• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Financial District - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Presidio - North West
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 776 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay Stayed for 7 nights here as touring the area, had excellant service and good room. Most things on the Wharf are within walking distance of this hotel. Excellant choice of amendities for ding out are also in vicinity including other hotels as well as Denny's in the adjacent Holiday Inn Express. Hotel made me feel safe and secure -no problems May 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. This really was a great location if you are looking for something on the Wharf. A bit pricey, but I guess that is expected in San Francisco. And $40.00 a day to park you car while you are staying in the hotel is a bit hit as well. Service was great and the staff friendly. May 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Experience When got there to check in the computer system was down so delayed getting to check in and to the room and also main reason for booking hotel was for washer and dryers. When we went to use them people from other hotels had them tied up. Would suggest a key card lock on the door so only guest staying at your hotel get to use them. May 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic breakfast The room was average with a faulty plug in the sink, but all the staff were well above average in caring service. May 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room Nice hotel. Clean. Front desk excellent. Room didn't have a view to speak of, so we walked a lot. Parking was expensive for guest May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HUGE rooms! The room we got was huge, which I think is rare for San Francisco hotels these days, with all the new boutique hotels popping up recently. Very close to tram stop and cable car, and all the other attractions. Very accessible. Front desk service was excellent too, very warm and friendly. I don't get that holier than thou attitude that you sometimes get from other hotel frontdesk staff. This hotel is awesome and very worth the price! May 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, nice room ( size, comfortable beds ) Poor service frome the maid. The hotel is very well located on Fishermans Wharf, very near to attractions, train and cable car stations. Room has an adequate size, with comfortable furniture such as beds, desk, etc. Nice bathroom. However, the room was not very clean. The maid didi not clean well the room. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location Great experience at this Holiday Inn in San Francisco. Loved the location - easy walk to many areas, restaurants, sights, cable cars, etc. Check in staff was superb, getting our stay off to a great start. Room very nice, clean, efficient. Parking price was a bit much but typical of other hotels in the area. Check out experience also smooth and staff very helpful. Have stayed at other hotels in the Fisherman's Wharf area and will definately use this hotel for our next visit. May 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good view of Alcatraz and within walking distance to Wharf Good view. 2 Double Beds for 2 adults and 1 teenager makes sleeping rough. Rooms need upgrading. Carpeting frayed, furniture old and torn up. No refrigerator or microwave in room. Disappointed and depressing. Parking fees outrageous. Restaurant chain down stairs but affiliated with room charges, had very poor service. Ate there twice and both times neither waitress/waiter wrote order down, and both times had the entire order completely wrong, ie. 2 eggs over medium, turkey bacon crisp, became scrabbled eggs with sausage. May 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service The 2 restaurants you have on property were very high in price for the quality of food received. Wait staff in the main one was very snippy. Did not like that at Denny's we were charged a 2% insurance fee. No other place in town did that. We found several less expensive places to eat. Also would like to know why I did not get my points for this stay. May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Priority Club My stay was excellent and the room was very comfortable. The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and all of it's attractions. May 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed We enjoyed our stay @ the Hotel, the only problem was that we arrive @ the Hotel around 1:00 am the weather was very cold, and we had to wheel our 2 luggage & 2 carry on bags to another building that was on the next block over. It has happened to us on 2 other trips we took to San Francisco. I wish there is a way that the hotel can let their guest know, what hotel building to check into, via text or email. This would be a great service to their customers. May 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Two Definite Drawbacks While the staff was courteous and accomodating to the extent that they were able, this property, in my opinion, has two definite drawbacks. First, after we checked in, we were told that our room was down the street and around the corner. What?? There were two of us (both women) and it was quite a shock to find out that after checking in, we had to haul our suitcases, etc down the street for several blocks to get to where our room was located. Second, the F Train ran right underneath our window about every half hour or so....needless to say, we did not get a good night's sleep either night we were there. I would not anticipate booking this hotel again unless I was sure that I could get a room in the "real" hotel. Make sure to check if you book this hotel. May 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room; kind room & desk staff. Stayed here prior to a cruise. Enjoyed the location. Parking cost is outrageous. May 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location, great staff The hotel is walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. We stayed in the main building of the hotel and we were assigned to a room that faced Beach St. but the Priority Room we were in was over where the garbage bins were so early morning was very noisy on the 1st night with the garbage removal trucks doing their job. We requested a room move and this was granted by the lady at the Front Desk. The rest of our stay was very pleasant after that. The rooms are not updated but beds are clean and comfortable, which is the priority when you're out all day and just need a bed at night. Their staff are the best - helpful, courteous, good resource for information about where to go etc. Lots of good places for breakfast in the area - Pergamino, Hollywood Cafe, Beach St. Grill. Ghirardelli is just a block away too. May 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great clean room, excellent beds Hotel is in a great location just far enough from the wharf and real close to the f-train(bus). You can get anywhere in the city from this location. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hote We enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn on Columbus Avenue, San Francisco. It was a perfect location. Close to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Francisco. May 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff great. Clean. Parking too much Staff extremely friendly. Very clean room. 2complaints--$40 plus tax per night for parking, I know that's standard for hotels in SF but come on! 2nd complaint is small: my room was a bit noisy- from small park and a bar across the street. So noise ended when bar closed. Didn't bother me but partner had trouble sleeping (we had opened the windows to get the cool breeze rather than run a/c). Guess if we were younger and didn't go to bed so early this wouldn't be a prob ! May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and functional room This was an overall good stay. We stayed one week, and the room was comfortable and quiet. We had a nice view on the fifth floor. Only issues were with the restaurant, which was poor, and the internet service, which was very slow and only functional early in the morning or very late at night. The staff was friendly and courteous, and overall we were content with our stay. May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, but...... This hotel is mostly memorable because of its excellent location, and for its NOT doing anything special to recognize Priority Club members! Clean and dependable, close to the F Line as well as Ghirardellis and Boudins, but don't expect any special treatment or discounts even when you spend 3 weeks a time like I did! I had just spent 3 weeks at a Holiday Inn Express in Dubai where there was a 20% off policy on all food and beverages; not at this property! I guess they don't need to do anything special when the tourist flock to the location for the 2 or 3 night stays! May 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD EXPERIENCE AND GREAT LOCATION VERY GOOD LOCATION EASY TO HAVE THE ACESS TO THE MOST RESTAURANT AND ATRACTIONS POINTS OF SAN FRANCISCO May 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 2week stay I wasn't too fond of the a/c-heater on the wall, it was very loud no matter if it was being cooled or warmed. During my 2nd week there, I went to the sink to wash my hands and there wasn't any water coming from the faucet. I called the front desk and what I caught from the lady in broken words was that there was no water until 5pm and that I should've received a letter. When I explained to her that I did not receive any letter or notification, she questioned ME why I didn't receive a letter. I DID NOT receive anything and I did not feel like it was my fault I wasn't informed. I was not happy as that was the day I had to work all day from my hotel room. That was very disappointing and felt like I was mistreated. I guess I expected an apology but yet, I was still questioned about my lack of knowledge. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in great location Pleased with location of hotel, close to Fisherman's wharf, restaurants and close to cable cars and trams. Good to have a guest launderette for those on long journeys. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Two cons- Very expensive parking so we took our hire car back. We were told we would be able to pay with credit card for the town car to the airport but we had to pay cash. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again for sure. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel, grounds, and surroundings. Hotel was modern and clean. Great location at Fisherman's Wharf. Rooms were comfortable, updated, and clean. Fitness center was very small and needs to be relocated with more equipment added. Free in-room Wi-fi and business center. Safe provided in rooms. The only negative was that we had noisy guests on our floor that were constanly walking back and forth to each others rooms and slamming doors in the evening. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, Excellent Facilities, Warm Reception Desk I will recommend this hotel anytime. Convenient to public transport and eating places (Pier 39!), clean and spacious rooms and most of all, convenient washing machines/ dryer at the basement! The staff at the reception desk are very warm and helpful. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Regulars We have visited the city a number of times over the past 3 years to see our daughter and have stayed in several hotels. This was our first stay at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf and we were impressed. Our room was large, light and comfortably furnished - always spotlessly clean. Staff were welcoming and helpful. We particularly liked the coffee shop in reception for a quick breakfast and the fact that the hotel is on an excellent bus route direct to the city centre. We will certainly be back! May 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overpriced for an old hotel This hotel is overpriced, old and in need of a facelift. The only thing it had going for it was the location. $60.00 a day for parking unless you stay 3 nights then it is reduced to $40.00. They have lots of underground parking which was mostly empty when we were there. The in hotel restaurant is very pricey as well. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Columbus Ave location I've been staying at the Holiday Inn on Columbus Avenue since 2004 and have stopped there during most of my visits to San Francisco. One of my main reasons for staying there is the location, a short walk from the North Beach restaurants and bars, handy for the Hyde St Pier area and if you like that sort of thing the touristy bit of Fisherman's Wharf. the hotel is modern, clean and friendly but is very popular with tourists. I recommend a 5th Floor (Business Area) or 4th Floor Priority Club room, also you may not have much of a view at the rear but it can be quieter. the restaurant at the hotel is ok but there are plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants in the area so i rarely use it. The hotel has free Wi Fi. again, the main reason i choose the hotel is the location, it's out of the busy downtown area and North Beach has it's own special atmosphere. The hotel can have a bit of a corporate feel and can get very busy with tourists. April 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place We stayed here for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised at everything. The location is great and the room was comfortable. At the end of our stay we switched hotels and wished we hadn't. April 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice rooms and nice staff This was a very nice hotel the rooms were nice and the staff was grest. April 29, 2013
<<prev 17 18 19 20 21 ... 27 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading