• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: WAUSAU
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed 35.00 nonrefundable fee per stay. No charge for guide dogs or service animals.
Pet deposit amount  35.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Granite Peak Ski Area
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Rib Mountain State Park
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Nine Mile County Forest
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Grand Theatre
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:188
  • Car Parking Available
  • Convenient parking available around the perimeter of the hotel. Outside outlets available. Handicap parking stalls available. Complimentary shuttle to and from airport. Hours: 6:00AM-11:00PM

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:28
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:42
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:106
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:WI0389

Enjoy Quality Amenities at Wausau Hotel's Property

Conveniently located off I-39/51 at exit 185, the Holiday Inn® Wausau - Rothschild hotel provides easy access to such prominent area attractions as Cedar Creek Mall and businesses like Greenheck. Whether you are visiting her for work or just to relax, we have everything you need.

Wausau Paper, Wausau Financial, Siemens and Weston Generating Station are all within minutes of our hotel's property in Rothschild, WI. But location
View More

Enjoy Quality Amenities at Wausau Hotel's Property

Conveniently located off I-39/51 at exit 185, the Holiday Inn® Wausau - Rothschild hotel provides easy access to such prominent area attractions as Cedar Creek Mall and businesses like Greenheck. Whether you are visiting her for work or just to relax, we have everything you need.

Wausau Paper, Wausau Financial, Siemens and Weston Generating Station are all within minutes of our hotel's property in Rothschild, WI. But location isn't the only perk we offer for corporate travelers; we also provide a well-equipped Business Center with free Wi-Fi access, copy and print services and a personal computer. In addition, you can reserve 7,800 sq ft of meeting and event space that accommodates up to 600.

Leisure travelers love our Wausau hotel because it's close to exciting attractions, such as the Nine Mile Recreation Area. You can enjoy activities like seeing a show at Grand Theater or visiting Leigh Yawkey Art Museum. Don't forget that we're also just minutes from the Granite Peak Ski Area.

While staying at our hotel's facility in Rothschild, WI, you can enjoy outstanding amenities like an on-site Fitness Center, where you can keep up with your workout. At the end of the day, take a dip in the sparkling, indoor pool or whirlpool and order a tasty meal from the full-service restaurant. Book your reservations today!

View Less
Features
When you stay in Wausau, our hotel's property provides you with a variety of complimentary amenities, like high-speed, wireless Internet access .

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 163 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel stay Excellent Hotel for the money. Centrally located. I will stay again. February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Years Eve Fantastic staff...extremely courtesy and witty. Room was huge with great amenities. The next day buffet breakfast was well stocked. The hot food was hot and the cold was cold. Will definitely be back. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of favorite Hotel! Being a long time Priority Club member, this is by far one of my favorite Holiday Inn. The staff is always very helpful and willing to assist. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Love the restaurant here - wonderful and tasty food! The only downer was during my stay - they had a large convention - with farming equipment - and that took up most of the parking at the hotel. I had to park way down by the Restaurant - and ended walking a long distance to get to the hotel - oh did I mention on how cold it was outside - burrrrr. But LOVE this hotel!! February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by impressed I am a platinum priority club member and do not make a habit of writing reviews, but felt that our stay deserved a positive review. Staff was courteous, the whole complex was clean and well cared for and our service and food at the restaurant was great. Will stay again! February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Very nice hotel! My room was just on the corridor to the pool...so it was a little noisy. My fault. I should have requested a quiet area. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice stay and great tade show , i hope it can be here in future nice rooms , great potato show, wish the classes had better content. Bar was fun too February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel and conference facility As typical, this hotel and conference center offered excellent service with a clean, comfortable, quiet room and polite efficient staff. I always enjoy my stay at this location. Thank you. February 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great place for convention i just attended wowra convention that has been held there for the last couple years and will be back again next year. The rooms quiet, clean and staff is helpful. looking forward to next year. February 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Choice for Family or Birthday Parties Highly recommend. Check out Amber Grill. We ate there 3x because kids eat free! Breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's always open. Nice size water park for kids 12 and under. Hot Tub is really hot and life gaurds don't care if under 6 hops in without adult. Finally! February 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat Customer We have stayed at this location many times for business meetings. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The fitness room is in good working order too. The staff is very helpful and always kind. The only issue we had was that the meals we had on both nights of our stay were not very good. We have always enjoyed eating in the restaurant and enjoy the comfort of the bar area too. Has there been a change in kitchen staff? We will return in the future but may opt to eat elsewhere off the premises. Again I do commend the hotel staff, from the front desk to the houskeeping staff, all are very hospitable. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! Good restaurant food with poor service I would have given the whole location a five star rating for this level of property if not for the service at the restaurant. The front desk staff was friendly, courteous and prompt; I had an issue with the heating system in my room which the maintenance staff addressed quickly and with a full measure of courtesy. My travel companion and I had breakfast and dinner on multiple occasions throughout our 2 week back to back stays. The food there was excellent but the service, well, a lot to be desired. One morning I ordered Oatmeal and fruit and my travel companion requested parfait and a bagel. It took 45 minutes to deliver the food! The following week we had dinner with an additional colleague. Once again great food accompanied by friendly yet poor service. It seemed as though the staff was very willing to assist and address the needs of the customer but were either poorly trained or the kitchen was understaffed. January 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, bad service from grill for room service I was staying at the hotel for one night because my daughter had a gymnastics meet. The Hotel room was comfortable, there was a strange smell in the room but we just sprayed some perfume and it was ok. In the morning we order breakfest from the grill that was the restaurant at the hotel. I ordered, hashbrowns, toast, jelly, peanut butter. My daughter ordered waffles. They arrived at our room in about 30 minutes.. It looked yummy. When the door closed I searched for silverware, Everywhere.. There was none. I called the grill. They said " As soon as the server returned they would send some up;. Fifteen minutes went by, we decided just to use our hands because we were very hungray. We finished, they still didnt bring anything. I was a littlle upset due to the fact that my meal cost $24 dollars. I called the grill and they appologized and said they would give me a discost. I was thinking maybe half of my bill. NOPE $3, thats what I thought. We ate with our fingers!!! I would stay at the hotel again but not order room serice. Oh when I called to ask what happen they said there was a misunderstanding and thats why we didnt get our silverware.. NICE...... January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable stay. Had a wonderful 2 night stay while in town for a family wedding this past weekend. Every staff member we encountered was helpful, friendly and courteous. We had 2 adjoining rooms which worked out great for 2 adults and 3 teens. We were on the first floor near the pool in standard queen rooms. I loved the high ceilings as they enhanced the spacious and comfortable setting. We dined at the on site restaurant for a Friday evening fish fry which was one of the best we have ever had. Breakfast was also very good. Kids enjoyed the hot tub and pool. January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and rate The staff was very pleasant and accommodating, letting our group check in early and grouping us in a close proximity. The water area was a hit for the kids as well as a great place for the adults to congregate! Will definitely look into staying here again when we need to stay a night in the area! January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great hotel for a fun stay We stay at this Holiday Inn every year for the week of Christmas. We always have an amazing time, the staff is so kind and respectful. Our rooms have always been very clean and quite roomy. The pool and hot tub is clean and the staff is kind enough to allow us to have our relatives come over to swim too. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel This hotel is always clean. I would definitely recommend staying here. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by thank you thank you for a very good trip i will always come back very nice room i will recommend the family suite nice staff very nice water park December 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wireless service This is the second out of three stays that this properties wireless service was very poor. I had difficulty completing the connection as well as maintaining it. When I inquired I was assured that the Hotels hardware was functioning properly. Of great importance to me is wireless service and this property has shaken my confidence. Buyer be aware December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Christmas We had our family Christmas at the HI Stevens Point and had a wonderful time. There were about 24 including some children and used a hospitality room that worked out great. Had several meals in restaurant. Food good but service very slow. Most of us stayed two nights and some three nights. Plan to come again next year. Pool Was great for kids as they are still young. Christmas decorations beautiful. Staff extremely helpful. December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay! My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a night away in lieu of Christmas gifts this year. We had a great time - the room was beautiful and clean. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel and the food was delicious. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Clean room, great staff. Everything about our stay was wonderful. Very nice property! December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE Went to visit son in UW Stevens Point with my 12year old daughter and her friend. Wanted a place with an indoor pool and slide and this place was great. The slide was big enough for them not to get bored on and the other parts of the pool were just right for them too. The room was clean and neat. The pillows my daugter loved so much that I ordered her two for christmas. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable hotel. I've stayed here many, many times over the years and this hotel has kept it's standards high....from it's beautiful lobby to it's very clean rooms. They have also kept their prices very competitive and I will always book here when visiting Stevens Point. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value, excellent service Everyone at the location was very friendly, room was clean and comfy, and the staff was excellent. Great breakfast in the morning at the Amber Grill. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Hotel from Top to Bottom We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel but, alas, for only two nights for a brief vacation. From check-in to check out, this hotel was perfect. The staff is friendly, helpful, and each staff member seems very proud of the property. We were treated very well. Also, the restaurant is well beyond the quality of almost all hotel restaurants. The happy hour was very reasonable and our waitress was engaging, funny, and seemed to truly want us to have a great experience. I cannot wait to stay here again. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWSC Director, Kenosha County, WI Every since you have opened, I have been impressed with the quality of the hotel and the professionalism and attention to detail of your staff. The food at our banquet was outstanding and the only reason I rated "good" for food overall was that the burger I received on Saturday was overcooked. But this was due to such an influx and high number of customers during our 1 hour lunch break. I would highly recommend your hotel for everyone and I am very disappointed that our membership has decided to go elsewhere in the future. Maybe they will reconsider in the near future. November 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant service unbelievable slow - Security Deposit held without being informed We were attending a Convention at the Holiday Inn. On Saturday November 2nd after a morning meeting we went to the restaurant to have lunch before attending breakout "workshops". It took almost 1 hour to get our food which made us late for the 1st workshop. There was a large group at the motel all converging at nearly the same time but this is a Convention Ctr after all & they should be prepared. A fall back position might have been a "Sandwich Board" offering sandwich fare & perhaps soup. This would ease the stress on the restaurant. Others that ate at the restaurant at the same time & other times complained about the speed as well. At check on November 1st I completed the ck-in paperwork. Provided card for payment. Initial where directed. Provided auto information & signed. Nowhere was I told that an additional $100 would be held on my card! As a motel owner I know that you can not chg any fees without stating it clearly in writing or posting it clearly at guest services. Today I checked bank balances & found the $100 chg. This overdrew my account. Luckily I have a line of credit at my bank. But this is embarrassing. I called & the girl who answered would not let me explain. She spoke over me. Told me that the hotel requires this as policy. She said it should "fall off" in a few days at least by the end of the week! I told I had not been informed & she seemed to really just not care. I raised my voice to a yell. Was then told I was rude, which I was. Asked to speak to a manager & was told I was too upset to be transferred. She then transferred me to a voice mail that said the manager was on vacation! I called back & was told she knew that & said "why should I tell you when you are yelling". Will not recommend this location November 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice place but pool area needs improvement Very nice hotel. Nice atmosphere and clean, comfortable rooms. However, we rented a room here specifically to have fun in the pool with our 4 yr old granddaughter. Unfortunately, no one had fun as the water was freezing and we could not use the slide because our granddaughter did not meet the height requirements. She has been on bigger slides. We spent only about a half hour in the pool area and then went back to the room. this Holiday Inn needs to take a look at Crawdaddy's Cove in the Holiday Inn in Madison, Wi. We can't get our granddaughter out of that pool area. November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed comfortable - bathroom clean but smelled of mildew The room was clean and comfortable as well as the bed. The bathroom shower curtain smelled like mildew not only in our room but also in relatives rooms. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk clean room great girls at the front desk and very helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Ate at the Amber restaurant on Friday night...busy but seated quickly good food. Highly recommend the pizzas and spinach/artichoke dip. October 10, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading