• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
(e.g. Apr-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:18
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Hindi
  6. Indonesian
  7. Italian
  8. Japanese
  9. Dutch
  10. Portuguese
  11. Tagalog
  12. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
North Beach
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
AT&T Ball Park
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
Cable Car
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Golden Gate Bridge
Distance From Hotel:3.6MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:256
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self parking only, $40 and subject to 14% tax per day. Parking is based on availability.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:585
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:159
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:423
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:585
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:18
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Hotel's Location in San Francisco, California - Unmatched

Pulsing with energy, the vibrant Fisherman's Wharf neighborhood is one of San Francisco's most visited sites; and with its fabulous waterfront, unique attractions and great shopping, it's not hard to see why. Experience the charm of The City by the Bay from the full-service Holiday Inn® San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf hotel. For business or pleasure, our superb accommodations are the ideal choice.

You're sure to
View More

Hotel's Location in San Francisco, California - Unmatched

Pulsing with energy, the vibrant Fisherman's Wharf neighborhood is one of San Francisco's most visited sites; and with its fabulous waterfront, unique attractions and great shopping, it's not hard to see why. Experience the charm of The City by the Bay from the full-service Holiday Inn® San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf hotel. For business or pleasure, our superb accommodations are the ideal choice.

You're sure to have a memorable vacation when you choose our hotel's central location at Fisherman's Wharf. Walk to San Francisco attractions like Pier 39 and Ghirardelli Square. Nearby Fort Mason, Alcatraz and the Presidio offer a glimpse into history. The Golden Gate Bridge is a must-see while in town, and don't forget to take a ride on the city's famous cable cars!

Since we are near companies like Pacific Gas & Electric, Levi Strauss and IBM, business travelers find us to be the perfect hotel choice. Memorable San Francisco meetings are held in one of our seven meeting rooms, and the 24-hour Business Center offers a convenient way to keep in touch with the office.

A leader among hotels at Fisherman's Wharf, our San Francisco hotel offers attentive service and wonderful amenities, including a Fitness Center, heated outdoor pool, on-site restaurant and lounge, Bristol Bar and Grill, along with free Wi-Fi access. Reserve your stay at our pet-friendly hotel in San Francisco.

View Less
Features
Our hotel's location in San Francisco, California is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. We are just a block from Fisherman's Wharf waterfront and minutes from the Financial District.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 298 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and best priced hotel Came to San Fran for the Fight Hunger Bowl. Seached around for an nice hotel that wasn't so expensive for our budget. This place was awesome. Great friendly service from all the staff the 4 days we stayed there. Especially great friendly informative service from Charles the bell hop. I think that was his name. Next time I'm in town I'll stay there for sure. Thank you for your great service. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great space and price Very enjoyable room - bigger than some other major hotels with awesome view. Very good food at seminar. Could use bigger fitness center. December 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Room and Amenities - Staff Overworked Overall, the experience was great but it started out pretty rocky. I had made a Rewards Nights reservation weeks in advance for three nights. When I arrived at the hotel around 8pm, I waited in line for almost 20 minutes as the single check-in person was struggling to check people in. When I finally got to the desk, I was told that my room was not yet available for check-in and would have to wait. After only a few minutes, the check-in person switched me to a room one floor higher and a room with the same amenities. After that, everything was great. A corner room on the 23rd. floor with an excellent north facing view of the San Francisco skyline. Room was of average size but nicely arranged and full of the latest amenities and a Rewards Club Platinum Member welcome gift. Even with the bustling streets below, the room was very quiet. The temperature select climate controlled room was also a very nice touch as the weather was flip-flopping from warm to cold outside but the room stayed comfortable the entire time. I would definitely stay here my next time in San Francisco. December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place, amazing view! Great place to stay, convenient to everything in the city. Clean and nice rooms. Will definitely stay here next time we visit San Fran. December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed, Clean Room, & Great Staff I cannot find anything to seriously carp about concerning this hotel. Although the lobby area is being renovated, my rooms on the 21st and 26th floors were quite nice. The staff is superb. My only complaint is the small bathroom counter, but since I was alone, it was adequate. I stayed there for 4 weeks, and I'd stay there again. I'm attaching a photo of a sunset from Room 2619. I hold the copyright for the photo. December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn GG Room was very nice and clean, Food at the restaurant was goon and the staff courteous. View of SF from my room was great. December 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Manager We have a very good time in Holiday Inn, the hotel is comfortable, very nice location and friendly environment. We needed some help and we met Ru Paster the manager who was very helpful and very attentive for the needs of guests. We also met the concierge Aida that is lovely lady that help us all the time. We definitely felt at home. Best Regards Bruno / Vanessa Brazil December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by loved our room great location, clean, quiet room with city view, comfortable bed and friendly staff December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by stay here very very nice hotel, lovely views and wonderful staff....I will always return to this hotel over any other holiday inn in the city. December 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Hotel I was not impressed with this hotel at all. We were not even in our room for 30 minutes and the maid unlocked the door and walked right in. Their was hair on the wall of the shower and what looked to be a booger on the wall. The hotel was under construction with a make shift restaurant and bar. I was very disappointed with this hotel. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommend this Hotel This is my second time saying at the Holiday Inn. Both of my experices have been incredible and exceeded my expectations. The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean. I couldn't have been more happy with my experience and I am looking forward to staying at the Holiday Inn again. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 clean, comfortable and convenient hotel my friends and me stayed 3 night here. the room was very clean and facilities in good condition. they gave us a high level room, very quiet and view not bad. also the location was good, bus stop is just opposite. also you can walk, like 15 mins to Chinatown( not recommended, SF, you know, walking is like hiking) the only problem is parking too expensive, cost 45 dollars including tax, but it was common in SF. most hotels charge like this. December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay Great stay. Loved the rooms and the views. Great value Thanksgiving dinner in hotel restaurant. Best Holiday Inn we have stayed in with respect to staff friendliness and value. December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by suggestions If you are serious about wanting your guests to reuse their towels you need to provide towel racks and hooks so that we could hang wet towels and washcloths up rather than leaving them on the floor for housekeeping to replace. Also the clock/radio or whatever was too confusing. I could not figure it out and fortunately I was able to use my cell phone alarm. Since you don't serve lunch it would have been helpful to have a list of nearby restaurants where a light sandwich or lunch could be found. Thermostat and heating leave a lot to be desired. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed our stay on the 22nd floor and the view of the city was amazing! Thank you for making us feel special. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Nice stay at the holiday inn. Clean and reasonably priced for SF December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the view & the bed The room was oh, so clean and the linens were high quality. The location was perfect for me to visit family, shop, and find restaurants. No problem getting a cab, bus, or zip car. I plan to stay there again. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Unbelievable View, All the Amenities, even the coffee in the room was good. An excellent stay. Shuttle to California Pacific Medical Center every 20 minutes. From the guest rooms to the car park was all convenient. I would recommend this to anyone. They even supply the fluffy white robes! December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service!!! I am very grateful for a most pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway on Van Ness Avenue in San Francisco. My husband has been undergoing cancer treatments and is often in a lot of pain and very weak most of the time. We came to SF due to an appointment the following day at UCSF Cancer Center. I reserved a room with a king bed and included the parking package deal, and at check-in I asked whether there was a room available with a sunset view, or possibly even a corner room (just to make things a little nicer). I'd heard about the corner window rooms having exceptionally beautiful views. Well, the lady found a corner window room available. However, when I realized it's an extra $30 for that room, I declined -- didn't realize it would be more. When I declined, she then offered the room at no additional charge from what I was quoted for the regular room package! I am very grateful for her service and going the extra mile for us. Also, the room service was outstanding! My husband was too ill to go to the downstairs restaurant, so we ordered room service, and the gentleman provided first-class treatment all the way. I give this Holiday Inn experience a perfect 10!!! November 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thumbs Up A few days ago I stayed at the Holiday Inn San Francisco-Golden gateway. It has been a while since I had stayed at a Holiday Inn and the reason I selected the Golden Gateway was that it was close to my daughter’s apartment. My stay at the hotel could not have been better. Everyone on the staff (doorman, reception, housekeeping, and restaurant) was courteous, friendly and helpful. The management deserves high praise for the coaching and training of the staff. My room was comfortable and nicely appointed, the price competitive and in a city like San Francisco quite fair. The daily fee for parking hurt a bit but completely understandable given the location. If I was to complain at all, it would be about the noise. I could hear my neighbors (slightly) through the walls and the street traffic from the busy Van Ness Boulevard. However this is negligible at best and in no way detracted from my stay. Kudos to the great staff. I would definitely stay there again and I would recommend the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway to anyone visiting the bay area. November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran Fun What wonderful staff and accomodations! We are Platinum Elite and we were treated that way. What pleasant people. The upgraded room was wonderful and the gentleman who checked us in was incredible kind. Really appreciate this hotel great location lounge was very nice we will stay here again. Only down side was 40.00 guest parking seemed very high. November 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad ironing board/iron=Bad experience Basically, the hotel room's ironing board collapsed; one of the legs was broken. So I put the ironing board on the desk, and turned on the iron. I started ironing my white shirt, and quickly noticed the iron was emitting a black, staining powder. I used another shirt. I went the lobby, reported the issue, and the front desk clerk promised to send another ironing board and iron. Neither showed up. The next morning, I called the front desk and asked for an ironing board and iron. Neither showed up. As I checked out the hotel, I complained to the front desk clerk. I hope this isn't how Holiday Inn regularly treats its customers. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything is great except staff needs more training The location, room and all other amenities are great except the staff. The front desk staff obiviously needs more training and need to be more flexible. With all the stays, my wife has always been able to check-in on behalf of me, while I am the drive in the car. Yet, the lady inisisted that i have to be presented in order to check-in. We have a total of 4 nights but under two separate reservations due to our change in plan and the first reservation was already pre-paid. The front desk first told us that we had to check-out and then re-check-in later the day as this is the policy. We said "WHAT???" We called the 800# when booking our second reservation and the rep told us that she will take care of everything, noted both reservations clearly so that we wouldn't need to change the room. The same occured to our previous few night stays at Monterey and the staff were experienced enough to easily acknowledged the two reservations without any problems. So we really don't under why can't a Holiday Inn in a big city do the same! Luckily, we went back down the next morning and got a very experienced gentleman (sorry that we forgot your name but he's a dark color built man in his 40s). We told him our situation and he immediately told us that it is not a problem at all. We can surely stay in our room without the need to check-out and check back in later the day. He took care everything for us easily. Your hotel is lucky to at least having him there. Separately, the staff serving the breakfast area was horrible. We waited for 10 minutes for our coffee to be served, then waited another 10 minutes attempting to order our fresh omelette. Other staff wouldn't even care about you if they are not responsible for your table! Our waitress was no where to be found in that 10 whole mintues. After we finally got a woman's attention and made our order, she came back 10 minutes later just to advise no more spinach (in a very unfriendly tone)!!! We finally got fed up and simply canceled our order, stood up and left. They dared to charge us $44.00 for two breakfasts. I've been staying under various IHG hotels throughout our 3-week trip. We were at French Polynesia, then drove from San Diego to San Francisco (not to mention other IHG hotels that we have been staying throughout these years). All hotel staff were very friendly and knowledeable except yours, which is pretty shocking as San Francisco is such a major city. Those staff (two asian ladies in the front desk and those in the breakfast area) that we have encountered were so rude and unexpreienced. They can't even be comparable to a staff located in a little town! Besides the staff, everything else, including the location of the hotel is great. I would go back to this hotel if visiting San Francisco again. Hopefully, I don't have to confront those unfriendly staff again! November 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing views! Inviting atmosphere. I was so pleased with this hotel! I felt comfortable from the moment I checked in. The room was beautiful and clean and the view was amazing! The staff was friendly and welcoming. It will be my home away from home in San Francisco! November 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cold showers, no apology I've stayed at this hotel several times before and thought it reasonably priced for the level of amenities. My most recent stay however was quite disappointing. I called for extra pillows that were never delivered. The lunch staff was clearly overwhelmed. My husband was in the shower when the water suddenly became icy cold. He moved out of the main spray, expecting it to warm back up again. After 2-3 minutes of ice water, I called the front desk. I was told that they hadn't expected so many people to shower at once(?!!) and that the engineer would adjust things shortly. We did eventually get enough warm water to thaw out my husband. I found it particularly disappointing that the desk clerk didn't call back, we didn't hear from a manager and we were paying a higher room rate than we'd previously paid for this hotel. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome and friendly staff! Awesome location of the hotel, little further out of the city center, but walking distance (20-30min). Next door to WholeFoods and last stop of the California Line Cable Car. You should definitely get a 7 day munipass for $28 in the local hotel shop. You can reserve your shuttle for $14 to SFO (cab is more like $60). All in all - great hotel! November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and Beyond Housekeeping always reliable Convenient Location close to everything Helpful staff Overall pretty happy with my stay at holiday inn November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We love to stay at this hotel! My husband and I love to stay at San Francisco Golden Gateaway hotel since last time of our visit to San Francisco. The location is perfect ! because "California line"(Cable car) is just right out side of the hotel and there are many nice restaurants near the hotel. Most of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful (Unfortunately, I was upset by a lady at front desk when I asked to make change.she totally looked grumpy and never say "your welcome" to my "Thank you"). We will stay at this hotel the next time of our visit. Thank you for your hospitality. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treats Platinum guest really well We enjoyed everything about this hotel for our business & leisure visit to SF. They treated us very special with an upgraded beautiful corner room and extra perks like a nightcap. The rooms are updated, comfortable, quiet and right on a cable car line and major bus line. If you are arriving from the east coast a room facing east towards the bay lets you wake up to a beautiful sunrise. Very special November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This property is in a great, centrally located location with excellent access to both busses and a cable car terminus (it's just around the corner on Washington St.). With MUNI passes, one can get to virtually anywhere and everywhere in the city one would wish to go--including to the BART lines for further travels as well as the ferry terminals to go over to Tiburon (Sam's Anchor Bar--yea!!) and Sausalito (see the Dr. Seuss artwork in the Petri's Fine Arts gallery). Also, if you're a meat eater, don't miss the House of Prime Rib located about a 10 minute walk away north on Van Ness. November 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Select to book our daily parking package.