• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Italian
  4. Japanese
  5. Russian
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee is a non refundable cleaning fee of 75 dollars plus 9.5 percent tax per stay. Any service animal or small pets under 20lbs permitted.
Pet deposit amount  82.13  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Indoor garage parking; 24-hour accessibility (Clearance 6'). Parking is $37 plus tax. Parking based on availability and subject to prevailing taxes, currently at 14%.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 42.18  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:388
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:188
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:200
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:388
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2230

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool
View More

Downtown San Francisco Hotel Close to Everything

Positioned in the exciting SoMa district, Holiday Inn® San Francisco Civic Center is minutes away from the city’s most popular attractions! Enjoy the convenience of this City by the Bay hotel! Whether in town for business or leisure, you’ll enjoy quick access to City Hall, the Moscone Convention Center, or visiting the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf or the Orpheum Theatre. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi access, an outdoor, heated pool and sundeck.

View Less
Features
Downtown convenience, modern décor, and many close attractions to choose from is why guests can enjoy their California stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Civic Center. This hotel is a proud participant of the Green Engage program which includes recycling tons of annual compost back to the earth.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 826 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay. Great location, able to walk to a lot of sites. Bathroom vanity could be a lot more accomodating for tolietries and makeup. Overall a great place to stay. June 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy poor value Stayed on the 5th floor and we could make out conversations on the street, the traffic noise is terrible I checked the windows several time thinking they were open. The location is good but not worth the price, the rooms are very dated. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in the heart of fishermans wharf Great hotel in the fisherman's wharf district. Check in was a breeze considering the computers where all down. Rooms where cleaner than some 5star hotels. Wonderful staff who even provided us with a complimentary crib for our baby. Bed was super comfortable, they even use proper inner duvets, not just a thick blankets wrapped in sheets like many of their competitors use. We will defiantly stay here again. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm welcome and a great sleep After a long train trip we were made very welcome. Nice large room, comfy bed and the pillows were so good. You had a choice of two thickness. Soft or firm.we have been staying at a lot of hotels and this is the first time this has been offered. Heaven We didnt have time to eat at the hotel as we were passing thru. Definitely recommend this hotel June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great service, great stay at Holiday Inn San Francisco This was our 2nd stay at the San Francisco-Fisherman's Wharf and I cant wait to go back again. So close to everything you can walk to all the best restaurant's and shopping and then back to the comfy bed at the Holiday Inn. The DeLeon's June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and convience of location Mary, at front desk was most accommodating in finding us adjoining rooms when we checked in early. Two gals left items in the room and lost and found had them both !! Maria (?) was most helpful in finding and returning the items to my home. I wish you had used FedEx GROUND instead of the FedEx saver. The items went to Memphis and then stayed 2 days at a distribution point 30 miles away from my home and my college roommates left before they were delivered to my home which is only 125 miles form San Francisco. It was a shame that they had to sit in Rocklin all that time. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff- great bed Our check-in set a tone of a staff that is well aware, and trained to be devoted to customer service. Front desk and bell staff were excetional. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location My son and I stayed at this location on our very first visit to San Francisco. It is in a wonderful location to Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, etc. We could walk out of the hotel and hit all kinds of tourist attractions. There was construction right under our window in the alley all day, starting fairly early. But we were too busy enjoying the area to have it bother us very much. The staff was very helpful to direct us to where we needed to go. The underground parking was nice. I would stay here again if in the area. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value and location Love this location close to North Beach, Chinatown, the Wharf and mass transit. The staff is amazing and very customer focused....a great place to stay. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient We would have liked a greater selection of dishes on the restaurant menu, it seemed to be very limited and the usual American unhealthy variety! We ate there once only, preferring to take our evening meal somewhere else. On the positive side, we had transferred from the Holiday Inn Express and were impressed and grateful for our luggage being brought from that location very promptly. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome location Can't beat the location and proximity to the wharf area as well as easy access to Union Square. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend with caveat My visit started off on the wrong foot b/c after I made my way all of the way to room 404, then the card didn't work. (I had made a point of holding it in my hand so there was no way my phone caused the problem.) Front desk apologized, but it was an annoyance after a long flight and schlep into town from SFO. Though I was upgraded to the "IHG Rewards" floor, I did not see any advantage to being there. The room was spacious. The bed was a little hard/lumpy. Linens clean and nice. No coffee/tea/water in room which I found unusual, though I rarely use that set-up anyway. TV felt a little small for the size of the room. I appreciated that there were real wooden hangers (5-7) that one could easily remove from the rod. The bathroom was clean, shower was hot and good pressure. Not enough counter space and poorly positioned toilet tissue roll--it got wet with use of the sink. Aside from check-in, I had no interactions with the service staff. Two night stay, so I passed on housekeeping since I wanted to come and go without worrying about having to wait for housekeeping to finish their work. In summary, for the price point, it was an fine/adequate experience. However, I've stayed at other facilities in the immediate area which cost a little more (~$30-$45 more per night), but were a lot nicer. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for conference in San Francisco I have managed conferences for my association for many years. Most times the hotel staff and service is the weak link in executing our conference. The staff here excelled at timely communication, quick response to our onsite needs, setups always on time and as requested, food of good quality and presentation, and without pause adjusted our attendee's room rates if they did not get the group rate. Not once did I hear, "I have to check with my supervisor on this". I cannot think of one thing I would improve upon. May 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent room, hard bed, room service needs work The room was what I expect from Holiday Inn but the bed was harder than normal. The room service was terrible - while it was timely the quality of the food was very poor. May 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to all Fishermans Wharf experiences We chose this hotel because of its location, and it didn't disappoint. However, it is expensive, and being from overseas find the additional taxes that aren't quoted at time of booking frustrating, and lower the value for money rating. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, nice room so close to the Wharf I stayed just one night for business and checked in early. My original room was not ready so I accepted a different room which was fine with me. My room overlooked the pool, so there were people swimming in the evening but not much noise. I always take earplugs on business travel and went to sleep early and slept well. I had read some reviews that people complained abou the noise, but you have to remember you are in the city close to the tourist attractions. I had taken a nice walk along the wharf and had dinner and it was so pleasant. I would highly recommend this property and hope to have the opportunity to stay there again. I was dissappointed that the breakfast offerings were a bit expensive and would have liked at least the basic amenities offered at other IHG properties for the breakfast. The staff are EXCELLENT! May 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, very uncomfortable bed, very expensive. The staff was very helpful and friendly, but this hotel was not what I expected for the price. The bed was very hard, and the sheets had a weird odor. The location is great, but I opted to move down the street to a "no name" hotel that was nicer, and it was half the price. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay. I really enjoyed staying here and look forward to coming back. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location We would stay here again. The location was ideal for site seeing. The streetcars were just outside the door so access was great. May 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location We arrived early and 1 of our 2 rooms was available. No big deal. The rooms were big and comfy. The only problem we had was that no one ever came to clean our room or bring new towels. Our waste baskets were overflowing and it would've been nice to have a trash bag to put our trash in. Other than that it was a great stay and I would stay here again. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience I liked that they had two different types of pillows. I do not get this opportunity too often and I usually end up sleeping without a pillow. I would like it more if the hotel offered complimentary breakfast. May 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in great location but watch for pricey extras This property is certainly better than the average Holiday Inn. The location is great. Some details still leave it in the category of a lower level property - such as not having a proper closet with a door. But the furnishings were better than I normally expect from Holiday Inn. There was work being done in the lobby that made a bit of a mess but otherwise it looked more modern and welcoming than I expected. We found breakfast price to be way too high. We were only there for 1 night and didn't have a lot of time or we'd have changed plans and gone to the Denny's or something else close by. Had the buffet because prices from the menu were just as high. Food quality was fine but not much selection and definitely not worth the price. When we asked how to get a taxi to the airport, they called for a fixed priced limo without asking us if that was OK. Admittedly the car was nicer and more comfortable than a cab would have been but it was also more expensive. So if you're on a budget, watch out for that. Next time, I'd ask for a taxi to the nearest Bart station and take the train directly to the airport. Or if you're not into public transit, at least ask specifically for a metered taxi if price is important to you. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and friendly A great location for touristing in San Fransisco. Walk to almost everywhere and really close to the cable trolley, so North Beach, the ferry terminal etc are all accessible without driving. Staff are super friendly, right across the board. When in SFO, stay at this hotel! May 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing special hotel with no surprise. Neither good nor bad ... Prices were expensive, specially breakfast (25$) May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Good location Great location for visiting San Francisco. Easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf sites or to trolley's or buses. May 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Consider an alternative.... Holiday Inn's are generally a known quantity and that is why I tend to book my hotel there. In this case though it is not a typical Holiday Inn. Their on premise restaurant is absolutely ridiculous in the prices they charge. $47.00 for a basic breakfast is completely nuts. To add insult to injury, snacks in their gift shop are just as exorbitantly priced. $17.00 for two soda's and two small snacks. Last, the building borders an alley that apparently is used for late night car enthusiasts and the noise is unusually loud in the wee hours of the morning. I'd recommend you look elsewhere particularly if you want reasonably priced food on premise and a quiet nights sleep. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience for Destination Wedding We recently returned from our destination wedding in the Bay Area. The Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf was the hotel for us, all 40 of our guests, and the Welcome Reception. From the very beginning of our wedding planning process, Melissa and Carol in Sales & Catering were amazing to work with. They were timely in response to our questions, helpful with suggestions to make the experience for our guests better, and understanding of our needs. Once we arrived, they made sure that not only were our requests taken care of, but also that any requests by our guests were treated with extra attention. I can say without a doubt that our wedding experience was more special because of our decision to use the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. I would recommend using this location for a weekend stay, wedding, or conference. They take customer service to a whole new level. Thanks for making our wedding experience in the Bay Area extra special! May 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and great service. my wife is handicap, with a cane and everyone was very helpful. The bellhop was very helpful. The only problem was that we needed a taxi and no one was at the front door to flag down a cab for us. We did park in the handicap parking in front and it was more convenient for us. We have always stayed at Holiday Inn San Francisco-Fishermans Wharf and never had a problem. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great except for technical difficulties We stayed in a business room, which was nicely equipped with a microwave and fridge and was a good size. The beds were very comfortable. Staff were very friendly, the concierge was extremely helpful, and the location was excellent. The only real complaint we had was that the technology was a real problem. The wi-fi connection only worked first thing in the morning--when we tried to use it at night, the signal was so weak, we couldn't even check e-mail, let alone stream a video. My daughter called the IT helpline four times in one evening, but they couldn't get it straightened out. Also, the in-room video checkout didn't work. We just kept getting error messages and had to check out downstairs. Overall, I would gladly recommend this hotel, but if I'd paid for the wi-fi, I would be requesting a refund. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by RESTAURANT ARRIVED 15 MIN. BEFORE BREAKFAST WAS FINISHING.WAS VERY RUSH .THE PERSON SHOULD HAVE TOLD US BEFORE SERVING US.THAT'S THE ONLY TIME WE VISITED THE RESTAURANT. May 7, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 29 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading