• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 579 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Girls trip to San Francisco Clean, friendly, safe, excellent location, wonderful breakfast selections. Immediate access to cable cars, trolleys, wharf. Easy walk to North Beach....SUPER LOCATION! August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome location- walking distance to attractions HIE have become my choice of hotels. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the staff are great. You are within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf which houses the Aquarium by the Bay, Pier 39 and there is my favorite Ghiardelli Square. You can easily walk to the trolley turn around. My only 2 "negatives" would be there is no frig & microwave as in other HIE's and the parking is $45/night. With that said, ALL parking is expensive in San Fran so we just bit the bullet and dealt with it. I am a member so I received an early check in and a late check out which was really handy. If you are not a member, they will "hold your luggage" if you want to start your vacation. The breakfast area is a great size and lots of choices. My son LOVED the pancake machine :) A fresh fruit salad would be a great item, but we had apples and bananas. We printed our boarding passes at the provided computers, free of charge. The in room free wi-fi seemed fast (not here on business so we did not upload/download any files). Completely recommend this hotel. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location On our way to college visits, Berkley and Stanford. With 2 August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable rooms well insulated The room was clean, especially the bathroom, the furniture was appropriate and comfortable. Insulation was good as it kept the noise in the hall down very low August 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn has the hardest mattresses ever This was a nice hotel and the room was incredible (they gave us an upgrade due to being a points member). The location was just blocks away from the wharf and public transportation. (Note that you have to pay a premium price for the trolley, the public buses have awful schedules, but the F-line might be ok.) HOWEVER, we have discovered, during a 4 week "tour" of the western US that the Holiday Inn chain has the WORST BEDS OF ANY BRAND NAME HOTEL. Every Holiday Inn we stayed at, I had to get extra blankets or pillows to put underneath the mattress pad to make sleeping bearable. Also, the hotel is WAY overpriced as is and parking is $45 per day. August 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran Great location and staff. Hotel very clean and well maintained/serviced. Rooms of good size (worth being a IHG member to get WiFi and better room) Only downside no hotel bar or restaurant - would be welcome if only to get an afternoon snack or light meal. Breakfast very good in terms of availability but very few healthy options and can get busy. That said, staff kept everything well stocked and it is more a reflection on the guests that just left everything on the tables / made inordinate amount of mess that they didn't attempt to tidy up rather than the hotel Overall a great experience - for a city hotel it was fabulous and the staff really do help make a great holiday. Would definitely recommend August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Very accommodating! They were able to get us into our room early and allowed us to check out late (due to club membership). Monica at the front desk was especially helpful as well as Jessica at the tour desk, both ladies went above and beyond to help us enjoy our time in San Francisco. August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by mr air conditioning to close to the bed. carpet a bit dirty August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice and comfortable, but pricey and noisy I guess you have to expect it in "the city", but it was a little too hustle-and-bustle noisy often times for my taste. I guess that's why this is the "Express" version of the hotel. (The regular Holiday Inn is right down the street) August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service We really enjoy the cleanses and excellent courtesy of all staff. They are very friendly. Your service was excellent!! Keep up all your good work!! August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Close to wharf, cable trolley, Alcatraz and Chinatown. Enjoyed each and did allot of walking. Watch out for the panhandlers but give to worthy causes. August 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service - Staff is too busy to pay attention I am a platinum Holiday Inn member. So, I obviously like their value that they provide to me on a weekly basis however, San Francisco was an exception. The staff never acknowledged our presence and they were in a rush to give us a room key. No August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff makes this place great All staff are friendly, attentive and accommodating we enjoyed our stay very much and the location is excellent for all fishermans wharf activities August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great property in great SF location! This is an exceptional Holiday Inn Express--nicest one I have ever been too: most upscale room decor, slightly better breakfast options in some cases (turkey bacon/sausage, soy milk). The rooms are very nice and comfortable. They mainly face courtyards: PRO: very quiet, no city street noise. CON: You are in Fisherman's Wharf neighborhood, within site of Bay Bridge, and all you see are other room windows. That is a small negative, and it is the only one we encountered--wonderful facility, great location, great staff. Brandy at front desk was the best ambassador going for IHG Hotels! We will stay there again on our next trip to that "City by the Bay". August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Nice and clean and close to pier and shops. Loved the hotel with the only exception was that we didn't have a fridge in the room which is handy for drinks etc. Every other holiday inn that we've stayed in had a fridge except this one. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Lovely hotel. Nice modern rooms and bathrooms. Lovely beds. Very friendly staff. Quick and easy valet parking. Breakfast was a little chaotic. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 位置极佳 位置方便,价格当然也一流啦。 不过考虑到时间,还是物有所值。 早餐人数有点多,混乱。 网速偏慢。 客房倒是一如既往的舒适。 July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but has room for improvement Comfortable hotel, great location. issues with the A/C were not corrected during the 2 nights stay breakfast service very chaotic July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast Choice Staff excellent,Breakfast very good,however did not like the paper plates,cutlery etc. Checkin,checkout prompt ans all staff very polite. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely convenient and nice Our family of 5 from Baltimore was visiting San Fran for one night (sadly). This was a great hotel!! July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but comes at a price We booked two standard rooms and enjoyed our 3 night stay. Elevators were always crowded in the mornings and stairways difficult to find/use. The breakfast offerings were the same each day, but very popular, especially the pancake machine which always required waiting in line, sometimes 4-6 people deep. Perhaps extending the buffet time now from 6:30 - 9:30 another 1/2 hour or hour might help ease the congestion. Another pancake machine is also suggested. The rooms are nice, comfortable, and well serviced. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel's location apparently drives the cost to stay here comparable to 4 July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We had a nice stay but unfortunately we were on the first floor so we could hear a lot of street noise - cable cars. The hotel was clean. Breakfast was good. Definitely worth the money. Unfortunately the pool was up the street at the sister hotel and there was no hot tub. Overall a very nice hotel. July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran vacation Great location and good rates. Room was small, basically had to sit on the bed. Breakfast was crowded but a good selection. July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by no Recognition for IHG® Rewards Club Members I didn't receive platinum member 500 welcome bonus points. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again I would def. stay in this hotel the next time we visit San Francisco. The beds were comfy, the rooms were quiet, and everything was really clean. The hotel is also centrally located to all the tourist attractions, so we had to take minimal transportation. The one improvement I wish the hotel would offer is a hotel shuttle bus too/from the airport. The options were cab only(expensive) or airport shuttle(45 minute wait), which is tough if you have an early flight. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ask for a room with a view. Nice hotel in a great location. Be sure to ask for a view towards the wharf. Otherwise, not such a great view out the window. Also, expect trouble finding a table for breakfast. Otherwise, the food is very good. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Choice Room was nicely decorated - newly remodeled - location was good - breakfast was good but the amount of people made it hard to find a place to sit, July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location - Great Staff - Nice Lobby This Express hotel meets the needs of the tourist looking for access to the SF Wharf and Piers. Two block walk and you're in the mix of all of the attractions. Their reception staff is very professional, concierge is very knowledgeable and the breakfast, although it's the same types of items you get at every Holiday Inn Express, is actually prepared by someone who knows what they're doing, and because it's an extremely busy place, the food staff works very hard to keep all selections well stocked. Rooms are a little small, no swimming pool (like nearly every SF hotel), but fair price and nice place to stay. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional service! We stay at HIE all over the country, and this was absolutely the best service we've ever had! My husband can't have hardly any sodium, so the normal hard-boiled eggs at breakfast are important to us. They ran out, so that was the only thing that wasn't exceptional. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Suite, family vacation in San Francisco Hotel is in a great location for tourism. It is clean and very attractive. We were a party of 5 and used the family suite-2 double beds (not queen) and a pull-out sofa. The beds were fine, but as in most hotels, the sofa bed had a bad mattress. My only complaint about the room was that there were only 4 sets of towels, but the suite can accommodate 6. I expected 6 sets of towels. Breakfast was plentiful with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast/bagels, oatmeal and cold cereal, pastry, yogurt, coffee/tea/juice. It was kept well stocked throughout the morning. However, there was not enough seating in the dining area to accommodate all guests. We were allowed to check in early as our room was ready. We were also able to store our luggage in a locked room off the lobby after checkout as our flight home was later in the day. We tagged our luggage and felt it was secure. We will definitely use this hotel if we ever return to San Francisco! July 19, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 21 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading