• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Golden Gate Park - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Moscone Convention Center - South East
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI
Attraction:
Haight/Ashbury - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma
View More
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma and a full selection spirits. Enjoy beer and wine flights paired with small plates designed for sharing. The menu will feature dishes made famous in one of San Francisco’s iconic neighborhoods.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay, Clean and comfortable place. Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable place to stay. Location is great, plenty of places to go out to, April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! Beautiful hotel, with top notch staff! Will definitely be staying here again! April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Check in Assistant was wonderful Moriah the Front Desk assistant was wonderful. I like to use the stairs at the Hotels so she moved me closer to the stair well and even upgraded my room. I am a Gold Member and this is the first time in a year that I was offered an upgrade. Thank you San Pablo for hiring such great staff. A glass of wine that night was wonderful too...... April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff, relaxing environment good location for my business trip, staff helpful in directions to nearby eatries and shops clean, relaxing rooms March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome customer service/Beautiful property/Convenient Food and Shopping/ Perfect meeting room Space for small to med. size Events I Absolutly love this property. I have stayed several times in various room types and enjoyeed every bit of it! All of the staff there are awesome however Michael and Mariah really go above and beyond. This is my home away from home. I love this place! March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply the best hotel in the area! Friendly staff, nice, clean rooms and delicious complimentary breakfast. We always enjoy this hotel when visiting family. We even spent a Christmas Day there a couple years ago! March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable king bed, esy WiFi access and pleasant staff Breakfast choices could be expanded to at least include a hot oatmeal breakfast. Otherwise, pleasant, clean hotel with a pleasant staff. February 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good stay 对于全家旅行来说,是很好的选择,包括免费早餐和免费停车。离伯克利分校不远,吃饭也非常方便,有多种选择 February 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff, but noisy room! The hotel could use "soundproofing". I had a very nice room on the second floor--actually an upgrade, but I could hear the people next door and loud footsteps and other noise from the floor above. It sounded like they were moving furniture! I am a light sleeper and could not get a good nights sleep. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property and great rates for the Bay area Nice Property, easy Freeway access, yet no road noise from the Freeway. All Staff very nice, enjoyed the stay I will be back. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel... Hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and caring. When I had a problem with the internet, they made sure I was taken care of. Vicky was very helpful and trying to do everything she could to make my experience better. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend to other guest. 5 stars all the way. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT HOTEL This is my second time staying at this hotel. The first time it was just my wife and me and we loved it so much that we decided to come back to the Bay area so we could bring our kids. We had a great time and we were very happy during our stay. This is the place where I will stay everytime I'm in the area. December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay! Second stay and was made very welcome upon arrival, room was great and staff generally helpful. Will stay there again! December 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by internet and noise I stayed for 3 nights, taking care of my father's estate after his death. I was extremely frustrated with the lack of wifi for the first night and the intermittent availability for the rest of the time. I had lots of issues to address and it was extremely inconvenient. In addition, the air conditioners in the room are extremely noisy. Finally, our fire detector battery made that incessant chirping noise the first night. The staff attempted to address my concerns but it was all-in-all not a good experience. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by easy to find, OK place, great breakfast Look for the high casino sign, right below on San Pablo Dam road is this hotel. No pool, but real food for breakfast, Denny's across the street, Taco Bell, and a Chinese buffet in an easy walk away. I can't speak to the staff,/service I didn't have to. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, quiet room We stayed two nights. The hotel is located next to I-80 and very easy to access. Breakfasts were very good. Rooms were exceptionally clean. Desk staff was helpful with locations to eat and directions to area attractions including printing our directions and maps. Do not miss the Rosie the Riveter National Park!! We never knew Richmond saved the world! The room was quiet, bed comfortable. We will stay here again. November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent accommodation very helpful front desk woman (evening) helped me with thermostat, very important to me. Room very clean. Breakfast tasty, good coffee. Very pleasant experience in that somewhat hidden corner. November 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not impressed It was in a good location, close to where I was working. I made the reservation on the 800 number and was told that they were going to put me in for a free upgrade. When I arrived I was booked in an upgraded room but was going to be charged for the upgrade. I chose to take the regular room since I was on expenses. The room I was given had a faint bad odor whch I endured all night and woke to find a bug in the bathroom. This is a fairly new hotel and is in a good location but the experience was not very good. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Stay we need a local get way the staff were great and very helpful . but what i loved most about my stay is that me and my husband are plus size people and the ROYAL STE KING WITH JACUZZI was great because me and him were able to both fit in the tub and the shower at the same time and we go to a lot of hotels and this is the 1st time we were able to do this so we will be back here and soon. November 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Loud and low class Stayed in room from which I could hear every word of the obnoxious guests in the next room. On the positive side at least I was on the non freeway side of the hotel. This hotel is right on hwy 80 and the noise level is quite high. Not a restful venue October 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by your beds are very uncomfortable Overall I like the hotel but the beds a very uncomfortable and that is reason enough for me not to stay there again. I travel regularly to the area on business and work long hours... And I get little to no sleep due the uncomfortable beds in your hotel. Your beds should be your greatest feature... In my opinion. October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Best Holiday Inn Express I have stayed in This Holiday Inn Express was brilliant from the minute you are greeted in reception by the very friendly and efficient staff, who upgraded me to a Jacuzzi Suite as a Platinum Member of PCR. The room was very large, beautifully furnished and the Bed was so comfortable, and chilling in the Jacuzzi was great. The Breakfast had great variety and all well presented.Complimentary Nibbles and Cookies were available in reception around 6pm. The hotel laundry room was easy to use so got my washing up to date. About 20 miles out of downtown San Francisco and is reasonably priced and convenient to I80. The hotel is very quiet so no road noise to disturb your sleep. Would definitely comeback again. Well done to all the staff who were great. October 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, welcoming hotel Up to usual Holiday Inn standards; comfortable, quiet rooms. Spacious bathroom; hair dryer, ironing board, iron, desk, in-room coffee maker, complimentary breakfast, etc. Many electrical outlets which are easy to access. My mother's Handicap Accessible room had sturdy shower rails, etc; she felt safe. Friendly and helpful staff. Location near Berkeley; although private transportation would be required, I believe. Easy freeway access. Also adjacent to a mall, which has some common chain stores, including Starbucks, etc. We would stay here again. October 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff I would like to thank Mariah for all the help she gave my dad and I when we stayed there. My dad's car broke down and she was so helpful on finding us a tow truck and a garage plus so much more. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room and good breakfast Was able to get a room on a Friday night without a reservation. This caused me to worry somewhat until I opened the door and entered the room. It was clean, smelled fresh, and everything worked properly. In the morning I enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. October 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Saved the day I needed a room in Berkeley, but not one decent room was available. So the San Pablo H.I. Express came to the rescue! Our room was very nice, and priced as well as any in this part of the bay area. October 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Party Room Next Door The room next door had loud music and sounded like a strip club. In poor neighborhood. Will not stay here. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Services was excellent. Overall Experience was more than I expected. Staff and service was excellent. We arrived at 8:30am, our kings size room for my wife and I was not ready for our request for early check in. We were due at a 11am meeting in Richmond. The lady at check in desk was so pleasant and wonderful. After bein told our room was not ready for check in. We were prepared to have breakfast offered by the hotel and wait for our room to be ready to check in. But, the desk clerk informed us that a double room was available for check in and if we wish we could have that room, which we did. The room was very clean, the beds were very very confortable and clean. I was able to take a nap. My wife then went to business center to check up on email were were looking for and needed to get to office depot for copies and a flash drive. The desk clerk even offered to let her use the hotel flash drive to be used only at the hotel. Which my wife later found out she did not need the flash drive. Thanks to the desk clerk for a wonderful experience at your hotel. She made such a difference in our stay in the area. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Second stay, really enjoy this hotel My husband and I stayed at this hotel almost one year ago and loved our experience. So we chose to stay here again as we were going to a Giants game in S.F. we love the fact that the BART station is only a 5 minute drive away and we can take that into S.F. and save money on parking and be able to stay at a more affordable hotel outside of the city. Our room was in great condition and very comfortable. My husband and I LOVE the breakfast options in the morning and the food is really really good and so convenient before our drive back to Reno. We will definitely stay here again for another event or trip to the bay area. September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and friendly I have been staying at the property for business travel and the staff is so friendly and they remember you. My room is always clean and the breakfast is just right... September 1, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Availability
Loading