• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 411 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room, space, and front desk Our room was comfortable,clean, and quiet. The person who slept in the bed next to the wall, needed more room (levels, shelves) to put her things. If the person who slept next to the window used the foldout luggage holder, it would block the frig. The line at the front desk was long and slow. The cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff, not so much. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This hotel is expensive, but after searching for other hotels in the location we wanted, this one was actually priced lower than any other I could find, so for San Francisco, it's a good price. I'm happy I found it, we were just a block from tons of restaurants on Polk Street, all within walking distance, which is important to me since parking is a bear in the city. We were just 2 blocks from The Regency, where we attended a concert. We completely enjoyed our stay, the staff was polite and helpful, the room was clean, air conditioner worked great, the bed was fabulous and we slept like babies, not waking up until 9:30! So comfy. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Busy time in San Francisco This was a great place to stay in San Francisco - location and convenience. Room rates and parking fee like everywhere else in town at this time of year were high, but not out of range. I call it the cost of travel. Main transit line nearly outside the front door plus others up/down the street, hotel not on the top of a major "hill", convenience to many very good eateries [check out their map], quiet rooms [no noise from city streets] and the view from the upper hotel rooms [especially at night] all recommend this Holiday Inn; me too! August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay! This was the perfect hotel for a three day getaway to the city. We loved the room and its nice view. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Conveniently located close to Fisherman's Wharf. I will definitely stay here when I next visit San Francisco. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location for Entering San Francisco The Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gate is the perfect location for entering the town. The cable car is near by. The service in the hotel is very good. Safety for your own and for your car is perfect. Just one item is not that good: the noise of the surrounding traffic, even in the night. Better, noise reducting windows would increase the comfort of that hotel a lot. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very Happy and Satisfied I was very happy with the location and overall experience at this Holiday Inn. It was quiet and peaceful and the room was clean and beautiful. We were able to walk to restaurants and public transport without having to move the car. And, it's dog friendly! Staff was nothing but friendly, attentive and helpful, never irritable. Fast check-in and out. I really appreciated the service. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food Options I could not find much of asian cuisine and being asian vegetarian almost had nothing to eat at hotel restaurant. Would be good if Veg options are included in meals. This was the reason i avoided dinners in restaurant. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice HI in SF Staff excellent. Very helpful for visitors to SF and courteous. Inside hotel nice; convenient to restaurants and cable car. parking is expensive but if you go in and out, it may be comparable to other nearby cheaper parking lots; they did allow us to keep our vehicle in the garage until evening time (hours after our checkout). August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Transportation from airport I think the hotel should offer FREE shuttle service to airport. I paid $48 each way in a cab. Most all other big cities offer free shuttle service from airport. My opinion. I also think the rental car people should deliver car to hotel for you. Hotel very nice but prefer to stay in a hotel closer to Bay area. Taxi service very expensive that week. August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Happy Visit Everything worked and very pleasant staff. Information was reequested and provided well. August 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by couldn't sleep Carpets weren't clean, room was too noisy, was annoyed by the price considering there were no dining or breakfast comps or parking comps July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience I stay exclusively at this hotel. I like it very much. You do a good job. It starts when I check in greeted by the desk till the bellman says goodbye.. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SF Marathon stay Recommend staying here for the SF Marathon. Even though there wasn't a shuttle (hopefully this will change next year), the stay was quite pleasant. Rooms were surprisingly spacious and the view of the city from my room was great! July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room with great view of the bay I was treated really well and enjoyed the whole experience July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best place to stay in SF We love Holiday Inns in general as they are always clean, in great locations, the staff is friendly and the price is reasonable. The food in this particular SF Holiday Inn is crazy expensive, though. It still doesn't deter our staying there whenever we need to. I am a UCSF cancer patient and everything is easy to get to. We'll be staying there by choice in a week and look forward to the gorgeous view and room. Thumbs up! July 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Superficial visit Too pricey for area, small room and beds and no amenities. My laptop did not take the internet. Had to use their business center and even that is a charged. Parking charge daily and kept getting charged 3 times daily for the parking. Couldn't get room service in the room because I would be charged for my childs meals less than 12 yrs old after an exhausting day. One washer and dryer for the entire hotel and had to share with employees because theirs had broken down. My clothes were taken out of the dryer. Didn't like that. Area didn't feel safe. Homeless all over the place. I'm a IHG reward member... no one even acknowledge that. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Not your average Holiday Inn. Amazing views!!! Clean and friendly. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great view of the city We stayed on the 22nd floor, north west corner. Windows run the entire length of the room, giving us a spectacular view of the city. We hiked the neighborhoods to the north and west. Eating in neighborhood delis and restaurants. Visiting parks, galleries, checking out the fabulous architecture. An excellent Whole foods is half a block away...we got carry-out several times and brought it back to our room, which had a small fridge. A Starbucks next door. An excellent breakfast spot "Toast" was one block away. The cable car was right there on our corner. Room darkening shades closed electronically when we were ready for shut eye. We did not care for the restaurant within the hotel, but it didn't matter, since there were so many good options right outside our hotel. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Everyone friendly, helpful and courteous. From time of check-in to check-out July 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by location What a perfect location!! Just off the cable car, several bus routes out the front door, this Holiday Inn made it easy to see ALL of San Francisco using public transportation. The rooms were clean, attractive, and what a great view of the city!! You can buy a tourist transit pass, set up tours, and get a shuttle to the airport at the concierge desk. It offers computer access to print boarding passes, etc. I only wish it had a quiet separate bar/lounge for relaxation instead of the bright bar/restaurant used for three meals a day, but there is such a place a short one block walk up California Street. There is even a Trader Joe's and CVS within walking distance for snacks, etc. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by outstanding stay, professional and courteous service spider staff the staff at the front desk management as wells all the other people I've met along the way were true professionals. They added in my staY being very pleasant. I definitely look forward to returning to the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. If I had to swim across the ocean, although its not possible. I would surely do whatever possible to get the opportunity to be in the mix of true professionals who treat you not like your not just a simply a hotel guest. Holiday Inn Golden Gateway treat you as if your family member of the Holiday Inn organization. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff was great, and the process to do the check-in and check out was very fast. No complains except that the auto AC didn't work well. July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by centrally located, jjcourteous staff hotel was clean and comfortable. weather was cool so we didn't use the pool and never ate in the restaurant which appeared to be ok. bus/trolley stops right around the corner made getting around very easy. concierge was very helpful and staff in general were very pleasant. if I stayed somewhere else next time in S.F. it would not be because of any issues with this hotel,. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nicely renovated! The hotel has been very nicely renovated. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is terrific! A short cab ride to anywhere in downtown S.F. Many excellent restaurants in short walking distance. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Everything from signing in to our departure was extremely well presented. The staff were all very approachable and helpful. The new reception and dining area real uplifted our first impressions.Highly recommend this hotel July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buena Localizacion y confort Muy bien localizado, muy limpio y el cuarto comodo, con una vista preciosa a la ciudad , muy buen servicio, pidan los pisos superiores.El personal es atento y servicial. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay as always Overall, I had a very enjoyable 12 day stay at the HI-GG. One of the strangest things was that they were renovating the lobby. So, over a couple days at the beginning of my stay, the lobby and entrance shifted around. It wasn't super inconvenient or anything, just a bit odd. I will say, I like the newer, updated, lobby. It's much more modern and appealing. I hope this follows suit into the guest rooms. I ordered room service twice during my stay. Both times were pleasant. I do wish they had breakfast, but as far as my understanding they do not. And it would be great if the room service lasted longer into the night...And had a slightly wider variety. I really do like staying at this Holiday Inn because it's super convenient to where I usually have to be when I am in San Francisco. I'm sure I'll be back. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience We stayed here for 5 days over the July 4th holiday. We had a room on the 23rd floor and the view of the city was great. The room was clean and the housecleaning was prompt to clean our room in the morning. The breakfast buffet was decent. The only complaint about the food was that it would have been nice if they mixed it up a bit and had waffles or french toast instead of the pancakes every day. The exercise room was clean and had working equipment. Did not have a car on this trip so being next the cable car stop and the bus stop was convenient. The free wifi worked but occasionally it would be sluggish. There were speed upgrade options but we didn't try those. July 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Disappointing Poor service in a out-dated hotel with limited facilities. No great views, not best location. Left feeling disappointed with no reason to recommend it. Had several reasons to complain and these were handled in a polite, professional and courteous manner by the Front Office Manager - he deserves to be in a better hotel. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Personal experience We had a wonderful time staying at the hotel. Everything from the front desk, the rooms, facilities, to car garage were all smooth sailing. All services were quick and professional. July 6, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading