• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: RICHMOND
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets permitted with non refundable pet deposit of 75.00. One pet per room with 20lbs weight.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Segway of Richmond
Distance From Hotel:6.1MI
Attraction:
The American Civil War Center
Distance From Hotel:6.4MI
Attraction:
Agecroft Hall
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
King's Dominion
Distance From Hotel:29.6MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:175
  • Car Parking Available
  • Plenty of complimentary parking for overnight guests, restaurant patrons, and conference attendees!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:167
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:62
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:105
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:157
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Our Richmond, VA Hotel is Closer Than You Think

Just 10 minutes from downtown Richmond, the Holiday Inn® Richmond South - Bells Road hotel is located directly off I-95, offers plenty of complimentary parking and is close to everything central Virginia has to offer. Guests enjoy the vibrant mix of history, culture and outdoor recreation in Richmond, VA.

The hotel's location in Richmond, VA is ideal for those who want to experience the best of Virginia's capital without paying
View More

Our Richmond, VA Hotel is Closer Than You Think

Just 10 minutes from downtown Richmond, the Holiday Inn® Richmond South - Bells Road hotel is located directly off I-95, offers plenty of complimentary parking and is close to everything central Virginia has to offer. Guests enjoy the vibrant mix of history, culture and outdoor recreation in Richmond, VA.

The hotel's location in Richmond, VA is ideal for those who want to experience the best of Virginia's capital without paying downtown prices. Stroll along historic Monument Avenue, visit the cafes and galleries of the Fan District and tour St. John's Church, the site of Patrick Henry's famous speech. Don't miss the unique boutiques of Carytown and whitewater rafting on the James River.

When business brings you to Richmond, VA, the hotel's guests can take advantage of a 24-hour Business Center, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and 4,000 sq ft of event space for business meetings. The Greater Richmond Convention Center, state government offices, DuPont, Philip Morris/Altria Group, Inc and the Defense Supply Center of Richmond are 10 minutes from the hotel's site.

After a busy day in Richmond, VA, relax in The Sporting News Grill, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a lively atmosphere. You can keep up with your workouts with an updated Fitness Center and an outdoor pool. Book your room today; we're sure you'll love the Holiday Inn® Richmond - South Bells Road hotel.

View Less
Features
We're ideally located for both business and leisure travel in Richmond. Our hotel's location is right off I-95, just 10 minutes from historic downtown and city center. Plus, we offer free parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 266 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Room and Great View The 15th floor view of the James River was outstanding. Bring the binoculars! Comfortable bed, good pillows, great front desk staff. July 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Much Ado about Nothing Waste of money. Wish I had not selected this hotel. Staff tried to offer good service but not worthy of the rate paid July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service with friendly, helpful staff Was very pleasant at check in. Answered all questions with a smile. Stayed 3 night with a group of high school students with many other student were staying there as well and they were still very pleasant July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and comfortable bed Hotel staff were great to work with and very pleasant. Breakfast buffet was excellent with helpful staff. Parking was sufficient, but automatic gate needs refining. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent place to stay My husband, 2 year old son and I stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding. The check in process took a bit longer than it should have, but the people helping us were very nice and accommodating. The hotel lobby looks very nice and the conference/ballrooms are pretty, but the hotel rooms themselves are a bit run down. They seem clean for the most part, but you can definitely tell it's an older building. The housekeeping staff were very nice and helpful. There doesn't seem to be too much going on downtown, but if you need to be in the vicinity this is a decent place to stay. Overall we had a good stay and I have no reason to not recommend this hotel. June 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't ever stay here! The first night we were placed in a room directly across from the elevator, and next to the cleaning staff closet. The door to our room was extremely poorly sealed (you could see light all the way around), making the room extremely noisy. You could hear every ding of the elevator and the rustling of cleaning supplies. We asked to be moved, and were told it would not be possible. On top of that, the room smelled of mildew. The pillows on the bed were far too stuffed, making sleeping quite uncomfortable. I ended up sleeping for most of the night with my head directly on the mattress. The morning after our first night, the toilet clogged and overflowed everywhere, a likely source of the mildew smell. Only after that did they reluctantly agree to move us to another room. This room was better, but did not make up for our terrible first night. I was also told by friends staying in another room that their toilet clogged as well, and their air conditioner was set on a motion detector for some reason, making it very hot at night. Overall, the hotel was dingy and outdated, particularly considering the high cost. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, and will make sure to share my experience with others online so they can know to avoid this hotel. June 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room but terrible service The room was wonderful, but the service staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Overall, the room was very nice. Everything set up perfectly for a two night stay. The bathroom was a little awkward with the toilet almost right up against the wall. The staff was friendly. It was nice chatting a little bit with the woman at the front desk. However, the waitress in the restaurant did misunderstand and pretty much pressured me into ordered the buffet instead of a la carte. Access to parking was great. Central location. I would certainly stay again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful facility The rooms are ALWAYS very clean! They have Internet access hard line and Wi-Fi. I had more than enough towels. Just a short walk to Main St... and covered parking!... The staff isALWAYS very courteous and fun to work with!. My most recent trip, When I got home, I realized I was charged for the parking (it was supposed to be complimentary)... small error... One phone call took care of it and the problem was solved. :+) Oh... must have been an oversight... and I didn't think to ask... I didn't get anything "extra" like I usually do, for being a Priority Club member!... oops June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely friendly staff The Crowne Plaza in downtown Richmond was the nicest hotel my wife and I have ever visited. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, with fresh, white towels and lots of very hot water. The desk and wifi came in handy. The buffet-style breakfast was terrific. In the future, we would likely use the shuttle service, especially if the weather was poor. The drivers were always there ready to go. We had two minor issues, which were handled immediately. Especially noteworthy was the friendliness and respect from the staff. Definitely the best I have experienced at a hotel. It made us feel very important as guests! We would highly recommend this hotel and, yes, this is a real, live guest typing this review! June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellence and convenience in downtown Richmond I thoroughly enjoyed everything about my experience at this hotel. I was only in town for one night, and arrived too late to take advantage of some of the amenities (like the fitness center), but for my purposes the Crowne Plaza was an excellent choice. The room was clean and up-to-date, the front desk staff was friendly, and it was super-convenient to my business destination. I would definitely recommend this hotel. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Outstanding service. Enjoyed or stay very much. Hotel is close by to the concert venue we came for and the place we wanted to visit for dinner. The staff was very helpful and friendly. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location for tourists and business people alike! Located on the James River it is a great location and rooms have very nice views of the river and surrounding downtown area. The staff is friendly and always happy to handle any questions. Gemma, who served in the 2nfloor café was very efficient and always smiling. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and nice hotel I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The check-in staff was very helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our family. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped but the shower curtain is too short in width. The shower water came out onto the floor and we had to put towels to soak up the water so we didn't slip. This was the same in the other two rooms our family had for our stay. The breakfast staff was slow to wait on us and we had to get our own water and juice for an ordered breakfast and not the buffet. I would stay here again as it is close to the areas we were visiting. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Great Hotel all around, clean and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful, highly recommend this hotel June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was good It was good. I was there four nights, I can't recall anything that wasn't as expected. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Return Trip Have stayed here before and will again, the Hotel Staff is wonderful and as an IHG Gold member they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The Rooms are Nice and the lounge is a nice place to relax after a day of meetings June 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Executive floor We stayed on the executive floor but the concierge room was never open as advertised. Also the walls were too thin and we could hear our neighbor's tv June 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Expected more from a Crowne Plaza First impression is a nice hotel with excellent front office staff - they did not disappoint at checkin. Things went downhill after leaving the front office - although I did not notice the worst thing until the next morning. While getting out of the shower after my only night staying at the hotel, I looked up and found two body hairs (i.e. short and possibly from private areas) on the ceiling. Looking more closely, they appear to have been painted or glued onto the ceiling. How does this happen? Additionally the pool was COLD and not at all what was advertised. However, the most frustrating thing for me what the shuttle service. Most times it worked as advertised but on my last day I followed the hotels instruction to call for pickup. I was told that a shuttle had just left and would be stopping at my area shortly. Since it is only a 5 minute drive to the convention center and that is where the shuttle was heading, I figured that I would have a short wait. 45 minutes and 3 phone calls later I was finally picked up by a very kind gentleman who apologized profusely. When I returned to the hotel I stopped at the front desk and, as timing would have it, was greeted by the same front desk person but with much less satisfying results. When I stopped to to check out I mentioned the same issues that were mentioned above. The first thing that I was told was that shuttles were first come, first served. Fine, but when I call and you tell me that you have someone on their way THREE times, I expect to be picked up. Then I was told that there really couldn't be any hair on the ceiling but someone would look into it later and, as far as the pool, oh well, sorry about that. Generally I am a patient and understanding person, overlooking problems and making the most of things. This reaction though frustrated me beyond belief. Apparently the front desk person recognized my frustration because I was offered free parking (a $12 value), no charge on the bowl of cereal I got from the shop (a $2 value), some additional points on my card, and two small bottles of wine. Understand, I did not stop to mention these things in order to get something, I even made that clear. However, to treat me in such a way as to offer some trinkets and minimize the treatment that I received was incredible. I travel around the country on business and for fun and have NEVER had an experience such as this. My plan is to travel back to Richmond annually for the same conference and to arrange a group of people. Will I book at the Crowne? I don't see how I could when I see how the treat their customers. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixture While staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel room was a disappointment. Odd decor and positioning of furniture. No exhaust fan in bathroom. Confusing set up for getting from garage to hotel, not explained at check-in. Food in restaurant not bad but service lacking. Nothing awful about the hotel but would try somewhere else next trip. June 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Prepare to be underwhelmed My experience here was terrible. I paid for an upgraded room and concierge level access and was not given either. Upon arrival in room 507, I was greeted by a sharp ammonia like smell. I figured it was probably from lack of use and turned on the AC to circulate the air. The antiquated system got the room to a lukewarm 74 degrees and no cooler. The smell dissipated or I became used to it, so I kicked back in an armchair that may have been picked up at the local thrift shop. It was springy and uncomfortable, so I decided to watch TV in the bed. The bed was concave in the middle, so I had to shim my torso to a comfortable position with the cheap poly fill pillows the hotel provided. I engineered myself into a TV viewing position and watched some of the selection of non HD channels provided at no extra charge. Writing off being comfortable in my room, I decided to go up to the concierge level since I paid more for that access. I found that I wasn't given that access, so I inquired and was told I didn't get executive level status because I was only Silver with IHG. I told the woman I understood that, but I paid extra for it, and she said I didn't. I am not an arguer, so I went to a local restaurant to relax. After a restless night in the worn out bed, I went to take a shower. There were two black curly hairs in the tub. I grabbed a towel and wiped them away since I was in a hurry. I quickly took a shower, dried off with a towel, which left me wondering about the wisdom in using anything provided by this hotel. I travel 150-200 nights per year, and admittedly use other brands most of the time. I have stayed in dumpy motels out of necessity in remote and rural towns periodically, but this was a roadside motel experience masked as a mid to high level business brand. This place is an embarrassment to IHG and the Crowne Plaza brand name. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good night's stay The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was comfortable and my staff was enjoyable. June 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience, not coming back. The staff was nice and greeted us when we arrived. Changed or room to have a better view on the 14th floor, which was very nice, so we though. They told us about the complimentary shuttle service, which we could call down and reserve. Mistake #1, it's not reservable. We had to come down and see if he was available to take us. He took us to the Restaurant and gave us late night options if we wanted to go out after dinner. We came back around midnight to the hotel. Around 2am, it was so loud, people were knocking on our door, yelling down the hallways, and it went on for quite some time. We didn't call to complain, hoping it would just end. Bad idea. In the morning, we called the front about the breakfast buffet which was included in the fare price, they had no idea when it stopped serving. At check in we were told 11am. Then Someone told us 12noon the first time we called. I called again, and they said 11. We rushed down at 10:50 to get it, and was told a different story once we got down there. The food itself was good, but the service and information given by the staff was horrible. We stopped by the front desk after breakfast to express our disappointed experience. They were apologetic, and asked us if we would like to extend our stay. Personally, why would I want to stay here another night with such loud noise and inexperienced staff? June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Best sleep I've had in weeks. May have been the wonderful relaxation kit that was in the room. Breakfast was delicious. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MY Favorite Richmond hotel Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, personable & friendly management, delicious breakfast, and a wonderful location are my top reasons for repeat visits! This is definitely my favorite hotel in Richmond. June 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I will NOT stay here again by choice I must say that I have never stayed at a hotel where the restaurant closed at 9 pm. My room was not cleaned or serviced the first day and I had to grab someone from house keeping to clean it on the second day. They took all the towels and did not replace them. I then had to call for towels. The front desk staff was rude. I had to stay here due to a volleyball block that was required of our team. I would never stay here by choice again. The shuttle was a good experience if something good must be said about it. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay as usual! We have the opportunity to stay at this Crowne Plaza fairly often for business reasons. We always find a pleasant, helpful staff and immaculate rooms. We also enjoy the breakfast and evening receptions for IHG members in the concierge lounge during the week. We have met some wonderful people there and it's a great way to relax! May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by the good and the bad we requested an extra blanket twice and never recieved it. once i made this request to the front desk and the second time i called down to the front desk but it never arrived. when we checked in at 4:00pm, our room was not ready, however our breakfast was comped the next morning so that was ok. the staff was very friendly and overall our experience was above average. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable Helpful front desk willing to accommodate our needs. Extremely pleased--the kids LOVED it! Great view from room and slept well. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the quality hotel I was expecting For the price of the room, I expected much better service and food quality at the restaurants. The food was mediocre at best. When I called for extra towels or blankets, the phone rang for at least 2 minutes. Once I received a person to speak with, they were not pleasant and informed me that there was a limit on the linens each room could receive. Both times I valeted the car, I had to wait outside for 5-10 minutes for someone to receive the vehicle and take the keys. No valet staff was posted outside to receive cars as they arrived. Finally I had to go inside the hotel and let them know I needed someone to valet the car and then go back outside to wait on them. The only true complement I can give is regarding the shuttle service provided. Those staff members were extremely courteous and helpful. They were very responsive and timely, especially Train. May 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
IHG recipent of the 2010 Regional Renovation of the Year
IHG recipent of the 2010 Regional Renovation of the Year
Select to close.
IHG recipent of the 2010 Regional Renovation of the Year Welcome to Holiday Inn South and Sporting News Grill Catch the game at The Sporting News Grill Welcome to Holiday Inn South Bells Take a dip in our seasonal outdoor pool Relax and enjoy a sunny day by the seasonal pool Welcome to the Holiday Inn Richmond South - Bells Road Welcome to your home away from home Let our stay welcome you
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading