• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Financial District - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Presidio - North West
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 793 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could have stayed somewhere nicer for the amount of $ we paid Staff was fine very friendly. Hotel on the other hand is very outdated, our bedroom window overlooked the dumpsters and an alley way where we got to see bums digging through the garbabe, hear/see people and cars going through the alley all day/night. There was a god awful humming noise going through the walls that was constant the whole time we were there; all day and night as if someone were vaccuuming above us or something the whole time. We probably spent enough to stay at the nicest hotel in san francisco but wanted to stay here since this was our first time in SF and it was so close to fishermans wharf and everything but next time we would definitely stay a little further out and spend half the money and it would probably be a nicer place to stay. Really staying a little further away and having to walk a few extra blocks would not have been as bad as we were thinking. July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco in guter Lage zu Pier 39 Das Hotel ist echt gut und liegt zu Pier 39 in sehr guter ruhiger Lage. Das einzige was negativ ist, sind die sehr hohen Parkgebühren von US 40,-- pro Tag, dazu kommt dann noch die übliche Steuer. Mitarbeiter sehr freundlich und Hilfsbereit, also wenn ich wieder nach San Francisco fliege, werde ich dieses Hotel sicherlich wieder buchen. July 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by old hotel some of the staff was very friendly and helpful but some were not. I will stay at an different chain the next time I am in the Warf area. Did not like July 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Hotel This Holiday Inn is one example of why I stopped staying at Holiday Inns several years ago before I would try Holiday Inn again. Some of the staff was ok but some were not, I quickly learned to approach certain staff to get the help I needed and avoided the others. There are several other hotel brands with in a block that I will and would recommend staying. To add to the hotel being bad they did not even give me IHG points because I used a business discount which I have used at every Holiday Inn for the past year and still received points. At this rate I think it will be best for me to start staying at other hotel chains that are more interested in providing customer satisfaction. July 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday in USA Very closed to fmw. If you like to walk you need no car to get to little italy or china town. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good choice The bed was very nice, so was the staff. The only thing negative is the noise for the hallways. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation Nessa the Customer Service Rep was very polite and friendly. She makes the check-in very easy. She remembered my name the next day when she when saw us, That was impressive considering she greeted so many guests. The room was very clean and comfortable, it was very quiet. The hotel is in an excellent location. It was very safe as long as we didn't go to the Pier 39 at night. We would definately stay at this hotel again the next time we come back to San Francisco. The Cons: The parking is very expensive. I wished the hotel wouldn't charged so much for it. What's up with that homeless man who jumped out from behind the gabage can and scaring people? I believe they called him "bushman". Where I come from, that considered as harassment and he will be arrested. Afterall, who wants a heart attack! July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very pleasant experience We're a family of four and we had an amazing and pleasant stay. Edwin at front desk gave us a very nice room with a good view of Alcatraz. Housekeeping was very prompt in handing us extra pillows when we needed them and our room was kept nice and tidy. Our checkout was very smooth and quick too. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean Great experience at this hotel..The staff was great..Very accommodating and helpful....Rooms were very clean....Would definitely stay there again.. July 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SFO stay We stay at this hotel very often when we visit San Fransico. It is close to fisherman's warf and the cable cars. We can expect a clean comfortable room and good service. We really. Enjoyed our stay. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great price You are literally a block and half from Fishermans wharf. The price was unbeatable. Room was comfortable and had a great view of the street. The bar across the street got loud on weekends, but it wasn't that bad. Food was good, its better to bundle your stay with breakfast than pay for it day to day. I wouldn't recommend using their parking because its twice as expensive. There is a parking garage, literally behind it that is half the price. I would stay here again. Wonderful stay. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, friendly staff Stayed here for a period of two weeks which meant that I became very familiar with the surroundings and facilities. Pool was excellent, although it could get a little cold when the wind picked up. Fitness center was small but had the basic necessities. Restaurant was OK - a little expensive, but the food was tasty. The breakfast buffet was OK - I preferred to walk the block to Denny's to have breakfast or a few more blocks to IHOP. Not having a food place in the hotel open during the hours of 11am - 5pm was a nuisance, especially if working in the hotel. Parking was great which was one of the factors that led to staying at this hotel. Proximity to Fishernan's Wharf was another positive. Housekeepers were considerate - not knocking on the door too early and were very efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel to guests. July 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice but noisey The hotel accomodations were decent, the location great, but the noise from the street was awful. July 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by basement We stayed in this Holiday Inn. It was clean and comfortable. However, our room on the ground floor had a window (actually a sliding glass door) facing an exterior passage about 4 ft wide. Light filtered down from several storeys above. Essentially, our view was a wall 4 ft away. The upside was that it was pretty quiet, except for the occasional trolley going by to bring supplies to or garbage from the restaurant. Frankly, we would have been better off in a basement room with no window. Given the price is in the $300 range, this hotel is really not a good deal. The "All American" breakfast which we paid for with the room was pretty weak. It is a buffet, but don't expect much. I would say: avoid this hotel July 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by fourth or July stay The hotel was well kept and clean. Parking is limited so call ahead if you plan to drive. I had a room on the North West corner overlooking a bar (very hard to sleep). Overall experience was good most of the staff were pleasant and professional. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High quality, Holiday Inn standards, but don't use concierge! My family of 6 stayed in 2 rooms for our week in San Francisco and absolutely loved the accommodations. The beds were comfortable, everything was clean, we were in walking distance of lots of activities and public transportation, and we were very happy at the Holiday Inn-Fisherman's Wharf. My only complaint is that the concierge was not very knowledgeable about the offerings of the area. I asked a very specific question about the multi-day public transportation passes and she sent me to a tour company instead of the local convenience store. I would like to give her the benefit of the doubt, but I thought I had read something about the passes at a certain chain and just wanted to double check with someone who might know. She acted completely unaware about any transportation passes like I described to her. The tour company had a more expensive and restrictive transportation pass. I received the same kind of response later in the week when I asked about options for getting to Muir Woods. So, my opinion is that everything about the Holiday Inn at Fisherman's Wharf was fabulous except for the concierge. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So Convenient Great place to stay if you plan to do the activities by the water. Been farther away before. Would definitely go this route again in the future. Great staff and comfortable rooms. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location We love staying @ the Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf because of the close walking proximity to all of our favorite spots. Plus the staff are very knowledgable in all aspects San Francisco. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 stay with you Great location and great service. We had a great time and loved everything. We will come back.. July 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not happy customer I did not get the hotel I booked. I booked the one with the swimming pool because I had kids.. They put me in the one across the street and down the block. The kids had to walk to get to the pool. I was not happy about that. I also was told the boat to Alcatraz was booked. The kids were unhappy about that but we already booked to go to Cal. When got there we found out they were not booked up. We were able to go. Overall I find the information you put out is unreliable and the bookings are not what we requested. I did my bookings through the AAA. I will let them know also about my trip. Also when I went to Applebee's for dinner they said they do not accept travels checks. I let my bank know that and they were surprised and did not believe it.. July 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Picked up a "funk." Horrible hotel. Stinky room and furniture. I sat on the couch for a few minutes and the stink attached itself to my shirt. For the rest of the evening I kept smelling a funk on my back. It was like a Seinfeld episode. Food was bad. $26 for bad eggs and bacon. The potatoes were hard and inedible. The sausage was shriveled and overdone. My room was on the alley, so I was serenaded by a garbage truck emptying dumpsters every morning at 5:00. Take my advice and avoid this one. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and convenient The hotel is in a great location - walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf but not close enough to be noisy. The room was well appointed and clean. There were several restaurants near by. The price was a great value for the area. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay My stay at the Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf was excellent and would stay here again and recomend it to anybody. Easy walking access to all attractions in the area. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty toilet bowl Except for the dirty toilet bowl, out 3-day stay was very comfortable. July 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service/ disappointed in room Everything was nice, although I was disappointed that I had stayed at a Holiday inn express for much less money(i realize location makes a difference) and the room was SO much better. I had a couch & coffee table with that room, was much more comfortable. I also was disappointed that if I ordered fried eggs or omelet I was charged an extra $5.00 dollars! I feel with th cost of the room eggs to order with buffet should be included. The location and staff were Very polite and helpful. July 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, friendly and close to everything I recently visited San Francisco with my niece for a graduation gift. We arrived very late, due to a delayed flight, and found our reception very welcoming. The gentleman at the desk even helped us find a place to eat at 2:00am. The service through the remainder of our visit was the same, including the concierge for daily itineraries or random questions at the desk. The location was very close to everything we were doing and we walked to cable cars, pier 39, pier 33 (Alcatraz), pier 17 (TCHO tour), ghiradelli, tower tours, Stinking Rose Restaurant, etc. Our feet and legs were tired after four days but it's doable. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. Ours was very noisy, however. I'm sure this has to do with where you are in the hotel and I don't recall the street we were facing. Lots of street noise, of course, and peope noise until the bars/lounges nearby close . When I stay again, and I will stay again, I'll try to request an inside room. At least the pool noise is over at 10:00. All in all, nice room, good hotel, great staff, excellent city! July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service I loved the hotel it is super clean, has accesible cost and is super well located! July 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel Overall the hotel is clean and the beds are fairly comfortable, was nice having a Denny's in the hotel and being in walking distance to the wharf was great. The only downside was in checking in at the other Holiday Inn and then having to walk with our luggage out on the street to our hotel. Not sure why we were not able to check-in at the hotel we were staying at. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great position and excellent value. We enjoyed this hotel for the excellent value and grest position for the bay area. we were disapointed that the cafe was operating on restricted hours. July 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Me and my family really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was cozy and very comfortable. We were able to get a good night sleep. The location was awesome! We would definatly stay here again and would recommend it. July 10, 2013
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 ... 28 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading