Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 344 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Weekend Getaway My wife and I periodically will stay a weekend in Old Town Sacramento just to get away from home. This is our first stay at the Sacrmento-Capitol Plaza Holiday Inn. We stayed Friday, August 23 and checked out on August 25th. Our stay was really nice. We had a view of the Mall area, we enjoyed the luxery of a very comfortable Kind size bed - and a 32 inch flat screen tv. The front staff was very attentive to our request/needs. The only two things that i might suggest is adding a hot-tub to the pool area and because not as many people normally check into hotels on Sundays is having a late check out time on Sundays. A room refrigerator would also be nice as well. I would definately recommend this as a good place to stay if your visiting the area. August 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The rooms were very clean and I was very impressed with the staff. The front desk was very helpful with some of my own scheduling problems and Sharina in the Cypress Grill was very helpful, always having my breakfast order ready to take up to my room so I could prepare for my meeting. I look forward to staying here in the future August 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bathrppm I had a hadnicapped accessible room. The grip bar in the shower tub combo was poorly placed and could not be used to steady myself getting out of the tub. I had to use the towel bar which was not wise but necessary. The bar should be on the same wall as the fixtures or, alnteratelhy, a second one should be installed on the wall opposite the fixtures. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super service and clean surroundings The location was great! Close to tourist sights. Loved the breakfast buffet!! Awesome waitperson service and front desk personal touch! It's nice to be greeted with a smile and "will do" attitude. The room was very comfortable. Enjoyed reclining on couch to read and being able to look out the window at the scenery occasionally. The only thing I would have liked is a small refrigerator for perishables since my stay was two nights and I didn't have an ice chest with me. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Courteous Our stay at this hotel was great. The beds were very comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. When we needed anything, like extra towels, they were prompt and courteous. The location is very convenient, right off the freeway. It is adjacent to a shopping mall, with Macys and specialty shops. It is in walking distance to Old Sacramento, with lots of restaurants and shops. We highly recommend this hotel. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, great service I have stayed three years in a row at this hotel because of the great service and location! The staff is always pleasant, the rooms clean, and beds comfortable! August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service As a platinum member of this hotel chain I would of thought I would have been treated much better, I live on the road and spend most of my time at the holiday inn and this one I would not recommend. I had several problems throughout my 5 day stay and I would of thought at the very least the hotel would of offered some bonus points, free drinks or some sort of compensation for someone who spends some much time with them August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay over Very nice hotel, check in very smooth. Front desk staff was nice and welcoming. Valet parking quick and good service. Room was clean, beds uncomfortable and rather a full size bed in my opinion than a regular queen bed. Breakfast average and kind of expensive to eat there with family. Pool was OK we did not enjoy much as it was outside and it was cold. No hot tub. Would recommend to stay if you are a couple or alone but not with kids. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by :) Hands down a very beautiful and exciting hotel. The 15th floor is the perfect spot for viewing the city at a good price... Look forward to my next stay:) August 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smoker's Room? I got the idea that someone had smoked in my room or the adjoining room. The carpets were freshly shampooed. Other than that, I like staying at this hotel. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Spent the weekend in Sacramento. Had a great time. Hotel is walking distance to Old Town for shopping, food and entertainment. I have stayed here before. Good value too. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Above Average Businessman's Hotel (Full Disclosure: The hubby is a IHG Rewards Club Member, so our stay may have been a bit different than if one isn't a member) This is a really good hotel. It is a like a "high-end" hotel without the "high-end". It is a step up from a business man's hotel. The Holiday Inn, Sacramento-Capitol Plaza is in midtown, Sacramento - turn the corner and you can spit on the Capitol building. to take care of your "tourista" inclinations, Old Town Sacramento is a short tunnel-walk away (or a short golf-cart ride, if you are riding), a very small Chinatown is literally across the street and a good sized mall is out the hotel door and one turn left. My family and I stayed here for a convention. The convention was actually in the hotel's convention center. We drove up and were promptly greeted by a valet who was super-nice and told us how to get to the convention center while hubby checked us in. We got a 14th floor room-it appeared to be oversized, with a King-sized bed and a pullout couch for the kid. The room was nicely appointed with lots of pillows, comfortable bed, nice big bathroom and air conditioning. The TV was LG, hi-def with a screen between 36"-40". This hotel features FREE Wi-Fi! Yeehaw! Stick in a code and hello free (and snappy) in-room WiFi! This was a great perk as one day was a work day, so there was no trekking to the lobby for WiFi's! Working from the comfort of the hotel room is the best! We heard some other doors closing from the inside our room, but it wasn't enough noise to really bother us. Also, the room was hermetically sealed, as most hotels tend to be - our room, at least, did not have a balcony. We did not have a view either, but I'm not sure any of the rooms had a view. This was not a deal breaker for us, as we were not in the room very often. From the valet to the maintenance crew, our stay was first rate. Our toilet "ran" after flushing, but one call to housekeeping and it was fixed in a jiffy. Requests, from sheets/blankets for the pull out couch to a Phillips screwdriver for some last minute computer adjustments were cheerfully accommodated. The staff was super nice and very, very helpful when addressing our needs. The gym is super small - Three treadmills, some stationery bicycles, free weights and mats. I was not familiar with the treadmill brand, but it was easy to use and I noticed all the treadmills had newish treads. The restroom is located outside the little gym. Back to the gym, it was clean and stocked with towels and water (a cooler, not bottles). I went super early in the morning so there were a couple people in and out, but it never got crowded. This is not a "high-end" hotel for the following reasons: 1) The price is not high end. We got a "convention" rate in the low (very low) $100's/night. Yay! 2) The public areas are NOT super clean. There were spots on some of the hallways carpets. Whereas some high end hotels you want to take off your shoes and walk down the plushy carpet, at this hotel it's better to keep shoes on in public areas of the hotel. 3) Location, location, location. This hotel is NOT in a great location. As with any big city one must be careful when walking the streets. I sort of feel bad mentioning this, because it is not really within the hotel's control, but it could prove shocking to walk the streets unawares; it could be a rude awakening if not prepared to keep valuables, belongings and kids close. Inside the hotel, however, felt very safe and as there was a convention, there was a lot of security inside the hotel. That being said, since it was in the middle of town, there was plenty to do, with Old Sacramento very close and lots and lots (price and variety) of restaurant choices. I would stay here again - heck, I would stay here if they picked up this hotel and staff and stuck it in the middle of nowhere! August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, but a bit stark The comfortable bed gave a great night's sleep. Very friendly and helpful staff I would recommend a lower floor because my 9th floor room received much greater freeway noise (sound travels up) than the lower floors. If there was a light breakfast buffet and refrigerator in the room, I would consider returning. July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and good value Within easy walking distance of key points of interest and rstaurants and bars etc in Old Sacremento with car parking on/adjacent to hotel. Rooms good clean and well appointed. Plenty facilities on site but downside is the limited snacks, sefvice and atmosphere in lobby bar area but plenty alternatives nearby in Old Sacremento. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is absolutely wonderful and provides great service I highly recommend this hotel because the staff is absolutely wonderful! The staff must like working at this hotel because the staff has been there for awhile (ie. not a high turnover rate). They are always pleasant and willing to assist anyone who brings a problem to their attention. Housekeeping keeps the rooms nice and clean! July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Security I'd like to commend the hotel on its security procedures. I did not close my door all the way after entering my room, and a hotel manager was right there to make sure I was safe and let me know that the door was not shut all the way. During the same stay, my hotel card key would not work. The housekeeping staff was nearby and while they could help get me into my room, they would not let me enter until I showed some identification. I really appreciated this form of security in this hotel. Good Job! The only complaint I would have is that it took long time to get a refrigerator brought to the room for my medication, and I had to call 3 times. The air conditioner was very noisy, but worked well. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant staff & very clean Nice hotel with exceedingly pleasant staff all around. The food was quite good in the dining room with excellent service. The rooms were clean and comfortable & the hotel was close to everything. No on-site parking was a bit challenging at times but all in all a minor matter. We will be most pleased to come back to this hotel when next in Sacramento. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Right on Old Town Very convenient location to Old Town. Went to see the fireworks. Too bad the rooms don't face the fireworks. Bought the package including breakfast and enjoyed the buffet. Also, got two free drink tickets as a executive platinum member. Wifi was a bit slow in our room, so cannot use facetime or skype to do video calls. The cost of the room with breakfast package is expensive, but cannot beat the location. Also, the room's A/C is loud! July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was always happy and posative Service was perfect. Hotel is perfectly situated to Old Sacremento and California State Railroad Museum. A bit of a hard walk to State Capitol nd good resturants and Catholic Cathederal when it is 109*--overwise good. Make sure you ask for a room on same side of hotel as Front desk--much quieter. July 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property; general manager should not be in this profession. Property is very convenient to Old Sacramento area and shopping, as well as to the capitol plaza area. Well maintained, comfortable, clean, with up-to-date amenities. The housekeeping staff in particular were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. My only complaint is that the hotel's general manager, who actually checked us in, seems to be in the wrong profession. Breakfast on the weekends begins an hour later than it does during the week, and as a result our flight's departure time didn't allow us to use the breakfast that was included - for an additional fee - with our prepaid room. (For anyone reading this review in a similar situation - be aware, on weekends breakfast does not begin until 7 a.m.) I even inquired if there would be items set out on a continental basis before 7 a.m. that we could at least pick up, but the answer was simply "no". My negative comments here aren't so much as to the particulars of the situation, but the fact that the hotel's general manager was completely unconcerned/did not even acknowledge my complaint re: it. Customers aren't always right, but their concern should at least be acknowledged and responded to by a hotel's management staff. For this reason alone, I can't give a positive recommendation to others. Indifference at the top quickly spreads to all facets of an organization. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Service was terrific, everyone so friendly. Had an amazing time! June 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Go-to place for business I travel to Sacramento about once a month for work and stay at this Holiday Inn in downtown. I have to say that it's a really good hotel that gives you a great bang for the buck. The rooms are clean and well kept, the staff is friendly and they know their stuff and they are very accommodating too. I drive in and their valet service is great. They get quite busy, but they do run a busy hotel. If you are a Priority Club member, you get a complimentary drink ticket when you arrive. It's an older hotel, but the rooms have been renovated and the view of downtown is pretty good. It's right next to the downtown mall so there's decent shopping on that end. Cross under the I-5 freeway and you're in Old Sac. One con I have, which isn't really the hotel's fault at all, is that there aren't many good places to eat that are close. Old Sac has a limited selection and mall food isn't always what I'm looking for. It's really a problem of downtown Sacramento than anything else. A few minutes drive away from downtown and there is plenty of pickens for food. The other con is that many of the other Holiday Inn hotels offer a complimentary hot breakfast. I wish they would too! All in all, though, it's a good place to stay when you're in town for work or just looking for a place to get a way for a bit. June 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location The location is excellent for visiting Old Sacramento as well as the attractions around the Capitol; we walked everywhere. Our room was spacious and the service excellent, We also had a very good and reasonably priced dinner in the restaurant. The pool area is clean and spacious, but shade is limited, even in the slatted area. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleseant stay Nice & roomy and the staff was very helpful. A few things to note is that you have to pay for a fridge to be put in the room. $15 per day. That's absolutely ridiculous! Either provide them in the room at no charge, (standard) or don't provide any at all. For goodness sake the Super 8 has a fridge & microwave standard in all their rooms, and that's at a low end hotel. Also the lighting was a bit awkward and room was dark if you didn't open the curtains, which doesn't help much at night. :) The beds were a bit uncomfortable. I know everyone has individual preferences whether it be firmer or softer so I realize it's impossible to please everyone especially with the beds, but for what its worth, it did create a sore back in the morning. All in all, great stay. Nice location for visits to Old Town and Downtown Plaza. Roof top pool is awesome but a bit breezy after the sun goes down. This made for a very invigorating swim. :) June 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NICE AND PRIVATE Always a pleasure to stay with you when we come to Sacramento, hope our conventions continue after next year, you've been my best stay at any convention June 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room not dark While the room was generally clean and comfortable, and the location is great, I woke up before 6 a.m. because it was not possible to darken the room. The dark curtains do not cover 5 or 6 feel of window (over the air conditioning unit). That definitely made my stay unpleasant! The breakfast was average, but item received was not as ordered. Because of time reasons, I did not return it. I did tell the server and was not charged. June 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room, costly parking and breakfast The breakfast choice was unattractively expensive for pretty standard fare. We walked through to Old Sacramento and had a great breakfast in Steamers Bakery & Cafe on K Street. Really great atmosphere and the food was good value. The best part of the hotel is its location. Beyond that everything lived up to the Holiday Inn promise and that's worth lots. May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Staff, Room & Food Had a great stay last weekend. The hotel is in a great location, staff very friendly and attentive, room was clean and well appointed and the food and beverage were great. Thanks for a great stay! May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service My husband and I come to Old Town about 4 times a year and always stay here. We've brought friends and family and are always impressed at how we are greeted by the staff. Marisol always remembers us, and because we have a bit of a drive to get there accomodates our early check ins. We also appreciate the friendly service we receive from James in Vallet. The hotel is nice, clean and we enjoy staying there. We've eaten at both the lounge and the restaurant and have enjoyed both. Can't say enough about your hotel and your staff! May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best Holiday Inn In CA I was here for a conference and did not expect anything from Sacramento since I've been to this place so many times. However, this hotel made my stay a lot different. This hotel is one of the best hotel in CA. Its clean, looks new and the overall condition of the hotel is excellent. Not to mention the location. Its connected to the mall and old town Sacramento. The gym at this hotel is most decent gym out of all the Holiday Inn that I've stayed at; their machines are relatively new. Further, the pastries that they've served during the conference were so delicious. Could not ask for more. May 15, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 13 next>>