• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
San Francisco City Hall
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Opera
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Embarcadero Ferry Building and Financial District
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 720 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, very uncomfortable bed, very expensive. The staff was very helpful and friendly, but this hotel was not what I expected for the price. The bed was very hard, and the sheets had a weird odor. The location is great, but I opted to move down the street to a "no name" hotel that was nicer, and it was half the price. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay. I really enjoyed staying here and look forward to coming back. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location We would stay here again. The location was ideal for site seeing. The streetcars were just outside the door so access was great. May 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location We arrived early and 1 of our 2 rooms was available. No big deal. The rooms were big and comfy. The only problem we had was that no one ever came to clean our room or bring new towels. Our waste baskets were overflowing and it would've been nice to have a trash bag to put our trash in. Other than that it was a great stay and I would stay here again. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience I liked that they had two different types of pillows. I do not get this opportunity too often and I usually end up sleeping without a pillow. I would like it more if the hotel offered complimentary breakfast. May 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in great location but watch for pricey extras This property is certainly better than the average Holiday Inn. The location is great. Some details still leave it in the category of a lower level property - such as not having a proper closet with a door. But the furnishings were better than I normally expect from Holiday Inn. There was work being done in the lobby that made a bit of a mess but otherwise it looked more modern and welcoming than I expected. We found breakfast price to be way too high. We were only there for 1 night and didn't have a lot of time or we'd have changed plans and gone to the Denny's or something else close by. Had the buffet because prices from the menu were just as high. Food quality was fine but not much selection and definitely not worth the price. When we asked how to get a taxi to the airport, they called for a fixed priced limo without asking us if that was OK. Admittedly the car was nicer and more comfortable than a cab would have been but it was also more expensive. So if you're on a budget, watch out for that. Next time, I'd ask for a taxi to the nearest Bart station and take the train directly to the airport. Or if you're not into public transit, at least ask specifically for a metered taxi if price is important to you. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and friendly A great location for touristing in San Fransisco. Walk to almost everywhere and really close to the cable trolley, so North Beach, the ferry terminal etc are all accessible without driving. Staff are super friendly, right across the board. When in SFO, stay at this hotel! May 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing special hotel with no surprise. Neither good nor bad ... Prices were expensive, specially breakfast (25$) May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Good location Great location for visiting San Francisco. Easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf sites or to trolley's or buses. May 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Consider an alternative.... Holiday Inn's are generally a known quantity and that is why I tend to book my hotel there. In this case though it is not a typical Holiday Inn. Their on premise restaurant is absolutely ridiculous in the prices they charge. $47.00 for a basic breakfast is completely nuts. To add insult to injury, snacks in their gift shop are just as exorbitantly priced. $17.00 for two soda's and two small snacks. Last, the building borders an alley that apparently is used for late night car enthusiasts and the noise is unusually loud in the wee hours of the morning. I'd recommend you look elsewhere particularly if you want reasonably priced food on premise and a quiet nights sleep. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience for Destination Wedding We recently returned from our destination wedding in the Bay Area. The Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf was the hotel for us, all 40 of our guests, and the Welcome Reception. From the very beginning of our wedding planning process, Melissa and Carol in Sales & Catering were amazing to work with. They were timely in response to our questions, helpful with suggestions to make the experience for our guests better, and understanding of our needs. Once we arrived, they made sure that not only were our requests taken care of, but also that any requests by our guests were treated with extra attention. I can say without a doubt that our wedding experience was more special because of our decision to use the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. I would recommend using this location for a weekend stay, wedding, or conference. They take customer service to a whole new level. Thanks for making our wedding experience in the Bay Area extra special! May 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and great service. my wife is handicap, with a cane and everyone was very helpful. The bellhop was very helpful. The only problem was that we needed a taxi and no one was at the front door to flag down a cab for us. We did park in the handicap parking in front and it was more convenient for us. We have always stayed at Holiday Inn San Francisco-Fishermans Wharf and never had a problem. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great except for technical difficulties We stayed in a business room, which was nicely equipped with a microwave and fridge and was a good size. The beds were very comfortable. Staff were very friendly, the concierge was extremely helpful, and the location was excellent. The only real complaint we had was that the technology was a real problem. The wi-fi connection only worked first thing in the morning--when we tried to use it at night, the signal was so weak, we couldn't even check e-mail, let alone stream a video. My daughter called the IT helpline four times in one evening, but they couldn't get it straightened out. Also, the in-room video checkout didn't work. We just kept getting error messages and had to check out downstairs. Overall, I would gladly recommend this hotel, but if I'd paid for the wi-fi, I would be requesting a refund. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by RESTAURANT ARRIVED 15 MIN. BEFORE BREAKFAST WAS FINISHING.WAS VERY RUSH .THE PERSON SHOULD HAVE TOLD US BEFORE SERVING US.THAT'S THE ONLY TIME WE VISITED THE RESTAURANT. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super experience Great hotel for enjoying Fisherman's Wharf. Within walking distance of the area. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Room was quiet and super clean. Highly recommend. May 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 shorth san francisco break the best thing was the location, could not have been better May 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Grandson and I traveled by Amtrak to San Francisco for Spring break. Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf was very convenient for things a 6 year old would like such as the cable car, streetcar, trip to Muir Woods and ride across the bay via ferry. April 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Run down, need to work on customer service, address items that aren't working (internet, printer, elevator), be up front with availability of rooms, parking fee, etc. April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by loved the stay, comfortable and staff is very accomodating I was book for one night instead of two. When I called in to have them fix the error, they were very nice and took care of me. I requested adjoining rooms or very close to each other and they got me close to each other. While I was at hotel I asked if we could have the adjoining room connected to ours and they made it happened and held the room for us until it was available and not rushing us out of the other room we had first. They were so friendly and accomodating and lowered the price by $20 each room as a courtesy.. Above and beyond in my opinion. Only my second time staying at this location and I will be sure to only book here in the future. Very happily satisified!! April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location - good for families We read reviews first and so asked to be placed in the main building, not the one across the street. This worked better as we had young kids. The hotel restaurant is reasonably priced and kids under 12 eat free. Menu choice is limited and food is good - service in the restaurant was FANTASTIC! Wonderful, attentive servers. The front staff is kind and they have daily baskets of fresh apples, which our kids loved. The rooms are relaxing and comfy beds - a little noisy until about 11 pm, but we had a white noise machine so it didn't really bother us. We faced the front of the hotel and were on the second floor. I think this hotel is overpriced considering there is no fridge or microwave (except at a cost#. We just bought a disposable cooler from the local Walgreens and filled it with ice machine ice each nght #kept milk, cheese, restaurant leftovers etc.#. My only other complaint was that housekeeping didn't refill coffee, tea, shampoo etc. regularly. I left a tip one day asking for extras, and for robes which we got - that was nice. The bathrooms also weren't cleaned as thoroughly as I would like #mould under the soap holder in the tub, and hair on the floor not cleaned thoroughly each day#. Location is good, but not at night - a park across the street is home to several homeless people, so our kids were scared to go out at night. The closest walgreens only has the basics. Great location for sure though. CHECK-OUT: We asked to have our luggage held, which they did. The Bellman#?) said he would reserve a ride for us for a deposit. We thought it was a taxi, but when we returned for our reserved time, it was a hotel car. They did not take Credit Cards and we were almost out of US cash. We thought the amount we paid the bellman and driver together covered the gratuity, but it did not and the driver let us know that when we reached our destination. He suggested we use an ATM, which we did not want to do because of the extra charges. It was also more expensive taking the hotel car than our initial taxi ride from the airport to the hotel when we first arrived. I suggest taking a taxi or asking the Bellman for a better rate. April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fisherman's Wharf-It's All About Location,Location, Location The hotel was average, clean and friendly staff. I thought our room was smaller than other Holiday Inns in the past. Not having a refrigerator or microwave in the room as a standard amenity was really inconvenient and would be a reason to not choose this hotel again. The internet was so slow, we just shut our computers off and used our smart phones. Beds were comfortable, but small. Also, it would've been nice to have another table for eating and a few chairs. Really crowded for a family of four with two teenagers . The location on the other hand was excellent. This is located in a great area in which we did not need a car, but were able to navigate by public transportation, and mostly walked to everything we needed. It was also nice to be close to so many restaurants and stores. April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Slow internet and staff The wifi was extremely slow during the day and non existent after four pm. Our buffet breakfast for two was over fifty dollars and the staff at the front desk was unwelcoming and slow. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was great and the price was reasonable. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Hotel is a little dated in areas and rooms can be a bit noisy but the location is great for transport, very clean and beds/bedding are excellent. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location Just an 'average' hotel if you ignore the location. Not bad - not great. Just OK. The location can't be beat though. You can walk anywhere on the wharf from here. Unbeatable for that. Be prepared for some serious sticker shock on the cost of parking here though! April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location But . . . . The guest room was great. In the past, I've always preferred Holiday Inn. They have always provided good service and a safe environment. This time, I was very disappointed. This was my first experience with Holiday Inn as a disabled customer. Although the location was perfect, their parking fees were obscene. There is no accommodations for the disabled, unless you call the handicapped spaces in their over-priced garage an accommodation. After identifying myself as handicapped during check-in, they gave me a room close to the end of the hall and far away from the elevator. I limited my visits to my guest room in order to avoid the long hall walk that challenged me physically and left me with less energy to enjoy the sight and sound of Fisherman’s Wharf (which is why I was in San Francisco). April 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great stay We were pleasantly surprised by our stay here. The location was outstanding, the room was clean, and the staff was friendly. We had a 2nd floor room in the main building, and had no problems w/noise. We stayed in 2 other hotels on our travels across N. Cal, and this hotel provided our best accommodation experience. If we travel back to SF, we will definitely consider staying here, especially considering that that the price per night was cheaper than many other hotels, especially hotels in the Fisherman's Wharf area. April 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service perfect location comfy rooms great service everything was great no complaints April 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, Small beds An excellent choice for the Pier 39 (Fisherman's Wharf) area. Well located, large rooms, very nice staff, very well-priced for the area. Also, in-and-out self parking for $40 a day sounds pricey, but, believe me, it's a very good deal in this part of town. One major "but" with this hotel. The beds in the "two double beds" rooms are really too small for two adults. They're barely wider than singles, so unless you like the old Ozzie and Harriet way of sleeping with a nightstand between, you're going to have a tough night's sleep. Also with only one nightstand between the two beds, if you do sleep together only one of you gets a reading light, etc. Because of this, each rating less than five was docked one star. Sleep quality was docked three stars. April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, kinda noisy The location is great - within easy walking for many attractions and accesibility through public transportation also great. My room overlooked an alleyway with grafitti on the wall, it seemed that the streets were being swept overnight and trash removed, which made a great deal of noise around 3 a.m. all three nights of my stay Room was very clean, shower was great, safe in room was bonus. Concierge not overly friendly or expressing attitude of helpfulness, she gave rapid directions for using public transportaiton and seemed distracted/rushed/uninterested in helping. Friendly check in staff, got chocolates and an apple upon checking in. Nice overall. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location So I stayed at the adjacent Holiday Inn Express and this hotel in two days. This hotel, albeit a bit smaller, has bigger room and more staff. Highly recommended. April 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading