• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
San Francisco City Hall
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Opera
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Embarcadero Ferry Building and Financial District
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 472 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service great location and helpful staff would stay here again. May 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location I woke up every day with a backache. There was no fridge or microwave in our room. The view was of an empty courtyard. The best part about our stay at Holiday Inn Express was the location. We walked everywhere we wanted to be. It was close to everything we wanted to see. The breakfast eggs and the gravy were not hot, but there was no microwave to use. The coffee was really hot. I considered how to use it to warm up my breakfast, at least once or twice. We loved the Holiday Inn Express in Nashville Tennessee. This one, not so much. May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Early May in San Francisco I'd visited this hotel several times on business travels, and so chose it for a short vacation with my wife. We both think this property's hard to beat . . . We like to walk, and it's simply a fact that San Francisco's hills make the choice of hotels a big factor: Nob Hill or Union Square hotels can be almost like "islands", cut off from other neighborhoods by steep grades. This location, at the foot of Columbus Avenue, allows an almost-hills-free path thru many interesting and colorful neighborhoods . . . And it wouldn't be accurate or fair NOT to mention this hotel's splendid staff. All departments from front desk to housekeeping to breakfast staff are charming, friendly, well-trained and highly competent. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it Again, loved it. Why we chose to return again. Couldn't find anything about it which was a negative. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Everything! Can't say enough about this excellent hotel. Location is perfect to Fisherman's Wharf and other fun places in SF. Staff was helpful. Really recommend this hotel for San Francisco visits. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at the HIE in San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf. The facility was clean and modern. My room was quiet, even with a busload of young people staying nearby. Brandy at the front desk was excellent and very friendly and helpful. Everyone was kind, helpful and friendly. May 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by awesome stay We had a great experience due to your front desk employee Brandy. She was just awesome. She mapped out where we should go, what busses to take and where really good restaurants were! Holiday inn has an outstanding employee with Brandy. We would stay here again .. Only issue was the breakfast the eggs were terrible! scrambled and I believe it was to be a small egg only omelet they were cold and hard. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Enjoyed being within walking distance to Fishermans Warf area. May 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but outrageous parking fee Good hotel but beware parking is 45 a day. You can easily find street parking nearby (though you may have to move car at some point or pay a meter for part of the time). Staff will look at you like you are cheapskate if you inquire about parking options, and only tell you about the 35 dollar option down the street, weirdly they don't think to suggest street parking. May 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay at Wharf! From the upgrade to Junior Suite thru the friendly staff and all the staff who were friendly wherever we were in the hotel. We were on the street side (Beach?) so it was a little noisy as traffic started in the morning, but otherwise nice. Breakfast was usual but the same hot every day: sausage, biscuits and gravy. Would have liked to see some bacon on one of our 4 days there. Would recommend this hotel as easy access to transportation to elsewhere in SFO and Wharf. May 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location This hotel is in perfect location to the touristic hotspots (Fisherman' Wharf, cable car...). Friendly and helpful staff (my special thank to Mrs. Ady). Clean rooms. Breakfast seems to be limited, so be there before the big travel groups come. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel for a Family Stay Great hotel for our family to stay in for 2 nights in San Francisco - fantastic location close to Fisherman's Wharf and bus routes, very handy breakfast included, and very friendly and helpful staff. The free wifi was great quality (IHG member). Only other thing we would have liked is to have a fridge in the room. May 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horribly managed - worst experience as IHG member. BEWARE folks I am a IHG member and probably stayed at IHG for over 100 nights. Never had to go through so much challenges I do a reward stay and I was asked if I need some snacks or 500 reward points, which I request for the later. More than a month, bunch of emails and online missing miles check .....I still don't get it Now the biggest blow, there was 60 used charged to my card account, again 7 emails to IHG, a lot of phone calls to my card company and weeks of painful struggle I get promise to get the money back Not even a polite apology and if an IHG member goes through this, all the best to all others. I do nth think the management there really cares!!!!! May 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAY Excellent hotel close to Fishermans Wharf and many other amenities. April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Place to Stay on Fisherman's Wharf Wonderful place to stay. Very easy walking to Fisherman's Wharf. Beautiful, clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast. Will definitely recommend to friends and will stay here anytime we are in San Francisco!! April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Hotel Very comfortable beds. Fantastic location - short stroll to all Piers and sights. Highly recommend April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excelente ubicacion Nos hospedamos en este hotel y fue una excelente experiencia, viajamos en familia con niños pequeños, el hotel está muy bien ubicado muy cerca del Pier 39, a solo unas cuadras de Girardelli , a dos cuadras de la estación del cable car, cerca del acuario, etc.,a todos estos lugares te podías ir caminando, excelente relación calidad-precio. April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing vacation Great central hub to many activities in the Wharf and getting to transportation to see other sites of San Francisco. The entire staff was helpful and polite. Rooms were cleaned and nice and dark for sleeping. April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice place to stay. This is our second time staying at this HIE. We were pleased with the refurbishing they had done since our last stay, especially the increased seating in the breakfast area. The location is great, easy walk to the Wharf and access to the MUNI. Will definitely stay here again. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay My family of three really enjoyed staying here. The location was ideal, the breakfast superb and the staff very nice. Our room was great, too. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very nice room but breakfast lets it down. The breakfast omelette was terrible. it had the consistency of rubber . Do they use powdered eggs? We have stayed at holiday inn express in Quebec and there they serve scrambled eggs, real eggs and bacon. Much better. This really lets down a really nice hotel. April 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Walking distance to the wharf and most local attractions ,and shops April 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SF, Fisherman's Wharf Holiday Inn Express Nice hotel ! Enjoyed our stay and recommend it to others. April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Prime location Prime location with prime parking prices. Don't rent a car unless you expect to pay $45 a night plus taxes to park it there. The night we arrived, we waited in the valet line for over 25 minutes just to get our car in the driveway. Frustrating. Once in and the punch in the face of the cost of parking settled in, the hotel itself is nice. Greeted warmly. Room on top floor. NO VIEW. The doors to the room are large but very thin. You can hear every single door slam shut in the area of your hallway. Please consider doing something about that. There were a lot of kids staying the same time we were and they don't keep still. Constant door slamming was very annoying and the noise in the hall. The first morning we were there, the cleaning staff sounded like a bunch of chickens squawking right outside my door. For a good half hour they kept yapping in their foreign language. I had the do not disturb sign up because I needed extra sleep to catch up on and it was disturbed. Our room had a very comfortable king size bed. The lamps and decor was modern and I loved the outlets on them. Made it easy to charge electronics. Room had a desk and chair and one more chair in the corner. Well furnished, but tight fitting. The bathroom was well lit, a nice size and I really liked the full countertop to store toiletries. Clean and adequate water pressure. I like the clothes line in the shower. No view. We used a lot of timeshare points to stay here and that was disappointing. The breakfast is ok. They need to get another pancake making machine. The wait for silver dollar pancakes is crazy. One minute per flapjack equates to 30 minutes if you have a line of 6 people wanting 5 each (and then some). They served the same food during my entire stay. Turkey sausage, scrambled eggs (that were dry and tasteless), biscuits (dry and not flavorful), and gravy that was a little salty for my taste. I liked the to go oatmeal containers. I grabbed some for my room later. They have a nice selection of things to choose. If none are to your liking, theres a Denny's right next door. I didn't notice the stack of maps at the concierge desk until we were getting ready to leave. Please offer this at time of check in. Most of us are tired, frazzled, or have a lot on our mind at check in (with the excitement to be there) that we don't think of simple things like this. Overall, I enjoyed my stay with a few quirks. Next time, no car. Thankfully, my stay was short so although it hurt to pay for parking, it wasn't as bad as those who may have been staying for a week. I do recommend this place. Ask for a room with a view. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 GOOD BREAKFAST AND COMFORTABLE BEDROOM I liked the hotel accommodations, service and staff cortesy, and that certainly covered my expectations. But I think the price paid for the night was too high! I believe that people looking for a clean and comfortable hotel should spend more money on other items such as sightseeing and purchases In short, the hotel is too expensive, in my opinion. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location; Nice Room This hotel is located right smack in the middle of Fisherman Wharf. It was a block away from our tour bus headquarter and all the restaurants near the pier. I also requested a late checkout at 2PM but wasn't able to get back until 3PM. Staff was very accommodating. April 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing, when compared to other hotels. The cost of the location is high, with little to warrant it. There is a $50.00 parking charge, per night, that is never mentioned when booking your reservation, online. The view consisted of the hotel walls, literally. Overall, this was not what Holiday Inn Express has been known for. We travel a lot, and this chain is a reliable choice, usually. April 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Fishermans wharf I used my points for our 4 day stay. Inga at the front desk was exceptional. Our room was very comfortable, room size was fine. We had a wonderful stay.The breakfast was alright. Location was awesome Thank you. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk and housekeeping staff! This hotel is close to everything on the Wharf. It's close enough to walk to several shops and restaurants, Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, and a close walk to the trolley, both cable car lines and several bus lines if you want to explore a little further. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I have stayed in a number of San Francisco hotels, and 2 on the wharf. The area is pricey, but this is well WORTH the price. Having breakfast right in the hotel is by FAR more convenient than having to go out and find breakfast in the touristy area--let alone waiting for it. Another PLUS is that all hotels in San Francisco do not include parking in your stay--and this Holiday Inn Express allows you to book your parking when you book your room--the rate is about the same as it is in other local hotels, but you will never face the issue of showing-up at your hotel in the evening, and being told that you cannot park your car. I have had to go driving around the city to find a lot, and then find transportation back to my hotel--not so with this Holiday Inn Express. Very cool amenity for this city! April 15, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Check Availability
Loading