• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: ROANOKE
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We love pets! One of Roanoke's only pet friendly hotels. Woof Woof! We deep clean every room upon pet's departure, there is a 25.00 non refundable pet cleaning fee plus 10.00 fee per additional night. Walking area for pets designated.
Pet deposit amount  25.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Valley View Mall
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Center in the Square
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Salem Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Blue Ridge Parkway
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:322
  • Car Parking Available
  • Oversized well lit parking lot. 322 complimentary parking spaces.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2006
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:63
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:90
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:127
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to Roanoke VA "Star City of the South".

Our friendly staff and hospitality set us apart from the rest. Our hotel is located just a couple of miles off Interstate 81 and one mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport.

We offer the utmost in convenience for guests traveling for leisure or business. Our free shuttle makes trips to and from the airport throughout the day and evening. We are pet -friendly and centrally located to many fun and family-oriented attractions. For guests
View More

Welcome to Roanoke VA "Star City of the South".

Our friendly staff and hospitality set us apart from the rest. Our hotel is located just a couple of miles off Interstate 81 and one mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport.

We offer the utmost in convenience for guests traveling for leisure or business. Our free shuttle makes trips to and from the airport throughout the day and evening. We are pet -friendly and centrally located to many fun and family-oriented attractions. For guests who enjoy the outdoors, the Blue Ridge Parkway is just a short drive from the hotel and offers miles of hiking trails and breathtaking views. The kids would love a trip to the Mill Mountain Star, the nation's largest man-made, illuminated star. For our corporate travelers, our hotel's accommodations provide comfort and convenience for optimal productivity. You have access to our 24-hour Business Center or may reserve one of our meeting rooms which can seat up to 500 guests.

The hotel's extra amenities are sure to make your stay unforgettable. For those who like to keep a workout regimen, our well-equipped Fitness Center provides the perfect place to burn those extra calories. Alternatively you can relax by the pool, play volleyball or grill out on our barbecue grills. Make plans to dine with us or unwind in the lounge of our restaurant, Passports, which serves breakfast and dinner. On your next visit, choose the Holiday Inn Roanoke - Valley View as your hotel.

View Less
Features
Put your transportation worries aside when you visit us because our Roanoke Airport hotel offers a convenient and complimentary shuttle service for those traveling to and from Roanoke Airport.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 141 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, nice amenities Plenty of rooms to stretch out. Rooms nice size, outdoor pool nice, workout center good. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Annually I stay at Holiday Inn/Starkey Rd., annually. Because it really is a good hotel, the staff are friendly and informed and KNOW the community and area. Helpful and friendly, comfortable, and clean. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Pleasant Our visit, as usual, was extremely pleasant. The rooms (we booked two) were clean and quiet. The bed, although a little soft for my taste, was inviting. We ate three meals there and the food is consistently good. I highly recommend breakfast where the omelets and waffles are made to order and the staff exceeds your expectations. Lunch and dinner are served in the bar area where the service can be slow and the environment can get loud, but it is nice to be able to order from the dinner menu and not an abbreviated bar menu. This hotel is my "go to" hotel whenever I am in the Roanoke-Salem area. I highly recommend it. July 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by BAD Nights Under the Sheets We travel very often for work so we have many experiences to compare this to...where do I begin? We are Platinum IHG members and our company reimburses us, or supplies us with the option to use CLC to direct bill. We always do plenty of research to optimize the best location to suit our needs, earn the most priority points and other perks, that any given location may have over another. Our experience with using CLC at IHG is that the point earning is decided at the individual hotel, not by the overall chain policy. I phoned this location and the Valley view location to check availability and rates, as the two had similar internet ratings. I asked both locations if we would earn points if we used CLC; Valley View did not, however, this location did. I even asked him twice, to be sure. So we checked in around 8:30 pm. The room looked great. Then we both woke at midnight because the fitted sheet on the king bed had come off both upper corners. We were now laying on the mattress. Seriously, what could be worse? We struggled to sleep the rest of the night. We worked completely in our room the next day with the DND on the door. When we left at 3 pm, I stopped at front desk and showed the young man a photo of the bedding as we left it. I said i did not expect the room to be cleaned as it was late in the day; however, we most definitely needed the sheet situation fixed. He and another attendant said no worries, it would be taken care of. We went to the lounge for a bite... really enjoyed the bartender and the acoustic music; all around the experience was going great; and then the food came. We ordered their specialty potato chips, which were delicious. They came with salsa. After a few bites, I picked up the salsa container from my PLATE to take the cap off of it, only for a cup of empty, used sour cream to come off the bottom of the salsa cup. I almost lost my lunch. Still grosses me out just thinking about it. This means they 'recycled' what they thought was an unsold salsa from a bused table. This is inexcusable! The bartender did not handle this correctly at all. He offered NO apology, NO excuse... nothing, not a word. Took it, threw it away and retrieved another. We returned to our room at 2 am to see our bed in the same condition as we left it. We were disgusted; however it was 2 am and we had to be up for work at 7am. So we made the bed - again, and had a second night of horrible sleep. In the am we took photos again, as the sheets had come off even more than the first night. Upon checkout I shared photos with the front desk manager and explained everything, as I have stated previously in this letter. She was sincerely apologetic and said she immediately asked what she could do to make the situation right. I stated that since my company pays for the room, direct compensation to me would be points on my IHG account. She said no problem, she would talk to the GM and they would be in touch. Surprise... this was the first contact regarding our stay on 7/10 & 7/11. They dropped the ball - BIG TIME. No excuses. Think I'll hear from someone now? July 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noise. During my last stay at this hotel there was a church group convention with lots of teenagers. The teens were very well behaved, however being teens they were a little noisy. My room was right next to the elevator and it was extra noisy at that location. I requested to be moved, however they said that they could not accommodate that request. I am a Priority Club Platinum member and I have stayed at this hotel several nights in the last year. (Close to 30) I would have thought that they could have considered my repeat business and moved me to a quieter area. July 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nobreakfast I don't mind paying for breakfast. But when I pay for it I expect real sausage and eggs. 10 bucks isn't much but at the same time it is. July 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Pleasant facility, clean and comfortable. Easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway June 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience poor Arrived with confirmed reservation for two beds. Priority Club Member. Arrived at approx. 3:15, no rooms were available as they were not yet cleaned. Given a room with one bed, which was not to our liking, Removed my shoes and approached the desk and found the carpet soaking wet. Finally at about 6 PM we were given a suite to pacify us, Again one bed, when we requested two. Oh we had a hot tub, which means nothing to us!!!! And no dresser, so we spent the weekend living out of a suitcase. After driving 5 hours to get to the hotel, the experience left a lot to be desired. June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by R. V. Dempster's experience. As I reported in an earlier review, this is the best Holiday Inn we have ever experienced. All staff were really excellent and helpful. The facility is great. The front desk (Ashley, Rohan) and room service were exceptional. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay We stayed for two nights, the hotel was clean and located in a nice area near many stores/restaurants. Would definatly recommend! June 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room Overall Worst hotel experience we've had in many years. Noisy until 4:00am first night, in spite of numerous complaints. Elevators dirty, room not vacuumed properly, trash not removed from room, secure outside door left open, paint from curb splattered all over front of the property. Parking not readily available either. Just overall a very poor attention to detail across the board. June 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room I would like to recommend that on a King bedroom setup that you put 6 pillows on the bed rather than the 4. Also, it would help to have 4 rather than 3 sets I'd towels in bathroom. June 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Had a Good Stay Room and stay was good, Little noisy during the night from other guests that didnt seem to ever go to bed, Room had recently been remodeled, Had a difference at check in than what I was quoted when I made reservations, but was tired so I didnt argue about it. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort It is a very nice clean, warm and friendly hotel. Easy to get to and from. May 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staffs Nice hotel for the money. Good location. DO NOT TRY THE BREAKFAST BRUNCH. IT IS HORABLE . I stayed at many hotels and had many meals. This was the worst and the service was bad. I is a great place to stay the management really care and provided great service .As long as you don't have to eat there you will like it. May 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by So-so stay Our family traveled to Roanoke with our son's soccer team for a tournament. This hotel was on the tournament's list of recommended lodging. When we checked in, the staff did not mention any breakfast options. My husband later went down to the front desk to ask if any breakfast was provided for the tournament guests as we were expected at an early game and the staff person told him no. We were disappointed to learn the next morning after spending extra time and money finding breakfast that hotel staff should have given us tickets for a breakfast at the hotel. Other than that, the stay was unremarkable. May 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not as expected Firstly, online booking was not easy as the person mumbled and was difficult to understand. It looks like the hotel property was going through a process of renovation well at least that's what I hope was going on because it was a little tired and dated looking. It would have been nice to have some signs to excuse the mess and disruption. Our room was a queen x 2. I've never seen queen beds that small. I understand that it is not in season yet but the pool looked disgusting with a small amount of slimy sludge and a bunch of debris. Seriously, renovation or not guests should not have that view. The on site resturaunt music was so loud we walked in and immediately turned around and walked out. There's no way we could have had conversation over dinner and relax after a long day on the road. Back in our room we decided to order room service but alas the menu for that was missing from the guest service folder. The front desk was kind enough to give us a replacement menu which should have included a magnifier as it was about the size of a playing card. The food was okay, not great but was delivered promptly with a friendly smile. Overall I was disappointed as I did not believe this was value for money. Step up Holiday Inn you have a lot of competitition out there. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Would stay here again as long as I use my points. Room rates over price for the age of hotel. No notice we are platinum at all. May 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room rating I was disappointed that there wasn't any kind of free breakfast offered. The room was neat and clean and the bed was comfortable. The employees were very congenial. Our toilet would't even flush toilet paper though. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by April 25-28, 2013 I was a member of a group of legal ladies who held our annual meeting at the hotel. The food for all of our meals for the weekend was excellent, wait staff were courteous and helpful. the front desk staff were very helpful and cordial; overall experience the entire weekend was very good. Thank you. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, nice rooms, and very friendly staff My family and I met here from opposite sides of the state to spend some time together. The hotel was in a very nice location and convenient to downtown and area attractions. The staff were very friendly and always said hello. We stated on the 5th floor which I think was Priority Rewards club member rooms and they were very nice. Higher ceilings. Lots of space. Comfortable. It was a pleasure staying here. May 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Bugs in First Room First walked in and there were "stink" bugs on the wall, immediately walked out and back to the desk. But could not help but notice a huge corduroy blue recliner in the room, Looked like something out of the 60's, just so big and so ugly..... When i complained at the desk about when you were going to do the room and he told me they were just done??? The next room was not great either. Looked like old funishings and just dreary,,,,,, Will NOT be returning to your hotel there at all..... April 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty bathroom I have had problems at this property before and had not stayed here in about 2 years. But I decided to give it a try this time because it was close to the appointment I had and I wanted to get to the appointment as quickly as possible. When I checked into the room I tried to use the bathroom. The toilet paper didn't look quire right and on further inspection I noticed that the roll had been wet at one time and then dried out (did they drop it in the bowl and then retrieve it?#. The experience made me very uncomfortable about the room and the cleanliness of the property. I took the roll to the desk clerk #Dylan), showed it to him and his response was, "I see it." Not "I'm so sorry" or "Let me get this fixed." I left the hotel and spent the night with a friend in town. I returned to the hotel in the morning to check out. The toilet paper had not been replaced, there wasn't a note or message from management. This hotel has issues. April 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room very noisy When we got in room i could hear this noise. After i turned on unit could not hear that noise again but heard noise coming from heating unit all night till next morning. Walked near unit and noise stopped. Also problem with commode. Hard to flush. We had two units the other unit was fine no complaints. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant experience. Although some of the jets in our jacuzzi didn't work, the staff moved us to a different, albeit smaller, room with a fully functioning jacuzzi for the second night of our stay. There was a little confusion on the billiing (we were originally charged the same rate for both nights) that was taken care of before we left. There was a little inconvenience with the repairs being done, but the staff was very helpful and courteous. The service in the hotel lounge was friendly for breakfast & dinner. I would stay at this location again & recommend this to others as well. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed Sheets too Small Overall the stay was good and very friendly staff. But the bed sheets were too small for the bed. It was awkward trying to keep the fitted sheet on the bed all night. As soon as one would get into bed, the sheets popped off and you had a"bare mattress" . Not pleasant at all. All in all, ok stay. April 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not so good breakfast The accommodations were good, but they were remodeling the outside which made parking difficult. Continental Breakfast was mediocre at best. Didn't care for the coffee either. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel, friendly staff! We were very impressed with how clean the hotel was, from the front desk and lobby to our specific room. Every staff member we encountered was professional and polite. The only drawback was not having a free continental breakfast. Other than that, we were very impressed! March 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nice Location and Great Service Great location in quiet part of town near several decent restaurants and a shopping mall. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable. Excellent value. March 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood on many occasions. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. March 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Welcome to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Valley View
Welcome to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Valley View
Select to close.
Welcome to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Valley View Welcome to the Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View! Relax it's Holiday Inn Hotel lobby offers a lot of comforatble seating. Hotel warm and welcoming fireplace and seating. Overlook from Mill Mountain Star, just a 10 minute drive! Smith Mountain Lake.. our jewel of the blue ridge! Holiday Inn covered front entrance Smith Mountain Lake Park just 45 minutes away! The historic farmer's market in downtown Roanoke. Take a relaxing drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway! The city's most visible attraction is it's 100-foot high star! Our beautiful hotel is located just 30 minutes from SML The Roanoke Star overlooks the Star City of the South
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading