• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:14
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Portuguese
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Kennels within walking distance, 2 blocks of hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sport fishing & whale watching
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown San Diego
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Harbor and Dinner Cruises
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking available for $10 per day. Outdoor parking lot.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:291
  • Total number of suites:10
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:171
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:291
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:14
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1446

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new
View More

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new expansion includes a dramatic grand entrance, a contemporary lobby, 57 oversized rooms and suites, a new ballroom, and boardroom.

Our services and amenities, such as the Point Loma Cafe and full business center ensure seamless travel, and the our 10,000 square feet of meeting space is ideal for retreats, military reunions, small corporate conferences and business meetings. Guest rooms are engineered with relaxation at heart and efficiency in mind, including work desks and free high-speed wireless Internet.

The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located across the street from Point Loma Naval Base near a range of area businesses, and is a short drive from the San Diego Convention center and the airport. The hotel offers free 24-hour airport and cruise ship terminal shuttle service. Whether your trip to San Diego is for business or leisure, at the Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside a typical day is atypically refreshing.

View Less
Features
Planning a San Diego cruise? Our hotel offers complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 472 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast bar The only problem I have with this and all Holiday Inn Express hotels is that I can not eat the breakfast as there are no gluten free alternatives and I am celiac. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Property We have stayed at this property in the past and it has always be a great experience. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The pantry is well stocked with a wide variety of food selections. Our room was very clean and comfortable as were all common areas. We very much enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It contained a large variety of brekfast items. The fresh coffee was the best. We will stay at this property again when in the area. June 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor facility GREAT staff The staff at this property were VERY good....loved them. The property however.....the ironing boards with ATTACHED iron and holder would keep me from staying at any property that has this if i know ahead of time. The floor above our room 'creaked'...this was also noticeable to the rooms on either side of us #2 of our children#. The TV & microwave were rather archaic. I am basing this review on the fact that I stay at a Holiday Inn property #usually HIEX# virtually every week and this was one of the poorer ones. BUT, ONCE AGAIN, the staff were phenomenal!! June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego Stay We had a very nice stay at Old Town Holiday Inn Express. It was very convenient to I-5 and Old Town. It would have been a little quieter if our room was on the north side of the building. The highway side was a little loud when there was a passing semi or loud motorcycle. As my daughter pointed out, it all ended up being "white noise" after a while. Everything else was just fine. We would stay there again. June 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Prima Hotel für Aufenthalt in San Diego Zentrales Mittelklassehotel mit gutem Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Leider Probleme mit Internetzugang, Verbindung wurde immer wieder getrennt. Sonst aber alles ok. June 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too noisy Even staying on the side of the hotel away from the highway, I could still hear the highway noise through the seams of the floor and wall from the parking garage the floor below! Also, the AC does not stay continuously on so you will hear outside noise every time it shuts off. The staff was nice though. Wouldn't recommend if you are affected by outside room noise. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pre Cruise Hotel Stayed here 2 nights before our cruise. Picked up at the airport and shuttled to hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. We were within walking distance to Old Town and used the shuttle to the San Diego Zoo and back. Would definitely stay here again, the next time we are in San Diego. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect, as always. Everything is easy and pleasant, from check in to check out. Hotel clerks are accommodating and personable- Jose and Josh are usually the ones to greet us and handle our check in. In the morning, Vangie and Kylene send us on our way with a smile. All four remember us from trip to trip and that is much appreciated and makes us feel welcome. Dolores is wonderful with the breakfast. The change in eggs is not to our liking- there used to be plain scrambled eggs and also hard-boiled eggs. Now there are mini egg and Velveeta cheese omelets, only. Despite the fairly new breakfast menu, HIEOT is always our hotel of choice in San Diego. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stress-free before a race? Yes! I would like to thank the staff at the Holiday Inn Express for making our stay very comfortable and stress-free. I've done a couple of races in San Diego, (Rock 'N Roll San Diego and the Hot Chocolate Race) and both times I've stayed here at this hotel. I've stayed with my family and my brother's family. The shuttle drivers were outstanding in driving us to Old Town, the starting line and picking us up, when we got off at the wrong stop. I know they are not suppose to pick us up, but the driver recognized the entire family on the wrong street and pulled over. I will continue to run my races and will continue to make reservations at this hotel. From management, to the staff in the lobby, to the kitchen staff and the shuttle drivers, they are polite and accommodating. Thank you. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Clean and comfortable. Safe and secure parking as well as being close to everything that I needed.. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Staff was helpful and very friendly. They let us know about all services available to us, such as transportation to eating facilities and local sights. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great experience WE WANT TO THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR STAY A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. WE DO A LOT OF TRAVELING AND WE WANT YOU TO KNOW HOW WONDERFUL YOUR ENTIRE STAFF IS. WE DIDN'T MEET ONE THAT DIDN'T HAVE A SMILE AND SOMETHING NICE TO SAY. WE THINK THAT YOU ALREADY KNEW THAT BUT WE WANTED YOU TO HERE IT FROM US. JOEL AND JOELLE May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Find! Our one-night stay at Holiday Inn Express in San Diego (Airpot/Old Town) was wonderful. We had made reservations, but when we disembarked from our cruise ship, it was still early in the morning. We called the hotel to ask if they would let us take our luggage there even though it would be hours before check-in time. Without hesitation, they told us that our room would be ready. They sent a courtesy van to pick us up at the port, and as promised, our room--clean and comfortable (great bed and great shower)--was ready. Next, the courtesy van took us to Old Town, and the driver gave us his card so we could call for our return to the hotel. The next morning, we had an early flight out, and the courtesy car was there to take us to the airport at 4:30 A.M. We still can hardly believe the wonderful experience . Such friendly staff, clean environment, great location, great rate and true customer service are not common in travel today. Did I mention their beautiful pool and patio? We will certainly stay there again when we visit San Diego. We recommend it highly! May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI Express-Old Town Spent a week at this hotel. Centrally located to SD Old and not too far from SD Zoo and Balboa Park. Only weak point is the garage parking: very tight and limited space but it is free. We will stay at this HI Express next visit to SD April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My room not availabe upon checkin Although the mgt. think they did good by putting us in a King Suite and a huge nice Whirlpool spa tub....that does not compensate for 3 women traveling who have never even traveled together much less sleep in same room/bed. So in rolls the Roll away bed, (not what I had in mind for 2 nights) and third person in living room on sofa bed. Would have been nice if we would have been a family traveling or a couple.....but when three adult women expecting two separate bedrooms and a living room to separate, it doesn't quiet cut it. Although room was very nice and there was one good point of an extra bathroom...as the other suite bathroom was open and no one chose to take shower or luxury spa bath....with an invasion of privacy or someone having to leave the room until they finished and sit in the living room with the other person on their sofa bed. LOL....very disappointing...and I don't think the supposed 5000 points compensation even covered the inconvenience. Should at least have been given 2 free nights!...as that is how many I had to stay in king room with a roll away bed with 2 adult ladies…RIDICULOUS…and not a comfortable setting. Also, I was told two different reasons why I couldn't be given the reserved room. The so very nice man I was checking in with was very apologetic after I realized I was not getting room. However, he said they had given room to someone else. How can they do that when you had I reserved and prepaid....not understanding! He offered me some ridiculous small discount which I didn't accept and asked to speak to mgt in the morning. By morning the manager told me that someone had left baggage in room and the couldn't remove as they may be planning to stay. Neither one of these reasons satisfy me! Hmmmm, wonder which story was the truth! April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable overnight stay We stayed at the hotel only one night at the end of a cruise. The hotel staff was very friendly; the room was large and comfortable and very clean. Morning breakfast was great. Overall pleasant stay. Hghly recommend this hotel. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient to airport nice, clean hotel. the staff was very friendly. excellent shuttle service to san diego international airport. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent three-night stay, Holiday Inn Express - Airport/Old Town We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at this hotel. Despite its proximity to the airport, we didn't hear a single take-off or landing. Although I-5 is right outside the hotel, we only had to contend with vehicle noise while sitting on the patio, particularly during the evening rush hour. Otherwise, this is a very soundproof hotel. All staff were courteous and respectful. We loved the variety of shuttle services provided and, despite a few "longish" waits, we were able to take in all desired local attractions within the hotel shuttle service area. Shuttle drivers, Fernando in particular, were great and very congenial. The breakfast staff were very efficient and kept the service area fully stocked with a welcome variety of hot and cold dishes. We can certainly recommend this property and its services, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if and when we get back to beautiful San Diego. Bob and Joy, Sherwood Park, AB Canada April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! We have stayed here 4 times now in the last year as it is close to the airport. They have a shuttle service that runs 5 AM until midnight which many hotels don't go that late. Their shuttles will also drop you at nearby Old Town for dining or you can walk there in under 15 min. Hotel staff is very cordial and makes you feel welcome. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is very good and served in a large room so you don't feel crowded. We will definitely stay here again when we are in town. April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful. We were allowed to check in early, which was great because we were so tired. The room was clean and comfortable. Every question we had was answered by the staff, and they even showed us on a map how to get to where we wanted to go. Anytime we stay in San Diego again, I will definitely want to stay here. April 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Price/Bad Customer Service I just returned from vacation with my boyfriend; it was our first vacation together so we were very excited! Our room was very clean and the breakfast was good, but that is were the positives end for us. The front desk staff were not friendly. We found them to be very rude and short with us. When we first arrived and asked about shuttles they told us to get a taxi or rent a car. Those two options would have been VERY expensive! On our own we found the city bus and trolley station. We found that for $5 a day it took us to all of the places we wanted to go! IT WAS WONDERFUL!!!!!! Everytime we wanted to take a shuttle, they would give us a wait time and it was always at least 10 mins more. And one night we called to be picked up at their one shuttle location and it look 45 mins after we were told 20. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay and Location My wife and I stayed for 4 days. The room was clean, great location, and overlooking the pool. the bus service to and from the airport was the reason we booked with this place, and it was an excellent incentive, The front staff was helpful and pleasant, Though we asked them if we needed a passport for a visit to TJ, two staff members said "no". thats not true. Everybody needs a passport to re-enter the country, we found out. The breakfast was good. Plentiful and fresh. We don't have one complaint about this great free service IHG provides. One thing I think that needs to be corrected , is the van drivers shouldn't be texting or talking on the phone while they bus guests to and from destinations. Its still against the law and our driver was on the phone the whole trip to the airport. But I'd book with them again and have joined their rewards club. Thank you for a great stay. April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay, great staff. My husband accompanied me in a trip for a conference, and we had some extra time to explore San Deigo. I really appreciated the shuttles to the convention center, zoo, and airport. We did not rent a car, but utilized the nearby trolley in addition to car service, so getting around the city was easy. We enjoyed walking to and from Old Town. Breakfast was appreciated. It's nice to have a number of hot options. The cinnamon rolls are delicious! The hot tub was enjoyable. We had a room facing San Deigo ave, but I can imagine that the rooms on the other side of the building. The fitness center is very small with 3 pieces of cardio equipment; my husband was disappointed by the lack of weights. All in all, would be happy to stay here again. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service Our stay was short but very comfortable. Very nice room and breakfast. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great job! Thanks for your service We stayed a night and left our car on your stay and park package. You were very prompt in taking us to the airport and picking us up at the cruise terminal. We really appreciated that. Thanks for the great job! April 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DON'T MISS THIS ONE! A GREAT hotel with a GREAT staff. Quiet, comfortable room. Good Breakfast. Walking distance (or will shuttle) to Old Town, shopping, dining, etc. Safe area to stay and to walk. Staff is always there for you ... helpful, courteous - the best! Front Desk personnel Juan, Vangie, and Josh were "above and beyond", as were all the shuttle drivers we had. They will shuttle you to and from most reasonable destinations as well as the Airport and Cruise Ship Terminal. They have some discount coupons for dining locations. We stayed twice on this last trip (first for 2 nights) then a month later for 1 night. Both times were great with not one complaint! We had a great time with them and will definitely recommend them and return again. March 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extra friendly service We arrived at 1am and there had been a mistake in booking resulting in no room available at this property for our weary family. Alexander solved our problem promptly by booking us in a nearby hotel for the night where we were treated like royalty. Again, this was in the middle of the night! Alexander then went on to insure the booking was corrected and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The entire staff was kind, the property is very clean. It is close to the freeway and airport but the noise was not an issue. We were in town to attend the family day and Marine graduation ceremony at the nearby MCRD and the hotel shuttle was a great way to get back and forth. Wonderful experience! March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Park and Fly I was greeted by friendly staff and was given all the details about park and stay. This is fabulous. Besides a great deal on parking, the proximity to the San Diego Airport (going and being picked up), was remarkable. I love the pillows, the bed, and the towels. The food was good and was continually stocked to keep it fresh. When I returned from my trip I was greeted with just as much enthusiasm as when I initially arrived even though I did not stay the night. They fixed a fresh pot of coffee for me so we could have a cup on out way home and even included a bag of snacks and bottled water. March 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay away The hotel is on the side of a highway. All you hear is cars, trucks, and buses non stop. You won't get much sleep here. Also, the hotel is in a state of disrepair. The TVs are all grainy and they seem ok with that. March 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and quiet a few blocks from Old Town The Room was nice and clean. The only "Con" was the uncomfortable Mattress :/. Other then that, I would still come back to this Holiday Inn Express. Only a few blocks from Old Town. March 13, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17 next>>
Bayfront property adjacent to the marina, minutes from the airport
Bayfront property adjacent to the marina, minutes from the airport
Select to close.
Bayfront property adjacent to the marina, minutes from the airport Stunning new 'Intersections' sculpture outside of  the hotel lobby Take a stoll or a bike ride along the bayside path Lobby Area View of Pool featuring our original building Our stunning new lobby welcomes you in style. Aerial Shot with downtown San Diego background Aerial View, including Expansion Walk to dining and sport fishing marinas across from the hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading