Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 431 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful corner view! Wow! We scored with this Rewards night! The customer service person at the front desk was great. He checked us into a corner room with windows on two sides. The view was so cool. The room was small but very comfortable. The hotel was only a short walk from a nice little Italian restaurant and the theater where we came to see a concert. Can't wait to go back. September 27, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Room with a view in SF Had a corner room with a bay view. Very nice but a bit on the small size. I guess that's the trade off for having the bay view. Overall, this was an excellent stay. This Holiday Inn is in a good central location, next to Trolley Station with a Whole Foods Grocery Store just across the street. We really had no issues and would return in a hearthbeat... September 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect weekend in SF Stayed here for a weekend in the city with the lady. Location is central to everything in San Francisco, right on the 47 bus line, super easy to get anywhere. Staff was exceptionally nice and welcoming. Accomodations were very nice, ended up having an awesome view of the city on the 25th floor! Would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone visiting SF! September 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service and Views This hotel is located on one of the highest points of the city with great views. It is conviently located next to the California St cable car stop. The front desk staff was excellent. We were given a high floor room on the corner with views north and east. I would definitely recommend this hotel. September 17, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected long stay We arrived on Aug28/12 and expected to stay two nights but on the 29th my husband was admitted to the hospital. After the 29tth I had to ask on a day to day basis for another night - this was the Labor Day Weekend but they gratiously accommodated me. We ended up staying until Sept. 5th - each day they made sure I was able to stay another night. The restaurant staff were kind and considerate and the ladies in the gift shop are wonderful. If we ever get back to San Fran. we will definitely return to this hotel the room was always clean and the cleaning staff made up the room around the times I was at the hospital. We didn't know anyone in the city - but I felt between the hotel and hospital that we were well taken care of even though we we were thousands of miles from home.. September 11, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location We were given a room right next to the elevators and there were very distracting noises all night. I have never stayed in a HI as unrestful as this one. September 7, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by High marks with an IF All in all I think this hotel rates some high marks. It’s convenient to many attractions and transportation. Has a large garage for on-site parking (they charge but most hotels in SF do). The lobby is well kept and upscale. They have a restaurant and a lounge which is pretty good. Room service till 10pm. They have a business center that allows you to print a boarding pass however you pay if you want to print anything else or surf (by the minute). In the room you have the option of the slower, free internet but if you'd want faster service they have a paid option. Even though the property is older (as are most buildings in SF) it is kept up well. Carpeting is in pretty good condition as are the bathroom fixtures. Bed and bedding are above average. Not a great channel lineup. Soda machines on every other floor but no snack machines. A big if: If you get a regular room you won’t be disappointed. I've stayed twice and came back again. But if you check in later when they are full, you could get....an elevator room! Each floor has 4 rooms which bookmark the elevators. The room is actually L-shaped built around the elevator shafts. It’s not over-powering, but you do hear it. The quirk: They don't tell you this on check-in. If they were straight forward and say we have a room with a negative they could offer a drink ticket or a meal discount to make up for it a bit. But they say nothing and just hope you don't say anything. If you mention it, they just say "That’s all we have available". Mentioning it ahead could also allow you to choose another location. A side note: When I did mention it the desk clerk said the hotel is aware of this negative and turns the corner elevators off at 10pm. She was in fact partially correct. I noticed only the elevator on my corner was off. I actually rode 2 of the others after 10pm. So perhaps they will cut them off only if someone complains? Otherwise, if you’re happy, they are happy? Going forward I will ask the occupancy status if I know I will be checking in late and if they say they are near full that night I will probably go elsewhere instead of taking a chance. But if they are not full, its a nice stay. September 4, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel- could be cleaner Stayed here for one night. The staff was super friendly. When I went to go ask for directions though the English speaking staff had already left which made it kind of difficult but we managed to get by anyways. We walked to Peir 39 and the Fisherman's Wharf from the hotel , no problem. Some nice views of downtown when staying higher up. The hotel has a great pool that was pretty much empty while we were there. I didn't check out any of the food options in the hotel so can't comment on that. The room could have DEF been cleaner but all in all it was a good stay. September 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great visit to San Fran I had a corner room with windows on two sides, and great views from the 14th floor. The staff members were all very friendly and helpful. Nice hotel in a nice location. September 1, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I was the Reunion Coordinator for Kilo Co. Third Battalion First Marines - Vietnam. The facility was great but the service from top to bottom was outstanding. Meliza did an excellent job in accomodating our needs and everywhere else I experienced friendly, able and professional personnel...Jeff...Ed...restaurant staff and food all great.. Kudos to your entire staff, September 1, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and Great Location All staff members were very friendly and helpful. I really liked the location. I felt it was a good "central" point for my trips around town. There was a great view from the 20th Floor. I'm sure the view gets better the higher you go. One thing about staying on the Van Ness side... it stays somewhat noisy at night, since it's a major street. I wonder how it would be on the east side... Overall, I felt my room was worth every dollar. July 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but they gouge you on parking Stayed on reward night points. No complaints except that the parking garage cost more per day than the price of a rental car. I'm sure the other hotels in the area do it too but it doens't make me like it any better. July 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Our first trip to San Francisco - we were very happy with the location of this hotel. Short walk to cable cars. Hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Food & service at the restaurant was very good - The lounge was a great place to relax and enjoy a "night cap". The room was clean, bed and pillows were very comfortable. When checking in, the staff made sure we had a room with a view of the city. Our trip was vacation, and when we return, we will stay here again! July 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall stay One of the nicest, friendliest most welcoming hotel I have ever stayed in. Quiet too. The staff go out of there way to greet you with a smile. Will difinitely be back July 12, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Only, if last place in SF Dated, worn rooms/facility. awkward access to parking garage. Nice staff. Place needs a facelift. July 12, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Priority Club Member I picked this hotel because I'm a club member , but really being a club member didn't get me anything different , no news paper in the morning ( as promised at check in ) my internet was cut off at 10am and I could not even check in for my flight without asking several people for help , they had to call the supervisor for help , not very customer fair ....... also I was told there would be a normal size coffee pot in my room and of course there was not. July 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This is a great hotel to stay at when visiting San Francisco, I would definitely stay here again. Close to transportation and all the attractions. Very pleasant staff. I would recommend this hotel. Only a couple of things on the down side that I would mention. Mold in the bathroom which could possibly be avoided with an exhaust fan. And to let guests know that the hotel key operates the elevator. This is a great safety feature but we were not informed of this and neither were many others as we had a lot of people ask us. I would not recommend the restaurant, it was fair, and the pricing that was offered was not given on one such occasion. On the plus side, the concierge staff were great and very knowledgeable. July 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was very comfortable the room had a great view of the bay and was light and airy. We have stayed here before and not been disappointed. July 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel, great for meetings Had a great time at the hotel, staff were very helpful and nice. Cable car stops right outside the hotel and good bus network to get around the city. The room was nice, however it was located next to the elevator and you could hear them buzzing. This is my second time staying at the hotel and I would come back again! My first stay was on the 24th floor and the view was awsome!! I am very much looking forward to my next stay their!! July 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Thank you for giving us fantastic service that weekend. July 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great We visit every year and this hotel is still tops!!!! July 10, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Priority Club disappointment Booked well in advance and still didn't get an upgrade to water view room. Received standard room which wasn't what we had chosen the property for. July 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The staff are fabulous I had a great stay at the Golden Gate. It's a bit weird that you need a room key to access the door to the parking garage and any where else for that matter but i am sure they have their reasons. Can't remember the guys name at the front desk but he was awesome. July 10, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Just ok I find that the staff at this location can be pretty rude and unhelpful. The rooms are outdated, and slightly dirty. It's frustrating to have to use your room key to open an elevator, and to chose your room floor, or go back to the main lobby, each and every time you use them. July 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Vacations in San Francisco The hotel was great!. However the last day, I felt like a forgiven person, I try to understand a payment about a movie that I didn't see and the staff in the Lobby don't give me any explanation and say, you will have to pay. That was my only bad moment during my two weeks in the hotel. Everything else was great. JP July 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cost Price, out of reach. Food way too expensive, wonderful location, though. Staff very professional and friendly. July 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely great service and convenient location The first thing one would experience checking into San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel is outstanding professionalism and friendliness of hotel staff. Anytime my business or personal travel brought me to the area, I always stayed at this hotel and every time received a very warm welcome and recognition of my status. But you do not have to have a status to receive a warm welcome - all hotel personnel are glad to see you and help with any of your needs to make your stay yet another relaxing experience. Then you take a speedy elevator, walk to your room and get totally blown away by the breathtaking views of the Bay City! Then you sit on the bed or at the desk in your room stareing at San Francisco skyline through the impeccably clean windows and just can not get enough of it cause the location allows you to see everything - skyscrapers of the Financial District, the Bay, fascinating cable cars and amazing combination of human and vehicle traffic on the streets going up and down the Nob hill. The rooms are equipped with quiet A/C units. You will definitely relax sleeping on the bed - it is not too soft, not too hard - it is just perfect for your back. Bathrooms have been recently renovated and though they might be a little small for a big man like me, but still very convenient and very clean. Room make up is very quick and literally occurs invisibly from the guest. I often returned to my room after breakfast, and it was already made by my return. You probably do not choose the hotel based on the dining options it provides, but Golden Gateway is the right one to enjoy meals both at breakfast and dinner. My compliments to he chef! And another magic thing about this hotel - the concierge service is absolutely fantastic. No matter what tour or excursion or show you want to attend - they will do their magic to get you a ticket. And you can always ask any question about San Francisco and count on great answer as people who work in the concierge section are wealth of knowledge. Forgot something or need a beverage in your room - a small store downstairs will be happy to satisfy your needs yet providing you with a wide choice of San Francisco souvenirs. I love the place and recommend it to the Bay City guests! July 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Year's Eve Get Away The staff and the service did not skip a beat even during the extra demands of the holiday season. Our romantic New Year's Eve celebration was perfect at this well run establishment. July 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Concierge ever The Concierge was beyond helpful and really made our stay one to remember. I definitely recommend this hotel. July 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk service. All employees are very helpful and professional This location is recommended because of the service; easy location to get to; staff is helpful and professional; safe and secure location with great security measures. July 10, 2012
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 next>>