Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 431 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location and Experience Traveling as a family we picked the Golden Gateway Holiday Inn for its location, amenities, and price. Location was great; able to hop on the cable car or the bus within one block of the hotel. Room was very nice, we were on the 20th floor and had a great view of the city. While bathroom was not huge, for a San Francisco hotel it was a good size and had a lot of counter space for toiletries. Also liked having a refrigerator and a safe in the room. The only thing that left us disappointed was laundry. With kids (and flying) I specifically choose this hotel because it advertised self-laundry service. I also packed accordingly thinking I would be able to do laundry twice during our stay of five days. Turns out laundry is one washer and dryer for the whole hotel (and this is a large hotel). Every time I tried to do laundry (7am; 4pm; 9pm; midnight...) there was always at least two people in line waiting for the machine. Thankfully we found a laundromat within a few blocks of the hotel, if not we would have run out of clothes. I know now not just to check the website to see if laundry is available, but to call and ask how many machines they have. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean. Great cable car link. We enjoyed four nights here having flown in from London. We had a lovely spacious room and found all the staff really helpful. We liked the fact the hotel was slightly off the regular tourist track. Just 10/15 minute stroll from Union Square - depending on how much hill you wanted to walk up! Also really close to the lesser used cable car route up to Nob Hill - which made accessing Fisherman's Wharf or Union Square really easy. August 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room 2605 While it may seem like a wonderful idea to be roomed on the top floor of this hotel, Room 2605 makes you wish you were not. I've stayed in multiple rooms at this hotel and not all are created equal. Room 2605 has shower water pressure issues, it has a toilet with a nearly broken handle, and loud neighbors. This hotel is a good value, however, hopefully you'll get a room in working condition. August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service I really enjoyed the way I was greeted when I arrived, and how friendly the front desk was. The gentleman that checked me in was very attentive and eager to make sure my stay there was everything I needed it to be. August 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A very nice Hotel I had a generally good experience at this hotel. It was my first time in this Holiday Inn, I found the location convenient, the staff for the most part friendly and knowledgeable, and the room, although quite small, was well appointed and very comfortable. The bed was great, and on the upper floors the views spectacular. My only real issue, which turned into an almost comic farce, was the malfunctioning garage. They charge you $40 to park your car in their garage, with no efficient valet parking service, just self park. They issue tickets to get in and out of the garage, and these tickets very easily get fouled up and can't be used. I had to get the people behind me to back up, then back up myself, park the car, lock it, go in to the hotel to get the parking ticket reissued and try it again. This happened three times in a row, and the folks at the front desk didn't seem particularly concerned. They kept telling me no problem, it'll work. Well, it didn't work and after 45 minutes and three complete rounds of reparking and coming back for new ticket, I told them I would block the garage until someone came out with me and opened the gate, which they reluctantly did, proclaiming all the way that the the gate was working fine. This forth time the ticket still didn't work, so they opened it manually and walked away as if I had simply been an inconvenience to them. That was a little sloppy, I have to say. Otherwise, not a bad hotel at all. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service The Hotel and Staff were great and very efficient, we were on vacation and the Guest room had a great view the bed was very nice and comfortable and restaurant staff were also attentive! August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay The staff was outstanding all three days and nights every. Starting with check-in/registration and the maid service. The disappointments were tolerable but inconvenient. Coffee maker did not work. they came to fix but still didn't work (yes, we knew how to use it.. Keys stopped working on third day. In room safe did not work. We did not report. Room 2401. Room was excellent. Complimentary drink very nice touch and a cognac miniature was very nice too. August 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping was terrible room window was screwed shut and very dirty to look out of.... I would not recommend this hotel, very expensive, food outragously expensive, housekeeping services were bare to none.... The only good thing was the conference that was being hosted there, other than that it was not a good hotel experience. August 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, avoid the food Loved the views from this hotel. Amazing. Staff is great as well. Except for the dining room: Opened late: 6:45, 15 mins matters when you are running to eat and work. Ate breakfast, had the Huevos Rancheros, beans were horribly bland and the tortillas were straight from the package (tip: heat your tortillas or something people). Whoever worked the dicount on the beans definately got their monies worth. Idea: donate the beans where they can use them as brick cement in 3rd world countries. I did not finish my meal. Told my waiter that the food was not good, he seemed pretty overwhelmed and moved on. Saw the hotel guarantee on the elevator, something about "best food ever or your money back," thought this was laughable. Told my experience to the front desk where I sat for 15 mins arguing my case until the charge was removed. Front desk didn't know the "great food" policy posted on the elevator 10 feet away. All that said, this is going to become my companies favored hotel for travel because of a deal and I'm not bothered by it. I have had good experiences with the staff except for the 1 issue above. I will simply avoid the food. I hope its not included with our package because I'm not sure free is worth the price. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful Weekend, Nice Hotel... Well the Holiday Inn Golden Gate had a lot to live up to seeing that we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Belmont, CA a couple weekends before, and that hotel was amazing. The Holiday Inn Golden Gate met most of our expectations, and was nice overall. I’ll start with the Pro’s. We parked in the Hotel Garage, and went up the elevator right to the Lobby, which was convenient. The lobby was beautiful and I heard they’re even planning a renovation for improvements. Check-in was easy and the staff was very pleasant. As we made our way up to our 15th floor room, the hallways and common areas were very clean and decorated nicely. Our room was very clean, and had modern décor. Refrigerator yes, microwave no. We had a great view of the city from our windows. Our beds were comfortable, and again the cleanliness of the room was a big turn-on for my family. We had dinner in the Restaurant downstairs and it was delicious, and the restaurant staff was very attentive. I will say that our meal was a bit on the expensive side. We had a great night sleep and checkout was a breeze. Now for the Con’s. During check-in I was reminded about the $40.00 parking fee, which killed the value of the room cost for us, but again, it was convenient parking. The other thing that was troublesome for us was the fact that the door to the 3rd floor parking was not working correctly. Normally guests would have to use their magnetic strip parking key to exit the hotel to the garage, but it never worked once for us. I kept being told that it was fixed, or they were going to fix it. Fortunately, as we were trying to exit to the garage other guests were coming in, and would open the door, without needing a magnetic key. This was a very odd set-up anyway. Why would you need a key to get out to the garage, but be able to walk right in to the hotel from the garage? Overall a nice hotel and I might stay there again if I was in that specific area of the city. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Would return! Very clean, recently renovated, convenient location. We didn't have food or beverage at the hotel, but only because we didn't have time. July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great View We were lucky, and got a corner room on the 25th floor. Two walls were of glass. Unfortunately it was another foggy day in San Francisco. Very central location for touring San Francisco. Close to Hayes Valley, Haight-Ashbury, the Castro,... Friendly staff July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great service (Anthony Reception), well ubicated, nice concierge (Aida) I'll hardly recommend this hotel. I Liverpool so much July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful view When we got there at 2 PM, we got a key immediately so we could get the full time use of our room and didn't have to check out until 12 the next day. I did laps up and down the hall to get in my usual 1.2 mile exercise walk. I just wish that we could get IHG points faster so we could return sooner to enjoy the whole Holiday Inn experience.While we slowly get the needed points I often think about getting to Golden Gateway Inn. July 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Could be better I don't like the idea where you cannot get a drink at lunchtime The restaurant/bar does not open until 4.30 as you know. so I have to take my business somewhere else. I am not an alcoholic....I just like a drink sometimes when it suits me and an hotel usually provides that service. The registration area looks a little "bland'....a bare wall behind the counter makes a poor impression of the hotel. I can understand this decor on the HWY. travel hotels., but an hotel in a high area San Francisco should be better. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service We were very pleased overall with this hotel. The location is great with easy access to the cablecar right outside the hotel and easy access to the bus stops. Very easy to get to all of the sites and major places we wanted to go. Very friendly staff. Overall, a great experience. We will certainly make reservations to stay at the hotel again when we are in San Francisco. We didn't have a chance to eat at the hotel, but access to good places to eat was also a plus. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Hotel was nice, room was clean, and no unpleasant suprises. Very professionally run. Location was decent, right at the end of the cable car line, so easy access to china town and fisherman's wharf. I recommend buying a transportation pass. S.F. is expensive, but this Holiday Inn was quite a bit cheaper than staying at a hotel by the wharf, and probably nicer. We chose this hotel based on the comparatively better reviews over other similarly priced hotels. Pretty sure we made the right decision. Only disappointment is that they charge for wi-fi. Also wish there was an indoor pool. Too cold to swim outside, even in July. July 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by FIY: They've Invented Computers! Very nice, friendly, and helpful staff. The bizarre thing about this hotel, however, is the reservation and accounting system. We stayed in 1 room for 6 nights with 3 different room rates: conference rate, weeknight rate, and weekend rate. Their computer, so they claim, must make this 3 separate reservations. Each time one reservation would end, we'd be locked out of our room. With 2 keys, we had to get rekeyed 11 times because of this, and because of hardware problems with the locks. Real amateur hour. I've stayed in many hotels, including ones in developing countries, and have never encountered a hotel that couldn't handle differing room rates! July 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Had a pleasant stay except one issue. I am used to sleeping with the fan on even in cold weather for the sound, so I would usually leave the AC fan on whole night, but it seems that the room had a motion sensor which would switch off the fan after a certain time. There should be some kind of override for that. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great mattresses, clean room, great view! but pricey We are two adults and a teen who stayed here for 4 nights on a family vacation. Took advice from other reviews I'd read to ask for a high floor in the renovated section; this afforded a wonderful view and the best mattresses we encountered on our trip. We aren't used to vacationing in cities, so perhaps that's why the price gave us sticker shock; plus having to pay for parking. But the hotel is a quarter block from the cable car stop, and an easy drive to Golden Gate Park and the Presidio. The hotel restaurant (Interlude Cafe) has good food, and a very attentive wait staff, but is also very expensive! Having a washer and dryer on the 6th floor was a help, and even though the dryer wasn't working very well, we were able to wash clothes mid-trip. Because of the comfort and location, I would recommend this hotel. July 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed in how different my stay was from last year! Last year I stayed in your hotel and it was wonderful - fabulous front desk service, big comfortable room, great cleaning of the room, ample towels and cups and glasses. This time: No one to help with luggage (we arrived at 8:45 PM). Tiny bathroom without exhaust fan - water dripped off the pictures after even a quick a shower Front desk clerk - I specifically asked for a quiet room, letting her know very quietly that my husband had passed away suddenly last year and that I was visiting my daughter who just finished her degree who was having a hard time with his passing - she gave us a room near the elevator - the yelling woke us up every day around 1:00 AM and early in the morning as well. Also - I called to ask if there was a place in the hotel where we might watch the fireworks - front desk clerk rudely responded that she had no other room to give me that would provide that view - I never asked for a room change! I was thinking the pool or some other area maybe. Housekeeping: the rug was not vacuumed most days, dirty glasses were left and not replaced. (one was chipped) When I called, they came right away to replace glasses and give towels but the room was not well cleaned most days. Full length mirror was never cleaned Bell hop did get me a nice taxi for my return to the airport My husband always took care of the travel arrangements - he would have asked for a room change but I didn't want to make a fuss. I should have because the service never improved. We have been club members for at least 20 years. Very disappointed. July 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Up and down service We had really great service the first day. However, the room service staff was very rude and the wait for service is at least 30 minutes to an hour. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Anthony and restaurant Anthony works at thefront desk and he was extremely helpful on mutiple occasions as far as quesions and correcting my room. The staff on the whole was always helpful with good ideas. The negative was that your main restaurant was closed on Saturday night for some reason so we had to eat at the bar. Food there was OK but the service was slow. Other tables near us complained about this more than I did. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room! We had a corner room on one of the upper floors and the view was nothing less than spectacular. The front desk reception person was a good salesman for the upgrades to the hotel. The room was all new and spiffy. The housekeeping was so helpful and accommodating in taking care of our room early in the day because of our schedule. The breakfast buffet was great and Rose, our waitress, is the best! On the minus side, the corner rooms all have adjoining rooms which always leads to noisy neighbors and particularly this one. You could even see the light under the door from the next room and hear almost everything in there. I think that since the carpet was replaced by tile, there is more space under the door. I will ask for a room with no adjoining rooms. Also, there is very little closet space (could be just the corner rooms) and also very little room to put your things. Overall it is a great place to stay!! June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice - A bit farther out but easy access to everything We stayed at this location for two nights while traveling to San Francisco to run the full and half marathon. We arrived from SFO and transferred to the hotel via town car. When we arrived we were greeted by the bellman and asked if we needed any assistance, which we politely declined. Our rooms were ready when we checked in just before 4:30 pm, and as requested on my Priority Club profile they had both of our rooms on a high floor away from the elevator. The hotel is located a half a block from streetcar which would be convenient, but we found for four travelers, taxi’s were faster and more convenient. The front desk staff acknowledged my Priority Club Platinum status and offered each of us a welcome drink in the bar as well as delivered an airline sized liquor to each of our rooms on the first evening. When we requested a late check out so that we did not need to rush out after the marathon, they promptly asked “What time” and I asked for 2pm, trying to stick to the Priority Club offering. They promptly said “You’re a Platinum.....you can have later if you want! We asked for 3pm and were cheerfully granted that. Much nicer than many hotels that try to pull the “check the morning of departure!” Thanks Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. The location is about 1.5 miles from the center of Union Square. The two prior years we stayed at hotels a bit closer, but this year we took the chance given the rate at this hotel was much better. We are very glad we made the decision. We felt safe walking in the area, which did not seem to have near as many homeless people as the hotels right around Union Square. Our 5am walk to the Start Line at Embarcadero felt safe though we watched ourselves just to be safe. Of course keep your eyes open and be aware of your surroundings. Union Square was a nice 25 minute walk or $8 + tip taxi ride. Fisherman’s Wharf area is about the same by taxi. The cable car to these locations is $6 per person, but takes about an hour + the time for the line. If you have never ridden the cable car….of by all means, take the time to ride it! If the cable car is a “been there done that” for you, (like it was for us) than I would say save your money, take a taxi, and get there quicker! There were either 2 or 4 of us depending on the trip, so it was always less expensive to take a cab. Hailing a cab down on Fisherman’s Wharf can be challenging, but with a bit of patience always works out. The hotel has a gym, but given we were in town for a long run, did not even check out the gym. The hotel has an nice (and warm) outdoor pool on one of the lower level rooftops. The lobby is welcoming and quiet. There is a gift shop on premises if you want something quick. The hotel has internet access for free and the speed seemed acceptable. We were on corporate rate, but still received a very nice room one floor from the top. The view very nice, with further parts of the city to the left and the bay to the far right. The room was quiet and we did not experience any excessive city noises (beyond normal city noises). About all we ever heard was the occasional emergency vehicle. The rooms were nicely decorated, and very recently remodeled. There are full width windows and comfortable updated furnishings. The desk looks out over the windows. The king sized bed was nice and the choice of soft and firm pillows as with all Holiday Inn’s is nice. The curtains did an excellent job of blocking out the light. They use a “channeled” manual roll down shade that does a phenomenal job blocking out light, probably the best of any hotel I have stayed in. They have nice flat screen TV with sufficient channels, and the room included a work desk, plenty of plugs, a dresser, closet, and comfy chair / ottoman. The toillet, sink, shower/bath tub were in the bathroom. The bathrooms were well stocked with Bath and Body Works toiletries and were replenished daily. There were Kerug type coffee maker, ice bucket, and mini fridge. Everything was very clean. The climate control works fairly well but unfortunately you can not leave the blower motor on for white noise, on a tablet covers that! Towels and sheets were comfortable. Across the board, the staff at this hotel was excellent. Housekeeping did an acceptable job but did not seem to read out note asking for extra towels even though we tipped them, but wrote a note thanking us for the tips. Front desk staff across the board was friendly. The staff in the bar / restaurant was friendly when we stopped in for our welcome drink. Also, the bell staff was generally willing to provide ideas for nearby food. The only time staff was a bit abrupt was one of the bellman when we asked for help getting a taxi, he was too busy to help because a tour bus was coming in. (Lots of tour busses at this hotel it seems) There is a full restaurant in the hotel, but we usually try to eat away from the hotel. There is also a Starbucks at the end of the building. There are tons of dining options near hotel. On our first night we opted to hop down to Fisherman's w Wharf, but all the other meals were nearby and tasty. Though it can be nice to stay in the Union Square or Fisherman's Wharf area, all four members of our group agreed, this hotel out performed the other hotels. We would not hesitate to choose this hotel for a more reasonable price and the superior staff. We would absolutely recommend this hotel. We are very happy having stayed here. Convenient to enough to all the tourist attractions as well as our race expo and start. June 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I'd stay here again We stayed three nights in this Holiday Inn, in a recently-redecorated room. The bed was comfortable, there were additional electrical outlets, the shower was good with a low tub for easy entry and exit. The front desk staff were the most friendly and helpful I've ever seen (with the exception of the man who made checking out with a prepaid bill and no extra charges a frustrating affair). The sink was large enough to wash undies in (the "guest laundry" in a large 20-story hotel consisting of one washer and one dryer). The desk arrangement was very good. Negatives were the upholstered chair with arms as high as the back and very uncomfortable to sit in, and the location of the toilet paper - awkward. The breakfasts in the restaurant were good, and service was fast and friendly. The toast was excellent, and so was the coffee. Parking was quite good - there were several floors of secure parking between the ground floor and the rooms floors. The exit onto Van Ness sounded a horn to alert pedestrians, which was a nice safety feature. June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room I had some miscommunication upon checking in; I had reservations with a parking package. Hotel staff said they had no such thing & didn't know what I was talking about. online said there weren't any rooms with a view & king bed for the price I wanted but upon check in, that's exactly what I got. So while I was very happy about the room; which was beautiful & had an outstanding view of the city, it annoyed me that the staff was not familiar with what was online. In the end I didn't get the one day free parking; nor would it allow me to use my AAA discount. Its about 2 miles from the wharf. & there is a HI right by the wharf with the price I was charged. I would have stayed at that one & given up the view. Area is ok & on the backside there are a couple of restaurants; Victors Italian has great food. June 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience, Great Location My wife and I stayed here on a 5 day vacation and were very pleased. The location of the hotel is great for bus access, cable car access and overall being a good center point in the city. The room was very clean each day and had a great view. It was evident that they had been recently updated. It was simple and exactly what we needed. Despite being in a busy location, and typically a busy lobby, the hotel room was very quiet and we felt very safe. The front desk was very accommodating and gave us a room on the top floor (26) with a view of the golden gate upon request. It was a little bit pricey, but compared well to similar chain hotels in the area. After all, it was California in the summer. The only minor complaints we had were limited ice machines and the elevators were a little smelly and dated. Another perk was if you rented a car from certain local companies, you had the ability to return it to the hotel's parking garage after hours if needed. We used City-Rent-A-Car two blocks away and this was very convenient. Overall, we had a great experience and would gladly recommend this hotel. June 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, helpful staff Great room,etc. but on the 20th floor there were no thick curtains to block the sun...room was uncomfortable when the sun rose. June 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay Each time I stay at the Holiday Inn, I get a different experience. I had a nice room with a great view, but unfortunately noisy neighbors. My outlets stopped working at some point. I come to this hotel for business, but you have to pay for the business center use (which is unfortunate when your outlets stop working). June 25, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>