommend this hotel just because the people were so kind there. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by professional, caring staff We were impressed by the friendly hardworking housekeeping and desk staff. Our room was spotless and a problem with our fridge was resolved quickly. Three days after we checked out we were back in town for a few hours and had a specific UNH campus question on Friday morning, Sept 27. I felt comfortable asking the man at the front desk for guidance. Without hesitation, he took several minutes to answer my question by marking the spot on a campus printout, which he then gave me. I was so grateful for his help. October 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed but location can be an issue This hotel is little difficult to get into with where it's located. Also during the weekend, with there being "residents" that live on the property around the hotel it can get rather loud with all the college parties going on in their rooms and then spilling out into the parking lot at late hours. Then of course there's the random drunken boyfriend and girlfriend fighting in the parking lot at 1am when you're trying to get a decent night sleep for a hockey tournament in the morning. If given the choice again for a place to stay for the Tier I Hockey Showcase in Exeter, We'd probably try to stay in Exeter itself next time. October 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by I was disappointed -long hairs in the pillows, and bed.!!! The room was ok. very close to my friend in Durham, the the room was dirty, the pillow were all covered with long hair no from me....I noticed it when moved the covers. Nasty long brown hair in the bed. Obviously they did not change the sheets!!!! Too expensive for the condition of the room. I will not stay there again. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel I have been traveling for years, and the Holiday Inn Express was the best experience I have had in a hotel by far. I would highly recommended this hotel for any trip to the area. I was there for UNH college fair. The staff treated me with respect, room was clean, breakfast was great. It starts with management, and the employees follow their lead, great job in getting the right people there to do a great job for your guests. September 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for Hotel, but Parking Situation is Terrible The parking situation is not very good at this property. A college apartment complex surrounds the hotel. Signs are posted everywhere trying to pinpoint the correct places to park. The supply of parking spots is limited and it's very confusing on where to park. Also, you are required to put a little piece of paper on your dash indicating you are a hotel guest. Failure to do so can result in your car being towed. I've read reviews from guests who have had their vehicles towed. The hotel is small and kind of outdated. The air conditioner in the room was loud and the room was kind of dirty. I recommend the location of the hotel, just not the cleanliness and overall appearance. September 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortbale rooms Everything about the rooms and the stay was fine except for one thing; I'm a Platinum Elite HI card member. I wasn't welcomed as one and I received 1 bottle of water for 3 people - not too good! September 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not too good The room was ok, but was never made up the next day while we were out. We have no idea why. We were gone most of the day. The fitness center is really not a fitness center. There were 2 treadmills and an elyptical machine. No weights or weight machines of any kind. The parking is alo pretty limited and prooved challenging when we returned late at night. September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Hotel in Durham, New Hampshire The hotel is located nicely not far from downtown Durham and the University of New Hampshire campus. There are really no other options in Durham, so this hotel is pretty popular during the college events. The rooms seem and look a little dirty. I usually get a room with 2 beds for a reason. On this stay I noticed a couple hairs on one bed, so I quickly retreated to the second bed. The air conditioner was quite loud, but I still managed to get a decent night's sleep. The parking situation is terrible. Large signs everywhere indicate that you must park within the white lines and have your parking pass properly shown on the dashboard. I've noticed in online reviews that many people have had their cars towed for not having the little piece of paper properly displayed. The fitness center had 2 horrible working treadmills and a dirty elliptical machine. Nothing too exciting there. August 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad reviews gets deleted........ I wrote a review about my stay in August 2013 after reading many other poor reviews about the facility. Same theme of bad beds, cleanliness, ineffective AC, etc. You'll notice that there are no interior pictures of the room... BIG CLUE! This hotel does not live up to HIEX quality. August 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service--bad bed! The staff was very helpful, breakfast excellent, but unfortunately I woke up with a backache and so did my friend in the other bed. Neither bed really offered support and we both felt it in the morning. A hot shower(thanks for that!) helped but I would hesitate to stay here again. And I am sorry because the value, location and staff are terrific. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay for UNH Visits Clean, neat and closest to UNH. Staff is great and very attentive to your needs. Needs stronger WiFi signal. Customer computer in the lobby needs either a 'hard-wired' connection to the router for better internet, or a wireless repeater in the lobby. August 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by hosuekeeping ammenities Main problem was hosuekeeping . Although there are two double beds in the room and it is booked for 2 adults and 2 childresn, there were only 3 towels in the room. There was no extra toilet paper, even when the roll was obviously almost out. We had to go to front desk for more toilet paper. The same thing happened with the empty Kleenex box. Bathroom ares is tiny but functional. Would be fine for one person. Front desk staff very friendly. Breakfast area nice but more seating needed August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Warm Staff Warm and friendly staff made this stay a delight. Thanks August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but not great The location in Durham was perfect for us. The front desk personnel were very attentive. The breakfast was good. We had a problem with the bathtub stopper not going in all the way, causing a problem for taking a bath. A staff member looked at it but wasn't able to fix it. The shower head was very nice, however. Overall, this hotel served our purposes for what we needed. August 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Condition When arriving I asked if any rooms were available and was told yes they just had a cancellation but then was asked if I wanted first or second floor. Obviously they had rooms. When we arrived at the room we found it open. Housekeepers were in the hall so we asked if it was okay to go in. One said she would check with her supervisor and went looking for her. When she came back she said it's ok to go in. Well after inspecting our room I found pizza and milk in the frig and a damp towel on the bathroom door. Made me wonder how clean the room was. At breakfast met another guest who also had complaints and said this was a second rate hotel and wouldn't be staying here again. Since this was a stop over on our way to Maine I wouldn't consider stopping here again. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff We found this to be a great location - Durham was a neat college town and nearby Portsmouth was wonderful. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly. August 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The room smelled The bathroom smelled, mostly coming from the shower curtain. It was not cleaned properly. You could smell mildew. August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect little hotel right at UNH Walk to campus, friendly and very kind staff. Completely enjoyed our stay. If you are visiting Durham or UNH this is the place. August 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointingly Small Rooms for family of 4 A recent visit to the nearby University of New Hampshire brought us to this hotel by recommendation of the university. We decided to stay here due to the close proximity of the hotel to the campus grounds. We were disappointed in the beds being very small - full size beds with little to no support. Very springy mattresses and pretty hard to share with another person, and turn without feeling as though you'd fall off the edge. We're a family of 4 -- One son 6'4, One son 6'0 and hubby 6'5... I am 5'10. We were not comfortable at all and had a horrible night's sleep. The bathroom is just a toilet/bath/shower, very small room with little to no room in front of the toilet (maybe 2' x 2'# to dry off and change into clothing #an important NEED when traveling with older family members, where it's not possible to change into clothing privately in the room#. The sink was outside of the "bathroom", which was convenient for someone to brush teeth etc while one is in the "bathroom". The a/c unit was noisy and the room was not a consistent temperature. We went from being hot to cold... to hardly comfortable in between. The hallway on the 2nd floor was beastly hot. The only plus to the hotel was that they had a friendly staff #all of them greeted us genuinely#, and the place was fairly clean -- however, despite these two things, it is not enough to entice me to stay here another time. Disappointed and expected so much more from this chain :# July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and accomodating staff. I would definitely recommend this spot for all the reasons mentioned above. Also, it is a great value. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great New England Hospitality I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Durham, Connecticut for four days. This was the first time I had ever traveled in the area, so I had many questions. The front lobby felt comfortable. Computer services were available. There were warm chocolate chip cookies. When I had questions about places to eat, the location of the campus, and taxi service, I was pleasantly assisted. July 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Seemed like staff did not care. I have been in the hotel business for many years and I have never run into this sort of problem before. Currently, I am at a 81 room Hotel. Our rooms are ready , we have the proper staff available. I had called 4 days before our arrival to request an early check in around noon to 1:00pm for Sat. June 6. With the understanding that there was a full house the night before.We called the moring of June 6 as well. We took out time getting to your establishment. We arrived at 2:30pm. We had 2 rooms. Neither of the rooms were ready as well as there were other people that had been waiting for a room as well. We were told a room would be ready in 30 min. We came back and still not ready. After a dicussion, an hour later, that we had 6 people to get ready for a wedding. We were finally able to get in a room. The rest of our family group rooms were not ready either. So everyone had to get ready in our room. Our 2nd room wasn't ready until 5pm. My brother-in-law didn't get into his room until midnight due to the wedding. My husband observed while bringing up luggage and walking around, that the housekeepers were just standing around talking instead of making sure that guest would be able to check in. It also looked as if you were under staffed. A very poor experience. July 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Never cleaned our room between days When we arrived the staff at the front desk were excellent. Friendly and helpful but as we headed to our room, the hallways were a mess with dirty laundry everywhere. Our room was nice and clean but there were four of us and there weren't enough towels. We had to find an employee to get more towels and she directed us to a basket of laundry that looked like used towels but she said they were clean and to help ourselves. We had to find someone again for clean towels the second day because no one came into the room to clean. When we got back to the room at 11:30 that night no one had come in to make the beds, pick up the laundry and replace the towels. We also had run out of tissue and were very close to running out of toilet paper. The breakfast was okay but they had just one person refilling things and she couldn't keep up. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff at this hotel was incredibly nice and helpful. My daughter and I specifically stayed here because it was close to University of New Hampshire. The front desk even gave us a map and told us where to for the tour. Wonderfully courteous! July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel-Friendly Staff This hotel one of the closest to University of New Hampshire. It has typical features and amenities for "express" type hotels: Decent room, limited but adequate breakfast, free WiFi. The one thing that set this hotel apart was the staff. We found everyone very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting UNH. For dining choices besides college fare ( pizzas and subs), you will likely be driving to either Newmarket or Portsmouth where there are some excellent choices (try Poppers at the mill in Newmarket). One note: The parking lot filled up completely, but the desk attendant found us a space for the night. June 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Second time staying - not so good This was my second stay in this hotel. The light fixture in my rooms bathroom was about to fall and staff had to fix it , and one of the double beds had a dip in the middle. It was extremely uncomfortable to sleep. Over all the accomodations are convenient to UNH, which makes the hotel a good stay, but it depends on the room, what you'll get. My first stay went well, which is why I went back. June 14, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH
Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH
Select to close.
Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH Intimate and quiet Holiday Inn Portsmouth lobby Cruise on the Isles of Shoals Portsmouth NH Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH lobby Read a book in the Holiday Inn Portsmouth NH library Friendly check in at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth Enjoy NH and Maine beaches minutes from Portsmouth relax, socialize or work in our quiet lobby seating Walk the Gardens,see a show at Prescott Park Portsmouth
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading