• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Coit Tower - North East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Union Square/Chinatown/Financial Center - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 817 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location :-) Location was nice but the only problem was the parking fee... $40+tax is a bit too high..... Overall,, nice hotel :-) March 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay in San Fran Room was very clean ,staff was very nice ,only complaint is that $45.00 a day parking they charge a day is a little much. March 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco I don't know why this hotel is only 3 star, as it seems to have everything necessary for a 4 star. We were very comfortable, lovely room, if a little noisy aircon, and very noisy dustmen in the early hours. Ask for a room not facing Columbus Ave! It is only a couple of blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, so is very handy for all attractions. There is a 24 hour Denny's, which is very handy for a late arrival if you haven't eaten on the plane, we used it then and also for lunch before returning to the airport. We didn't use the hotel restaurant, but the bar was fine, and quite good value for USA. (compared with our home in Spain!) I would certainly recommend this hotel, and would return if I were to visit San Francisco again. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Fisherman's wharf option It's not the newest hotel in the area, but the staff are friendly and except for the expensive parking ($45 a day) it's good value. I've stayed a few times and every time have enjoyed the hotel. It's clean and well located. March 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK for business but not great for families Room was a bit small but clean. Helpful cleaning staff got more blankets and towels. I was upgraded to the 5th floor with the business center and a small frig as a priority club member - still a pretty standard room in my book. Noisy hall due to group of young overseas tourist group including banging on random doors down the hallway. Requested a roll away bed so our daughter could have her own bed (as listed on website) but told they don't give them out anymore due to fire codes. Offered to book me a second room as a "discount" price. Had we known roll away was not an option (again as stated on hotel website) we would have stayed somewhere else. Breakfast buffet was nice but very expensive. March 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Clean I appreciated staying in a clean hotel, with a great location. My family of six could very easily walk to many sites. We like to have our breakfast in the hotel and then go for the day but we had only one breakfast at this hotel. The prices for breakfast are not family friendly at all. The food was good but way over priced. We found another place for half the price and ate there for the rest of our stay. Also, noticed other guests doing the same thing. For this hotel I would say Sleep but don't Eat there. March 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. The location is great - right next to Fisherman's Wharf. It's a little pricey and you have to pay for parking, but it's clean and the underground parking felt very secure. March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This was an overal good stay at Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. You cannot beat the location, close to everything. March 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 WONDERFUL Can't believe how nice everyone and everything was. The location to the wharf was also great and the concierge was wonderful. However that was my 1st stay as a Priority Club Member and was not made aware of the extras that I was entitled too. You are right I did not read it until I got back home. March 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service This hotel had a poor customer service. At check in the clerk did not give any importance and was not aware what was a Platinum member, she was in a rush and kind of rude. The maids will knock once and open the door fast, if you did not get the lock they can get in fast and unexpected, also they start this early in the morning, and almost every 30 minutes until you leave. The rooms are old and the A/C very noisy. Bad experience over all March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view and close to everything in Pier 39 I couldnt recomend this place any higher. The service was warm and accomodating and provided a great stay for our honeymoon. Pier 39 was blocks away so you can just park your car in their lot, walk and enjoy what San Francisco has to offer. A must if you would like a pleasant stay near the embarcadero. March 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location! This hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the wharf, waterfront attractions and getting on the famous street car. However, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. While we loved the idea of having a street / park view, we didn't sleep at all because of the noise of trucks and pedestrians. Breakfast is too expensive. March 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, but lots of little issues mean I won't return The location is great, as it is right by Fisherman's Wharf. It is also nicer than some of the other properties in this area, as many are fairly old and living off their location. But this building was nice, and the rooms were clean and fairly spacious. I'm a Priority Platinum member but there was nothing that recognized this. I was surprised that I didn't get a newspaper each morning as I do at other Holiday Inn properties. The flatsceen TV in the room had seriously bad settings. I rented the movie Zero Dark Thirty and the TV was so bad that many parts of the movie the screen was just plain black. If I had a remote control for the TV, I could have changed the settings, but they only have that silly remote that controls in room movies, etc. I called the front desk but they couldn't send anyone up to fix the TV. I asked the front desk to call me a cab, and they told me just to stand on the corner and wave my arm, as many cabs go by. I found that a bit degrading. The Starbucks in the main hall was nice, but they need more than one person working there. With only one person in front of me in line, it still took over fifteen minutes to get a coffee. Talk about annoying. The fitness room may as well not have existed. No treadmills, and just a few steppers that are so close to each other that you'd bump elbows if someone was on the piece of equipment next to you. So, it was a decent hotel, but it didn't provide anything that made the stay memorable or want me to return. March 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The location was perfect - within walking distance of everything along the waterfront area! Lots of great restaurants, etc close by. The end of the one cable car line was only a couple of blocks away. The Alcatraz tour pier is within walking distance. Lots to see and do in the immediate area! March 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent!!! Had the chance to stay more than once at this hotel. Location, service, rooms, kindness of the staff I would say unbeatable but never had the need to compare. If asked, the only two things that do not make it perfect are... Parking price and breakfast price. Cheers!. I would stay again at your place! And the reception area and room area staff were very friendly and kind. March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, Great staff This is a very nice property in a great location, one block from the Wharf. There is handy access to all of the SF attractions by foot, cab, or cablecar. The rooms were large, particularly relative to many SF hotels, and decently appointed. The staff was particularly attentive, always ready to help with directions and suggestions. A stay that I would gladly repeat. March 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by super stay stayed for a 6 night stay 2 adults and 2 children found room clean and comfy location spot on transports restaurants all with minutes. staff great hardly any street noise and wifi no problem. overall great stay. March 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and location for my business The hotel was very comfortable and the staff very accommodating. Was a great place to stay on business and enjoyed the business floor. Although I had difficulty getting wireless in my room on the 5th floor it worked just fine in the business lounge. I certainly enjoyed the location for entertaining in the evening and not having to use the car. I will definately stay again on my next trip to San Francisco which is monthly. March 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Staff very helpful The front desk staff was very helpful and helped me with a special request. Very pleased with their service. The room was comfortable, but I wish I could have made it colder. The thermostat seemed to have limited affect. March 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Updated, great loction very close to cable car stop, cvs, walgreens, towncar tranfer to SFO Airport for same 55.00 cost for taxi ride. First time in SFO for my friends that were with me. They loved the location. I have stayed here before and will stay here again. . March 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Breakfast way too pricey.... should be half the price the current charge per person, it's prohibitively expensive even for a business traveler.....let alone a family.... compared the breakfast cost to dinner pre-fix menu, it just doesn't add up......over all service at the hotel was very good..location ideal for many opportunities to do for a visitor.... March 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good location and good value for money Have used this property before. Location is very suitable for my requirements. Room very comfortable and free wifi a plus. Will probably use this property on future visits to San Francisco. February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay First time staying SF and I will book this hotel on my next trip back to SF. Great staff, very comfortable, excellent value and close to everything. February 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location The location is good with easy access to public transport and food. Nice clean room even though the overall facet is a little bit old. February 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran has better places to stay than this one During check in, rep was unprofessional speaking with poor English, confused our reservation with another guest. Before asking us additional questions, called the other guests room to sort out confusions...really. Parking cost was outrageous. Contact housekeeping to come to our room at check in to do a reclean, room dirty. My reservation was for 3 people, room not stocked for 3 people at check in with coffee, towels, etc.. Hotel needs serious remodel for the cost. Food served was diner quality at a fine dining cost. I used a lot of points to treat myself to a stay and was so disappointed about the level of treatment at this hotel. Traveled the rest of the week down the CA coast and was upgraded, felt appreciated and given the service that I have come to expect from Holiday Inns. February 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Fran Holiday Inn After returning from Napa we chose another Holiday Inn brand as we had amazing stays with the chain throughout this trip. The only down fall was the Concierge --- the gentleman was totally clueless. Offer no help. Example: Didn't know the BART fee, didn't know travel time to airport for a 6:55a flight, didn't know approx, cab fare, and so forth. Finally, we just asked guests in lobby. February 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Had an experience with a extremely rude bell hop I had read other previous user comments and had not expected much from this hotel, except for the central location to Fisherman's wharf. However, my wife had terrible encouter with the bell hop when she tried to get a taxi to Union Station. It was our first time visiting the city and my wife asked the concierge how much a taxi would be to Union Station. He said about $25 and directly her to the bell hop. The bell hop then said she should take a private care. When she asked how much the cost, the bell hop said "Do you want the car or not?" She asked again and learned it would be $45, so she asked for a taxi instead. The bell hop was noticeably irritated and snapped at her saying, "What do you want me to do, flag one down?" My wife is not American and she had again it was her first time in San Francisco. If the bell hop was unwilling or unable to hail a taxi, then someone could have simply called their service number and help ensure my wife get where she wanted to go. I seldom write customer comments, but it seemed the staff was more motivated in arranging private cars then helping their guests and the interaction came off as the person wanted to take advantage of a foreigner. I would not suggest others using this particular hotel. February 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location Clean room, shower head is VERY low. I am 6' tall and water was hitting my chest. It's not like there was no space above it to raise it up. Parking is unreasonably expensive (45 per day). I paid less at off site parking in Manhattan. This is hotel parking under the hotel. If it was 20-25 would say it was OK. Location is great, close to few tourist sites. February 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Foundation for International Cooperation Enjoys San Francisco Experience This hotel did all it could do the accomodate our group during our board meeting in February. The price was well appreciated, the rooms were clean and well kept. The location can't be bear. There are lots of restaurants with wonderful San Francisco fare. February 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very close to all Tourist spots This hotel is very centrally located to all the Tourist Spots, with lots of restaurants and food joints around the corner - Starbucks and In and Out !! Yeah !! Only negative is that the Concierge is not the best and the Gym has very little equipment. compared to the size of the hotel. Great value for your $$ Would definitely stay there again on my next visit to SF. February 22, 2013
<<prev 21 22 23 24 25 ... 28 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading