• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:14
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Portuguese
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Kennels within walking distance, 2 blocks of hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sport fishing & whale watching
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown San Diego
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Harbor and Dinner Cruises
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking available for $10 per day. Outdoor parking lot.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:291
  • Total number of suites:10
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:171
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:291
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:14
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1446

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new
View More

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new expansion includes a dramatic grand entrance, a contemporary lobby, 57 oversized rooms and suites, a new ballroom, and boardroom.

Our services and amenities, such as the Point Loma Cafe and full business center ensure seamless travel, and the our 10,000 square feet of meeting space is ideal for retreats, military reunions, small corporate conferences and business meetings. Guest rooms are engineered with relaxation at heart and efficiency in mind, including work desks and free high-speed wireless Internet.

The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located across the street from Point Loma Naval Base near a range of area businesses, and is a short drive from the San Diego Convention center and the airport. The hotel offers free 24-hour airport and cruise ship terminal shuttle service. Whether your trip to San Diego is for business or leisure, at the Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside a typical day is atypically refreshing.

View Less
Features
Planning a San Diego cruise? Our hotel offers complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 385 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property, problems, poor value and terrible parking. Overall the property and room was pretty nice. I booked a suite with whirlpool tub but the tub never worked for more than few minutes. I called twice but it was never fixed. I understand, I use to work in a hotel, it isn't an easy job. Even if the tub was working, I don't feel the hotel was good value considering. Yes it is near Old Town, but not walking distance. Parking was terrible, quite a few of spots underneath the hotel are labeled "Compact" and by compact they must mean Smart car. I was in a rental Hyundai Accent and my tires were touching the paint on both sides. Most people just gave up on trying to fit in a spot so they just took two compact spots. It is a little upsetting when you see four hotel vehicles taking up spots (some reserved for check in, others reserved for the shuttle). I understand one spot reserved for drop off and pickup, but the other vehicles could have easily parked on the street. The spots not labeled compact couldn't fit an small SUV. Hotels always forget to build enough parking for the rooms. Maybe they should restrict rooms to one vehicle per room. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk attendants very helpful. If they did not know the answer to our questions, they found out for us. The shuttle drivers were also very efficient and helpful. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff I enjoyed my stay at the hotel very much. I would definitely stay there again August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of fun On business a group of my colleagues stayed at another hotel and I was happy because I got a free, newspaper, breakfast, shuttle, safe parking, great customer service, early check-in and my clolleagues did not. I had an excellent time and a lot of it was because of the amenities and customer ervice of the staff. Great job San Diego!!! August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fast and friendly Check-in was fast, the room was good, breakfast was well stocked with lots of choices, and the staff were friendly. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for MCRD graduations We would recommend this hotel to any family visiting MCRD. When you are standing on the balcony you will get a beautiful view of the skyline, airport and MCRD (extra exciting if you haven't seen your Marine in three months)! Both shuttles were fast and friendly. When your Marine checks back in after Family Day, you can walk down the street to Old Town for some good eats and fun sites. Its a great location with a wonderful staff. They know their MCRD graduations! August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and clean, good location property. I have stayed here previously and love the location as it's easy to reach all of the San Diego things to do. always very clean and friendly staff. Breakfast staff was very nice and helpful. Dolores was a staff member we got chatting to in the breakfast area, she and her colleagues had everything stocked up very well. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome location for MCRD San Diego access We enjoyed our stay very much! Easy access to where we needed to be, beaches are a close drive away & old town was wonderful. Going back is a must! August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and good price. I stayed here recently during a trip taken for leisure. The hotel was nice and in good condition. The hotel is directly near the airport and an Amtrak train station but I was not disturbed by noise in the room. The room was in great condition with a comfortable bed and the bedding looked fairly new. The hotel staff was nice and helpful during my stay. The hotel also offered shuttle drop off and pick up to certain attractions in the area. The only complaint I had is that the air conditioner seemed to not stay on very long in the room but I am not sure if that was due to improper operation. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and comfortable My family came here for vacation and we all loved this hotel. First the service was consistently friendly. The two adjoining rooms had updated decor. Holiday Inn Express has consistently comfortable beds and wonderful soft pillows. Pool was warm and my kids loved it. Jacuzzi was perfect for me and my wife. Because this hotel was adjacent to the freeway I was afraid it would be noisy but it was quiet! This hotel is walking distance to old town freeway close. A real gem if you like a business class hotel with breakfast. Not a resort atmosphere but a hotel that hits all the essentials and more. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OK Experience Good experience. Very good shuttle service. Friendly staff. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I had a good time When I travel. I want a good bed, a clean bathroom, a clean floor, a good breakfast, a safe and clean parking space for my car. All of these I got at this site. I'm happy with that. Great job y'all. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Shuttle service to and from airport was excellent. Shuttle was also available to nearby attractions: zoo, Old Town, etc. so could get around without car. Noisy outside hotel as next to highway but sound did not filter into room with windows closed. Not very much parking if you did have a car. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing atmosphere nice clean swimming pool; great shuttle service;friendly staff August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Was met and greeted at the registration desk by name, welcomed and shown great customer service. Great job August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great friendly hotel.... upon arrival, staff is always welcoming. plus the shuttle is great to use, as there is always a friendly person/we had josh. it was perfect for us to go to old town. the hot tub we used, and its well maintained & very clean. this holiday inn express fit our needs perfectly, thanks again, & we'll be back..... :) :) August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking I choose this place because they offered parking while I flew out of town. They wanted me to turn over the keys of my new car I just bought, so they could move it in an emergency. I've never heard of this, people I polled on line never have heard of this either. I am a Holiday Inn Club member but when I stay in San Diego again it will not be here. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great all around I could not have asked for a better hotel to stay in. This is my second time staying in this hotel and whenever I go to San Diego this will be the only hotel I stay at. Staff was very pleasant, take care of any issues very quickly and efficiently. Breakfast options were delicious. Can't wait for my next visit to the area! August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for downtown but very close to the freeway Good Hotel overall with a great staff. The hotel is located about 25 feet from I-5 which can get loud at night. The Wifi was hit of miss in my room. I had to move next to the door to get a good signal. The parking garage works very well as it is has very easy access and is secure. Good hotel for a business traveler needing quick access to downtown. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and shuttle service This location is close to many of the San Diego attractions. With their multiple shuttle vans they make it very reasonable and convenient for people attending conferences and conventions. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room with comfortable beds and great service. We loved our stay at the Holiday Inn Airport-Old Town. The rooms were beautiful. The beds were comfortable. The shuttles got us everywhere we wanted to go. We only had to pay extra for a couple of places. The staff was friendly. We liked the breakfast and we liked the hours that they served breakfast. It was close to the Airport and to MCRD which is partly why we were there. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good price and good location to airport It 's good pilrice and good location near airport. And It's really good to have own convenient store inside. For dinner, I dont have togo away. It's really nice. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Old Town Good location, rooms are clean, and property is close to old town San Diego. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel!!! Great hotel, not all rooms were ready upon check in, but were ready within 5 mins after first 2 rooms were checked in. We had to come back down to the front desk to get the rest of our rooms. Communication issue with front desk and housekeeping. The staff was very helpful with planning our vacation days, sending us to local attractions, and assisting with transportation and restaurant suggestions. I would have liked to receive points for our stay considering the total amount of all four rooms for four days a each. I will definitely recommend this property to family and friends. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SD Retreat Loved the staff and the location of the hotel. I stay in HIE often for business and this is one of the best overall experiences I've had. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect weather and Air condition I had a great relaxing time. Just how I thought, the Jacuzzi was perfect and perfect time to check in as I acquired it. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego Old Town Experience A little over priced for looking at the freeway bot over all a nice place. The elevator was a bit in need of love. The staff very nice !! August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. . The location is convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. With the hotel shuttle and transit system we didn't need to rent a car. The hotel is nice and clean and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Good breakfast too! We will definitely be back! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet room/fantastic staff We were very pleased with our stay at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Old Town/Airport. The staff were wonderful. Our room was quiet. It was great. August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Could not sleep! I was on the top floor and I think there was an air conditioner unit or something over or very near my room. Every 20 minutes or so it would kick on and make a loud boom sound. I could not sleep much at all. But the worst part was that when I told the front desk, they just wanted to argue and tell me that there is nothing above my room, so nothing could be wrong. I didn't dream it for sure, I couldn't sleep. A simple apology would have been nice at least! August 12, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
We are pround to announce the opening of our new Bayside Building!
We are pround to announce the opening of our new Bayside Building!
Select to close.
We are pround to announce the opening of our new Bayside Building! Stunning new 'Intersections' sculpture outside of  the hotel lobby Take a stoll or a bike ride along the bayside path Lobby Area View of Pool featuring our original building Our stunning new lobby welcomes you in style. Aerial Shot with downtown San Diego background Aerial View, including Expansion Walk to dining and sport fishing marinas across from the hotel
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading