Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 558 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

558reviews

  • 5 Stars
    268
  • 4 Stars
    148
  • 3 Stars
    71
  • 2 Stars
    40
  • 1 Stars
    31

hotel stay

By

July 06, 2016

The hotel needs to do a much better job of cleaning the rooms on a daily basis and between visitors.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 08, 2016
First off thank you so much for being a Gold IHG Member with us. I sincerely apologize you had cleaning issues during your stay. We have done some housekeeping changes which we are sure will help with the cleaning issues. We do hope you will visit our location again during your travels. Thank You Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Four Cities

By

July 05, 2016

Great location wonderful staff that is extremely helpful. If you get the chance to stay here feel free to do so.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 07, 2016
So Happy to hear your stay was great, and i appreciate that you would prefer us to other people. Hope your travels bring you back to our location. Thank You Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Not Cleaned

By

July 05, 2016

3 Days of not cleaning room and refolding dirty/bloody towels from shaving my head was put back on rack, not once but twice. Like the cleaning person wanted to get fired. So many year with Holiday Inn and never experienced such a thing.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 07, 2016
I can not be sorry enough about what happened during your stay with us. Would love to have you give us another chance during your travels. Thank You Very Much Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Service. Needs and Upgrade

By

July 01, 2016

platinumelite

The staff was great. The room was not as clean as I would expect.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 05, 2016
So sorry the guest room was not as clean as they expected we will be sure to speak with our housekeeping dept. But i am glad to hear our Staff was great. Thank you Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Convenient stop off the interstate

By

June 30, 2016

club

Interesting and historic location on the river. Unfortunately I did not have time to tour. The hotel is an older building and could use some updating. There was an attached restaurant but I don't think the hotel had their own restaurant.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 05, 2016
The hotel is a older building, but we have updated the rooms and the lobby. The attached restaurant is the Hotels restaurant. Thank You Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

GOOD HOTEL

By

June 22, 2016

Had non smoking king room. It was clean, quiet & had a refrigerator which I did not expect. Bed & pillows comfortable. The shower had good water pressure & plenty of hot water. I got a very good rate using points. There was parking on hotel property or across street in ramp. Hotel easy to locate. We did have issue with keys being deactivated but it was resolved immediately. Front desk person actually went up to room with us to make sure we could get in room after key issue. Was only in town for a day so did not use amenities or restaurant. Hotel common areas were clean. had access to 7th floor private lobby I guess you'd call it. Did not expect that either.
I was on the 8th floor which required key for elevator access. Good for safety concerns if traveling alone.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 29, 2016
So glad you had a wonderful stay at our property. We are always very happy to hear that one of our guests had a great stay. We hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you at our property again some day. Thank You Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

All Great Except Parking

By

June 21, 2016

In all of the major categories this hotel excelled for us. The only area of any concern, and it is relatively minor, is in the parking lot. Space is clearly limited but perhaps a better parking layout would work better.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 24, 2016
So sorry about the parking problems that you had during your stay. The parking next to the Hotel is pretty limited. You can however park across the street in the parking ramp which is also free parking. Other than that i'am so glad you enjoyed the Hotel. Thank You Charlene B Guest Service Manger
Read More
Read Less

Not stay again

By

June 20, 2016

club

Was unable to sleep due to heavy metal band playing outside my window until midnight.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 29, 2016
So sorry to hear that you were unable to sleep during your stay with us. Unfortunately that weekend there was a festival called Rock the District. I sincerely apologize. Thank You Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Posted byHotelStaff
June 29, 2016
So sorry to hear you were unable to sleep due to the bands playing in the district. Unfortunately that weekend they had a festival called Rock the District. I do sincerely apologize for that inconvenience. Thank You Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

My stay

By

June 20, 2016

club

Staff were great ---hotel room not so much. Used wash cloth left in bathroom; broken remote; broken hotel phone, wrinkled bed skirt, no hot water in shower.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 25, 2016
So sorry to hear that you had so much trouble with your stay. No sure if you had spoke to the front desk staff about the problems, but i would have loved to have made things right for you. I do see you are a IHG member, let me award you 10.000 Bonus points that is enough points to stay at our property for free, if you would like to try us again. Point stays are different at each property. Again so sorry you had those problems during your stay. Thank You Charlene Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Convenient to down town

By

June 17, 2016

club

Everything is within walking distance. Park your car and just go.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 22, 2016
Happy to hear our location was convenient for you. Hope you also enjoyed your Stay. Thank You Charlene B
Read More
Read Less

Know your area

By

June 16, 2016

Had a great stay. Hotel was located perfectly for our needs. Nice Lobby nice staff. The one issue we had was the staffs lack of knowledge of the area. There was no rack of brouchures that you usually find. we prefer to ask anyway. Locations of diners brewpubs, fine dining water taxis etc. while some within a block, seemed to be unknown to the hotel staff. During a recent stay in LaCrosse the staff couldn't stop making suggestions. All we tried were excellent. We would stay here again overall.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 22, 2016
So sorry the front desk lacked knowledge of the area. We do have a couple new employees that are not from here. We do ask them to learn the area so that they more knowledge and there for can be more accommodating to the guest. I am very glad that you did enjoy your stay. Thank You Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Toilet Paper is not to standard.

By

June 16, 2016

club

Toilet paper was very rough and caused me several issues. Next time I will surely provide a standard type toilet paper softer more absorbent and not rough.

we were given a 20 percent off breakfast coupon at the restaurant we did not use them I kind of expected some type of breakfast.

The staff was great, the location was great for our class reunion event which took place in the downtown areas of Rock Island, Moline, and Davenport. convenience was the bonus.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 22, 2016
So sorry the toilet paper was not to your liking. I would love to be able to get something better for you if you return to our property. We order from a company and thats what they send us. We are a full service Holiday Inn and have the restaurant on property and thats why we don't offer a free breakfast. Happy to see that you did enjoy your stay and that the staff was great. Thank You Charlene B Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less