• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
San Francisco City Hall
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Opera
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Embarcadero Ferry Building and Financial District
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel's Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa District, the Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center hotel is minutes from anywhere in San Francisco. Whether enjoying the culture and beautiful sights of the City by the Bay, attending Moscone Convention Center, working in Region 9 Federal Government offices or SoMa technology companies like Twitter, Dolby and Zynga, you're sure to enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach.

Located in
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel's Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa District, the Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center hotel is minutes from anywhere in San Francisco. Whether enjoying the culture and beautiful sights of the City by the Bay, attending Moscone Convention Center, working in Region 9 Federal Government offices or SoMa technology companies like Twitter, Dolby and Zynga, you're sure to enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach.

Located in the San Francisco Arts and Government District, you are only a half block from a major public transportation station with quick access throughout the city and to Bay Area airports. Many guests choose to walk to their destination since we're just steps from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro.

Downtown San Francisco offers the hotel's guests Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf and the Orpheum Theatre. Don't miss the Golden Gate Bridge and a thrilling tour of Alcatraz Prison. Or catch the subway to AT&T Ballpark, home of the San Francisco Giants.

Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, HBO and our outdoor, heated pool and sundeck. Drinks and dining are available at the restaurant, lounge and with room service. Your satisfaction is our top priority at the Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center hotel.

View Less
Features
Striking, modern decor also leaves a small carbon footprint on the San Francisco - Civic Center area. The hotel's extensive green program includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 368 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grerat location Great location, blocks from Fishermans Wharf. This hotel fit the bill for us. We did not rent a car so parking fees were not an issue. Were able to walk to the wharf and took the open air bus tour. Buffet breakfast was more than adequate and seating was available , if sometimes a little crowded. Front desk was knowledgeable about area and assisted us on a few occasions. October 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The hotel is located minutes from Fisherman's Warf. The room was nicely appointed and competively priced. Breakfast was caotic and I strongly suggest choosing less busy times. This hotel was recommended to me and I was not disappointed and would definitely choose to stay here in the future. The staff were gracious and helped me feel welcome! October 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really well located, staff was helpful About two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, about a half block from On and Off bus stop, about two blocks from cable car turnaround. Parking is hideously expensive, but not much different whether you park at hotel $45 or in a surrounding lot. Parking is somewhat less expensive at Ross store's underground lot two blocks back from motel. We first were put in a room on the second floor, but were moved to a very quiet room on the fourth floor when I asked. Staff was very cordial. Would stay again. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room Paid for a mini suite and was disappointed. It is the same as most all Holiday Inn rooms I have stayed in before except it had a couch instead of chairs. Would not spend the difference in cost again. Location was great. October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. We were able to walk to everything, and enjoyed breakfast. Room was clean, but pricey for quality of this hotel. First night, room was hot and uncomfortable. Air conditioner was fixed the next day. October 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small room , no view Small room, no refrigerator, no microwave, no view. Typical Holiday Inn Breakfast. If you had one, you've had them all. Take my advice, go next door to the Hollywood Cafe for the best breakfast in San Francisco. Attached picture was my view. Pros... great location, near everything. Easy walk to the Fisherman's Wharf. October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location. Excellent overall hotel. We loved it!! Had a great stay on the Wharf! Super hotel with a great location. Breakfast was awesome. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location Great location for moving around the city. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful for guests who don't know how to find fun in the city. Room are a bit small but very clean and nice. October 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room The parking situation is one of the worst things I have come across, we should of been informed that there would be a fee for parking, really it was highway robbery 51 dollars and change for parking a motorcycle over night is just plain wrong, plus they would not shuttle us to the Giants ballpark which I think is crazy. Great rooms, need to fix the parking situation make it free for the people who stay there. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to everything Loved the hotel and convenience at Fisherman's Wharf, SF. Everything was great. The only thing was very crowded breakfast in the morning and not enough seating. I prefer the Holiday Inn brand when I travel because I expect the same level of service every time. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We are senior citizens and enjoyed a week at the Holiday Inn Express. We felt safe in the hotel and in the area. The hotel was close to the wharf and to transportation. The room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. We would stay here again. October 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I will plan more for my next trip to San Francisco The room was tiny and definitely NOT worth the price! Although the hotel is conveniently located in downtown and allows adequate access to public transportation, the staff does not necessarily know what to tell you about getting around in the city. The staff was helpful when we checked out and requested that they store our bags while we completed our sightseeing. The parking is OUTRAGEOUS! $45 to park your car for a night and you MUST valet park. At $45, I refused to tip!!! I will not return to this property and am seriously considering not returning to Holiday Inn properties at all in the future. October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location This establishment is excellent for vacation and visiting all that San Francisco has to offer. Staff is very polite, extremely professional and always willing to provide the best services. Thank you! October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience We stayed at the HIE FW Oct 4-7, 2013. It was a wonderful experience. The rooms were cozy (my only complaint being the televisions are extremely dated), the hotel was always clean, it is 2 blocks from the Bay and not crazy expensive. I only had one not so friendly encounter with a front desk person when we were checking out, but I have high standards as I'm from Texas and we go out of our way to make sure the customer is always happy. I highly recommend this hotel! October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Beds I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, and every morning, I'd wake up with severe neck pain, in some cases, it would take me 5-10 minutes to get out of bed. With that said, I'm guessing it's the pillows at the hotel. I have never had a problem at any hotel, regardless of the hotels rating, but for whatever reasons, this hotel did me in. It was very uncomfortable and makes me not want to return to the hotel, if I have a choice. I do travel 50% of the year and am not a picky traveller, in fact, I sleep on 6 hour plane rides with no problem! The front desk was awesome, super friendly and very attentive. That's definitely a perk to this place. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location for Fisherman's Wharf Clean and comfortable bedroom. Staff helpful and offered to order airport shuttle. Self-service breakfast included which was busy but a fairly good variety. Free wifi. Great location. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay when visiting Fishermans Wharf This was our second family visit (7 people - 2 rooms) to San Francisco staying in the Fisherman's Wharf area. We were in town on a family vacation and also to see a 49'ers game. Our stay at the Holiday Inn Express added to the enjoyment of the trip. Our rooms were ready when we arrived, they were clean and situated next to each other which was a plus for us. The front desk staff was friendly and when we called for extra pillows and blankets for the room, they arrived within 10 minutes. The night before checkout we asked front desk if they could secure two cabs for us in the morning (5 am departure), they actually found us a limo for the same price as the cabs. Great staff, clean rooms, nice complimentary breakfast, walking distance to the Wharf, what more can you ask for. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip. September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location Convenient for Fisherman`s Wharf with Pier 39 less than ten minutes walk. Gray Lines Super Sightseeing office is a few doors away. Minor problem with the room but it was sorted within five minutes of reporting. The Breakfast`s food options are a little limited and it can be a little difficult to get a table on a busy August weekend. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service suffers a little - STILL OUR GO TO STAY SPOT Stayed for 8 days during the America's Cup. Could have been the busy nature of the America's cup, could be personnel changes; However, the staff at the front desk was not as available when calling (several unaswered calls to front desk) not as polite upon check out (called the evening before our check-out and asked for our bill to be pre-prepared as we had a Very Early am departure - our bill was not prepared as requested, desk person was rude upon checkout) and there were problems with the air conditioner (air conditioner was not working on check in and broke another time during our stay - we were told this was from the cleaning staff daily turning the air conditioner off which caused a fuse to blow). Very clean room - slightly loud as it was on the second floor on the street side of the hotel - very well appointed room with fridge and microwave and king bed. Will probably stay here again as I am in San Francisco every 3 months. Price was 2x what we normally pay for this room. We attributed this to the timing of the America's Cup. September 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disgusted and poor services The AC filters never get changed in this place and the room I was in happened to have AC issues. Furthermore i was kept up all night because of the elevator malfunction. When I reported the AC issue it took management several hours to get back to me. I mean I need to just follow up with them. When it came to housekeeping they did not do my room the next day. I was furious, they would not change my room because they were sold out, so when I requested to just simply leave the hotel early and stay the next night at a different hotel, it was a battle with shift manager just to have him credit anything for the room. I still ended up paying for the room and it ended up costing me twice as much to book another hotel that night because of all the frustration. I wrote an email to the manager and even left him a note; it’s been almost three days now and not even once response. This hotel does not stand behind what they say and the service is just flat out poor. My recommendation is POOR HOTEL. September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location and wonderful staff The location of this hotel is perfect, right in the heart of the Wharf. There is a bus stop next door that takes you anywhere. The staff were absolutely the friendliest people I have ever had in a hotel. The maids, the service men, and everyone on staff said hello to us every day, The hotel was so clean. And the best part, we were on the fourth floor and it was so quiet, we could not hear any street traffice or noise at all. I will stay here over and over again! September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by review Pros: Location is great, staff is very friendly and helpful, hotel looks great from inside and outside. Cons: no fridge in the room, no swiming pool, very expansive parking. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value Fisherman's Wharf is our favorite get-a-way location and HI Express has the most convenient location for all that we love about the area. It is mid-way between Pier 39 and Ghirardelli Square. Rooms are clean and comfortable. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect choice This hotel could not have been better. The room was quiet and very clean. I am very sensitive to cleaning chemicals and when I advised the front desk pre-arrival, they opened the window and refrained from using any offending products. I am so grateful! This made my holiday very enjoyable. The breakfast offered has the best selection of any hotel I have ever stayed in and the staff replenishes the choices very promptly. I found all members of the staff to be exceptionally friendly and very well trained. This hotel is in a great location. It is close to the cable car, restaurants and anything you may need. Thank you very much!! September 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and staff We stayed for two nights and would fully recommend based on the location and the staff who were first class. The hotel is located very close to the piers of Fishermans Warf with all its attractions, night life and restaurants and is a 15min walk to the Alcatraz ferries, tram stops and to Lombard street. Breakfast was a bit of a let down but not unexpected in a HIX in a major city but the staff did try manfully to cope with the sheer volume of guests at the times we were eating. Would stay again and for a longer period to fully enjoy this fabulous city. September 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by no shining example for Holiday Inn only 1 elevator working, and making grinding noises. multiple requests to front desk resulted in 2nd elevator being put into operation...2 days later. meanwhile hundreds of guests had to wait interminably for an elevator. our room was hot. the a/c would NOT cool it. but the entire property was hot, for that matter, and given that San Franciscans are acclimated to a different climate than visitors, it may have felt normal to the staff. we made repeated requests for COLD A/C in the room, to no avail. it is well nigh impossible to relax and rest when the room is hot and humid. housekeeping did not speak conversational English. it is most difficult to explain what is needed when the other person can only nod and smile nicely. September 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location You need to invest in some new HDTV's, the ones you have are over 18 years old. Good job on the bathroom re-do, bed was comfy now address the old tellies and you've got it nailed. also run both elevators!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks September 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Internet in the room is not wifi I work with Internet and not wifi in the room only in the lobby. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and professional atmosphere! Desk clerk was very helpful & locked our luggage until our "upgraded room" was cleaned & ready! Asked for & got a bay view with a perfectly cleaned & manicured room. First vacation day in S.F. was extra enjoyable because of this Inn!! Reasonble for Fishermans Wharf area & easily walkable to all activities. Breakfast was slightly hectic but expect that with "free"...it got us by until lunch on the Wharf. Will definitely try them again!! September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. Your hotel is a fantastic place to stay. It has a perfect location, helpful staff, great breakfast and an interesting elevator. Don and Sharon September 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn ®. Click to learn more.