• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, spacious room, great breakfast & convenient location Our family recently spent a week here and have no complaints. The room was spacious and very clean, and the breakfast was good and varied daily. We enjoyed the walking path by the hotel and smores by the fire in the evening. Very convenient to the Golden Gate & all highways. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded expectations. I rarely write reviews, but I was really impressed with this hotel. I was driving down the coast and decided to do a spur of the moment vacation. I booked and arrived within ten minutes, thought that this might be a problem, but they had all my information, and the hotel staff was very welcoming, and even left the s'mores fire burn a half hour later, so I could make one. I visited Muir forest (the front desk gave me a map) and tMuir beach...all very close! Also, the breakfast was extensive, and really really good...I stayed at a Crowne Plaza the next night and was extremely disappionted. I should have stayed here again, and tried out the free bikes! Well done! July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and comfortable hotel wonderful hotel, could not have picked a better location. the best value hotel in the area, great views July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Celebrating birthdays We were traveling to celebrate my husband and a really good friend Birthdays. We stayed at Holiday Express, it was a great accomadation. I book 2 rooms which were right next to each other, made it very convenient. Love the morning breakfast. Great way to start your day. Very close to John Muir,Sausalito, Napa. Planning to return in August. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location to everywhere. Picked this location with the hopes of being able to easily access all of the bay area during a 7 day stay. Mission accomplished! Breakfast was great, rooms were everything you would expect and service was excellent. Would recommend to others traveling to the San Fran area. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay I thought I would give the hotel and staff kudos. From the moment we checked in with JoAnn, we were made to feel at home. Every one on the staff was incredibly helpful, and very accommodating. The rooms were nice with a view of the hills. The breakfast was one of the best free breakfasts I have ever had. I typically stay at Intercontinental properties, and have yet to meet a better staff. July 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location We really enjoyed the walking/biking paths and the channel/wetlands beside the hotel. The room was quiet with a pleasant view. We ate at Dipsea Cafe nearby (8 min walk) and enjoyed the food there. July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! I was so pleasantly surprised by this stay that I've started booking Holiday Inn/IHG stays whenever I travel with my family. The room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel itself was very cute. However, what made it great was the staff. They were very friendly and made out stay incredibly pleasant. We appreciated the lending library of dvds and the s'mores. We didn't take advantage of the bikes, but perhaps we will on a future trip. I was happy to see the boardwalk so near the hotel as well. The on-site restaurant was good. While you can hear some noise from the hall, I have yet to find a hotel where this is not true. This is a great, affordable place to stay near SF and Muir Woods, and I look forward to returning when we're in that area. July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay, great service Hotel was a bit hard to find but my GPS came through. Enjoyed walking on the board walks they are a plus. I would stay there again. June 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good base for Marin hiking We picked this hotel because of its proximity to Muir Woods, Stimson Beach, and Point Reyes. The hotel itself adjoins a scenic marshy area with a paved walking/biking trail. Free bike "rentals" (2 hour limit) are available. Wireless internet and an extensive buffet breakfast are included in the rate. Overall the room was average for this type of hotel, i.e., comfortable but not particularly luxurious or attractive. It is not clear whether the person who writes the hotel's website copy ever visited the rooms. We paid extra to reserve a "view" room, but our view was mainly of the parking lot--a tiny slice of mountain was visible. Our friends' "view" room next door looked out onto a blank wall. It's possible that second-floor rooms (ours were on the first floor) have a more appealing view, but given that there is no elevator, that choice might be problematic for those with heavy suitcases. There is a very good Italian restaurant next door (Frantoio). The prices are on the steep side, but we found both the food and service outstanding. Given the prices, selection, and leisurely service, this would not be the right place to have most meals while staying at the hotel. June 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not up to what i usually expect from holliday inn express this holiday inn express needed a lot of up dating.no address on outside of building. no microwave in rooms. breakfast area not large enough. ice machine way to far away. etc. June 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to San Francisco and surrounding attractions. Very comfortable and its location near but not actually in San Francisco gives travellars easier access to the many other attractions in the area. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable stay The room, breakfast and staff were excellent, as a handicap senior everyone were very helpful June 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent value great service Friendly staff great service. The Jacuzzi was too hot. We spoke to the front desk & it was checked immediately. They said it was 104 degrees, but it was so hot we couldn't enjoy or relax in the water. Everything else was above our expectations. We really enjoyed the smores by the fire pit. It was a nice touch. Free parking was also appreciated. Also, breakfast was good & 24 hour coffee a nice perk. We will be back. May 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a nice stay.... I always try to stay at this HI near SF when I am in the area! The only suggestion: The spa was about 104 degrees or hotter. Way too hot to sit in more than a few minutes. Can you turn it down to about 102? Thanks for a great stay, May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful!! We opted to stay just a bit out of SF because, at the Holiday Inn Express in Mill Valley, we easily took a ferry to the fun, high energy of SF (for about the price of pkg) and came home to a tranquil place and free parking! Staff was great! Lovely walking/bike path adjacent to the hotel. Great pool area! May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Customer Service I have stayed in this hotel over a dozen times. The service has always been good, but Joann at the front desk has brought a personal touch and commitment to helping the customer to an entirely new level. She always makes me feel like a welcome friend instead of just a guest. I recommend this hotel to everyone I know and it is largely due to Joann's helpful, friendly and outstanding service. Thank you! May 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed with front desk staff Specifically Joanne; not friendly. I asked on the day of my return I asked to have my billed emailed. Her response was "didn't you get one under your door?" My response was yes. Joanne responded with "then that's your bill." I asked her if that means she cannot email it. She slapped a piece of paper and pen at me and said give me your email and I will send it today. My checkout was April 2nd. Later that day, after 3pm I checked and had no email. I called and spike with Timothy, who was extremely helpful; he emailed it to me right away. May 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Will stay here again soon. Worth anyone's time to stop and just relax, so much to do in the area. Eating places are great also. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Surprise! There are changes being made at each Holiday Inn in which we stay and they are all good! As Priority Club members and members of several other hotel groups I can tell you that there is no other Hotel Club that compares to the Priority Club! The benefits have caught us by pleasant surprise many times! Someone at the top is doing something very right. Our "special" welcome is always appreciated and makes us feel well taken of. Accumulating points is easy and fast and there are no hoops to jump through to cash them in. We noticed several "green" efforts being made which were great to see. The use of recycled paper for the breakfast instead of that horrible styro-foam was a welcome sight. They added healthy granola to the cereal options, sturdy cutlery and improved the muffins! We loved Timothy, Renaldo, Joann. April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Night time Desk Clerk I am sorry I do not remember her name but she was on duty on my late arrive the evening of April 11th. I got to your hotel at 1:10AM I had an appointment in the early AM and had flown from Dallas to Sac and driven to Mill Valley. She has excellant customer service skills, and since part of my job is to teach customer service skill, I can recognize it when I see it. Of course any customer can recognive it. I just wanted to let you know what a valuable employee you have. April 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by our stay in the Mill Valley Holliday Inn Express. We thouroughly enjoyed heated pool, breakfast (one of your best yet), 'best' room temp control systems I've ever experienced in any hotel...very user friendly & very responsive w/easy to read & manipulate temp digital readout/control. Many new updates to hotel made our stay more enjoyable than ever. The menu chag of breakfast was one of your best yet. Enjoyed the all you can drink coffee thruout the day/nite. Do not like the smoors, too difficult to manage/messy, not very orginized, A different social activity would be better...perhaps wine tasting for adults & ice cream for kids#paid for by guests#...perhaps guests could purchase a daily evening social ticket #5:30pm to 8pm# that would allow them a few glasses of wine & ice cream/popcorn or treat for kids? The free use of DVDs was not advertized at all? I think most guests did not even know dvds were available at front desk. all the freebees seem to be hush hush at front desk & when I was asked if I was a priority club member I answered Yes but was very abruptly told in front of my child "no your not" "your not listed"? as if I were lying, altho I have signed up for it many times at other H oliday Inn Expresses so i guess just a glitch in system??? April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Motel Ever Loved the Holiday Inn Express in Mill Valley. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The free bike was a plus which I used to tour around beautiful Mill Valley. The pool and spa and exercise room free breakfast were all excellent. The staff could not been better. It was a great visit and I hope to return soon and stay a couple of days. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and good service We enjoyed our stay here as the hotel is is a great position for San Francisco and the northern bay area. Staff were excellent and always helpful, without being intrusive. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, although it was very busy over Easter and seating was a challenge. I would definitely stay here again. April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOTEL STAY FRONT DESK PEOPLE WERE GREAT. ALWAYS HAD APPLES AT DESK AND SMORES AT NIGHT. GET TO BREAKFAST EARLY OR ROOM FILLS UP. WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY. April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Just Gets Better Change in ownership / management in 2013 makes this hotel an even better choice. New staff & management is super attentive & go full out to accommodate you. Cleanliness, WI FI & breakfast buffet are all a step up from prior years. Recommend for anyone touring Marin. Great place to set up base for cyclists (very bike friendly) or anyone needing a base in Marin Co. April 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by MarchGuest This property has a rather unassuming look & feel when seen from the busy intersection with the 101 Freeway ramp, but it is very convenient. The staff was very helpful, even to the point of allowing us to use the staff's microwave oven when we discovered that microwaves are not in the guest rooms or in the common breakfast area. There is an excellent walking and biking path leading to both Mill Valley and Sausalito. Interestingly, there is no guest elevator, so if you are booked on the 2nd floor you may end up lugging your heavy bags up a flight of stairs. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I was in the area on business and at the last minute decided to change hotels because of appointments in the area. From Joanne at the front desk (who was excellent) to the server at breakfast and the maids, the staff was friendly, accommodating and professional. Although the hotel is close to the highway, my room was quiet--some have a view of the mountain--and the paved walking trail just outside the front door was an added bonus. In addition, the Italian restaurant next door (not part of the hotel) was outstanding. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and service for our Spring break trip The great thing about Mill Valley Holiday Inn is the location. You can get everywhere quickly: Downtown Mill Valley, Tiburon, Sausalito, and the Buckeye just minutes away. But the real surprise was how accommodating the staff was. JoAnn and the folks at the front desk went out of their way to make sure we had the room we needed. Very friendly and service oriented. The Restaurant and bar next store were great. Overall the Hotel is a great value and we were very pleased with our selection. March 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience overall Good location and good service overall. Nice patio setting with fire pit, excellent view from our room and very convenient location to visit San Francisco without city traffic and very affordable prices. March 28, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading