• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:14
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Portuguese
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Kennels within walking distance, 2 blocks of hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sport fishing & whale watching
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown San Diego
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Harbor and Dinner Cruises
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking available for $10 per day. Outdoor parking lot.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:291
  • Total number of suites:10
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:171
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:291
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:14
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1446

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new
View More

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new expansion includes a dramatic grand entrance, a contemporary lobby, 57 oversized rooms and suites, a new ballroom, and boardroom.

Our services and amenities, such as the Point Loma Cafe and full Business Center ensure seamless travel, and the our 10,000 square feet of meeting space is ideal for retreats, military reunions, small corporate conferences and business meetings. Guest rooms are engineered with relaxation at heart and efficiency in mind, including work desks and free high-speed wireless Internet.

The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located across the street from Point Loma Naval Base near a range of area businesses, and is a short drive from the San Diego Convention center and the airport. The hotel offers free 24-hour airport and cruise ship terminal shuttle service. Whether your trip to San Diego is for business or leisure, at the Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside a typical day is atypically refreshing.

View Less
Features
Planning a San Diego cruise? Our hotel offers complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 497 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by needs improvement Insane: Your electronic bathroom light goes on when one enters -- but never goes off. The front desk shrugs and says: "Some work well, others don't." In the middle of the night, one wants a nightlight, not 1,000 watts. And you insanely put a glass wall in the bathroom, guaranteeing that you awaken anyone else who happens to be asleep. Insane: Aim fan upward and at the room, not up to a plastic cover and into the desk. This was room 370. We stay their because our son lives less than a block away, but the last visit, we had a similar bath-light problem. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent in all respects This Holiday Inn Express at Old Town is a terrific choice for accommodations. I cannot fault the hotel in the slightest in any aspect. It is also located at a handy distance from Old Town shops and restaurants, and a free shuttle is available. The included breakfast has so many choices. You can't go wrong by staying here! August 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor location and layout. Overpriced. This hotel is named an airport location, but it is not anywhere near the entrance to the airport, nor near other airport hotels. This is located in industrial area between OldTown and the airport. The interior of the hotel is just renovated and fresh, but the the layout of the buildings creates less than secure feeling for the single traveler. Most rooms have access to ground level in this sketchy area. Some rooms are even located in basement off the underground, unmanned parking garage. The location and security were very disappointing. Worse, I paid a crazy amount for these unpleasant surroundings. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay! The staff here are very nice and accommodating. Whether it was picking us up at the rental car shop or driving us the airport at 5am, this hotel did all it could to help you out. The rooms are comfy and adorable. The man in charge of breakfast downstairs is really funny and personable. His recommendation of peanut butter on pancakes was great. The pool and hot tub are also really nice. I would definitely stay here again. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Geat service The hotel staff is truly amazing and Jose, Vangie and Kylene should be recognizes for their outstanding customer service, comforting attitude and steadfast commitment towards the hotel guest and accommodations. The corporation or management should properly commend these individuals for their longevity and dedicated service. The breakfast food is excellent, well stock, immediately available and hot. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service & comfort Great staff & very comfortable beds. Nice hotel and good breakfast. Great value. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Baja Adventure I stayed here twice during a workshop before and after our travel into Baja, Mexico. It is a surprising location perched on a hill in a residential neighborhood, but while exploring the area I realized how convenient the location was. I was able to walk to Old Town San Diego and could take the hotel shuttle to a variety of locations for entertainment (free). If you are looking for a hotel that is convenient to the airport and a variety of activities outside of a holiday weekend this is a good value. If you need a fancy pool and a resort atmosphere this is not the place. The highway is right next to the hotel and while I didn't hear anything while I slept it was something of a distraction sitting on the patio. What the hotel may lack in atmosphere it makes up for in service. The front desk people recommended GOOD restaurants, things to do, and even cab drivers. They fell over themselves to help and provide top notch service. They seemed to really like their job. I had two maintenance issues in my room and they were dealt with immediately. Breakfast each morning was remarkably good. They had a variety of fruit, yogurt, cereals, muffins, danish, and hot foods. Coffee is served all the time and they even have a buffet area where you can get your own serving plates and utensils if you order pizza. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a hidden gem! Well I was expecting the Holiday Inn Express in Old Town to be nice, it had good reviews on tripadvisor, but I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed my stay. The shuttle service is really convenient and all the drivers were really helpful. The location has a fantastic view from the rooms (and the hot tub!), i'll be honest, its next to a freeway but I didn't find the traffic noise disturbed me and our room was one of the closest to the freeway. You are about a mile from the old town transport depot, or if you just want to catch a trolley bus you are just up the hill from Washington St. The room was really lovely and spacious. We had lots of space and it was nicely decorated (and above all, spotlessly clean) and we had a microwave, tea/coffee facilities and a fridge/freezer. We were so busy during the day by the time we got back to the hotel, we were too tired to go out to eat, luckily the hotel has a 24/7 shop which sells yummy sandwiches, instant noodles, microwave sandwiches etc, as well as drinks, fruit, crisps and all sorts of things and we actually ended up eating from there every night! We had breakfast every morning in the breakfast room, the choice was pretty good, lots of different breads and juices and fruits. The only problem we had was that the toaster was a bit temperamental and we were not a lover of some of the cooked breakfast options, but that is personal taste. We will definitely be returning on our next trip to San Diego! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by West Coast Trip California and Oregon My wife and I took a trip to the West Coast, starting in San Diego, we drove 1,941 Miles to get to Oregon over a period of 9 days. Of course this was a lot to cover, but with pre-planning by my wife, we had a great time. We stayed at 9 different Holiday Inn/Holiday Inn Express Locations. This was a preplanned event from six months earlier. The stay in San Diego was absolutely great. The service was very friendly. "IT IS THE LITTLE THINGS THAT COUNT" Thank you all for the great memories! July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff and room! Very nice staff. Even though the A/C was very loud at first, then they changed it for me! They opened breakfast up 15 to 30 minutes early every day for me to get a bite to eat before going to work!! Awesome!!! July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience with Great Service I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express, San Diego Airport-Old Town if you must fly out of San Diego. Their "Park and Fly" option is the best! Not only do you have a comfortable and clean room to stay in before and/or after your trip, but you can park your car at the hotel at no additional charge AND free shuttle service to and from the airport is available. We were given a room upgrade during this stay. What a fabulous suite! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Typical Quality of a Holiday Inn Express/Always more than Sufficient The stay perfectly suited the need. I was here for work and was able to do that. This particular establishment was selected due to the shuttle service to the Conference Center, Old Town, Gas Lamp and the Airport. Of particular note was an employee behind the desk. I believe his name was Eila. I requested an early check in had he made sure that everything was ready for my arrival well before check in times. The shuttle staff was also very cordial and professional. Everyone was always quick to help and more that willing to go above and beyond. I made a point of letting the manager know as well. The only downside I could report on is the options and quality of the breakfast. Although it is typical of all the HIEs I've stayed I would like to see hot sauce provide and bigger pancakes. However, the breakfast provides what is needed to start a day and is complimentary; can't beat that. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The front desk, breakfast room, grounds keepers, and housekeeping were all fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel to family travelers for its location and service excellence. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old Town San Diego, CA Front desk lady was excellent. Very helpful and got me checked in very quickly. The hotel was close to the Washington Street Metro Station AND is walking distance from Old Town San Diego for shopping and eating. Be careful when crossing the street! There are a lot of tourist in the area that don't know their directions and I was hit by a SUV crossing the cross walk. Nothing Holiday Inn did wrong, just a general safety warning! My stay was excellent and I will be using this hotel again. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Courteous, helpful Staff Business travel close proximity to SAN; Friendly Staff both at check-in and check-out; checked out early in the morning so did not time for breakfast that is included in the room rate; room nicely appointed. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Very friendly service and especially the front desk accommodating our needs and the shuttle drivers. Overall I would recommend this place and see you next year : ) July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by July Vacation We stayed at the HIE - Airport-Old Town for four days, providing fun and care for our 7 year old grandson while his dad attended a conference. The hotel was clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful. We used the shuttle service several times to connect with the MTS trolleys and also to get to and from a day at Sea World. The shuttle staff was polite and helpful, suggesting sites and even making a dinner suggestion after our day at Sea World. Overall, our experience was excellent. The property is in an ideal location, between Old Town and downtown, near the airport and MCRD. We'll stay again on our next adventure in San Diego! Thanks for a great experience. July 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean but arrived early lest they give away your room Nice small hotel near San Airport, management did not honor a guaranteed reservation for a late arriving co-worker, nor properly respond to my complaint the next day. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Good value, convenient, free locked parking and breakfast. Close to interstate so noisy on the outside patio, hot tub area. Room was very quiet however July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and accomodating staff While you can surely spend more or less for a room I believe this hotel provides the best value. The staff was extremely accommodating. I have always had problems parking my long bed, 4 door, crew cab in the tight spaces you find all over San Diego. The staff moved their hotels vans for me every day to allow an easy access parking spot that didn't involve me walking several blocks. They were always asking us if we needed anything and if we were comfortable. We very much enjoyed our stay. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service I was in San Diego for business, so I had to find a hotel at a decent rate. This Holiday Inn Express did not disappoint. The room was very attractive and clean, and nice to spend time in. My only complaints are that as someone who is dedicated to his own fitness, the fitness room at this hotel only consisted of treadmills - there was no resistance training available - and the eggs that they served at breakfast were not enjoyable. The overall experience of my stay was very positive, though, and I would recommend this location to other travelers. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great People OK Rooms Typical hotel room for the Express brand - not bad for a good night sleep. Bathroom was showing age, poor lighting, slippery tub not pleasant. Staff was very helpful, friendly, explained about the area and got us exploring. July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just ok... Close to some fantastic shopping and restaurants with a free shuttle service... July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than typical HIE in service This hotel is off the beaten path in Old Town in San Diego; in fact, if you wish to go to Old Town its a good walk so they offer shuttle service. The hotel staff is more than ready and eager to please to provide your transportation needs and any other needs you may have. I took the shuttle to Old Town and walked back (needed the exercise) and it was not bad, although a little warm. It is near to the airport and if you ask for a room away from the freeway that runs next to it, you don't hear the traffic. I would definitely stay again. Great underground secure parking at no charge! July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business stay Very worthwhile stay. The staff was especially helpful, the bed comfortable, and amenities in the bathroom were a nice touch. The only problem was not being able to connect to my business server from the room (no problem with public internet). Very close to my business appointments and close to Old Town where I like to eat at night. Parking was free and enclosed. I took advantage of the breakfast each morning, which helped me each morning to get started. The food was very good, as was the coffee. I also used the business center to check my airline reservations (no wait to use the computer). A good stay. Thanks! July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff made the visit worth it I arrived on the evening of July 8th only to discover that the reservation I made where for the Holiday Inn Express downtown and not the Airport location. I wish I could remember HER name but she went out of her way to help me fix my mistake. With her assistance the downtown location allowed me to change my reservation from there to the airport location with no fee. Furthermore she provided great advice on the local restaurants close by the hotel. Both her and her colleague that work that evening were great! Having great staff is important and the management at the Holiday Inn Express here got it right! Thanks July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved being near Old Town San Diego Great staff! Allowed early check-in! We enjoyed coming back to our room every night we were in town! July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! I enjoyed my stay at this location. The staff was excellent, especially Elia, a very professional and charming gentleman who took the extra time to make sure I was informed of all that they had to offer and the local area attractions He answered all of my questions without seeming hurried or rushed. That said, all of the staff I had contact with was very nice and helpful. The rooms are nice and the parking is free, as well as the WiFi and a real breakfast every morning. I would definitely stay here anytime I need a hotel, and I would recommend it to my friends and family. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The hotel has a great staff, all are friendly and helpful. The hotel is easy access to all points in San Diego and has great restaurants in the area. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location My wife & I enjoyed our stay. Location is close to Old Town and the staff was very accommodating. They drove us to Old Town and picked us up. July 9, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 next>>
Bayfront property adjacent to the marina, minutes from the airport
Bayfront property adjacent to the marina, minutes from the airport
Select to close.
Bayfront property adjacent to the marina, minutes from the airport Stunning new 'Intersections' sculpture outside of  the hotel lobby Take a stoll or a bike ride along the bayside path Lobby Area View of Pool featuring our original building Our stunning new lobby welcomes you in style. Aerial Shot with downtown San Diego background Aerial View, including Expansion Walk to dining and sport fishing marinas across from the hotel
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading