• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 604 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the Rewards Points I do realize that the hotel is in San Francisco near Fisherman’s Wharf, but the value just isn't there. The room was very outdated with an old fuzzy tube TV. When I mentioned this to the staff I was first offered a free breakfast coupon for a nearby restaurant - odd since the hotel offers a free breakfast. I was then offered a free in-room movie - again odd since I had made the point that the TV was one of the issues. I was told the hotel is currently doing remodeling to update the rooms. The view from the room was a small inaccessible roof court - knowing that all rooms can't have a view of the city/bay is fine but at least the area could be cleaned off so you do not need to look at discarded items. In the evening on our way out to a holiday party I asked the person at the valet stand if we could get a cab and was told to go stand by the street because they come by "pretty often"... We stood and watched the hotel across the street whistle up several cabs for its guests. Again - I know this is a popular location but could have used the points for a better destination. December 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fitness room Fitness room is dated and smelled. One overhead tv. No USA today only local paper. Breakfast area under construction but still very well managed and stocked with items. Asked for a taxi, took 35 minutes to obtain one- I went out and flagged one. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful vacation-perfect location On an anniversary trip and the hotel was fantastic! You can't beat the location, walking distance to Wharf, cable cars, trolley,shopping etc. The staff answered many of our questions and very knowledgeable! Breakfast area was tidy with room to sit. Thanks for the memories! December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by plenty of room, but not a frill anywhere. Our two-bed room was big enough, though the beds were hard and not terribly comfortable. On the first morning, upon leaving my room, I happened upon the houseman and asked him for a DND sign, since ours was missing and the rest of the room was fast asleep. He responded to this by turning and screaming down the hall to the houskeeper that she shouldn't make up the room. While standing right in front of the door. Uh, thanks? The front desk staff was also clearly overworked, and had very little time to spare for anything but a brisk welcome. Breakfast was all right, and the location is good for touristing. And it was inexpensive, so that was nice. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by what more could you want? The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room, though small, was clean and comfortable. The location was convenient, within easy walking distance to the pier, fort Mason and Ghirardelli Square. The free breakfast, was, well, free. the parking was expensive, but it is everywhere in San Francisco. Overall, the room perfectly fit my needs and budget. December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, great service, great staff The staff at this location was so helpful and pointed us in all the right directions. Wonderful experience from the start. Would stay there again next time I stay in the city! December 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No guest laundry There was no guest laundry which was very inconvenient as we had to use the small laundry which was located in the hotel next door. December 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location/Akward Stay San Francisco is very beautiful and the Fisherman Wharf attractions are in extreme demand. Therefore this hotel can easily abuse their guests with little consequences. Although my reservations were for an expensive, prepaid, nonsmoking suite with a harbor view, I was given a heavily perfumed smoke masked standard room with a window view of an internal concrete wall. As a Platinum guest I was in awe of the situation. Though a 1-night solution was offered, a complete stay was not. Consequently, a decision was made to terminate the 4-night stay early. However, the immediate hotel manager on duty threatened to retain all the nights' charges upon an early check out. He was very arrogant and went so far as to offer a popular web site to file a hotel complaint on. He made it obvious that due to the Wharf’s location he had no consequences to address. It was a very awkward situation. I recommend using the full service “sister” Holiday Inn one block away on Columbus. They have unadvertised suites and their facilities are very nice. In review, I need to compliment the desk attendants Inga and Ady in addition to manager Stephen. Stephen did a phenomenal job addressing alternative reservations and the desk attendants were OUTSTANDING! In my 30 years of extensive travels for the paper industries I heart fully believe the 1st manager, not Stephen, needs to be fired while Stephen along with Inga & especially Ady needs to be recognized for their customer service. If I offered such service, as what the 1st manager offered, to my clients P&G, KC, G-P, J&J, Bay West, Scott, I would rightly so be severely reprimanded by my superiors. November 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for Fishermans Wharf Overall, a nice hotel. Everything is clean, modern, and no obvious signs of wear. Only 'negative' is a lack of care around the breakfast. Meat (and meat sauces such as gravy) should not be kept at a 'tepid' temperature. Otherwise, a fantastic greeting from Brandy?, likely the best greeting I've ever had at any hotel. November 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not good Showed up for check in. Front desk only had one employee. Had to wait while another customer complained about the parking fee. When I finally did get checked in, I arrived at my room to find someone already in it! Finally got a room of my own, after having to convince the front desk clerk there was someone in my original room. Room I was given had the worst mattresses on the bed, to the point I woke up the next morning unable to stand up straight from the pain in my back. And I was serenaded all night to the loud HVAC unit. The ultimate insult? Selection of free TV channels was extremely limited with no access to ANY of the cable news networks November 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Experience As a platinum member I I would have to say this was the worst experience I ever had a holiday inn express property. The room was not what I was promised, I was not told the truth by the front desk staff. The breakfast bar was a disaster , no coffee or tea available after 930 am . The staff's attitude in general was not about the best interest of me the consumer. Extremely noisy , paper thin walls and very out dated. Embarrassed me and my wife in front of other customers at the front desk . I would not recommend this property If a manager is reading this feel free to contact me Thanks November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Safe location w new comfortable rooms n walking distance to wharf! Staff are very friendly n professional, especially the front desk clerk Brandi, she was the best! Even all the cleaning staff were friendly which really impressed me. Me n my teenage daughter stayed in a suite n felt very safe at night since it was walking distance to the wharf. Continental breakfast was great, very clean n big variety. Suites are avg size, LG bathroom. Beds are ok, not pillow top but comfortable enough. Reasonable room price! November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location San Francisco is a difficult city to navigate, so the easy access to restaurants on the Wharf, cable cars, F line and Ghiradeli Square are a huge plus. This is my second stay at this hotel and I would return again on my next visit. I arrived at my room to find my toilet seat broken, but patched together by previous guest. The staff had this fixed in less than 15 minutes of being notified. There was no coffee and tea available in lobby which is different from every other Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at. Breakfast is a fight to get to food and a table. This place seems to be a stopping off point for international tour groups who don't do their native countries proud with their manners. However, this is not the fault of the hotel. All in all a great experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone. November 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by happy family Nice all the way around! We highly recommend it! perfect location to Pier 39. Clean quiet and friendly! November 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced but acceptable You're going to pay if you're going to stay in Fishermans Wharf. So there's no surprise the cost is high. You can walk to any Wharf destination. And that's the best thing about the hotel. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, but little else was remarkable. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! Undiscovered GEM! San Francisco is an overpriced mecca. That said, this hotel and the location are an undiscovered oasis in the midst of obscenely overpriced offerings. The room was QUIET...CLEAN...and the service at front desk terrific. Exactly what you would expect from a six star hotel in the Financial District of San Francisco. But here you are away from all the glitz and greedy prices! Would I come here again? You bet! When you give this place your business you are making a statement: you are showing you have brains to discern between value and great service vs. outrageous charges and slick marketing. You decide what works for you. Me? I'll come back here in a Manhattan Minute. November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice experience & good location Good location and convenient to Wharf and cable cars. Excellent breakfast as advertised. Did not like barking dog down the hall from our room. Also dog (not service dog) in breakfast dining area. One elevator down throughout our stay caused log jams and delays. November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time The HI Express was GREAT. The staff was nice and helpful. I stayed in a Family Suite and the two beds were a little small and the sofa bed was not comfortable at all but the room was a great. It had a bar area with sink and fridge. I got a good price for the location. I was more concerned with the staff and cleanliness of the hotel then the amount of sleep. First I went to the wrong hotel. I went next door to the holiday inn hotel and they were rude and the unfriendly... then they told me that I was at the wrong hotel. THANK GOD because they looked unhappy. When I got to the correct hotel, the Holiday Inn Express I was so happy because I was greeted with such joyfulness. Recommend the HI EXPRESS, not the regular holiday inn next door. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Outstanding staff at this hotel. Kind, helpful and enthusiastic. This hotel exceeded my expectations. Clean, safe, large rooms, nice breakfast and free wifi. All the basics, and well maintained. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and close to so many places to visit. We were pleased with the hotel and the area which was walking distance to so many attractions. It was good to have a breakfast available in the hotel so as to not have to walk to get breakfast. Thank you! November 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, awful bed. My husband and I stayed four nights. The location was great; close to the city tours and within walking distance to all the attractions such as the cable cars, Ghirardelli Square, restaurants, and the piers. Unfortunately, I have nothing good to say about the beds. They were hard as rock. We tossed and turned all night, got little sleep and woke up to extremely sore backs each morning. This alone will be the reason we won't stay at this location. October 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, terrible staff Location was great but the staff left much to be desired. Parking was 50$+ a night, so we opted to park offsite for less...when we stopped to change into warmer clothes mid-day, there was no street parking available and we asked to leave the car (with the keys) at the front while we ran upstairs to change. We were greeted with indignant sneers. Not cool. We also had our phone blinking constantly, and when I asked the front desk to turn it off (It was a message from them welcoming us) they said that they would. They did not. In addition to a blinking red light, the phone rang from the front desk at 3am each night. We were already on east-coast time, so this was horrible...and no one likes to be woken out of a dead sleep to the shrill sound of a phone ringing. When we asked for it to be stopped, we were informed that the "Phone technician" would not be in until Monday. Ridiculous. The location was great, but next time, I would stay at another hotel in the area. Also, don't be one second late for breakfast...they take the coffee away and will not give you any...in fact, our response when we asked was a snotty 'you should have been here earlier'. I would have been, but I was woken up in the middle of the night and my schedule was a little off. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location + front desk was very helpful The staff was excellent. Had a problem with the a/c in our suite and we were moved to another suite in record time. They moved everything for us while we were out. Location was the best. Close to everything. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location I've stayed here before and it has a great locations to do all things on Fisherman's Wharf. Very clean room - our lady who looked after our room did an exceptional job for us. My only complaint is there is no fridge. This is the only hotel room I have been in in years without one. Would be nice to be able to have a fridge, especially for a week's stay. BTW - I could have ordered one up - for $20 a day more. Most other hotels this is a freebee. WHile I am a member of IHG Reward Club - I did not get credit for 7 nights stay as I booked it thru my travel agent-at least that is what I was told. Seemed very strange. Breakfast seating area is too small - very busy. We twice just grabbed a banana and left. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This hotel is in a great location. The service was great and everything was very clean. There wasn't anything negative with are stay and we enjoyed staying here. October 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, clean and good breakfast. The hotel was located in a good location. It was clean and they provided a good breakfast. The bad was they charge $45.00 parking per day and additional taxes. You also had to tip the parking attendant on top of all of this every time they got your car. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grerat location Great location, blocks from Fishermans Wharf. This hotel fit the bill for us. We did not rent a car so parking fees were not an issue. Were able to walk to the wharf and took the open air bus tour. Buffet breakfast was more than adequate and seating was available , if sometimes a little crowded. Front desk was knowledgeable about area and assisted us on a few occasions. October 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The hotel is located minutes from Fisherman's Warf. The room was nicely appointed and competively priced. Breakfast was caotic and I strongly suggest choosing less busy times. This hotel was recommended to me and I was not disappointed and would definitely choose to stay here in the future. The staff were gracious and helped me feel welcome! October 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really well located, staff was helpful About two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, about a half block from On and Off bus stop, about two blocks from cable car turnaround. Parking is hideously expensive, but not much different whether you park at hotel $45 or in a surrounding lot. Parking is somewhat less expensive at Ross store's underground lot two blocks back from motel. We first were put in a room on the second floor, but were moved to a very quiet room on the fourth floor when I asked. Staff was very cordial. Would stay again. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room Paid for a mini suite and was disappointed. It is the same as most all Holiday Inn rooms I have stayed in before except it had a couch instead of chairs. Would not spend the difference in cost again. Location was great. October 21, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 21 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception Come in to a Modern San Francisco Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading