• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Golden Gate Park - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Moscone Convention Center - South East
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI
Attraction:
Haight/Ashbury - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma
View More
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma and a full selection spirits. Enjoy beer and wine flights paired with small plates designed for sharing. The menu will feature dishes made famous in one of San Francisco’s iconic neighborhoods.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 483 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room but no view. The rooms cleanliness was exceptional. The location was also great because we could walk to where we needed to go. However, for the price, the only view was rooms across the way. Also, $45 plus tax is ridiculous. We were basically punished for driving there. And why can't refrigerators be provided? July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and Breakfast This is the perfect location to stay at if you are in San Francisco. We walked almost everywhere. The beds were comfortable, and the hotel was quiet. Breakfast was outstanding! July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great property but no wireless in the rooms This property has a very nice common area. The rooms are very clean and modern. The included breakfast is a standard Holiday Inn express breakfast. It was kept well stocked, although the first two days of our five day stay, there were none of there cinnamon buns available. The location was great, close to many Fisherman's wharf attractions and within a few blocks of MUNI stops. The only drawback to this property is that it only had wired internet in the rooms. In this day and age with smart phones and tablets, it is very inconvenient to have to walk down to the lobby to get a wireless connection. July 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great SFO Location! Booked this property in November to take my family on our June trip. Great location, just blocks from the Wharf, Ghirardelli's, and the streetcar turning station. Has a good breakfast with plenty of options. Lots of tour buses and international visitors. Good sized rooms that were recently refurbished. Looks and feels like a new hotel. Be careful though - 3 Holiday Inns within two blocks. A bit confusing.... Great value for the dollar. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay This hotel is very close to the wharf...and all of the action as far as tourist things. We had a great time, very clean, very nice. July 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location & staff friendliness The $45.00/night parking was pricy? parked car when we arrived and retrieved it when we left, still charged for valet services for every night.... July 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Don't Believe What You Read Beware of misleading website information. When evaluating price remember what they list as "valet" fee is actually a parking fee of $51.00 per day. There is no parking available on the actual property although on their website they do state they accommodate handicap parking which is not true either. They do not have a pool on site but if you ask they tell you to take your key card to the Holiday inn couple of blocks down the street. You can swim there but you can't park there. The tub was badly stained and shower curtain was mildewed. The T.V was small and out dated. If given the choice to stay there again I say NO. July 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not very good I am a platinum member who stays frequently in other places. by far this is one of the worst. overpriced parking, way out of date rooms. good location and staff. rooms are only average and with no wifi in the rooms I woud rate this hotel very low. the parking per night is outrageous. July 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. We recently stayed 3 nights at this location. Ady was the person at the front desk who had all the right answers. She arranged special pick-up for a tour to Muir Woods. She also helped find a more comfortable room and quieter location after a rough first night. We had asked for a quiet room our first night, but we were given a room right above the front lobby, very noisy street. Ady helped correct this. We loved the bicycle rental right next door. We also loved the cable car near the hotel. However, the front desk clerk (not Ady) who gave us directions needs to be more specific. We walked several blocks to ride the cable car, only to find out later that there was one very close to the hotel. We would definitely recommend this location to anyone going to San Francisco. July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and more! We really liked the hotel very much! Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Perhaps some oranges would be nice. We were treated well and everyone was helpful. Our room was comfortable and daily quiet. It was very nice to have instant hot and cold water in the bathroom! A little refrigerator in the room would be perfect! July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff!! the front desk staff was amazing- really helpful and great local information on transportation, restaurants, etc. very pleasantly surprised at the friendliness, helpfulness, and knowledge of the staff! Brandy was especially helpful and kudos to her! the hotel was very accommodating, despite how busy they were. loved my stay there! location was great for all tourist activities as well. July 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very busy We stayed at this hotel in June, 2013 to visit Fishermans Wharf. It is an excellent hotel for a short visit because of it's location. We found the rooms a little out dated. The hotel was crazy busy but that's to be expected in June. The front desk Staff were not warm and welcoming as you come to expect as a platinum ambassador, however, I was upgraded. The breakfast was good but again it was very busy. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just a very good experience!! Our stay was just a very good expereince. Good location, close to the wharf but not too close. Great B'fast and room. Very pleased. July 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent value and great location Just two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and very reasonably priced for San Francisco ( where a 150 sq. ft. efficiency appt. rents for $950/mo.) The rooms were comfortable and clean. The valet and registration staff were efficient and friendly. However, the breakfast was poorly served, poorly managed, and not of equal quality to what is normally found in the many other HI EXP hotels in which I have stayed. This is also the only HI Exp hotel I have experienced that does not offer coffee 24/7 and would not allow a guest to even have a piece of fruit or a glass of juice fifteen minutes after the breakfast hour ended. June 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Perfect Place to Stay This was our 2nd trip to SFO and our 2nd stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman's Wharf. We choose it for several reasons. * Location: 2 blocks North is all the action on the Wharf. 2 blocks South is the Powell/Mason cable car turnaround. 4 blocks West is the Powell/Hyde cable car turnaround. So, there is something to do either within walking distance, or you can get on a cable car and be in Chinatown, Union Square, etc. in just a matter of minutes. * Breakfast: Their selection is superb, and it's just downstairs waiting for you. Pancakes, Eggs, Cinnamon Rolls, Fruit, Cereals, Biscuits & Gravy, Toast, English Muffins, Bagels, Juice, Coffee, Milk, Yogurt, and the list goes on. Having this service in the hotel is a time & money saver. You don't have to find a restaurant, stand in line, or add anything to your travel budget. * Rooms: It's not the Waldorf but it's all you really need. A bed, television, bathroom, closet, inn room safe, etc. Everything was neat, clean and well kept. Other positives were that the front desk staff is friendly & helpful. There are 2 computers in the lobby so you can check email or print boarding passes, and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. If we should ever go back to SFO for a 3rd time, we will chose this hotel again! June 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service The front-desk staff were gracious and answered our questions graciously and thoroughly. When the shuttle to the airport cancelled at the last moment, the staff arranged for a taxi for us -- and footed the bill! Quite unnecessary, but very much appreciated! June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel in a great location the hotel is in an excellent location. Very close to the wharf and pier 39. Public transportation is nearby too to get to other places in San Francisco. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The complimentary breakfast was a plus. The only negative was the free wireless available only in the lobby and not in the rooms. June 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great position and very good room this hotel is well situated for Fishermans wharf and all the relevant attractions. Room very good and staff very helpful at all times. Will return and recommend it to anyone for value for money in this city. June 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel near everything! Very nice stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The only downfall was no Wireless internet in the room. Cell phone reception was iffy as well in the room. Other than that minor detail, the staff was great, and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was large with plenty of selections even towards the end of the morning service time. Hot items included in breakfast too! Shower pressure was not as well as I would have liked, but a clean bathroom and room made up for this. The complementary shampoo, conditioner and body wash is Bath and Body Works. My boyfriend forgot to pack a razor and his shaving creme which was provided by the hotel upon request for no charge. This location is perfect, only 1 block away from Pier 41 and close to many other attractions. Next door is Hollywood Cafe for breakfast and lunch selections, very good! No frills hotel that served it's purpose.. June 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Wifi in rooms Location is very good although can be very noisy at times depending where your room faces. Lack of Internet connection in rooms makes this properties rating low in my opinion. Breakfast areas can get very crowded at times June 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good rooms in a great location Stayed 4 nights with the family. The location was great, the rooms could have been better. I brought my own wifi router so we had wifi in the room, but we were the only ones... I am fine with wired only access but others might find that an issue. The 32" ( maybe 35" ) old style / tube TV needs to go. We needed another 4 more plugs to charge our stuff. If we had only been there overnight... this would have been less of an issue... but for 4 nights... it was a pain. We stay in a Holiday Inn Express quite often. They always start serving coffee early..... not this one... coffee didn't come out to 6:30 to 6:40am. I like going down early and this was an issue for me. I can get hot coffee at 5am everywhere else.... as for the rest of breakfast... it was standard free-breakfast food. The kids were happy. We had to go down 2 blocks to use the holiday inn washer and dryers to do some laundry... it was not available on the property. We were within 1/2 block of a Street Car stop, 2 blocks from the muni, 6 blocks from the cable cars. parking is almost $50 a day around Fisherman's Wharf. We used public transportation and it was just fine. Overall... for the 4 nights we stayed... it was not bad... it just could have been better. June 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Ideal location for Fisherman's wharf. The hotel room was clean. Lobby and check in was pleasant. They do not have enough staff to keep up with the breakfast crowd. Many items ran out and not refreshed in a timely fashion. Also, there were a lot of food items on the floor and no one was cleaning up. Not good for a food area. No WIFI available in the room so you have to sit in the lobby. Not too good when many people are having breakfast. If your driving, be sure to scout around for parking because it is VERY expensive at the hotel. Highest I've ever seen. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Very comfortable and always clean. Staff very helpful and overall - highly recommended June 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast The breakfast was the worst I every had. Ran out of many items like biscuits and gravy and hard boiled eggs. The eggs and sausage were cold. The breakfast staff didn't even respond when I asked if they knew that there wasn't any biscuits and gravy. I would never stay at this Holiday Inn Express again. However the desk staff was very friendly and helpful when greeting me and answering questions. June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly casual atmosphere. We reserved 2 rooms and wanted the rooms close together. The front desk employee made sure they were close together which was very important to us. We did not spend much time in our rooms, but the rooms were spacious and comfortable. We did not hear any street noise and the staff was very pleasant. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The only con for us was we could not get coffee until 6 oclock. We are early risers and we would have been happy to pay for a coffee if it was available. We walked to a local 7Eleven everyday and bought coffee. The location of this hotel is perfect. There was plenty to do if you just wanted to walk around the area for the day or night. Would definitely stay here again. June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Ady at the front desk couldn't have been kinder or more helpful during my stay. She went above and beyond asking if I wanted late check out or to store a bag in the office. She remembered my name from day 1 which means a lot. Excellent service at this location. The room was nice too! June 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff We had a nice stay at the Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast was decent, and free. The family suite was nice and clean, the pull out bed does need some TLC. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to most anything (but be prepared for a lot of walking!). I would recommend this hotel, and stay there again. June 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quite satisfied Courteous staff, great location, good quality and ample breakfast! Couldnt have asked for more! Happy in Illinois. June 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI Outstanding property. Great location for Fisherman's Wharf and for other SF sights. Very good value. Staff is outstanding. You won't be disappointed. June 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - hotel needs a remodel! No free room wifi (bummer), rooms are very out dated... Not quite what I was expecting... Staff was so-so... Not eager to return! June 11, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 17 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading