• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 538 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service - Staff is too busy to pay attention I am a platinum Holiday Inn member. So, I obviously like their value that they provide to me on a weekly basis however, San Francisco was an exception. The staff never acknowledged our presence and they were in a rush to give us a room key. No August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff makes this place great All staff are friendly, attentive and accommodating we enjoyed our stay very much and the location is excellent for all fishermans wharf activities August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great property in great SF location! This is an exceptional Holiday Inn Express--nicest one I have ever been too: most upscale room decor, slightly better breakfast options in some cases (turkey bacon/sausage, soy milk). The rooms are very nice and comfortable. They mainly face courtyards: PRO: very quiet, no city street noise. CON: You are in Fisherman's Wharf neighborhood, within site of Bay Bridge, and all you see are other room windows. That is a small negative, and it is the only one we encountered--wonderful facility, great location, great staff. Brandy at front desk was the best ambassador going for IHG Hotels! We will stay there again on our next trip to that "City by the Bay". August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Nice and clean and close to pier and shops. Loved the hotel with the only exception was that we didn't have a fridge in the room which is handy for drinks etc. Every other holiday inn that we've stayed in had a fridge except this one. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Lovely hotel. Nice modern rooms and bathrooms. Lovely beds. Very friendly staff. Quick and easy valet parking. Breakfast was a little chaotic. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 位置极佳 位置方便,价格当然也一流啦。 不过考虑到时间,还是物有所值。 早餐人数有点多,混乱。 网速偏慢。 客房倒是一如既往的舒适。 July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but has room for improvement Comfortable hotel, great location. issues with the A/C were not corrected during the 2 nights stay breakfast service very chaotic July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast Choice Staff excellent,Breakfast very good,however did not like the paper plates,cutlery etc. Checkin,checkout prompt ans all staff very polite. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely convenient and nice Our family of 5 from Baltimore was visiting San Fran for one night (sadly). This was a great hotel!! July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but comes at a price We booked two standard rooms and enjoyed our 3 night stay. Elevators were always crowded in the mornings and stairways difficult to find/use. The breakfast offerings were the same each day, but very popular, especially the pancake machine which always required waiting in line, sometimes 4-6 people deep. Perhaps extending the buffet time now from 6:30 - 9:30 another 1/2 hour or hour might help ease the congestion. Another pancake machine is also suggested. The rooms are nice, comfortable, and well serviced. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel's location apparently drives the cost to stay here comparable to 4 July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We had a nice stay but unfortunately we were on the first floor so we could hear a lot of street noise - cable cars. The hotel was clean. Breakfast was good. Definitely worth the money. Unfortunately the pool was up the street at the sister hotel and there was no hot tub. Overall a very nice hotel. July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran vacation Great location and good rates. Room was small, basically had to sit on the bed. Breakfast was crowded but a good selection. July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by no Recognition for IHG® Rewards Club Members I didn't receive platinum member 500 welcome bonus points. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again I would def. stay in this hotel the next time we visit San Francisco. The beds were comfy, the rooms were quiet, and everything was really clean. The hotel is also centrally located to all the tourist attractions, so we had to take minimal transportation. The one improvement I wish the hotel would offer is a hotel shuttle bus too/from the airport. The options were cab only(expensive) or airport shuttle(45 minute wait), which is tough if you have an early flight. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ask for a room with a view. Nice hotel in a great location. Be sure to ask for a view towards the wharf. Otherwise, not such a great view out the window. Also, expect trouble finding a table for breakfast. Otherwise, the food is very good. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Choice Room was nicely decorated - newly remodeled - location was good - breakfast was good but the amount of people made it hard to find a place to sit, July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location - Great Staff - Nice Lobby This Express hotel meets the needs of the tourist looking for access to the SF Wharf and Piers. Two block walk and you're in the mix of all of the attractions. Their reception staff is very professional, concierge is very knowledgeable and the breakfast, although it's the same types of items you get at every Holiday Inn Express, is actually prepared by someone who knows what they're doing, and because it's an extremely busy place, the food staff works very hard to keep all selections well stocked. Rooms are a little small, no swimming pool (like nearly every SF hotel), but fair price and nice place to stay. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional service! We stay at HIE all over the country, and this was absolutely the best service we've ever had! My husband can't have hardly any sodium, so the normal hard-boiled eggs at breakfast are important to us. They ran out, so that was the only thing that wasn't exceptional. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Suite, family vacation in San Francisco Hotel is in a great location for tourism. It is clean and very attractive. We were a party of 5 and used the family suite-2 double beds (not queen) and a pull-out sofa. The beds were fine, but as in most hotels, the sofa bed had a bad mattress. My only complaint about the room was that there were only 4 sets of towels, but the suite can accommodate 6. I expected 6 sets of towels. Breakfast was plentiful with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast/bagels, oatmeal and cold cereal, pastry, yogurt, coffee/tea/juice. It was kept well stocked throughout the morning. However, there was not enough seating in the dining area to accommodate all guests. We were allowed to check in early as our room was ready. We were also able to store our luggage in a locked room off the lobby after checkout as our flight home was later in the day. We tagged our luggage and felt it was secure. We will definitely use this hotel if we ever return to San Francisco! July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Wonderful place to stay. Within walking distance to the wharf and other places of interest.. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to San Francisco. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pleasant surprise We chose this chain when looking for a room on the Wharf and new that it would be above average. I was very happy to see how modern and pleasant the whole facility was. The staff was very helpful and kind and the rooms would be hard to beat. The topper for us was the valet services, even though we were checking out at noon the we were given the opportunity to leave the car with them until 6pm. As Forest Gump would say "one less thing". On our way home we decided that this is the chain we will check first , from now on , when looking for a room. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Execellent Jessica, the Concierge, was a volume of information. She was very helpful in giving us recommendations of things to do and places to eat. She really helped us in paying the fee for the Golden Gate Bridge and suggesting how to take the trolly and then riding the bus back - so helpful. She is a very valuable asset to the hotel! July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hearty Breakfast for a Busy Day The room was impeccably clean. Left mussed up in the morning, returned to a room that appeared to have never been used every evening. Service Staff was excellent, answered my every call and was very gracious in their assistance. Eat a good hearty breakfast if you're going to be out on the town all day. A wide variety of foods from the health conscious to the casual eater. I switched it up every other day. Great value for being so close to every thing, especially the tour buses. Most launch less than one hundred feet form the front door. My place to stay if I return to San Fran. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay if you don't have a car with you! The parking for the week was $304!!! It cost 3x more to park the car than to rent it!! But it is conveniently located to so many great things to do in SFO - the best being the fact that 3 doors down is the most awesome breakfast and lunch spot called "The Hollywood Cafe" - put it on your "to do" list while there! Knuckles Tavern is across the street...Ghirardelli Square and Pier 39 a few blocks away. This is where I always stay when in SFO, despite the outrageous & ridiculous parking fee. Still great, though! July 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and comfortable overall A bit "pricey" for a Holiday Inn Express but good location in downtown San Fran; Parking fee was high, too-- discount should be offered if you're staying several days; Good variety of items for breakfast July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVED IT IN 2011, LOVED IT MORE IN 2014 This is my second visit to this Hotel. I am a Platinum member and l always rely on HI Express to provide me with a clean, quiet and comfortable room with an excellent breakfast. This particular hotel made some changes since the last time I visited, all for the better. The computer area is excellent, the weight room well maintained and of course the breakfasts were abundant and fresh. Free wireless remote is a plus as well. And of course, you have the courteous check in staff, and excellent maintenance and breakfast workers. I will definitely visit this hotel again. I would like to thanks two workers, Monica D. and Oliver who were very helpful to me. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room with a View. The location and the pricing are both good. I was however dispointed that the two rooms I booked had a zero view of anything except the room across the way. I asked about a change but the place was booked. In the future I will ask at booking to be sure of a view of something. Again the staff was excellant and overall a good deal as long as you dont mine not see anything out of your window... July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent service We spent 4 nights at the location near Fisherman's Wharf. It exceeded our expectations. We had a last minute change of plans and the front desk staff was able to extend our stay in the same room. They were really helpful and friendly. The breakfast is great. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location! I decided that I'd like to be close to the July 4th action on Fisherman's Wharf and this was certainly an excellent location. While I wasn't able to check-in early I was able to deposit my car and luggage ahead of time which made touring around downtown very convenient. The room was clean and spacious. The lobby and breakfast area were perfect. The only disappointment was the pool which is located at the next door Holiday Inn. It was really too cool and windy to swim anyway. However, if you wanted to you would have to change in the hotel washroom as there are no change rooms by the pool and wearing your swimsuit down the street is certainly not an option. It was fun to be in the heart of the action. A suggestion, it would help at breakfast time to have a better idea of what gets recycled where. For example are dirty paper plates still paper or are they compost? As the breakfast items don't change from day to day, one Holiday Inn I stayed at actually had pictograms above the recycle containers to help clients sort their recycling better. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD SERVICE HAD A PROBLEM WITH PARKING BUT STAFF WAS APOLOGETIC AND OFFERED A DISCOUNT TO MAKE UP FOR IT July 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading