• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:14
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Portuguese
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Kennels within walking distance, 2 blocks of hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Downtown San Diego
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Sport fishing & whale watching
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Harbor and Dinner Cruises
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Horton Plaza
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking available for $10 per day. Outdoor parking lot.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:291
  • Total number of suites:10
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:171
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:291
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:14
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1446

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new
View More

Unpack, and enjoy San Diego at this bay front hotel near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and beaches. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located in Point Loma, walking distance of restaurants, sport fishing and whale watching marinas. Borrow a bicycle, stroll the bayside walking path, or unwind at our tropical pool area.

Our striking Bayside Building, with its subtle nod to the nautical, is reminiscent of the bow of a ship with graceful curves and contemporary, intricate designs. The new expansion includes a dramatic grand entrance, a contemporary lobby, 57 oversized rooms and suites, a new ballroom, and boardroom.

Our services and amenities, such as the Point Loma Cafe and full business center ensure seamless travel, and the our 10,000 square feet of meeting space is ideal for retreats, military reunions, small corporate conferences and business meetings. Guest rooms are engineered with relaxation at heart and efficiency in mind, including work desks and free high-speed wireless Internet.

The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is located across the street from Point Loma Naval Base near a range of area businesses, and is a short drive from the San Diego Convention center and the airport. The hotel offers free 24-hour airport and cruise ship terminal shuttle service. Whether your trip to San Diego is for business or leisure, at the Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside a typical day is atypically refreshing.

View Less
Features
Planning a San Diego cruise? Our hotel offers complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 330 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn express-Old Town MY husband and I always stay at this particular Holiday inn express, perfect location to airport and old town. We love to stay here; the staff go far and beyond to be kind, and helpful. We love the staff, the rooms are beyond perfect. We are priority club members, but when we weren't, we still were treated wonderfully. we travel a lot, and have stayed in a variety of hotels, but none like this one. We look forward to staying there again and again. Love it!!!!! June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old Town I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Our room was along the highway but the traffic noise was barely noticeable. The room had an inner window and an outer one which eliminated almost all of the noise. The walk to Old Town shops was only about 5-6 blocks and did not feel unsafe at any point during the walk. Only issue was the parking area for check in is cramped but your not there long so it's not a big issue. June 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location excellent rooms and breakfast but the shuttle from the airport took 50 minutes for pick up . not acceptable as we had 2 children with June 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Stay in Old Town The staff at this hotel went above and beyond to make our first visit to San Diego a pleasure. They provided directions, dining recommendations, and offered excellent shuttle service. The location was very convenient to Old Town and to the trolley. Very happy with our stay and will definitely be back! June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel hotel provides free shuttle to and from the airport, which is really convenient. the room is nice, shower was great. great hospitality. June 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great and convenient place to stay Hotel room was clean and comfortable. All of the staff was great and it was nice to have the hot breakfast. Great location, too, for getting all around San Diego. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful and helpful staff! Was a very enjoyable stay. I especially liked the staff and their willingness to help me get to the airport on time when I miss read my departure time and their willingness to provide some morning food when we had to leave before 6 am serving time. June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Staff We were in town for our son's graduation from MCRD. The staff was wonderful!! Everyone was very helpful and provided us with great recommendations for resturants, attractions, and transportation. The transportation staff (especially Fernando and George# were awesome! They both ensured each passenger entering the Base knew what to expect and what to do #or not) in order to quickly get through security and to our loved ones. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay here again when in San Diego and definitely will recommend to other parents and family of graduates from MRCD. Rooms were very comfortable and housekeeping did a great job providing us with extra blankets to take to graduation due to the cool mornings we were experiencing. Above and beyond in service! OOORAH! June 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything in San Diego Nice overall hotel. Staff and personnel are very helpful and kind. Rooms are excellent. Surrounding area is not most favorable, but close to freeway. Plenty of parking but compact June 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Party on, not! We arrived to find a clean, spacious room. Like in many hotels we could hear the voices of our neighbours but no problem. No problem that is until we returned after our baseball game and could hear louder voices. The noise continued with people coming and going, talking, arguing, and shouting in the corridors. Surely they would tire eventually. At about 1am my son called the front desk to ask them to take some action. At 4am he called again. We had a long travelling day ahead and had to tackle it on virtually no sleep. Disappointing for a Holiday Inn is a mild appraisal! June 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Its a nice hotel near to downtown... room facilities are good June 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We could not have asked for any better service. They were wonderful. They took us anywhere we wanted to go, and explained to us about the different ways to get about in the city. I love the location. We could walk anywhere to eat and browse. I would stay there again if I am in San Diego. I loved San Diego. Gail Mullinax May 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by exceptional desk check in staff, and drivers. Great location. Wish I had not rented a car as they provide transportation to and from all my tourist destinations. - airport, Balboa park, Old Town, and Zoo. Very friendly staff. Good recommendations for local restaurants. knowledgeable about area. May 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Old Town We live near LA and make a yearly trip to SD to watch The Cardianls play the Padres. Every year we stay in a different motel hoping to find a reasonably prices place that we both enjoy. I think we finally have one in Old Town Holiday Inn Express. Room was nice and quiet. Luckily it didn't face the I5. Not sure if those would be as nice. Room was nice and clean and breakfast was very good. All the bacon you can eat is always a plus. And the Cardinals won both games so it was a great trip. May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our Stay First of all, Josh and Jose at the front desk were very welcoming and friendly, but still professional. The room was clean and nicely decorated. We even had a slight view of water (if you looked carefully). It was nice to know there was a 24-hour store by the front desk in case you might need aspirin, bottled water, or a candy bar in the middle of the night! Some guests that came in after midnight, obviously tipsy, were quickly quieted by whoever was manning the desk at that time (much appreciated!). My only complaint is the parking. There were way too many cars for the number of parking places which resulted in at least a half a dozen cars parking along the wall in the underground parking. Since these cars were directly behind the space where I was parked, it was quite a hassle getting my car out the nest morning. I don't know if such parking is permitted or not. There were no signs to say "no parking" but also no white lines to indicate parking was permitted. It was an unfortunate final impression of our stay. I would stay there again, but would be more careful where I parked to avoid having those late-comers park directly behind me. May 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The front desk was very friendly and welcoming! Room was very hot on arrival took several minutes to cool down. But overall everything was great that I used at hotel! Manager took me in her car to airport. Thank you for your service. May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Return Home We chose this location because it was close to the airport and we were flying home early on Saturday morning. Our room was wonderful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We are planning a vacation to the San DIego area next year and will strongly consider this motel once we establish its proximity to the things we want to do. I was afraid of a noiisy room because of the expressway but we were on the other side and did not hear a peep all night long. Thanks. May 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Classic California Motel Perfect example of a classic California Motel with modern amenities. Friendly checkin staff, nice sized breakfast room with plenty of tables and full food, comfy bed, and clean spacious bathroom. One of the advantages of being a Platinum Elite member, we were upgraded to the Jacuzzi suite in the hotel. That bathtub was nice! My only complaint, if I could have one, was that the hot tub and the pool were on different parts of the hotel patio, separated by a wing of the hotel. The pool towels were at the pool, not in the hot tub. So, walk down to get a towel, then walk back to the hot tub. Such a first world problem. I would definitely return. May 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean updated rooms Like the fact that Free Parking, Shuttle, Breakfast, and Wi-Fi offered. Many other hotels charge for each. May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Multiple Stays Arrived at SAN airport and called for shuttle. It arrived in about 15 minutes; taking me promptly to hotel after one quick stop to deliver another guest to the train station. Room was ready, convenient and very clean. Very friendly and helpful desk clerks. Described local restaurant options. Walked to nearby Pub for light meal. Next morning shuttle delivered me to cruise terminal for departure on a 4-day coastal cruise. Upon return, shuttle came to pier and transported me back to hotel for another stay. That evening the shuttle took me to & from dinner in Old Town. Following morning the shuttle took me to the airport for a flight to Honolulu. My return from HI was on another cruise ship; with arrival in Ensanada (then bus to airport). Departing flight was following day; so I again was picked up by shuttle for my third night at the Holiday InnI Express. As expected, I was returned to the airport the next day for my flight to PDX. Every emloyee was gracious, friendly and efficient. Both of the shuttle drivers were very friendly. They gave a mini-tour pointing out restaurants nearby. Each assisted with boarding the van and with handling the luggage. (I have some physical limitations which were accommodated without question.) Definitely would recommend this hotel. I am booked there again in October (following another cruise). May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service and value excellent service, value, location and amenities. a/c was a little loud, but overall great experience May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful Staff The staff was so helpful and friendly. Especially appreciated the shuttle to areas. Will definitely return to this hotel. May 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and close to most areas nice hotel - friendly staff, rooms a bit small compared to other properties, but clean and quiet. May 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best staff Upon check in particularly but also throughout stay front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful and informative about hotel and Old Town neighborhood Resturant and bar options. It is not often that entire staff from the young man and Asian lady at check in, shuttle driver Alex, breakfast room attendant and cleaning staff were all positive and seemed to want guests to enjoy stay. Incredible teamwork and enthusiasm. Thank you! May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Everyone was so nice and helpful. We will continue to stay here whenever we are in San Diego. May 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by cinco de Mayo weekend We stayed in Old San Diego because events downtown caused all of the Harbor hotels to be full. This particular weekend was busy all over. We were able to walk to Cinco de Mayo Festivities on Saturday night. - quite fun. Unfortunately for us, Sunday night it rained so we chose not to attend festivities. That weekend it was a bit of a hassel getting to and from the hotel and to and from Old Town because of Festival traffic. Sunday we left during the day and when we returned to the hotel around 4 p.m. or after, our room was still not tended to so we had to alert the front desk and had to wait for 30 minutes or more in the lobby until it was cleaned. Just a little inconvenient - they did have the whole day to clean the room. It was a little pricey - well over 400 for 2 nights. Would we stay there again? I don't know, it's a flip of a coin...only if we had to. May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff A very busy celebration weekend in San Diego and the staff were genuinely engaged with their clients . May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Hotel This was our second stay and again a good experience - clean, comfortable room, and friendly service. There are great restaurant choices at Old Town, a 20-minute walk away, and nearby Shakespeare's Pub has good comfort food. We love San Diego, and this hotel is a good value choice for those who don't mind being a bit away from the town centre. We catch the nearby Metro train downtown (a short walk to the Metro, and a few stops into downtown) as we like experiencing the city like a local. Despite being next to the freeway, traffic noise was seldom an issue for us. We will gladly stay in future! May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good value close to all things San Diego Room 315 The front desk was very friendly, we even checked in in a bit early. Since I was a Gold Priority Club Member, they gave us a small bag on check in which had a bottle water, a granola bar and a bag of chips ). Parking can be a bit tight if you drive a tall vehicle or a long vehicle ( I drive a 2006 tundra access cab and it just clears the under ground parking ), even then maneuvering into the parking stalls can be a bit tight. There are only is so much topside parking, maybe 28 spots. There is no restaurant located next door.. There is a Irish Pub up the street and a small Mexican take out food place as well, and Old Town with it's many Mexican restaurants is up the street a bit more. We however never went there, instead we drove around ( not even using Yelp! ) and tried our luck. We found a good Pho place and an excellent Thai place ( Antique Thai, with the Pho place close by, both off of Rosecrans and Midway ) The hotel is by itself, that is there are no other hotels next to it. This lends itself to be quiet since you generally have traffic when you are next to other hotels. I have been to more than one HI Express where they tend to buy or construct them like this, semi isolated from other hotels Our room was on the frontside, so freeway noise was not an issue. The room AC worked fine and cooled the room down well. WiFi was amazingly quick, either not many people were on or they had better bandwidth allocation, ans I usually prefer to hardwire where available for better speed and security. The hotel is close to Old Town with a free shuttle service ( though we did not take advantage of it ). The bathroom tub is a porcelain steel tub and shallow at 12" deep. It also flex a bit on the bottom due to not enough grouting when they set the tub. It made a rumbling / popping noise as you showered since you move a bit and flexed the bottom. Water pressure was good and the shower head made it feel like you were using a non restricted shower head. Temperature was fine as well. The exhaust fan for the bathroom was under powered and could not prevent the mirror from steaming up. There is no light over the shower. So when you draw the shower curtain, even though it's a semi translucent white one, it can get a bit dim in the shower. The shower walls were done in a faux travertine tile ( it's really porcelain ) but the floor was travertine. Both were spaced about 1/4" plus apart. The shower has somewhat color matched caulking at the base, and it was not too good of a job at that ( yeah I used to do stone and tile work for 14 plus years, so I tend to notice these things ). The vanity counter top was a a nice granite ( it looked like Icon Brown ) . The faucet was a bit small ( in my opinion ) and I am sure the cleaning service hates cleaning it as the nooks and crannies gather mineral deposits over time. The water felt like was water softened. The towels were nice and white and soft. It did have the dubious small one shot single serve coffer make in the bathroom. I could help at think of the recent commercials for another chain as I started singing " We're not going to take it.. " in the bathroom. There is no carafe,so you can't make a small pot of coffee to share. It is a bit slow to get one cup going. Walking in the unit will make a bit of floor flexing if you have heavy feet and you will feel it. I think this was not originally a HI Express hotel ( google maps has the old sign at the freeway as a something else ) but one they bought and remodeled to their spec, so the sub floor construction is what it is and hence why you get a little bit of bounce if you walk heavy on the floor The room Decor was a nice, with black granite tops on the night stands, the TV / refridge / microwave / dresser cabinet. Though the door that hid the small Avanti refrige was hinged to the left, but the door on the Avanti was hinged to the right, so you have to fully open the door at least 90 degrees to open the Avanti fridge. not an big issue, but some one at the design stage missed that one. The microwave was visible, small ( also an Avanti ), but we never tried it, so I do not know how powerful it was. The entry closet had an iron, and ironing board and a small digital safe. along with some hangers. The TV did not look modern, even though it was a LCD ( LED ? ), silver in color, LG with a pretty big frame. Still the picture quality on the digital channels was good ( Hi Def ), it was ok on the analog channels. You got free HBO and enough local channels to keep you entertained. There are no gaming hook ups like in other HI Express ( Salinas!!! ) hotels. The 4 lamps were modern looking, and fit the modern decor of the room. All the 3 desk lamps had 2 simplex outlets at the base for hooking up chargers and what not and we took full advantage of them. The room had decorative drapes ( fixed ) and window shear and no curtains ( unlike the Salinas HI Express ). There are apartments across the street, so privacy at night with lights on and the TV running can be an issue. There is not much light pollution coming from the street that when you do turn off the lights and TV , you can't get to sleep. I prefer a darkend room, but I had no trouble getting to sleep. The bed ( Queen ) was comfortable with 4 pillows. I slept good on it. We had the free breakfast one morning down stairs. You know the drill by now, scrambled folded eggs with cheese, bacon sausage link, a the slow pancake machine, the coffee, the cereal, the bananas..all of it self serve, hey it's free, it not too bad and it works for me. The hot tub is up front by the entrance to the underground parking , between the 2 main buildings. It does has privacy from the street, there is a open patio are between the 2 buildings, but the constant freeway noise pretty much makes the patio not very useable the lobby entrance is on the left of the underground entrance. I did not try either the hot tub nor the pool which is located to the far right , away from the hot tub. Which makes no sense. hot tubs are always grouped together with pools, this is Hotel 101 basic design rules. Being right next to the freeway, the open supporting columns along the perimeter of the under ground parking all have iron bars to keep people out, as there are transients in the area, so you car is pretty secure ( you need the room key swiped at the under ground entrance to even get in and from the garage to access the elevators ) . The front desk does have quite a few monitors with quite a few camera feeds to see the property pretty well covered, still common sense is that you do not leave valuables in the car. There was one outside gate access left open ( from the underground parking to the laundry room for the hotel ) and when I cam in for the night is was still left open. It's only a slight hop over the chain link fence from the free way to the hotel under ground garage parking section. I like to say if you have stayed in one HI Express you have stayed in them all, this is not true, all of them have there own "personalities", with the Salinas, CA one being my favorite, hotel wise ( not location wise ). This one is what I would rate as comfortable, a good value. You are close enough to downtown, the airport, Old Town, so it fits my objective as a base to drive out in all directions with minimal drive time. It does not feel like a really polished hotel in a better area, but a remodeled hotel in a OK area, and that I am OK with. Would I stay here again for my San Diego get ways, absolutely. May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by close to airport and military base Older hotel remodeled. centrailized area around military base, restaurants, other hotels, and shopping centers. Expressway runs right by hotel. Parking is underneath hotel, secured by a gate. Very friendly staff and very accomdating. May 9, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 12 next>>
We are pround to announce the opening of our new Bayside Building!
We are pround to announce the opening of our new Bayside Building!
Select to close.
We are pround to announce the opening of our new Bayside Building! Stunning new 'Intersections' sculpture outside of  the hotel lobby Take a stoll or a bike ride along the bayside path Lobby Area View of Pool featuring our original building Our stunning new lobby welcomes you in style. Aerial Shot with downtown San Diego background Aerial View, including Expansion Walk to dining and sport fishing marinas across from the hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading