• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Coit Tower - North East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Union Square/Chinatown/Financial Center - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service Every staff member I encountered was smiling and attentive. They really put the effort in to take care of any request. October 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Vibrating windows = no sleep Depressed part of the city, people urinating in the parking lot, balcony door was loose and vibrated throughout the night leading to little sleep. You get what you pay for. October 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 互联网不错 整洁,但不会留下什么印象。 前台服务不错,房间灯光不够明亮。 房间外的天台有各种花和树,挺喜欢。 酒店的用餐没试过,不知道服务和味道。 October 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and accommodations The room and hotel was really nice. It was pretty quite too considering being downtown. BART very accessible. Microwave and or refer would be nice. Judging by the cabinet in my room they have at one time. October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding personnel but poor bed quality I found the staff at this location to be excellent. They were friendly, helpful and in my opinion extremely professional. That starts with the maids, desk personnel, restaurant personnel and everyone else I encountered that worked for the hotel. The hotel is clean, the location is a bit seedy early in the morning but security is great. The beds though very clean were a bit difficult to sleep on due to poor springs. Overall I enjoyed my one night stay. The front desk did fail to account for the fact that I indicated there would be three persons staying and only provided me with two meal tickets. Other than that, I have no complaints. October 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Safety this property is not in a safe location. The lobby looks contemporary and great, but the guest rooms have not been renovated. October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Visit Very nice, clean room. Hotel overall was very nice. Surrounding area was a bit questionable after dark. October 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor location This was a awful experience. The hotel is located in a horrible location. People were using the street outside as a public restroom and you have to walk several blocks to get away from the bad area. I am a woman and travel alone for business, I've been to most of the large cities in the US and I pretty much walk anywhere to experience the cities I visit (I'm not wimpy); however, this is the first time I've felt this uneasy to walk outside. I would not recommend this hotel as it gives you such a poor image of San Francisco. I ended up checking out early so I could stay closer to Union Square where the tourists are. The hotel itself is older and only one or two of the four elevators worked every day (a different one was under repair every time I used the elevators). The staff was great, which was the only redeeming factor of this hotel. October 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Room / Nice Staff I had a good stay at this hotel and I thought the staff did a quality job. I will stay here again. October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by sehr guter Service, leider sehr laut Das Hotel bietet ein tollen und sehr freundlichen Service. Leider ist die Lautstärke durch etliche Großbaustellen und schlechte Geräuschdämmung extrem schlecht. Unter der Woche wird man um 4 Uhr morgens durch Baulärm aus dem Schlaf gerissen. Parken im Parkhaus ist mit fast 43$/Tag schon fast Wucher. October 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel good / neighborhood not so good Hotel was fine. Clean room, comfortable bed, nicely furnished. Pretty noisy in the morning (street noise). No microwave or refrigerator in room (refrigerator available for extra money) which was a bummer. The neighborhood was not good. This was a business stay and my business was walking distance so I saw enough of the neighborhood. There was a lot of homeless in the area, pretty much doing as they pleased, even to the extent of enjoying the hotel's outdoor seating. The sidewalks seem strangely dirty, and I have it on good authority that the homeless have to go to the bathroom somewhere. Very unpleasant. I don't blame Holiday Inn for their neighborhood, but I am not interested in staying at this location again. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and comfortable room Conveniently located, well-established hotel with an outstanding staff. The room was standard, but clean and very comfortable. I was in San Francisco on business and this hotel more than met my needs. The friendly and attentive staff makes the hotel standout. October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but shady neighborhood It was a good hotel and I enjoyed my stay. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was well lit and updated. There was enough power outlets to charge all our devices. The hotel is really close to the BART station so it was convenient to go from SFO airport to the hotel. However, the neighborhood is not really safe. There's a lot of homeless people walking around and loitering. October 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights sleep The standard of the rooms is very high and the beds were the best ive experienced at a Holiday inn. The pool was a real suntrap. The only drawback was that room service was not 24 hours. I had to wander back out to find some food October 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Area While there was nothing wrong with the hotel itself, my wife and I were horrified that the area was so bad. The smell of marijuana hit us every time we stepped foot out of the hotel and was present for several blocks. Also, if we walked along Market towards the main city, it was uncomfortable to come across some many homeless people. I accept that every big city has problems, and I have a huge amount of sympathy with these unfortunate people and the circumstances they find themselves in. I would not wish this upon anyone. However, I feel the hotel misled us by not being clear about the area surrounding the hotel, and we left San Francisco feeling cheated that our stay was not more relaxed and hassle-free. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Generally good, but would have liked microwave & refrigerator A microwave & refrigerator in the room would have been nice. Otherwise, our stay was generally good. Staff was excellent. Sketchy neighborhood at night. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again We stayed 2 nights at this Inn. I would stay there again and recommend it to others. It has a great location in the city. October 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy and my reservation was bumped. It was difficult to sleep here due to the extreme noise. Sirens, diesel trucks, horns, etc. I needed to stay a second night, and I called to reserve a room. They told me I had gotten the last room. I arrived to find that they had given my room to someone else, and they were booked. Incompetent staffing of the front counter. I am totally dissatisfied with the front desk personnel. However, IHG Rewards did get me a room at a nicer place. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money! If you're planning a visit to SFO downtown area, this is an excellent property. Had not stayed at Holiday Inn for a number of years, and was blown away by the upgrading of interior, and also rooms. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay-steps from the BART I have stayed here multiple times and I highly recommend this hotel. Ana at the front desk is wonderful and welcoming each time I stay. The hotel is right in the middle of everything and you can walk, bus or BART to anywhere October 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, not so great location The hotel is good, comfortable rooms, helpful staff, very clean. The location is convenient for Union Square but also borders the Tenderloin area which is one of the poorest in San Francisco. There are many people sleeping on the Streets in the area around the hotel and walking back to the hotel at night was an uncomfortable experience. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good for business travelers Friendly staff, quiet rooms, good internet connection, great breakfast. October 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Third time here Stayed at this hotel for holidays in 2010, 12 and 14 and the area around the hotel has markedly improved during that time. There are still a few unsavoury characters on Market Street between 8th and 7th but it feels a lot safer. October 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Baustelle vor dem Haus Leider befindet sich derzeit eine Großbaustelle in unmittelbarer Nähe des Hotels, auf der zu üblichen (?) Zeiten gearbeitet wird: Montag bis Samstag, teilweise ab 4 Uhr morgens. October 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by bad place My from was not clean one day, I called and they said that by mistake that did not clean it that day....... Im disappointed.... October 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Big Clean Room, Close to Mkt Street. Stayed for a 3 day business trip. Getting in and out was efficient and the location is convenient both to the airport and where I was visiting. Rooms are very spacious, clean and bright. I was on one of the higher floors (12) so street noise was no problem. Bed was comfortable and easy to get a good nights sleep. Hotel is more than adequate, I would skip the restaurant. October 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Housekeeping Its always the little people that go un-noticed and dont recieve recognition for doing a great job. The housekeepers at this hotel are great and kept the rooms in great shape during our stay. Thank you and congratulations on the great job you are doing. You should be given the time to provide suggestions on how the rest of this hotel should be run. October 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, not a great area Beds and room comfortable and good size, nice balcony. No bar fridge in room, not good especially for the price. THE neighbourhood is a bit dodgy, and the restaurant is really poor, limited basic menu. Overall fine to stay in for teh price. October 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive Staff Staff attentive to all needs, room, ammenties all perfect, would recommend this hotel October 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty decent - for 'downtown' Can be kind of expensive for what you get...depending on time of year. But location is 'downtown' and close to Theaters, dining, shopping, etc. So it's pretty good really. Yes, the area is kind of 'sketchy', lots of homeless... maybe something can be done about that someday, but they generally keep to themselves and definitely do not go in or near the Hotel. The staff is great. Good attitude and friendly. And attentive. Keep it up! Maid service was excellent. October 1, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading