• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 863 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! So convenient!! Nice rooms, nice people. Clean and quiet. Minutes to Wharf! Definately my pick and recommend it highly. One suggestion...continental breakfast would be a nice bonus!! Love San Fran!! April 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location was great. Bed was comfortable but noising area. Every thing was fine except for one thing. When I booked our reservation I asked if there was a shuttle to your hotel from the airport. I was informed no but that I could take the Bart. Well - come to find out at the airport that the Bart doesn't come out to your hotel and we would still need to cab it from the Bart. Well - the taxi ride ends up costing me $56.00. Come to find out that a shuttle can be ordered from your hotel for the cost of $17.00 a person - so much cheaper than the cab. My disappointment was why wasn't this mentioned when I asked so I could have caught at the airport? I know it wasn't your hotel's shuttle but it was a service we could have been told about. That is mu biggest complaint. April 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT LOCATION/HELPFUL STAFF ENJOYED THIS HOTEL HAVING STAYED IN 8 OTHERS IN CALIFORNIA - THIS PROBABLY RANKS 8/10 COMPARED TO THE OTHER HOTELS. ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE AND THE HOTEL WAS WELL SITUATED FOR OUR NEEDS AT THE FISHERMANS WHARFE. THE STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL AND WENT TO GREAT LENGTHS TO ENSURE THAT OUR REQUESTS FOR HELP WERE MET IN FULL. OPPORTUNITIES FOR FOOD/BAR/LOUNGE AREA WERE LIMITED COMPARED TO OTHER HOTELS THAT WE HAVE STAYED IN. A CALM CLEAN, WELL ORDERED AND PLEASANT PLACE TO STAY. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very pleasant stay Staff and service was exceptional - helpful and very friendly! The gal that checked me in was particularly wonderful - she was smiling, friendly and compassionate to my needs. I really appreciated her positive attitude. Room was clean, quiet and very comfortable, clean facilities, and close (walking distance) to everything on Fisherman's Wharf. I had a really nice stay! April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, great location I loved this hotel. The room was great and the location was right near the wharf. I would absolutely stay here again! April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service By All! I was in San Francisco for business. I had little time to do anything but work. Therefore, I made full use of the facilities. Breakfast was delicious with quality, friendly service. I made use of room-service in the evenings. Great steak! (I'm a bit of a wine sob...did not like their house chardonnay). The chocolate dessert made up for it! The concierge directed me to a nail salon around the corner for a quick nail color change. The front desk staff was very accommodating with my copying and business needs. I booked a town car for my return to the airport ($5 more than a taxi). They even personally came up to my room to book the reservation for the car. When I requested they pick me up off-site, they asked if I'd like to leave my luggage with them and they'd deliver it to me off-site for my return to the airport. Great experience! April 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service comfortable beds. Very noisey An OK location but very loud with street noise. We were on 4 th floor with no view except the blank wall of another building. Very friendly workers and clean. I would probably look to another hotel for my next visit to San Francisco. April 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Its ok until Sat night... Stayed here all week for business. It was ok although I did have to switch rooms one night due to being surround by some type of teenage male sport team that decided it would be fun to knock on each others doors all night. My main problem was on Sat night there is a bar/club right around the corner that likes to have the music and base so loud that you can clearly hear it all night. It was so bad that at one point I went outside to take a look because I thought it may be a car under my window but it was the bar. They had all the windows and doors open with drunks spilling out onto the street or yelling at each other while they smoke outside. Dont get me wrong....if your looking for a bar to be on Sat night in Fishermans Warf it didnt look that bad, but if you wanted to just get a night of sleep it was a little rough. Im not sure if this is an every Sat Night thing ot just that Sat but luckilly I was able to get some earplugs from the front desk. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean, comfortable room, great service Everything about our stay was wonderful! Great location, clean, comfortable room April 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, clean rooms with friendly sfaff. Clean, comfortable accommodation ideally situated at Fisherman's Wharf. The staff were friendly and very helpful and ensured that we had a very pleasant stay. April 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service All the staff was friendly and helpful. Great overall experience. April 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy and old room We were given a room next to cable car so it was very uncomfortable and noisy...the person in the front desk when checking in should be forthcoming and explain about the room ie: facing to wharf but has cable car passing by every 10 mins etc so that the customer can make good decision :( Another thing is that you should revamped the building and rooms since it feels really old April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Gem of a Hotel Great service, great food, great bed. Business center very helpful and efficient. Stay here! April 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable room was nice and clean, but unable to sleep through the night, toilet was running every 30min and the DOOR closing sound woke me up half the night, door slamming sound is like heavy metal door and my next room door was right next to mine so it was unavoidable. I would not return to this Hotel again, I only stayed cuz of the location and didn't want to hassle with moving. April 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms and decor were average at best Was not acknowledged as priority club member (no perks such as usa today or free breakfast). View of fishermans wharf was insufficient. Rooms were outdated. Breakfast was way overpriced. 3 stars only because concierge was friendly and helpful. April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value This is very good value. Superb location, fairly new, friendly staff, clean. Recommended! April 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, but otherwise lacking I'd like to point out that this hotel is in a remarkable location for a touristy vacation. It's a short walk to Pier 39, it's right in front of a Walgreens, short walk to Ghirardelli Square, the beach, etc. (we even walked to Lombard St. from here!). We never felt unsafe walking around this location, even at night, and we are a young family with a 1 year old. Other than that, this was one of the lower-end hotels we've ever stayed at (especially considering the high price). The rooms were small, not very modern, and looked old and dirty on the surface (although they actually seemed clean). The beds were at least comfortable. Some of the other reviews mention a free breakfast, but that was apparently dropped several months ago. Now it's an expensive pay breakfast at their restaurant (they also have a Dennys, but the one time we called in a to-go order they missed or got wrong about 1/3 of our food). Please be aware that this hotel is split over two locations. Ours was in the secondary building so after checking in we had to walk around the block to it (but the pool and other amenities were in the main building). The worst part was the staff. The concierge and bellboys were great, but the front desk staff were rude on several occasions to us and to other people that we witnessed. Once, we called and asked if there were any microwaves in the hotel so we could heat up some baby food for our child. They rudely responded "haha not for free, but for $10 a day we'll bring one to your room." I'm fine with having to rent one, but the way they responded caught us off guard. Another day, I went to the front desk to let them know that the airport checkin computer was down and that room service didn't replace our ice bucket liners. This is how the conversation went: I was waiting in line behind another lady. The lady requested a fridge in her room (another $10/day charge). Front Desk Lady: "Is it for storing medicine?" Guest: "No" Front Desk Lady: "It's for storing medicine *wink*" Front Desk Lady: *calls room service on phone* "We need a fridge delivered to room xxx at no charge because it's for medicine" Me: "Hi, I was hoping to get some extra ice bucket liners because room service didn't bring more today" Front Desk Lady: "What's an ice bucket liner?" Me: "The little plastic bags to put in your ice bucket" Front Desk Lady: "There's no such thing. Oh, you must mean the linen bags! *laughs at me*" Me: "No, not the linen bags, the little bags that are always left in the ice buckets at hotels" Front Desk Lady: "We don't do that here" Me: (confused) "There were some in my ice bucket the first night we stayed.." Front Desk Lady: *calls room service* "A guy here is asking for ice bucket liners, do we have any such thing? We do? Ok, please bring some to room xxx" Front Desk Lady: (in the rudest voice) "You know, there is this marvelous thing in your room called a telephone that you can use, you don't have to come to the front desk" Me: "Well, I was already out of my room trying to do the airport checkin but the computer was down so I was going to also notify you of that" Guest after me (as I walk away): "Hi, can we get some extra towels for our room?" Front Desk Lady: *rudely laughing* "Didn't you hear what I told him? We do have this thing called a telephone.." I know that hotels in San Francisco are generally expensive, especially in a touristy location like this one, but for the high price I at least assumed better service. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lovely surroundings, great staff close to all that we wanted. Staff were always friendly and helpful. April 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location It is a great location and the staff was very helpful and recommended some great places to eat. April 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nightmare! I had a terrible stay in this hotel. None of my request were accommodated. There was urine on my mattress when we got it. The hallway reeked of weed, which seeped into my room. My door was opened in the middle of the night! Though, it was locked. Unsafe! Terrifying! Contacted management and corporate regarding all my issues, all I got was a unsympathetic "sorry". I am VERY disappointed and will not be returning to a Holiday Inn. April 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, noisey We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly. Housekeeping greeted us each morning, with a "good morning" and a smile. We are early risers and enjoyed having our room made up early, while we were out to breakfast. The location was perfect. The only draw back was the noise. The windows are old so it sounds like they are open. The tour busses met under our window, also the service entrance was under our window . I would still choose the same room, because the view was better than most. The views are not great. Over all I would stay here again. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location I was here for the RNR 1/2 marathon. I liked the location of the Hotel as it was only blocks from the start and finish line. If ever I do this event again this is the Hotel I will stay at. The only problem was the price of parking but I guess everywhere in the city is pricey for parking. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! I am a San Francisco resident and was having a girls' weekend in the city. I didn't want to stay downtown as I don't really like the crazy hustle and bustle in the heart of the city but rather the calmer feel on the outskirts. We parked our car and never used it again. We were a cable car ride away from Union Square and we either walked or took an inexpensive cab ride anywhere else we went. The price of the hotel was so affordable and the staff so accommodating and helpful. My out of town guests were equally pleased. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent ubication and good hotel Ithink is a very good hotel, very well ubicated, the neightborhood good!!!... I really enjoy my stay! April 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome location Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was always clean. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room looked out onto the street so it was a bit noisy, but we had a great view of Alcatraz from it. The location was great for catching the bus and cable car for touring around the city. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location The hotel is a few blocks from Pier 39, so you can walk to a good sites, souvenirs, restaurants. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice This hotel had easy access to Fisherman's Wharf and the piers where many tours started. I felt very safe walking in this neighborhood and along the wharf. It also had easy access to public transportation and a variety of good restaurants. Great choice! April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent breakfast Really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Fishermans Walk which was conveniently located and had an excellent comprehensive breakfast buffet. We will definitely return to San Francisco and to this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a convenient base in the Fishermans Wharf area. April 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy, unresponsive staff We had a problem right from booking when tried to stay or 6 days instead of 7. The booking agent could not understand we were leaving for 1 day and coming back. When we did leave and come back our breakfast was not included as discussed when booked. On the second part of stay we had neighbors smoking marijuana among other things. We complained as we have a 3 and 8 year old who had to inhale these smells. I let the front desk know and they advised they have no control over this that the guests will get fined. I don't understand why these people wouldn't be thrown out immediately as it is against policy. Those signs that say " if you aren't happy with our hotel, you will be looked after" is not true. Stayed at holday inn express in December, way better place!! Would not recommend this hotel we stayed at. Very unimpressed!!! April 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Parking is to expensive. Need an outside hot tub. Location is great. April 5, 2013
<<prev 21 22 23 24 25 ... 30 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception Come in to a Modern San Francisco Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading