• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
San Francisco City Hall
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Opera
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Embarcadero Ferry Building and Financial District
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel's Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa District, the Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center hotel is minutes from anywhere in San Francisco. Whether enjoying the culture and beautiful sights of the City by the Bay, attending Moscone Convention Center, working in Region 9 Federal Government offices or SoMa technology companies like Twitter, Dolby and Zynga, you're sure to enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach.

Located in
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel's Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa District, the Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center hotel is minutes from anywhere in San Francisco. Whether enjoying the culture and beautiful sights of the City by the Bay, attending Moscone Convention Center, working in Region 9 Federal Government offices or SoMa technology companies like Twitter, Dolby and Zynga, you're sure to enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach.

Located in the San Francisco Arts and Government District, you are only a half block from a major public transportation station with quick access throughout the city and to Bay Area airports. Many guests choose to walk to their destination since we're just steps from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro.

Downtown San Francisco offers the hotel's guests Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf and the Orpheum Theatre. Don't miss the Golden Gate Bridge and a thrilling tour of Alcatraz Prison. Or catch the subway to AT&T Ballpark, home of the San Francisco Giants.

Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, HBO and our outdoor, heated pool and sundeck. Drinks and dining are available at the restaurant, lounge and with room service. Your satisfaction is our top priority at the Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center hotel.

View Less
Features
Striking, modern decor also leaves a small carbon footprint on the San Francisco - Civic Center area. The hotel's extensive green program includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 555 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location in San Francisco The hotel was all in all good and can be recommended. Negative: the concierge was not really interested in helping us. His Facebook account was much more interesting than our questions concerning the hop on hop off bus in San Francisco. He even looked up when he was talking to us. We didn't really feel welcomed. Positive: location, location, location October 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, noisy room I recently spent 6 nights at this hotel. All in all the place was fine, the room was well appointed and everything was clean. The only problem was that my room was on the fourth floor facing a busy street. The windows did not block out much of the outside noise. There was a nightclub right across the street, motorcycles loved to rev their engines at the light and even conversations between people seemed as if they were in the room with me. A little sound dampening in this case would go a LONG WAY, The breakfast buffet was very expensive, even for this area. Fortunately, there was a diner across the street that served great food at half the price. Drinks on the other hand were quite reasonable. The staff was very helpful, and the place was very nice. Just request a room off of the street. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Very Spacious! Would recommend this hotel for its location, very easy to get to everything whether it be pier 39, pier 33 for Alcatraz or even to hop on the tram. Just perfect. The rooms were very spacious, comfortable - at night our room backed onto a main street and the window shades were clear, so we got a street light, morning light and early travellers noise - which woke us some mornings. The concierge answered our questions, but it took some convincing and found her attitude quite rude. Other staff were friendly and welcoming. October 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely location, tired hotel Stayed 5 nights at this hotel on the 'rewards' floor. The decor is dated and tired and the hotel is in desperate need of a refit, not enough plug sockets. We were unfortunate to get a room overlooking beach street which meant disturbed nights from revellers, try to ensure you get a room facing inward or take ear plugs. Only ate at the hotel once it was average, didn't eat breakfast as we could get it $10 cheaper a block away. This is a fantastic location to base a holiday from and I suspect that's why it remains busy as a hotel however it's distinctly average and I suspect better are available nearby. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experience at Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, Ca I'd never been to San Francisco and the location of the Holiday Inn was perfect. We could walk to restaurants, shops, tour buses, etc. Room was clean and housekeeping very accommodating. Rooms kept very clean and neat. I used the hotel's computers in the business center a few times and when having trouble the front desk called the IT department to help me very quickly. We ate breakfast in the restaurant at the hotel 2 times. Waitstaff was excellent. Prices were too high for breakfast we thought. Overall a very satisfying experience. For the money it was probably one of the best places we could have stayed as S.F. prices are quite high for everything. Thoroughly enjoyed visit to City on The Bay and would recommended your hotel to friends and relatives. October 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front End Staff Not Helpful Had several poor experiences at this facility with front end staff. Booking in was a nightmare with the booking not honoured and the end result an overcrowded room with little to no comfort. Breakfast was prepaid but once again had to be argued over. When the room was queried the answer was all rooms are the same so we can't do anything. Pretty poor and as a IHG member not a great experience. We also had a camera overnight expressed to the hotel. When we asked we were told it never arrived. Until we produced evidence of it being signed for no one cared or made an effort and when the manager was asked for twice he conveniently was diverted by staff from handling the issue. Three staff made zero to no effort and we wasted a significant amount of time and money proving the staff had not done their jobs. The one shining light was the breakfast staff with excellent service and food. We also had to carry our own bags as no trolleys or bellboys wee available Not a great look for guests to be hauling bags 300 meters in a Main Street. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location Prior to checking into the Holiday Inn on Columbus Ave., my husband and I were at a conference hotel, Hilton, Union Square. Rooms were nice but very small. Upon check-in at the Holiday Inn we were checked into our room. Our rooms were clean and much larger. In addition, we opened our curtains and noticed we had a view of the Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge and the "Rock". Room was quiet and beds were comfortable. We even had a mini-frig and microwave. Doesn't get much better than that. Thanks for making our third trip to the Holiday Inn on Columbus Ave. just as good as the last two! Yvette & Michael October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location If you are looking for a great location for seeing Fisherman's Wharf, cable cars and lots of other sites this is a wonderful location. Rooms were well attended, staff very helpful and friendly. Very good value for your travel dollars. October 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Could not believe complimentary coffee in lobby was not available. We will not be staying at the Holdiay Inn in the future because breakfast was not inlcuded. In addition complimentary coffee was not available in the lobby because everything in the hotel revolves around paying customers utilizing the resturant which is not always open. Had to go to Starbucks for coffee in the rain. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awsome Stay! We stayed here for six nights and we loved it! If you are wanting to be close to the Wharf, the location can't be beat. The room was nice, a little dated but it was kept up really well and it was very clean, plus the bed was comfy. The staff were always helpful and polite. (Mario the bartender was great!). Lots of great little places to eat right across the street. Try the Irish Breakfast at Fiddlers Green its awsome!. And of course the Buena Vista is right around the corner. Thanks again for the great stay!! October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We were there on holidays and we found the hotel staff to be so friendly and willing to answer all questions. the front desk staff was just so outstanding and helpful. Our room was so quiet and clean. I think the location makes this one of the best in the city. We will return and stay here again and told our travel agent what a great hotel this was and to let others who travel to your city know. thank you for making our vacation so much fun. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay We stayed for 10 nights and highly recommend the Holiday Inn - Fisherman's Wharf. The room was comfortable and quiet, the location was great, the staff was friendly, breakfast buffet (included with room) was good and serving staff were efficient. A couple of "minor" inconveniences were handled immediately and satisfactorily. We will be back! October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accessible Room and Concierge Service This room, while on the ground level and not too far from an exit in an emergency, was very tight for maneuvering a wheelchair around. Also the shower was very tight. On the other hand, the concierge service was simply top notch and outstanding in every way. October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location and comfortable hotel This is easily my 6th stay at this hotel (I've lost track), so yes, I would return and have, and will continue to do so. The reason I score this hotel of average value are the high costs. Parking rates for guests are extremely high, despite the lot being empty and apparently in not so high demand. I understand this is San Fran, and nothing is cheap, but I do feel like some of the costs are a bit over the top. The hotel itself is in a great location, very near the Cannery, Fisherman's Wharf, Hyde St. Pier etc. It is clean, and comfortable and provides what I would expect - a comfortable place to stay when I'm not walking around the city enjoying the sites. Check in was smooth and the front desk is very friendly and helpful. The staff at the coffee bar was less than attentive though… Comfort, safe/secure and location are what keep me coming back to this hotel when I decide to visit the Wharf / Embarcadero area. I will be back, but would score the hotel higher if there some improvements or reductions in overall cost. October 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Experince Ever The customer service at this hotel has no concept. From simple things as asking for extra towels to taking care of a discrepensy on the final bill. The phone did not work, no one was ever available once you did call, and nothing was ever dealt with in a remotely timely matter. October 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Makes the Holiday Inn name look bad. This is a very old Holiday Inn (popcorn ceilings anyone?) that has had a partial lipstick job renovation (if you happen to get upgraded, otherwise I'm sure the room is from the 80's!). The hotel is old and needs a top to bottom renovation badly. I can't believe it's still a Holiday Inn! Location is great though! October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This hotel with in a great location close to everything September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Overall Room and Staff Our stay at the Holiday Inn at Fishermans Wharf was excellent. From the time we arrived to the end of our stay. Our family was extremely satisfied with everything. Our room was very clean, quiet and relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful. If we asked for more pillows, coffee or to have something laundred it was at our fingertips before we knew it. I ould highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning on visiting San Francisco. September 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced and rundown This hotel cost us nearly $400 per night, and the rooms were rundown and smelly. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but there was so much bleach in the sheets they made me itch, and I am not very sensitive to those things. The food in the restaurant was average, and the service a little slow. Front desk staff were nice, but very busy, as it was the weekend of the America's cup. I would not stay here again. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Alderman Wonderful stay. Where are my reward points Thank you September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 100% LOCATION-LOCATION-LOCATION After checking-in and recognizing the fact that this Holiday Inn consists of 2 separate buildings, we unloaded the car, followed the bellhop to the 2nd structure and then realized that I could re-park the car at a more conveniently located garage. This hotel lobby and hallways could use some cosmetic updates. The onsite presence of a 24 hour Denny's was a plus for breakfast and a late night snack.....even ice cream sundaes! Desk Clerk JOY was a joy!!!! She could use the assistance of a permanent on-site concierge. Location-location-location! Great for cable car, bus, and foot travel! We walked to North Beach and a great choice of restaurants and the theater for Beach Blanket Babylon (which is a MUST for San Francisco visitors.) Fisherman's Wharf was a 5 minute walk, passing countless souvenir shops and kiosks where we purchased Hop-On Hop-Off tour tickets. The 3 Day pass is a great bargain!!! September 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT LOCATION - AVERAGE HOTEL Having just spent 12 nights at the Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf during the Americas Cup at Americas Cup rates the Hotel is in an excellent location. The rooms were adequate but the carpet in 1433 was stained, damaged and filthy. There was a hairclip on the floor on day one and it was still there thirteen mornings later proving the carpets were not vacuumed once during the stay. Tired but adequate. September 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice enough hotel but poor communication We stayed recently at this hotel. We received a lovely welcoming email a few days prior saying if we need anything prior to our arrival to not hesitate to call. As it happened I had broken my leg 3 days prior and needed a wheelchair. We are international travellers and had no phone. The current hotel we were in rang on our behalf to enquire if they had wheechairs which they don't. So I then used a payphone to call the number they provided in the email. The person who answered said they couldn't take the message but the concierge could organize that and transferred me. I got an answering service so I left a message saying my travel insurance would reimburse them but could they arrange one as we arrived on a Saturday evening. I also sent an email. Upon arriving we were told they had not received either message, they couldn't arrange a wheelchair for us anyway and they had put us in a different building to the one we thought we'd booked. My husband asked if there was a way to get me to the other building and they asked I think the porter to use their shuttle. He said he wasn't comfortable doing that but they insisted. He was quite rude to us and slammed the van door when I was in. We had 2 young kids and even they picked up that he was angry. He was then offended when my husband said he wasn't paying a tip because of his negative attitude. We on average gave 20-25 percent tip during our holiday and we had given $5 to our porters. We felt very uncomfortable following the desk and porter encounter and there was no follow up from the concierge .... Silence is deafening. Being a Saturday evening I prepared to spend the rest if the weekend in my room but my resourceful husband was able to hire a wheelchair across the road at Walgreens- (the hotel should have known this and at least informed us if they weren't prepared to organize it on our behalf). The actual room was acceptable and we were quite happy with the location- views of water and Alkatraz. It was just the average service that spoiled the stay. When we left the same porter was now in our building. I asked the concierge to organize a taxi and he said the porter had to. I explained that I was uncomfortable speaking to him and he said it was still his job. So I explained to and asked reception to call a taxi and she said the same thing. She called him over and asked him to do it which made me feel embarrassed. Surely the staff can think outside the box and take some initiative when a customer has a specific request. Customer service and satisfaction was high on the priority list of most of the hotels we stayed in the 4 weeks we were in the States but we didn't get that impression from the Holiday Inn. September 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Okay...way over priced Granted this hotel is a few blocks from Fisherman's Warf, but the prices are rediculas, we used our points and ended up in a puny room on a floor specifically for people who used reward points I'm sure was full of puny rooms. Parking price after the absorbent prices of the room, coffee ajd breakfast is rediculas. Chances are we'll stay elsewhere when staying in San Francisco, this is supposed to be a "Resort Hotel", not even close, average at best...and not only did we get a puny room, it had an overwhelming odor of animal urine!!! September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Right location with all you need and at a reasonable price This September 2013 stay was our second, after a stay back in January. We like being near Fisherman's Wharf for dinner and then Ghiradeli's in the evening, and enjoy (mostly) taking the envigorating long hike to Union Square in the morning and afternoon. We stayed once at the wharf in another brand name hotel that was higher priced but outdated. Not sure what other hotel than this Holiday Inn matches the price for a quality-enough room and comfort. September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small beds Our over all stay was great. Staff was friendly. The beds were to small. We are used to a cal king and then we get put in a full. View of bay great. Queen beds would be much nicer September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Saturday night 9/21/2013 The noise was just to much. The hotel should have done something. I could not sleep. I needed to catch a shuttle van to the airport at 0615. Party noise stopped at around 0130. That nights stay was not worth the price. The Hotel had no control over the drunken people causing the problem. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service apart from resturant It was a pity that the restaurant did not provide either good service or quality of food. If a restaurant is part of the hotel it should be held accountable for the service it provides which is part of the experience. I cannot speak highly enough of front of house staff or housekeeping. September 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fishermans Warf Stay We found the hotel/room to be clean and close to Fishermans Warf. My only complaint would be the rates that are being charged for parking $46.50 a day which I found to be outrageous and pricey if you are staying at this hotel for 8 days. I understand that its probably due to location but as a platinum member I would have hoped to receive some type of discount. I will recommend this hotel however I would strongly suggest that they find parking elsewhere. September 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very confortable bed Great location, comfortable room, great bed, good value. September 16, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 20 next>>
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!