• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
San Francisco City Hall
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Opera
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Embarcadero Ferry Building and Financial District
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 375 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better the 2nd time around I stayed a couple of nights at the beginning of my trip, then again for 3 nights at the end of my US visit. I'd booked a room with a view for each visit. First time I was on the 26th floor, and the view was excellent...I was happy with the stay..when I returned I was on the 22nd floor...and the view was even BETTER!!!...corner room, with two sides windowed..and the room itself was smarter. This second visit was much better in other ways too, as at check in I was handed hotel information showing nearby eateries, and streets around the hotel. On both visits the staff were polite, helpful, and friendly, and I would stay there again...Being in the city centre by a well used road where emergency vehicles frequently sound their sirens did cause a little broken sleep though! Dining room being upgraded at present time March 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy and dogs in Hotel The location is very noisy, you can hear people in adjoining rooms, the air conditioner is like a truck starting, the Dining room is like a dungeon and a dog barks all night keeping you awake. Will not be staying at any Holiday Inn's while thy have a dog friendly policy. What about people friendly. Hotels for people, dogs in the back yard March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific View The front desk staff is excellent!! They were nice enough to put me on one of the top floors so I could enjoy the view. In case the title did not give it away, the view is fantastic!! The hotel is also very convenient to the whole city as you can get a cab very easily and if you want to see the city via street-cars, you can grab one at California St, not even a block away. A lot of cool bars and restaurants are just around the corner. If I am in SF, this is where I will stay. March 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Good View We were able to stay in a corner room and had great views of the city. Location was convenient to getting around town and staff was extremely friendly! March 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good place to stay in the overall environment is fine,but the noice isn't control well,we can clearly hear noise of the nearby room open and close the door,the parking is very expensive,$40/day!!!also they charge us $40 for the second day even only stay for 18 hours. March 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service I enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn. It was clean and comfortable. The room had beautiful views. March 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive but good enough This hotel is in need of renovation, but it is in a good enough. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and location! Had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The free update was great! The room was clean, comfortable, with great view of the city and part of the ocean. Very friendly staff. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Glad we chose the Golden Gateway Holiday! 4.5 stars...not given option for half stars. Was in newly renovated area; high floor; a guest for 5 days. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful staff, close to MUNI transportation. Little uncomfortable being out after dark, but we were, with no incidents. Restaurant undergoing renovation, so unable to recommend it, but the staff there was friendly as well even tho they are dealing with serving in a temporary setting. Thanks to all of you at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway! March 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay in sfo Room on the street and pretty noisy even if we were on a high level Parking daily fees are too much expenses and do not help to provide an overall good price February 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and location My stay was what you expect from Holiday Inn's - decent value and comfortable setting. Its not an intercon people. The staff was very accomidating and even upgraded my room to a city view (Thank you!!). I was there for vacation but I also frequent IHG hotels for work and will continue to do so. Good value for SF and highly recommended. February 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in great location I recently spent three nights at this hotel and found it to be in a great location for getting around town to my meetings and to see some of the sights and sounds of the city. Public transportation is readily available and it's a short jog down to the waterfront - and a personal favorite: Ghirardelli Square. I like to run and it was easy to get to the San Francisco Bay trail going up Van Ness. The hotel itself was good. Their internet did not work for a whole day or so - which was problematic for me to stay in touch with my home office. When it was fixed, it worked fine. The restaurant was undergoing renovations so it had been relocated to part of a ballroom. The setup was fine - they even brought in a bunch of TV's so the patrons could watch the news and Olympics etc. I only ate breakfast there once and it was good. The little shop was also in a temporary space, but seemed stocked well enough, though I hope they get in some breakfast muffins for next time... Staff was polite and helpful. I will stay there again next time I'm in San Fran. February 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Great Rooms! Great view! I went down for a work related training.My check in experince was not that good.I booked two rooms. One was on a company card the other was on me. She could have any record of the CC auth form I sent prior to my arrival.The FD staff who checked me didn't acknowledge my memership until the end of the check experince.I asked the the agent what time the training started.She told me that there was no event tomorrow.I had to get in detial about the spefice of the event and she finally told me.I like the hotel and the brand, whenever I go back to this hotel I hope I dont have an check in experince like that again.I like the hotel!!Took some great photos I attached a Sunrise pic. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Friendly Stayed here for 5 days for a 2-day meeting but I brought my family along for a mini-vacation. The hotel was comfortable and very convenient. I had a car for two-days, but I parked at a garage down ($30 overnight for weekdays, I think $24 max overnight for weekends) the street instead of paying the $40 per night. Otherwise we took public transit - there were several bus lines in the area, and the terminal stop for the California line for the cable car was at the corner (got the multiple day passes). Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Wanted to especially thank Charles for his help in getting a taxi for me to the airport. The room was nice. Only minor complaint was that the crib I ordered ahead of time wasn't there and it took maybe 20-30 minutes for them to bring it up. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! I enjoyed my stay. The rooms were clean, the view beautiful, and the staff friendly. I loved being a very short walk from Starbucks and Whol e Foods as well! Thank you. February 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice views Very nice room and views, but it is a little noisy and could hear people talking in the hallway and in the room next to us. February 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco 2/6-2/9 When I arrived the staff was very courteous and I had no problems. However, the following morning I was trying to get the best way to get to Fisherman's Wharf and the desk staff were vague regarding my mass transit choices. I wound up walking all the way there and all the way back. Needless to say I was disappointed to find out that there was a bus stop on the next corner that would have taken me there in less than 10 minutes. The walls of my room were very thin and I had no problem hearing my neighbors as 5 AM taking very loud Sunday morning. I had been hearing them consistently throughout my stay. I cannot comment about the food quality of the restaurant. However, I did stop in for drinks and was totally ignored after I finished my first glass of wine. After waiting for 20 minutes for one of the two waitresses to come back to see if I wanted a second drink, I decided to just leave after paying my bill. February 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable but customer service was a downer Stayed for 2 nights. Checked in the first day and we were upgraded to the top floor thinking the room would be bigger not just a better view. The room was extremely compact for a double bed as well as the bathroom. That night, my friends and I were going out and wanted a cab so we asked front desk to call for a cab for us and they said to just catch one on the road. From my past experiences in staying in hotels in the city, the front desk will usually call for a cab upon request. Mind you, it was raining and we were all dressed up, so that was a waste. The next day we slept in and housekeeping called to check when we would like our room cleaned, told them a time and went back to resting. We accidently left the "do not disturb" sign on the door and decided since we were leaving to go shopping we would just tell the front desk. We tell the front desk and they asked us if we called house keeping and we repeated that we accidently left the sign on and if they could call them to clean the room. No, so we had to go back up to our room again, call the front desk, since there was no direct line to housekeeping. Front desk tells us to call the hotel operator and then we can be transferred to house keeping. What a hassle! Before we left we tidied up a bit and left dirty cups and bottles for them to throw away. We come back from our shopping, room looks clean but they failed to pick up the dirty cups and empty bottles. Second night, we go out again and this time it pouring cats and dogs, more than the night before and yet the front desk still wouldn't call us a cab. Ruined our time getting ready all together. It was rude for them to deny our request for a cab especially under that type of weather. I, nor my friends, will return to this hotel. February 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not comfortable The positive point at first. The housekeeping works very well. I booked a room with "corner view" but the windows were so dirty that no fun about the nice view coming up. The climatic system is from the former century. Every five minutes it starts and is very noisy, sleeping was only possible with earplugs. Regarding my very positive experience with Holiday Inn Hotels in Germany I booked including breakfast. This was the next tremendous mistake. One week lukewarm sausage, lukewarm scrambled eggs, no variations. Every day the same food. Bar is integrated in the breakfast room. Not really convenient. Sometimes I had a feeling I stay in a youth hotel, a lot of Japanese and Chinese teenager stayed in the hotel. My recommendation, this hotel is not a business hotel. Next Holiday Inn stay will be in Vienna. Let's see! February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and nice,clean bed Nice clean bed , cable car right next to the hotel. Close to everything. We will be back again for sure. Thanks February 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Early morning room door knocks Even though I had already placed the "do not disturb" sign at my room door, I got early morning door knocks from room service personnel who couldn't wait past 9:00 am to do the rooms. I had to call the front desk and ask them to tell room service not to bother me in the mornings! February 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great Experience in a city so full of excitement The stay here was excellent. The staff was helpful and extremely nice (thank you Baker). Location was great. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, needs a lot of work My first impression of the hotel started when I walked in to a dimly lit, cold front desk area. The rooms were nice, the pillows were lousy. Went down for breakfast, no free breakfast , waiters were rude and it seemed like you were bothering them. Breakfast area was in a small conference room, buffet was way overpriced and it wasn't worth it. A lot of construction going on, which is understandable. Great location, it has the potential to be a great place, it just needs a lot of work. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room and the shuttle to CPMC is invaluable. My husband is in a clinical trial at CPMC and we have stayed at this hotel 3 times now. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. And, the rooms are clean and comfortable. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall it was a great experience. Although I though the bed was rock hard but once i relaxed I was fine. They need to have a free breakfast because some of us cannot afford going out to get breakfast. And the price we have to pay, they need something free like food… Other than that it was great. Oh and I HATED that the ice machines were on odd number floors… And it took me forever just to figure out how to work the elevators…. February 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great views and good value In general, we were quite comfortable in our room during our one week stay. The location is perfect and the views are wonderful. The staff were very responsive to the one or two requests we made. The heating system, with all the glass surrounding the room, was somewhat difficult to control. Also, the carpet in our room needed a thorough cleaning. This will be a much more agreeable hotel once the downstairs renovations are completed. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 stars all the way perfect stay (6 nights) - everything was perfect from the beginning, was recognized as gold elite and upgraded to the top floor, rooms spacious and comfortable, bathroom is very clean - very, very good housekeepers, who cleaned our room - she(they) did a great job, location work great for us. the most memorable experience for me with IHG hotels so far. Good value for price paid. Thank you February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 stars surprise Highly recommend! ! We were so pleased , we had read some bad reviews it was nothing like that ! Our room was stylishly decorated The View from our room was Spectular ! The staff is tremendous! We were checked in by a staff member named Baker he is a super star ! 5 stars on a buget and who isnt these days ! January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great view Great views and convenient location. Walking distance to downtown and buses and cable cars close by. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The dining room could do with a revamp and there weren't many gluten free options for breakfast - go to the deli down the road on Van Ness. The free wifi was good - no problems. January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff. This Holiday Inn was a wonderful stay for my mom and I. The convenient CMPC shuttle was a great help to us and the airport shuttle service was also good. We were on the 23rd floor with a nice view and a quiet , nicely updated room. Great location out of the major hustle and bustle but very convenient to bus, trolley and restaurants. Would stay here again. Wonderful helpful staff as well. January 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>
Select to book our daily parking package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading