Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 497 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Great Location Wow…and that’s an understatement. I like you read many of the reviews before deciding on this hotel. The location is perfect to access all areas of the river walk. The remodel of the hotel was fresh and inviting. I think we were the first ones to stay in our room since the remodel. We were there for a long weekend celebrating our 20th anniversary. The moment we checked in we were greeted by someone who really made us feel welcome. I asked for directions before dinner one night. James the Food and Beverage Director happened to be the one I asked. He walked me outside so I could get a visual as to where I was going. There was also a nice surprise waiting in our room when we got back. I travel quite extensively for business and am very familiar with hotels and their service levels. The management at this hotel were always visible and greeting their guests during peak times.This Holiday Inn in San Antonio has set the bar pretty high for others to follow. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel and an excellent location The hotel staff at the front desk was excellent during check-in and when asking for recommendations and directions for dining, touring, etc. Room had a decent view and was very comfortable. Great location on the River-walk. April 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Updated lobby and rooms I was impressed with the updated lobby and rooms. I know this was a construction project that took a while to complete but in my opinion, worth the hassle. The room was very nice (hardwood floors) as was the bathroom (new vanity, mirror, etc.). I will continue to use this hotel in San Antonio. April 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience This was a nice location. The room was okay, but there was no carpet on the floor. The lobby seems quite plain. The conference facilities were great for our need. Great access to the Riverwalk. The curtains made the room dark, which is not always the case in hotels. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location great service Recently stayed at this hotel on a family trip to San Antonio and was upgraded to an executive suite on the 23rd floor. We had a balcony and fabulous view of the downtown area. You can walk right out the back of the hotel onto the River walk. We had our two kids 6 & 8 years old with us and we were able to comfortably walk to the Alamo, Children's Museum, Ripley's Museums and the Tower of the Americas. Hotel was newly renovated and clean. Pool is on the small side but we typically had it to ourselves during our stay. They had a breakfast buffet where kids eat free and priority club members get a discount. It was average but a good value for a family when you consider the convenience. April 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bachelorette Weekend Gone Bad Before we booked this hotel, we had read lots of reviews about the construction and how that was a nuisance to many travelers. However, we figured we were coming to the Riverwalk for a Bachelorette party and wouldn't spend much time at the hotel anyway, so we booked this property...and from there, everything was down hill. The first room we were given hadn't been cleaned thoroughly - the beds were made, but the bathroom still had towels on the floor, and all of the shampoo/etc. bottles were used. Then, in the second room, there was a big "Blistex" sticker stuck to the wall in the bedroom...everything appeared to be clean, but if someone missed that, you have to wonder about the overall quality of the cleaning...but, we stayed in this room...it was late and we were tired. In the morning, we quickly ran out of towels...and soap...I mean, we're girls...we use a lot of towels. So, we called the front desk at 9:00 a.m. for more towels...at 5:00, still no towels...and when we called again, we were told how "busy" everyone was but that someone would up shortly. An hour later, still no towels...and another call to the front desk reminded us about how "busy" everyone was. Finally, we decided to go in search of our own towels, but the housekeeper we ran into in the hall told us we had to call the front desk and wouldn't give us any towels. Finally, a third call...10 hours after the first call...resulted in a few more towels. For what we paid, I would never stay here again...the kind of service we received was appalling. April 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by my complains After a long working day, and walking on the river; tried to open my room on the 21 floor and no luck, returned to the lobby informing the problem they just asked my ID and reprogrammed the keys (they never verified if the keys were actually working or not). Tried again, and keys did not work again. have to go back again to the lobby, which was empty, and 10 minutes later the same person arrived so that I can advise my issue. So finally they told me they were going to send a technician to change the batteries of the door lock. I could save time and rest more early, and don't walk additionally if the first time I reported the issue they just verified the keys itself. Also, as a gold elite member I got normally additional items, like some chips or cookies, or a bottle of water, but on this hotel nothing. April 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Upgrades The renovations are nice. The staff is very professional, polite and helpful. April 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Nice Hotel I stayed at the Holiday Inn on the Riverwalk for the last week. The Hotel is newly remodelled and is very nice. The rooms are nice as well. The Parking garage is way too tight and very difficult to get a full size truck in it. There is no continental breakfast and you have to pay for your food which isnt that great. The restaurant it over priced but it was okay. My biggest complaint is the roomservice/housekeeping. I stayed there for 6 days and never once did they come to change my sheets, towels, clean the room. I went the the front desk every day and complained but nothing was ever done. I even talked to one of the house cleaning workers and she said she would go do it, but never did. I am disappointed that for being there so long they couldn't service the sheets and towels. SO for future guests you might consider bringing your own sheets and towels. The heated Pool and Hot tub is very nice and it was a great place to relax and swim. I would stay there again for the convience but i hope for a better experience the next time. April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, convenient to everything. First off, the construction is COMPLETE!!! I was very nervous as I checked the reviews as everyone seemed upset just prior to my stay. The temporary dissatisfaction was worth it. This is certainly one of Holiday Inn's nicest hotels now. Rooms are clean and well furnished. Views from the upper floors are fantastic. Convenience to the riverwalk is perfect (not too close to be noisy and crowded, but just around the corner from the action# We didn't eat in the restaurant due to our proximity to the river walk's alternatives, but the staff seemed eager to have us eat in their new facility. My only complaint was that the bar, while very nice and convenient for a night cap and group review of the night's events, was only stocked with basic drinks. No draft beer, micro's, or high end liquor or beer. Dissapointing since the remodel is aimed to make it feel classy. Vallet was worth the money. I tried to race the vallet by calling then rushing to the lobby. Vallet won every time. #Maybe the elevators are too slow) They were also courteous and had absolutly no problem when we called the car down, chose to just put luggage in it and send it back so we could squeeze a little more sight seeing in. April 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable Bed and love the fact that there was no carpet The last couple of Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Express that I have stayed in the beds have been uncomfortablly hard. After driving a long distance you want a bed that is comfortable to sleep in. I love the fact that there was no carpet on the floor it made the room feel cleaner. The atmosphere was cool like you were not really welcome. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick and easy My only complaints are that there was no refrigerator in the room and there were no movie channels to rent a movie in the room. Other than that, it is clean and has a great location. Nothing too fancy but the price was certainly right! The free WiFi is also awesome. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to everything On the positive side, great point to start your adventures. On the Riverwalk, one block from the theater and 3 blocks to the Alamo. On the negative side, Housekeeping skipped our room twice. Once we were still in the room and they said they’d return but never did. The new hardwood floors are nice but it would be even nicer if they’d clean them more often (the same dust bunnies that were there when we arrived were there when we left). The rooms don’t have refrigerators. The staff said they are working on it. The TV and the AC fan seem to be in power saver mode. If you don’t change the channel after about an hour, the TV shuts off. I like to run the room fan to drown out the noise from the other guests (works great when you have noisy neighbors or kids running up and down the hallways). Unfortunately the fan would only run for about 5 minutes. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. We enjoyed the champange and chocolate covered strawberries for 36 Anniversary!!! April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OUTSTANDING STAFF We visit San Antonio twice a year for the last four years. It has been our experience to stay at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk each time. We are always welcome as family by the staff each time. I can go on on but it's better said that one can not find better accomodations elsewhere in San Antonio. Looking forward to our next trip for Christmas. In closing, the new appearance of the hotel is breathtaking. April 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfort Almost everything about our stay was superb. The biggest complaint we had was the lack of a mini-fridge or microwave in the room, even though their dresser unit was totally designed to house a fridge. It made the prospect of leftovers from the riverwalk not that great April 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was not very pleasant. Great location. Clean rooms. Wifi weak. Staff not too interested wether we stayed or not. We would stay there again. April 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautifully renovated We booked 2 separate rooms with king size beds and the sofa bed on Easter weekend. Checking in was very busy however was done very quickly. Our rooms were conveniently located right across from each other. One of our rooms had a beautiful view of the riverwalk the other had a nice view of the swimming pool. The inside of the hotel was very updated and beautiful as well as the rooms. They had a very modern look and the rooms got rid of the ugly carpet you would typically find in rooms. The only problem we ran into was one of our rooms didn't have extra pillows and blankets for the sofa bed that were suppose to be in the closet but as soon as we notified the staff it was brought up quickly. Also has easy access to the riverwalk you literally walk out the back door and theres even a elevator you can access from outside by the riverwalk that can take you directly to your floor which was great after a long day of walking all over. A draw back that my step father encountered when trying to relax in the room after a long day was they blocked out the Spurs game, apparently they do this so that you go spend more money to watch the game instead of staying in your room to watch it "free". Aside from that my family loved it and the kids loved it we will definitely be staying here again and recommending it to friends and other family members. Just be prepared for the expensive parking fee its about $20 to park your own car in the hotel garage or $26 for valet parking April 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facilities, poor service Overall it was an average experience. Hotel is recently renewed so facilities are confortamble and nice. Service at the restaurant is not a highlight. Staff at the restaurant was not very friendly and in ocassions seem to forget we were even there. Food quality was good though. April 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money Bathroom not cleaned and floor dirty. Called front desk and was put on hold for a very long time for cleaning the room. went down to desk and reported room not cleaned. When we check in no information was giving about the layout or directions for the hotel. April 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ready for guests again. Stayed here in the midst of construction in February and this hotel was a disaster. Now the construction is mainly complete and so I would say it is ready for guests again. There was still significant construction noise generated after daylight, but not sure where they were working and it was quiet at night. They should never have tried to stay open during construction. The people were in a much better mood this time and service was much improved also. April 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by riverwalk My wife and I brought our grandkids to San Antonio for sightseeing. Our stay at the Holiday Inn was fine. The staff which we interacted with were friendly and helpful. The dining staff at breakfast were very cordial and served us well. We did have difficulty with the housekeeping. We did not have enough towels in the room for four occupents and were not able to resolve that without daily intervention. Also the toilet essential were not stocked suffciently. March 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, but things need fixing there We stay for three days (a Sunday, Monday and Tuesday). Positive experiences with this location: 1) Great location and very convenient to a number of things you'll want to see 2) Very clean and has been updated recently. 3) Staff is very nice and tries to accommodate you in every way. Negative experiences with this location: 1) Had to park a block away because the garage was full, but that end up being half of what it would've cost to park in the hotel garage. Glad it was not raining. 2) TV did not work. Had to have maintenance come fix it. 3) AC unit fan would not stay on after the first night so it was deathly silent in our room so it was not easy to sleep. This was reported to the manager, but it wasn't fixed. 4) Make sure you don't have a room next to the elevators because with no AC unit running, you hear them going up and down at all hours of the night which kept us awake. 5) No working vents in the bathrooms. 6) Had trouble with housekeeping getting them to leave us more than two towels when we had four people in our room. 7) When you stay there, make sure they're not doing construction. One morning (around 6am) we were awoken by a nice loud jack-hammering sound resonating through the walls. The staff is really nice and works hard, but the room was not up to par so it gets a solid "one star" overall rating for this stay. The staff deserves a four or five star rating though, but the room experience brought the overall rating down being that we spent most of our time dealing with the room issues...not the staff. March 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Will not stay there again We are priority club members so we stay at Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express very often and usually have a great experience, but unfortunately not at this hotel. We were in town for a cheerleading competition this time. When I got to the hotel, before I even checked in, I was told the parking garage was full and I'd have to park down the block. I had to leave my keys with the staff to make sure I'd come back and move my car. When I was inside checking in, I saw one of the staff getting out of my car and lock it. I was not told they'd be getting in my car so this made me feel very uneasy. By the time I brought my children to the room, where I had to leave them unattended to move my car so I wasn't walking them around downtown San Antonio in the dark, I was told that the garage down the block was now full and I was going to have to move my car 2 blocks away. When I got to the garage, I had to pay $8 for the night, and when I left the next day, I had to pay another $9. So I paid $17 for parking when it was supposed to be included with my stay to park in the hotel garage. Also, the parking lot was full even though the hotel was not...I had to wait a while to check in because the one staff at the front desk was booking a reservation for that same night and informing him the parking lot was full. Also, we booked a room with 2 Queen beds, but when we got to our room, it was a King bed and a small uncomfortable pull out sofa bed. One of my children slept okay, but the other was very uncomfortable. My husband and I barely slept at all. The King bed was terribly uncomfortable although it is a new serta mattress, it is a low end quality, very hard with very little padding, very uncomfortable. The Pillows are very small and lumpy and not much to them, that was even worse than the mattress I think. I could hear the elevators moving up and down in the elevator shaft all night and early in the morning. I could hear guests in the hallway very late and starting at 6am. Overall it was just not a good experience for the Holiday Inns we are used to. March 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but a few minor issues Very nice modern hotel right off the Riverwalk. When I first arrived I was directed to check in, then I would have to drive my car down the street to another parking garage. Right after that one of the valets took a vehicle to the hotel garage and it kind of frustrated me. I know I'm only a gold rewards member but I like to believe my business is very sought after? The floor in my room was very aesthetically pleasing but left my socks pretty discolored. Liked the view and the room overall plus had a very short and pleasant stay. March 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by In construction, we were not notified prior to booking So we arrive to find that there is major re-construction happening, we struggled to find parking as the first three levels of the parking garage were taken up by construction equipment. When we came in the building we find the lobby had been moved to another level. -A makeshift lobby. We checked in and felt rushed, did not feel welcome. Our room was clean however we had four guests and not enough towels. The restroom does not have a vent. The floors were cold no, rugs. The elevators have covering on the walls with ply wood, they were in construction too but still functioning. The restaurant was not tempting enough to visit. We visited the bar for a drink but there were not enough sweet wine choices. The swimming pool although is heated, it is very small.. we couldnt even get in there were so many kids in there, same thing in the hot tub. When we left the hotel and came back the same day, there was a long line waiting for valet. There was only one valet, and he had the cars parked in the valet drop off area which made the rest of us with self park go around and go in through the exit area. Then they held us up at the gate, because a construction worker was waiting in fron of us and they didnt want to let him in anymore so they made us back up into the street so that the worker could back up into the street as well. Dissapointed, we paid full price for half the value. March 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by POLICE INTERVENTION FOR VALET NIGHTMARE What was supposed to be an enjoyable date night for my husband and me, turned into a nightmare. I attempted to check in while my husband parked the car (for a ridiculous fee- you shouldn't be charged to park yourself#...signs said office located on 7th floor, unfortunately if you don't take the right elevator you might end up in the parking garage or the kitchen #signs should mark the elevators). After finally locating the office I got our key, met up with my husband and we checked out our room. Room smelled like paint, but was expected as the hotel is under construction. Our room itself was nice, new, looked like it had never been used. We had a view of the river that I wish we could have enjoyed. We left the hotel to drive around downtown to check out the city. When we returned, we drove up to the valet area and noticed the parking garage bar up like someone had lifted it. We did not see a valet attendant so we honked, whistled and no one came out--as we did not want to be blamed for the damage to the property my husband got out of the car and tried looking for the valet attendant who still hadn't appeared #this is after waiting about 10-15 minutes in the car). Finally, the attendant came out from inside the hotel lobby area and charged my husband like a raging bull and accused him of breaking the parking garage bar. My husband and the attendant began a heated argument. After arguing for what seemed like forever the attendant called for security, security asked for my story and apparently didn't believe me either. The police were then called because the attendant felt "threatened" by my husband even though he was the one who had to be held back by security. To end the story security contacted hotel admin who said we had to leave, couldn't stay at the room we had paid good money for. Worst stay ever- and we've traveled ALOT. I would expect this kind of service from a low end hotel not from a nicer place. March 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by San Antonio Riverwalk Staff was very helpful in handling luggage and bringing vehicle around, The food in the restaurant was very good. We had dinner and breakfast there. The position of the AC ducts was not good. It was either blowing down from above or up from the registers on the floor. Poor design. When my wife opened up one of the wash cloths a couple of long black hairs fell out. Hair on the bedspreads, hair on the floor under the bathroom sinks. The internet was poor at best. Actually went across the street to Starbucks to access their WiFi to take care of some business. In summary, your 13 million renovation still has a way to go! March 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Valet and security I have stayed Three times at this location. And out of those three I have been treated wrong by both night shift security and the personnel at the night shift valet not saying all of the the ones working there. On fri night of our stay the valet guy gave us a hard time of where we were parked. We pulled up behind another vechicle no one was around that we could see and some young guy starts with us about where we are parked more so we had already checked in but he made an excuse with me about other people giveing him a hard time through the night which it has nothing to do with me. I was not drunk I don't drink and my thing is that some people need some people skills. There is a right way of talking to people who come in to the hotel and no need for being in a bad mood with the customers cause some one else did you wrong. I like coming here when I can get away from Fort Hood its a place to relax and enjoy myself. but not like that. security the same there should be signs to let you know if you need to pull up for them to see you because there were othere cars and SUV's there in the way. So if you have that person visible at all times so when someone pulls up they can then ask or tell them what that need or needs to be done. And thats with both. The rooms were awesome as well as the food and the service was great the people on the morning and early after noon shift were great this is why I keep coming back and keep telling others to stay at one of the holiday Inns in San Antonio if they can not get one then try another one. I tell all of my soldiers who are under my team to stay at a holiday Inn even the units that come in to train and have some time off I tell them about the holiday inns in San Antonio. not asking for special treatment just to be treated right and not disrespected because someone gave them a hard time I deal with that everyday when working with soldiers and more so when I was in Iraq no easy but I still have to be a professional. I want to say other then that everything else was great the rooms were like a very very nice and they were done with great taste Thank you all for your great service will be back again and will keep telling others to come and stay there. But please have a talk or send those people to some people skill classes if they don;t want to be there then they need to leave. Thanks again Holiday Inn staff you guys did a great job with the new work in the building the people that came to visit Texas for the first time were very impressed with the hotel they loved the room and the beds. they came from Michigan.. Thank You March 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Renovation taking place. Should have gone elsewhere. It is a great location but we were not aware the place was being renovated. i am sure it will be a stunning place when it is done. First thing that ticked me off was the construction, #2 the fact that I requested a river view room online and didnt get that, #3 there was no fridge in my room. March 23, 2013
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 next>>
We are excited to announce that this property completed an extensive renovation on 03/19/2013. In an effort to ensure that our guests have access to the most relevant reviews we have removed any reviews posted prior to the completion of this renovation. IHG has not in any way considered the rating of individual reviews, all reviews were removed prior to the date listed above to ensure that our guests have the most up to date, unbiased reviews from real guests who have completed a stay at our newly renovated property.