• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Coit Tower - North East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Union Square/Chinatown/Financial Center - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 826 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We recently booked 2 nights at the what we thought to be, 1300 Columbus Avenue location in San Francisco. We were very disappointed to find that our room location was in a different building, that was not convenient to walk to and was esthetically not pleasing. We had to cart our 4 pieces of luggage a block away. After arriving on the 4th floor, we find that our room cards did not work, this was all after an entire day of flying. not fun and would not rebook this hotel June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great Location, Helpful staff, lovely properly - a winner June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good located in the center of SF´s tourist attractions like seashore and fishermans wharf Quiet place in the heart of SF´s attractions. Also easy accessable to the city center by chep trams June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the besst rooms I have ever stayed in I really liked the layout of the bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning got the room temperature down to the level where I am most comfortable. And I especially appreciated waiving the overnight parking for the car. That is what made us choose your Holiday Inn over other hotels by Fisherman's Wharf. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location This is a very nice property location wise. The facility was also very clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the parking charges. The first couple nights we stayed, we were given a room at the Beach Street location and had to walk back to park the car after they charged us $45 PER NIGHT to park. Otherwise a great experience. June 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Extra charges $40 PLUS TAX A DAY FOR PARKING IS OUTRAGEOUS. As a Priority Club member it should be offered at a lower rate or offer to use points to pay for this service. The drapes in our room did not close to darken the room. Please do not skimp on decorating. June 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Excellent location, staff very friendly and helpful. Three people stayed but only two breakfasts were included in the price. The choice of food available for breakfast was very good. We will definately visit again soon. June 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location,location Good location for the "Wharfs" and cable cars, though not the only hotel in the area. 5th floor business level was very disappointing ,lots of unsupervised teens running around till 10 PM. $40 a day parking fee is a little high,especially since the Hotel owns the garage. Eat breakfast at the Hollywood just up the street, Twice the food for half the price . June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, Great staff We took our grandson for a two night stay in San Francisco. The location of this hotel is excellent for all the tourist spots we wanted to go to. The staff was excellent with directions and recommendations. Bus service is excellent and we had a great time. We also had warm weather and enjoyed using the pool. June 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Clean room....comfortable bed. Good location for us, but room above swimming pool area. Screaming kids were an undesirable distraction while trying to relax in the evening. Otherwise, no real complaints June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good safe bet If you are not familiar with SF, as we were not, this is a good safe choice. Near tours, near wharf, on bus line. We did not eat at HI at all. Breakfast is $20 each; though they do have a counter to buy muffin and drink. We went to Starbucks for simple breakfast; but also a place not too far. Basically, do not eat in the Fisherman Wharf area...quality of food and cost is stupid. Just walk about 8 blocks up Columbus from the the hotel for universally great Italian and other food. Staff at HI completely helpful and friendly. Will assist you. Room completely as expected; no surprises. A good choice for first visit until you know the city more and what you want to be near. June 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad Location was good and the rooms reasonable. But the front desk staff was completely incompetent in every area. Truly surprising. And they didn't seem to care that they were not helpful at all. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff!! Spent a few days over the Memorial Day weekend at Fisherman's Wharf. Staff were awesome! Very accomodating and quick to help. Room was comfortable with an over the rooftops view of "the Rock". Food was great, everybody worked to help keep me Gluten free. Great wine country tour with Tower Tours that the concierge set me up with. I strongly recommend this hotel! June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location TOP / Staff and additional cost FLOP The Location, no word: just perfect! Everything is really close. Room was clean and not too loud. Fast check-in and check-out. Free WiFi worked good. Size of the room (Kingsize bed in the mainbuilding) was ok. We had a little fridge in the room. Somewhere was written that the refrigerator is not included. But there are a few thing i didn't liked: - $ 25 for Breakfast-Buffet is too much!!! A Steak at Pier 39 cost less than that!!! And it was not as good as a steak. - $ 40 (+ Tax) per Night for Parking is huge!!! - The Staff in the Bristol Bar & Grill is unproffessional and one waiter speaks very poor english! A very good Hotel to discover San Fransisco as long as u have no car. Maybe better to eat breakfast somewhere else, but Frisco is a expensive place! June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay! My first visit to San Francisco was enhanced by the great accommodations. The room was excellent, the breakfast buffet was exceptional and the staff were very obliging. The location was excellent and handy for all attractions. I would highly recommend your hotel to anyone who is planning a trip to San Francisco. Thank you for making my visit a memorable one! June 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not comfortable I found my stay disappointing great location but room tired, my view a high concrete wall. The staff made me feel uncomfortable I felt like tourists are not suppose to annoy staff with questions especially if there is no dollar value for them a poor way to think when you are in the hospitality industry. June 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Breakfast food was poor quality and over $54 for 2 adults which is not reasonable even if the food was great......go across the street and pay $10 June 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice n' very clean hotel Nice n' very clean hotel, nice stuffs, expectantly the Chinese man who was taking care of the locker room, very friendly and helpful . Great location near the Market street, lots of seafood. May 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Fisherman's Wharf facility! Made a last minute trip to San Francisco, and wanted to stay in the Fisherman's Wharf area. This property really hit the spot! Excellent location, beautiful facility and wonderful staff. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. We will definitely stay here again! May 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by ANTAGONISTIC STAFF We stayed for 5 nights. The room was adequate however because of the distance from downtown there are few taxis. They only come to the hotel if the Bellman whistles for them and the Bellman was nowhere to be found for more than 10 minutes when we were in a hurry to get to our meeting. The reason we were in such a hurry is because the lady at the front desk was antagonistic, argumentative and rude regarding checking us out. She took more than 30 minutes and her attitude was extremely contentious. We couldn't do the express check out because the Hotel did not afford us that option. May 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay Stayed for 7 nights here as touring the area, had excellant service and good room. Most things on the Wharf are within walking distance of this hotel. Excellant choice of amendities for ding out are also in vicinity including other hotels as well as Denny's in the adjacent Holiday Inn Express. Hotel made me feel safe and secure -no problems May 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. This really was a great location if you are looking for something on the Wharf. A bit pricey, but I guess that is expected in San Francisco. And $40.00 a day to park you car while you are staying in the hotel is a bit hit as well. Service was great and the staff friendly. May 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Experience When got there to check in the computer system was down so delayed getting to check in and to the room and also main reason for booking hotel was for washer and dryers. When we went to use them people from other hotels had them tied up. Would suggest a key card lock on the door so only guest staying at your hotel get to use them. May 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic breakfast The room was average with a faulty plug in the sink, but all the staff were well above average in caring service. May 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room Nice hotel. Clean. Front desk excellent. Room didn't have a view to speak of, so we walked a lot. Parking was expensive for guest May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HUGE rooms! The room we got was huge, which I think is rare for San Francisco hotels these days, with all the new boutique hotels popping up recently. Very close to tram stop and cable car, and all the other attractions. Very accessible. Front desk service was excellent too, very warm and friendly. I don't get that holier than thou attitude that you sometimes get from other hotel frontdesk staff. This hotel is awesome and very worth the price! May 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, nice room ( size, comfortable beds ) Poor service frome the maid. The hotel is very well located on Fishermans Wharf, very near to attractions, train and cable car stations. Room has an adequate size, with comfortable furniture such as beds, desk, etc. Nice bathroom. However, the room was not very clean. The maid didi not clean well the room. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location Great experience at this Holiday Inn in San Francisco. Loved the location - easy walk to many areas, restaurants, sights, cable cars, etc. Check in staff was superb, getting our stay off to a great start. Room very nice, clean, efficient. Parking price was a bit much but typical of other hotels in the area. Check out experience also smooth and staff very helpful. Have stayed at other hotels in the Fisherman's Wharf area and will definately use this hotel for our next visit. May 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good view of Alcatraz and within walking distance to Wharf Good view. 2 Double Beds for 2 adults and 1 teenager makes sleeping rough. Rooms need upgrading. Carpeting frayed, furniture old and torn up. No refrigerator or microwave in room. Disappointed and depressing. Parking fees outrageous. Restaurant chain down stairs but affiliated with room charges, had very poor service. Ate there twice and both times neither waitress/waiter wrote order down, and both times had the entire order completely wrong, ie. 2 eggs over medium, turkey bacon crisp, became scrabbled eggs with sausage. May 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service The 2 restaurants you have on property were very high in price for the quality of food received. Wait staff in the main one was very snippy. Did not like that at Denny's we were charged a 2% insurance fee. No other place in town did that. We found several less expensive places to eat. Also would like to know why I did not get my points for this stay. May 20, 2013
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 29 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading